Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set

Leave it to the French to devise an elegant, ultrafast method for opening a single bottle of wine - or an entire case. Perfect for entertaining, Peugeot's efficient cordless wine opener removes corks in a matter of seconds. Faster and easier to use than manual corkscrews. Fits any size bottle and performs equally well with natural and synthetic corks. Compact, lightweight and simple to use. Simply position the opener over the bottle and press a button: the precision corkscrew effortlessly extracts and releases the cork. Plugs into a convenient electric transformer (included) for recharging. Uses one 12-volt rechargeable battery (included). Includes a foil cutter, two pouring spouts and a handsome black storage case. Made of stainless steel and polycarbonate.
Average Customer Rating:
3.189 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(37 Reviews) 37
22 of 37(59%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
Review 1 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
boxman
,montreal
,qc
April 30, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
charging the unit
April 30, 2013
tried to charge it the first time and it's not taking the charge.
used it anyways and it would not function because of it being weak.
any answers out there and why?
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted December 30, 2013
ANSWER FROM PEUGEOT.
Hello,
We're sorry you are having troubles with your wine opener. We want to make sure you are satisfied with your purchase and would be happy to assist you.
Please fill out the form on our website so one of our representatives can contact you: http://www.peugeot-saveurs.com/Contact/ ;
Thank you for your patience.
Video Comment:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wendalou
,Franklin
,MA
May 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't waste your money!
May 15, 2012
This wine opener did not hold a charge, when charged worked for about a minute, then finally stopped working at all. What a waste of money!
Review 3 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
timber101
February 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not perfect
February 15, 2012
The first time I used this wine opener it worked perfectly, the second time I used it the cork would not eject. I'm hoping this was a rare occurrence and will continue to work with it.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Weight
Cons: doesn't always work
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted December 30, 2013
Answer from Peugeot
Hello,
We are really sorry to hear about your experience.
Please give us a chance to help you by filling out the Support form on our website: http://www.peugeot-saveurs.com/Contact/
One of our customer representative will contact you shortly after.
Thank you for your patience.
The US Peugeot team.
www.facebook.com/peugeotusa
Chicago, IL
Video Comment:
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MH76
,Covington
,LA
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Would not recommend
December 23, 2011
We bought this for my dad for Christmas a few years ago. It no longer holds a charge, doesn't open some bottles of wine, and now has a cork stuck in it as a result of us dislodging the cork from a bottle it couldn't open. We thought this would be a high quality item, which is why we purchased it over a $40 opener that can be purchased from any retailer. We no longer have the receipt, so I'm sure we can't return it. We'll be buying him another electric wine opener for Christmas this year, unfortunately.
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Quality, sustainability, battery life
Review 5 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
will9key
,TX
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stops working periodically
December 12, 2011
I had to dismantle this thing twice in the last couple of months as it gets stuck in the removal turn. The charging cord doesn't fit very well either. We've had to put a piece of tape on it so it'll stay plugged in.
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance, Fragile
Review 6 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jayb423
NJ
August 15, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Zero Power
August 15, 2011
I received this for Xmas and The product has very Poor power. I absolutely cant Open Half the bottles.
Im taking it Back for credit as Its Useless
Cons: no power
Review 7 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KingT
Atlanta, GA
April 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
IMPRESSED ON THE FIRST BOTTLE
April 6, 2011
I've owned a cheaper model electric wine opener and love it so much that I decided to "upgrade" to this model. Worked PERFECTLY on the first botte...actually screwed all the way through the cork. Even like the design of the foil remover.
Looking forward to opening the next bottle!! :)
Pros: Durable, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Appearance, Weight, powerful
Review 8 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jmoose
April 6, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
piece of junk
April 6, 2011
I bought this in May of last year.I gave up and used a traditional cork screw because this one did not have the power to uncork bottles after 4 months.(just past the warranty)
Review 9 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Anonymous
Sacramento,Calif
April 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wine Opener
April 25, 2010
I bought this in 2008 and havent had problem until i wanted to replace the screw.The problem is the button that you use to open will fall out if the battery case comes out while your replacing the screw and if that happens forget about trying to put it back and thats the only problem with this item
Review 10 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PolishPrincess
Santa Rosa, CA
April 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for those with arthritic hands and wrists!
April 18, 2010
I love this opener and am about to order one for my mother. It's perfect for anyone whose wrists ache when using a conventional corkscrew or a Rabbit. We haven't had any of the problems that the other reviewers reported - perhaps they're not holding the "down" button until it completely stops? I think we've only recharged it once after months of use.
Review 11 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CrimsonTide
Atlanta, Ga
April 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Electic rechargable cord won't work
April 4, 2010
I was pleased with it until the charger where you plug it into the top of the unit quit working after only a few months.
Seems to be a defect in the lenght of the stem going into the unit or some short in the unit itself. Either way it can not be recharged without forcing down on the stem. If you let it go, it quits recharging.
A lot to pay for a few months of use.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lockman
Oakland, CA
Posted December 27, 2010
The reason I purchase at Williams-Sonoma is for the warranty.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Chris42
Washington, DC
March 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Surprisingly effective
March 29, 2010
To the reviewers who say it takes multiple times to get the cork out: maybe your unit is defective, or maybe mine is an outlier.
My experience for about a year has been excellent. It takes about 5-10 seconds to pop any cork, and about 5 seconds to remove it. This and the CO2 units are easily the best solution for opening a lot of bottles quickly. I'm skeptical of gimmicky products, but was sold when I tried it out in-store. If you still have issues, maybe take it into a store and have them compare it to their other units.
Review 13 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JimG
Barrington, Illinois
February 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Great Wine Bottle Opener
February 12, 2010
I looked at several wine bottle openers before choosing the Peugeot from Williams-Sonoma. It was more expensive but had a better feel and my luck with all of my purchases from Williams-Sonoma has been really terrific. I have not been the least bit disappointed. My Peugeot works great and makes opening a bottle of wine very easy. This was a task I never really wanted to do, especially with company, but now I look forward to opening a bottle. I liked it so much I have given several of them as gifts. It is a great device.
Review 14 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
matante
Virginia
February 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
equivalent review
February 2, 2010
I bought this product because I have problems opening wine bottles; I thought this was a perfect solution. However, while it does eventually successfully remove the corks, it takes several tries. Given my options this does solve my problem but not as efficiently as I'd hoped. My experience is consistent with other reviews I read before purchasing. However, if you have problems with strength in your hands and thus opening wine bottles, this is a good solution -- it just takes about 3 times before the cork is fully out of the bottle.
Review 15 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
zztopproperties
West Palm Beach, FL
January 15, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This wine opener doesn't work
January 15, 2010
We bought several of these to send as gifts to friends and one for ourselves. Unfortunately, I have tried it several times on all types of corks and it has not worked once. I used it repeatedly to see how many times it took to lift the cork but always had to look for another opener before it destroyed the cork completely.
It doesn't have enough power to lift corks.
Review 16 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sdahbg
Texas
December 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
YES!
December 31, 2009
Fantastico! Love it, excellent product! Must have!
Review 17 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SFwineGuy
San Francisco
September 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
5of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't Bother
September 3, 2009
The main problem with Peugeot Electric Wine Opener is the fact that the screw penetrates all the way though the cork of your wine as it opens it. This causes chunks of cork to fall into the wine you are about to (try to) enjoy.
Also, both my wife and I found this opener harder to use than our Screwpulls and even various "waiter's friend" style openers. With the Peugeot, we had many instances where the screw was off center and out the side of the cork further contributing to the crumbling cork issue above.
Save your money and pick up a cheap two stage waiter's friend style cork screw. If, like me, you enjoy having a nice collection of tools to uncork wine get a Screwpull or a nice Laguiole opener.
Review 18 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rfb5530
Sacramento,Ca
August 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite wine opner
August 8, 2009
I have used alot of wine openers and this is the very best i have ever used
Review 19 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jeansnbarefoot
Ramsey,MN
July 17, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best thing in my kitchen
July 17, 2009
The wine opener works fantastic!! A little spendy, but well worth it in the long run.
Review 20 for Peugeot Rechargeable Electric Wine Opener Set
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ralphs
williston park ny
July 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is the best wine opener
July 8, 2009
This is th ebest wine bottl opener
It is very easy to use a must get gadget for the wine lover
page1 2 next