Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills

These wooden mills feature Peugeot's masterfully engineered grinding mechanisms and the patented u'Select feature, which lets you choose the grind from six settings with a simple turn of the base. Peugeot's u'Select feature lets you choose your preferred grind, with six settings from ultrafine to coarse. Pepper mill's case-hardened-steel mechanism cracks peppercorns before grinding for an even grind and rich aroma. Salt mill's stainless-steel grinding mechanism is engineered to resist corrosion. Black, Dijon, White and Red are made of beechwood with a glossy "piano lacquer" finish; Walnut is made of beechwood with a stained finish. Made in France.
Average Customer Rating:
3.397 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(58 Reviews) 58
35 of 58(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
Review 1 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carmentrout
,Steubenville
,OH
September 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grinders!
September 6, 2013
We just recently got these salt and pepper shakers- they are wonderful! Just holding them in your hand is enought ot feel the good quality. They were pricy, but so far them seem worth it- we hope they'll last forever!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Weight
Review 2 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dars
,Battle Lake
,MN
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect House Warming Gift
August 16, 2013
These are the perfect housewarming gift for the first time homeowners.
The pair will last for years and adds such class to the table.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 3 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbusa
,Houston
,TX
Houston, TX
July 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Mills Ever
July 11, 2013
I was given both as a gift and can't believe I've never used them before! They work like a dream and friends tell me they last forever. It's worth paying more for something that will last. Plus, they're not made in China like all the others I see everywhere, so that's refreshing.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 4 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
smurfjud
,Blanco
,TX
March 13, 2013
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Stopped working and there is no fix
March 13, 2013
I have had this pepper grinder for about three years. It has a lovely lacquer finish and I have the matching salt grinder. However, for the amount of money it cost, it should work for many years and it does not. I've tried to do what I can to fix it;; removed the pepper, tried to adjust the mechanism, nothing helps. I will not buy another one. This brand is suppose to be one of the best. Don't spend your money
Pros: Size, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, Fragile, mechanism is faulty
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted September 18, 2013
from the manufacturer
This is Peugeot responding to your comment.
Here are some useful Tips on How to use your Peugeot Pepper Mill:
• Use only dry, hard, whole peppercorns that are 5 mm (0.2”) or less in diameter.
• Use peppercorns from the piper nigrum family such as white, black (Lampong, Tellicherry, Malabar) or green
• Do not use pepper mill to grind salt, herbs, seeds, pre-ground pepper or any other spice
• Pink peppercorns may only be used as part of a peppercorn blend to a maximum of 15% pink
• Do not use peppers as they are too long, dense and thick to be ground
• Do not use pickled or brined peppercorns as they will clog the mechanism
Should you continue to have trouble with your mill, contact us and we will be happy to assist you: info-usa@psp-peugeot.com
Thank you!
Video Comment:
(click to see the video)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Bradley88
,Baton Rouge
,LA
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These are great but BE AWARE OF THIS DESIGN FLAW
January 29, 2013
These are very nice. BUT, there is a flaw. The brass nut at the top will not stay tight. You have to crank down on it to keep it tight, but that then pulls the center shaft up and along with it the bottom grinding disk. This causes the mill to bind up and it causes the wooden parts to grind into each other and damage the finish. The fix is to get the threads in the nut to grip the threads on the center shaft. You need -medium- strength thread lock or plumbers tape. The fix isn't hard, just take the top off, empty out the mills and lay them on the side, then put a little thread lock on the shaft threads and a little on the threads inside of the brass nut, and put it all back together. THIS IS KEY... the thread lock will help the nut bind to the center shaft so you DO NOT need to crank down on the nut to get it tight. Just barely snug it up and the top will turn freely without grinding wood to wood and the bottom grinding disk will move more freely now that the nut isn't overtightened.
Pros: Quality, gorgeous natural walnut finish
Cons: Temperamental, loose fitting nut needs thread lock to hold tight
Review 6 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SummerFoodie
South Amboy, New Jersey
November 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite kitchen item
November 15, 2012
I have owned the 9" pepper mill for about 5 years and I absolutely love it. It performs beautifully, and I've never had any problems with it. It not only looks great, but works just as well. Great product from an amazing company. It has stood up to constant abuse, including being dropped by my two year old.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Design
Review 7 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lindamh
,Shenzhen China
,MA
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peugeot is The best
December 23, 2011
I have owned a Peugeot pepper mill for several years now - I am purchasing more - the choice of sizes/colors and all with the Peugeot grinding mechanism - I Love the adjustable ring on the bottom with 6 grinds.
I have several other grinders at home that are going in the trash as I always ended up with a dud, even if it started well, it ended badly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile
Review 8 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
will9key
,TX
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Base split and cracked
December 12, 2011
We received these mills as a wedding gift in March and by November the base of the salt mill has split and cracked. The lacquer is flaking off. Low quality it seems.
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile
Review 9 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DanaMarie773
,Chicago
,Il
October 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Doesn't work
October 19, 2011
Very frustrating. This pepper mill only works on one setting and it gets stuck all the time. Would not recommend.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted December 2, 2013
ANSWER FROM PEUGEOT.
Hello, we're sorry you are having troubles with your mill. We want to make sure you are satisfied with your purchase and would be happy to assist you. As you know, Peugeot is the preferred brand in the world of pepper mills, since 1840. We will make sure your mill functions properly. Please fill out the form on our website so we can assist you: http://www.peugeot-saveurs.com/Contact/ ; Our US team based in Chicago will be in touch with you shortly after.
Thank you for your patience.
The US Peugeot team.
www.facebook.com/peugeotusa
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stjohn
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
October 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love my Peugeot Walnut salt & pepper mills
October 16, 2011
I have had my Peugeot salt and pepper mills for a few years and they work just as they are suppose to work. I love the look of them and they do a great job. I would recommend them. I have given several as gifts.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 11 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VictoriaMN
,Victoria
,MN
October 10, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst Pepper Mill I've Owned
October 10, 2011
I purchased the Peugeot pepper mill about a year ago and it's never worked correctly. Although it looks lovely on my countertop, I can't seem to get it to work with any kind of consistency and usually have to shake it to loosen the peppercorns from the internal grinding mechanism. Even with that, I can rarely get pepper out of it and have resorted to using my old cheap mill that always works great. I am hugely disappointed in this product, especially considering the cost – hands down the worst pepper mill I’ve owned.
Pros: attractive
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental, doesn't work
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted September 26, 2013
A tip from Peugeot
Dear VictoriaMN,
We are sorry to hear you are having trouble with your pepper mill.
We have seen this situation before and it usually is due to the size of the peppercorns ; Make sure you pick peppercorns that are small, less than 5mm otherwise they will get stuck in the mechanism and the mill will not work at all.
We hope this helps. Otherwise, please contact our Customer Service Department based in Chicago: info-usa@psp-peugeot.com ; we will get to the bottom of this!
Thank you,
The US Peugeot Team
0points
Customer avatar
PhillyBill
Andalusia,Pa..Border of Philly-Lower Bucks County
Posted November 4, 2012
Quality Control ??
I see some products that have reviews that are from Best Ever to Junk.
Seems there must be a Quality Control problem. At least there appears to be that way.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JlovesL
,Dallas
,TX
October 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
disappointed in my first WS purchase
October 7, 2011
At first I thought the cavity was empty so I filled it up. Nope. Then I emptied half of it out, thinking it was not supposed to be full (throwing away my precious pepper). Nope. It doesn't matter if you set it to grind fine or coarse, it doesn't work. No matter how much I turn and turn the top; boo! I was very disappointed with my first WS purchase. :( I should have saved my money for the -big dog- $100 pepper mill. That one has good reviews, all 5's!
Pros: Design
Cons: it flat out doesn't work
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted December 2, 2013
Tips on how to use
This is Peugeot responding to your comment.
Here are some useful Tips on How to use your Peugeot Pepper Mill:
• Use only dry, hard, whole peppercorns that are 5 mm (0.2”) or less in diameter.
• Use peppercorns from the piper nigrum family such as white, black (Lampong, Tellicherry, Malabar) or green
• Do not use pepper mill to grind salt, herbs, seeds, pre-ground pepper or any other spice
• Pink peppercorns may only be used as part of a peppercorn blend to a maximum of 15% pink
• Do not use peppers as they are too long, dense and thick to be ground
• Do not use pickled or brined peppercorns as they will clog the mechanism
Should you continue to have trouble with your mill, contact us and we will be happy to assist you: info-usa@psp-peugeot.com
Thank you!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Justus4
South Central, Illinois
August 24, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product!
August 24, 2011
I bought the Salt & Pepper Mills, one Red & one Dijon, as a gift for my husband. He was absolutely thrilled and we both enjoy using them. We were spending so much money on the disposable mills and the gears wouldn't last through to the end, so we had even more waste and wasted money.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, they look so good we leave them out
Review 14 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zonkerjr
Bay Area CA
August 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Missing something in Tennessee
August 14, 2011
I'm not sure what problems the folks in Tennessee are having but I'm guessing it has something to do with humidity.
In California I've never had a problem with mine except after five years and several drops I finally chipped the pepper mill I was so bummed but it did take a pretty violent fall to do the damage. I recommend them to everyone as the best pepper and salt mills available.
William Bonds are also great but if you are going for this aesthetic then have no worries.
I'm going to buy either the 5 or 7" for my dinning table in the red because I love them so much.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design, Weight
Review 15 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BettyS
Columbus GA
August 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does not grind properly
August 14, 2011
I purchased a Peugeot Paris grinder it did not work properly exchanged it for another, this one does not work as it should either. As a result I have a less costly grinder that works like a champ.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
TaughtMyKidsToCook
Gurnee, IL
Posted October 4, 2011
Peugeot Pepper Grinder
I have had a Peugeot Pepper Grinder for over two decades and it STILL works amazingly excellent!! Mine is the tall one, like the tall red one, but mine is painted black. I would love even a taller grinder but only if it is a Peugeot! I have many other sets of salt and pepper grinders for various table settings and none work superbly like my large black painted Peugeot grinder. I use it mostly at the cooking area, however, over the years my grinder has grown legs that have carried it to the table for grinding fresh pepper over various dishes. There is nothing like a Peugeot grinder. I must have gotten one from the diamond-class model for it to last so far, 24-years, and for it to work perfectly all these years!!!
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
last11
August 12, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
mills jam easily and the color flakes off
August 12, 2011
I fell in love with these - they're so pretty - and was thrilled to get them as a wedding gift, but ultimately had to return them. The salt mill deposited a fine yellow powder onto my fingers when I'd run my hands along certain parts - it was the yellow paint slowly grinding itself off. The pepper mill would get jammed on the finest settings... ultimately the set just didn't seem to be made very well, which was disappointing given the high price point.
Cons: Quality
Review 17 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AVguy
Bay Area
August 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't live without it.
August 11, 2011
Not sure how people could have a problem with this grinder. I have owned the tall Red Pepper mill for 2 years now and it works perfectly. You can fine tune the grinder with a simple twist and it mows though pepper corns better than any other grinder I have used. A must have for a serious cook.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 18 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dans
washington, dc
August 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
4of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These grinders suck
August 7, 2011
these grinders suck.
They simply do not work; they fail to grind peppercorn.
The grinding gears spin but never seem to grind a peppercorn.
Save your money and crack your peppercorns with your teeth.
Cons: does not work
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Peugeot
USA
Posted January 6, 2014
What peppercorns to use with your Peugeot
Pepper mills
• Use only dry, hard, whole peppercorns that are 5 mm (0.2”) or less in diameter.
• Use peppercorns from the piper nigrum family such as white, black (Lampong, Tellicherry, Malabar) or green
• Do not use pepper mill to grind salt, herbs, seeds, pre-ground pepper or any other spice
• Pink peppercorns may only be used as part of a peppercorn blend to a maximum of 15% pink
• Do not use peppers as they are too long, dense and thick to be ground
• Do not use pickled or brined peppercorns as they will clog the mechanism
0points
Customer avatar
sarah668
Madison, WI
Posted August 16, 2011
Defective or too full?
You must have a defective grinder or you have it too full of peppercorns? I've owned this grinder for a couple years now and it works great. When I first got it though I topped it off with more peppercorns and it wouldn't work. I reread the instructions and realized I went past the plastic marker on the inside of the grinder. If you go above that it's too full and won't grind. Once I figured that out it has worked beautifully!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
smokermama
Rockville, Maryland
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
too fragile
July 12, 2011
bought the set but one rolled off the table and broke within a year. Replaced it, but then that one broke. This product is too fragile for the money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Fragile
Review 20 for Peugeot Paris u'Select Salt & Pepper Mills
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wilk
TN
March 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peugeot Response
March 24, 2011
Terrible pepper mill and Peugeot doesn't even respond. Have written twice and not even an acknowledgment. William-Sonoma is great; not so Peugeot. You can bruise your hand hitting this thing.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
page1 2 3 next