This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"

Praised by professional chefs and home cooks alike, crank-operated Perfex mills have been manufactured by a family-owned company in Saint-Etienne, France, for half a century. They combine superb functionality with sensible, no-frills design to create a true classic.Made of sturdy aluminum with a satin finish.Both salt and pepper mills feature metal burr grinders; the salt mill has corrosion-resistant steel grinding heads.Front-loading pullout chute simplifies filling.
Average Customer Rating:
4.655 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(29 Reviews) 29
26 of 29(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
Review 1 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tennfoodguy
,Morristown
,TN
Near Knoxville, TN
March 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
As advertised (and reviewed)
March 2, 2013
I always check the Reviews of everything I buy (if there is one available), have had a few Mills over the years but this one caught my eye and have never regretted the purchase. Have both the Salt and Pepper Mills sitting next to my stove top and use them often. The set is indeed as at home on the dinner table as at the stove top. Love the flip down port for filling. Crank handle was a bit stiff at first but is getting easier to turn.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Weight
Review 2 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlfredB
,Carbondale
,IL
October 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Wedding gift
October 4, 2011
We''ve had one for 30 years.
Ten years ago we bought my brother & his wife one.
Their daughter got married recently and we bought them one.
Her brother is getting married next summer and we'll get them one.
They last forever and everybody loves them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 3 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JudyTheFoody
Lake Tahoe, California
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Expensive Grind
September 7, 2011
We switched to the Purfex aluminum pepper grinder after I wore out one Williams Bounds "Guaranteed for Life" grinder, and threw the new Peugot grinder out the window in absolute frustration. The Purfex is easy to fill, my favorite feature. The grinding mechanism is still a little stiff but should loosen up with use. Overall it is a good grinder, but expensive.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: Size, pricey
Review 4 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MMFOXDC
Washington, DC
August 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
BEST Pepper Grinder111
August 24, 2011
Perfex is wonderful in the kitchen, easy one hand adjustment of grind and able to quickly go from very fine to coarse and all ranges in between.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 5 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kecf
Westport.CT
August 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
best performing pepper mill
August 16, 2011
I got the pepper mill as a wedding gift 16 years ago. It still works very well. I'm very pleased with it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Design, Weight
Review 6 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
klggp
Ardmore, OK
August 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My favorite pepper/salt despensers
August 5, 2011
Easy to fill, adjust the amount of peppers or salt to grind (from the bottom), and basically easy to use. Stout and dependable!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AugustinaForever
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Long May You Run
April 19, 2011
I've had this pepper mill for 7 years now and am still very happy with it. I bought the salt mill to match a year later but I don't use it as much because I use a salt pig, instead. The pepper mill is easy to use--you just pop open the window and fill it up with peppercorns. The design is nice enough to use on the dinner table when company is over. It was worth the purchase price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 8 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LovesEquipment
Santa Cruz
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
They are pretty
January 4, 2011
I've had my mills for 10+ years. I wanted a salt mill and this had matching salt and pepper mills. I like the design with the door in the front and the crank. What I don't like about these is the mechanism shifts quite a bit. I'll start with a fine grind and then it gets coarser and less uniform. If I had to buy again I may get the same ones because I like the crank and look but I would test the copper mills first.
Review 9 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kneedlez
St. Petersburg, FL
November 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Heirloom Quality
November 19, 2010
Received my Perfex Pepper Mill yesterday. Arrived home from the office around 9 PM, but had to try it immediately. Filled it with Williams-Sonoma 5 Pepper Blend and started grinding away over a paper plate. Perfect, perfect results! My husband thought it was quite amusing as I stood at the counter with a glass of wine and was more excited by the bouquet of the ground pepper than the wine!
Review 10 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jay1111
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
October 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Perfex Pepper Mill
October 6, 2010
This pepper mill is the perfect size and performs flawlessly! It is easy to load and unload (for those wishing to switch between black peppercorns and white peppercorns) and grinds pepper to a fine powder with no large pieces - which is ideal for those wishing to enjoy the flavor of pepper without having to endure the gritty large pieces that some pepper mills produce. Plus, it is classy enough to decorate the table. I highly recommend it.
Review 11 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mbwheeler
September 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Best wedding gift-- from 20 years ago!
September 20, 2010
I received a Prefex pepper mill wrapped in Williams-Sonoma paper as a wedding gift nearly 20 years ago from a friend of my parents. At the time, I thought it was an OK present but nothing special. Over the years I've realized the value of this gift and that the Prefex pepper grinder is THE quintessential pepper grinder. It fits well in my hand, fills easily, grinds perfectly (course or fine), and it looks beautiful and un-fussy as all good tools do. It does the job a pepper grinder is supposed to do, and stands the test of time. I've given several as gifts over the years....everyone should have one!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
deeb
Eden, Md
Posted January 8, 2011
Perfex Pepper Mill
I received my Prefex pepper mill from my best friend over 15 years ago. We lived over 200 miles apart but when we got together we always found our way to Williams-Sonoma to shop.On one of our trips to Williams-Sonoma, I commented on how much I liked the pepper mill. Later that year for Christmas she surprised me with guess what? I have used the mill every day & it still works like new. My friend has since passed, much too soon... However I think of this story & her every time I pick up the Perfex pepper mill.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CKay
Lincolnwood, Illinois
August 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Cool Duo for chefs
August 10, 2010
This is a great set, works perfectly and looks good. I would suggest this set as a gift or for your chef selves. I LOVE THE WAY IT LOOKS. It truly is eye candy!
Review 13 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kamz
New York
August 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Lived up to it's reputation!
August 9, 2010
Have had both pepper and salt mills for more than 25 years and both still work as well as they did when first purchased - unbelievable in this day and age! And they still look good - not as shiny after so many years, but who or what is?
Very easy to adjust grind of pepper and salt to whatever is needed/wanted. Easy to keep clean - just wipe of exterior with damp cloth.
Truly the "mercedes" of the mills.
Review 14 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MissIronworker
Westchester
June 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful Finish to my dinner table.
June 11, 2010
The quality is perfect, they work great. They add a nice touch to the table and I could not be happier.
Review 15 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
blueberry1946
Princeton, MA
March 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Mine is a family member . . .
March 22, 2010
My aunt gave me her used Perfex pepper mill at least 30 years ago, probably more like 40 years ago. I’ve raised my family and they’ve moved on . . .but when they visit, they delight in seeing it still at the supper table. I’ve given it occasional overhauls, when its gotten ornery. Ornery = hard to turn the lever, giving off only large pepper chunks. Overhaul = cleaning away any residue from all nicks and crannies, turning it upside-down unscrewing the bottom, and ‘re-aligning’ the teeth so the wheel is flat. For me its all about if that wheel is flat. Sometimes you have to unscrew, re-screw a few times to get it just right. It’s a matter of ‘feeling’ that you are not binding any threads. And then it goes back to being the sweet little low maintenance pepper mill that its always been. I don’t have to realign things often – its not even an annual event. I’m amazed at how expensive this pepper mill is, but then we’ve used it every day, almost trouble free, for all these years.
Review 16 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moragamom
Moraga, Ca
February 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
best pepper mill!
February 9, 2010
I consider myself a serious home cook and I love this pepper mill. It is easy to fill but most importantly always works perfectly. I have owned it for over two years and I am sure it will last for years more. This is expensive but worth it!
Review 17 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marid
florida
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
pepper mill
January 13, 2010
I have had one of these mills since around 1980...still works like a charm. Paid $50.00 back then for it. I use pepper on everything and haven't bought ground black pepper since. If you use one of these grinders...you will never go back!!!
Review 18 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RussianHillChef
San Francisco, ca
December 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Poor functionality for price
December 9, 2009
My wife and asked and received these for a wedding present. We love the style but they function rather poorly.
First off, I should mention that we had to return one of the mills twice as we received it with manufacturing defects (bent handle).
However, after using this for about 6 months, it is not clear to me that adjusting the nut for different grinding levels makes a difference. For $90 a mill.. they should be awesome. Unfortunately they are a bit of a let down.
Review 19 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dibythesea
Seabrook, TX
November 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great peppermill!
November 11, 2009
When I saw this pepper mill, I had to have it! I wish it was larger though. The price is a bit steep but after reading the other reviews, it should last me a lifetime. I won't be shelling out $$$ for the matching salt mill though.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
oaxaca
El Paso, Texas
Posted May 29, 2012
GIANT PERFEX MILL IS AVAILABLE IN THE STORES
Many years ago while attending a conference in San Francisco, I found at the William Sonoma store there, a huge Perfex pepper mill. I don't understand why they are only available in the retail stores. Anyway, it holds a huge amount of pepper and has become my workhorse tool in my kitchen. I use the other two for other spices. These are the most perfect tools in my kitchen and the large mill is used on a daily basis.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Perfex Salt & Pepper Mills, 4 1/2"
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
vconger
Dalton, GA
October 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
salt & pepper mills
October 21, 2009
These very expensive mills do not perform as well as some that can be purchased much cheaper. They are difficult to use and for my arthritic hands cause much pain. They also scrape against knuckles.
page1 2 next