Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills

These wooden mills feature Peugeot's masterfully engineered grinding mechanisms and the patented u'Select feature, which lets you choose the grind from six settings with a simple turn of the base. Peugeot's u'Select feature lets you choose your preferred grind, with six settings from ultrafine to coarse. Pepper mill's case-hardened-steel mechanism cracks peppercorns before grinding for an even grind and rich aroma. Salt mill's stainless-steel grinding mechanism is engineered to resist corrosion. Black, Dijon, White and Red are made of beechwood with a glossy "piano lacquer" finish; Walnut is made of beechwood with a stained finish. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
4.333 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills
Review 1 for Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yellowplanet
,Prairieville
,La
August 1, 2014
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best mills ever!!!!!!
August 1, 2014
I've owned these salt and pepper mills for several years !!!!! AWESOME BUY !!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 2 for Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VickyAS
May 21, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best mills I have ever owned
May 21, 2014
I have been using pepper mills for over 40 years and this is the best one I have ever owned. It has a very smooth and even grind. I also own the salt mill and it is much better than my previous one. I read many reviews before purchasing these and I want to address a couple of issues brought up. First there have been problems with the enamel cracking. I haven't owned this long enough to know that this won't be an issue for me but I would not use it above a steaming pot on the stove. I bought mine for the dining room table. If you want to use it in the kitchen I would order the walnut which is not enamel. There have also seen some comments about the mill jamming. These mills should only be turned clockwise. They have a two stage grinding process and using a back and forth turn reverses the path of the pepper and causes it to jam.
I got the red enamel which is beautiful. It is a dark red that matches the darker shading of the red Le Creuset
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 3 for Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wholikestohost
April 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Call me the gift pro
April 23, 2014
I received a Peugeot set of mills for my housewarming party and decided to get a set for a friend. I got her one red lacquer pepper mill and a curry lacquer salt mill. They're so beautiful! I think it's kind of cool to have two different colors for salt and pepper so you know which one is which. Just gorgeous colors! made a nice gift.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight, effortless
Review 4 for Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carmentrout
,Steubenville
,OH
September 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grinders!
September 6, 2013
We just recently got these salt and pepper shakers- they are wonderful! Just holding them in your hand is enought ot feel the good quality. They were pricy, but so far them seem worth it- we hope they'll last forever!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Weight
Review 5 for Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dars
,Battle Lake
,MN
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect House Warming Gift
August 16, 2013
These are the perfect housewarming gift for the first time homeowners.
The pair will last for years and adds such class to the table.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 6 for Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbusa
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
July 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Mills Ever
July 11, 2013
I was given both as a gift and can't believe I've never used them before! They work like a dream and friends tell me they last forever. It's worth paying more for something that will last. Plus, they're not made in China like all the others I see everywhere, so that's refreshing.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 7 for Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
smurfjud
,Blanco
,TX
March 13, 2013
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stopped working and there is no fix
March 13, 2013
I have had this pepper grinder for about three years. It has a lovely lacquer finish and I have the matching salt grinder. However, for the amount of money it cost, it should work for many years and it does not. I've tried to do what I can to fix it;; removed the pepper, tried to adjust the mechanism, nothing helps. I will not buy another one. This brand is suppose to be one of the best. Don't spend your money
Pros: Size, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Fragile, mechanism is faulty
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted September 18, 2013
from the manufacturer
This is Peugeot responding to your comment.
Here are some useful Tips on How to use your Peugeot Pepper Mill:
• Use only dry, hard, whole peppercorns that are 5 mm (0.2”) or less in diameter.
• Use peppercorns from the piper nigrum family such as white, black (Lampong, Tellicherry, Malabar) or green
• Do not use pepper mill to grind salt, herbs, seeds, pre-ground pepper or any other spice
• Pink peppercorns may only be used as part of a peppercorn blend to a maximum of 15% pink
• Do not use peppers as they are too long, dense and thick to be ground
• Do not use pickled or brined peppercorns as they will clog the mechanism
Should you continue to have trouble with your mill, contact us and we will be happy to assist you: info-usa@psp-peugeot.com
Thank you!
Video Comment:
(click to see the video)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bradley88
,Baton Rouge
,LA
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These are great but BE AWARE OF THIS DESIGN FLAW
January 29, 2013
These are very nice. BUT, there is a flaw. The brass nut at the top will not stay tight. You have to crank down on it to keep it tight, but that then pulls the center shaft up and along with it the bottom grinding disk. This causes the mill to bind up and it causes the wooden parts to grind into each other and damage the finish. The fix is to get the threads in the nut to grip the threads on the center shaft. You need -medium- strength thread lock or plumbers tape. The fix isn't hard, just take the top off, empty out the mills and lay them on the side, then put a little thread lock on the shaft threads and a little on the threads inside of the brass nut, and put it all back together. THIS IS KEY... the thread lock will help the nut bind to the center shaft so you DO NOT need to crank down on the nut to get it tight. Just barely snug it up and the top will turn freely without grinding wood to wood and the bottom grinding disk will move more freely now that the nut isn't overtightened.
Pros: Quality, gorgeous natural walnut finish
Cons: Temperamental, loose fitting nut needs thread lock to hold tight
Review 9 for Peugeot Paris U Select Dijon Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SummerFoodie
South Amboy, New Jersey
November 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite kitchen item
November 15, 2012
I have owned the 9" pepper mill for about 5 years and I absolutely love it. It performs beautifully, and I've never had any problems with it. It not only looks great, but works just as well. Great product from an amazing company. It has stood up to constant abuse, including being dropped by my two year old.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Design