This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake

Like biting into a happy memory, this classic devil's food cake is baked from scratch the old-fashioned way. Three layers of velvety devil's food cake are filled and iced with a rich, smooth chocolate fudge frosting-just the way you remember it from childhood. From Napa Valley's Perfect Endings bakery, it's a fine addition to a special occasion, and a wonderful snack with a glass of ice-cold milk. 6" diam., 4 1/4" high (serves 8-10). Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
Review 1 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoveWSstuff
,Truckee
,CA
September 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best Chocolate Fudge Cake Ever!
September 21, 2013
I order this cake every year for my B'day as a special treat. It is a thick luscious fudge frosted rich dark chocolate cake. Even though it is relatively small, it's so rich you can't eat a big piece so the cake lasts a long time. Keep it in the freezer and just slice a piece off and warm it a bit in the microwave. So scrumptious!
Pros: Quality, Decadent
Review 2 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
willajane
,Tenafly
,NJ
April 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
better than homemade and super chocolatey
April 4, 2012
Best cake I ever had that was not homemade
so much dark chocolate flavor
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 3 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
New York
September 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Devil's Food Cake: Big In Price, Small In Size
September 5, 2011
This cake was alright. The frosting was a little too chocolaty, but the cake was ok. It was also surprisingly small. Especially for the price. We got about five slices out of it, which is very little for a 70 dollar cake.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality
Cons: Amount, frosting was too chocolaty
Review 4 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vallentina
Pismo Beach
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Perfect 10
February 24, 2011
This is everything a chocolate cake should be...moist, full of chocolate flavor and not too sweet. Perfect in every way.
Review 5 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FarmersMark
Nantucket
February 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Rave reviews!!!
February 18, 2011
Ordered 4 cakes made by Perfect Endings for a family celebration and people can't stop raving! Now I see why they are Oprah's favorite bakery! The german chocolate was my absolute favorite but this one was a close second. This is what chocolate layer cake should be! Moist, rich and not too sweet. Everyone agreed that they'd never had better cakes anywhere. I've shopped Williams Sonoma for over a decade and these are the best cakes they've ever sold, bar none. Bravo!
Review 6 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Michelle23
Baltimore, MD
February 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Devil's Food Cake
February 10, 2011
Like other products from Perfect Endings, this cake is very moist. I wasn't crazy about the icing, but one good thing about it was that it wasn't sickeningly sweet as fudge icing usually is. Also the cake is very small, and is definitely over-priced. This cake doesn't begin to compare to the 12-layer chocolate cake by Rubicon--it's half the size, half the quality, and half as good. PLEASE bring back Rubicon products!!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
djasonw
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Posted March 7, 2011
Agreed
I can't believe that the cake is only 6" in diameter. I know they're delicious but it would be nice if the cakes were normal size. I'd never spend this much money on a cake this size.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TLind10023
Southwick, MA
January 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Sweet cake but not the price
January 13, 2011
My family had this cake as dessert on Xmas eve. The size was as expected, the chocolate moose in the middle is rich (only need a small slice to satisfy sweet tooth). The frosting on the outside is perfect (not too sweet). I can't recall how the cake tasted. A nice treat for the holidays, wouldn't pay that price all of the time. Shipped with dry ice and followed directions without a problem though the cellophane it was wrapped in was a little torn at delivery. I was a little concerned that the cake might be dry from the dry ice hitting it but it was fine. Traveled well from California to the East Coast and on time!
Review 8 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bailoray
Connecticut
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
My Favorite Chocolate Cake!
December 31, 2010
Chocolate lovers dream! You won't be disappointed in this one. Moist with a delicious dark chocolate frosting. Only thing I would dispute is the serving size. I bought it for Christmas Eve and when I saw how small it was, I had to go out and get something else to serve in addition. Would say it serves more like 6-8, very rich though. This was the favorite dessert of the holidays, hands down. Even better than the Buche de Noel.
Review 9 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Soupie
Texas
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Birthday Cake
December 28, 2010
Sent this to a friend for her birthday. She said it was the best cake ever - even better than her favorite chocolate cake at a local restaurant. The gift was a winner!
Review 10 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VivianNY
Long Island
November 24, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Simply the best!
November 24, 2010
Be warned: this cake will knock your socks off! The absolute best chocolate cake I have ever tasted, the absolute best cake I have ever purchased from Williams Sonoma. Rich and buttery without being sickening sweet, and every crumb was moist. An outrageous chocolate cake and a real winner!
Review 11 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CakeLuv
Northern California
November 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Not a favorite, better last year
November 21, 2010
I was surprised when I opened the box to find a pretty small cake. I've been buying the chocolate cake made by Rubicon Bakery for years - that was perfect.
This one is half the size and not half as good. Dry and not rich at all, the frosting had little character.
I loved supporting Rubicon's good works and miss seeing their cakes in the catalog this year.
Review 12 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Devil's Food Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DustinW24
New Orleans
November 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Death by chocolate!
November 18, 2010
And what a way to go! We ordered this along with the coconut cake from Perfect Endings and there is no question that they were the best cakes I have ever tasted. If you are longing for that classic American chocolate cake, moist and not too sweet, this is the ticket! Absolutely incredible!