This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake

Coconut cake is a classic of the American South, and this one is the real deal. Layers of extraordinarily tender coconut cake are filled and frosted with a rich coconut buttercream icing and topped with a blizzard of fresh flaked coconut. Napa Valley's celebrated Sam Godfrey makes it from scratch using a recipe handed down from his grandmother, and every bite is a dream. 6" diam., 3 1/2" high (serves 8-10). Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
15 of 20(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
Review 1 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Annamae
,Seattle
,WA
July 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Coconut Cake Five Star Appearance One Star Taste
July 19, 2013
Appearance is that of an old fashioned cake. The resemblance is in appearance only but not in the size, nor in the taste. A truly old fashioned cake would be an 8 or 9 inch cake with a light and fluffy texture. This was a very heavy cake texture. It does slice well, and thinly sliced will go a long way. I say this because , having had a professional chef in the family, and having tasted truly old-fashioned light and fluffy 8 to 9 inch cakes, this does taste at all like an old fashioned cake and perhaps should be renamed, because the name is misleading. Nothing light and fluffy about this "vintage" cake, except the appearance.
There was not an ingredient's list included with this cake. Would not buy again, because not only of the taste and size, but my guests and I like to know what we are eating and not having to guess as to what was used, cream, butter, shortening? . Isn't listing ingredients a legal requirement?
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, no ingredients listed
Review 2 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AEDP
,West Palm Beach
,FL
Hartford, CT
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
The Best Coconut Cake Ever, Really
February 28, 2013
I order this cake twice a year and savor every single bite. Yes, the cake is small but whatever the cake lacks in size is more than made up in flavor. Moist and delicious, the cake is not overwhelmed with too much frosting - just enough with the outside sprinkled with sweetened coconut. A cake can't taste this good without top quality ingredients.
The cake arrives in perfect condition, frozen and wrapped to ensure it looks as good as it tastes.
Pros: Authentic, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Great Gift, Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Size
Review 3 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shawnaw
February 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
hands down...best coconut cake ever
February 20, 2013
this cake was SO good. i couldn't stop eating it.
the frosting was fantastic and the cake part was mmm delicious. my mouth is watering just looking at the picture while writing this review.
the only reason i didn't give it 5 stars is because of the size/price ratio. if it was solely based on tase then there wouldn't be enough stars to give it.
with that being said...i'll definitely be buying this again because it was just so good.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, taste
Cons: price, Size
Review 4 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KathyMc
,Granada Hills
,CA
January 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wonderful Cake
January 11, 2013
I thought this cake was excellent and not too small at all. Wonderful coconut flavor and just the right amount of frosting. The cake itself was moist and flavorful. It can easily serve 8-10. This cake is not "supersize", it is just right. If you enjoy a good coconut cake and don't want to bake it yourself, try this.
Disclaimer - I bought this cake when it was on sale before Christmas and I also did not have to pay shipping and handling. I'm not sure that I could justify buying it at full price no matter how good it is.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: pricey
Review 5 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
holly40love
,Hartsville
,SC
November 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Downsized!
November 19, 2012
I agree with Maryland girl. I, too, have ordered this cake many years and it's delicious, but I just got my order for Thanksgiving and the cake is TINY! Yikes! I've got to make other plans for dessert, as this cake is too small to serve - it looks like a "fun size" cake. Very disappointed WS.
Cons: Disappointing, Amount
Review 6 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Aubrey
,Las Vegas
,NV
December 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Good tasting but very small
December 28, 2011
The cake was good and moist with lots of flavor but it was sooooo small.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Amount
Review 7 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KG1983
,Montecito
,Ca
December 27, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Best Coconut Cake ever
December 27, 2011
I've bought this cake for the past three years and it has always been the same size. Although I went crazy over their new peanut butter cup cake (OUTRAGEOUS!!!), this coconut cake is my favorite cake of all-time! It's not the typical massive, oversized cake you see at Costco because this baker emphasizes quality. I'm a really good baker who normally wouldn't buy dessert, especially online, because they are disappointing 99% of the time. I can't bake a better cake than this one, and no bakery I've been to can match it. Scratch baking at its best!
Review 8 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bailoray
,Greenwich
,CT
Connecticut
December 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Coconut Heaven
December 26, 2011
This is one of the best coconut cakes that I have ever had. Got this for Christmas Eve along with a couple of other desserts and this was a hit with the coconut lovers. Best part is that it contains no lemony filling as do many coconut cakes. Really should be larger for the money but it is amazing! Second time ordering and would certainly order again for a special occasion.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: small for $$
Review 9 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MarylandGirl
,Rockville
,MD
December 21, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Make sure you note the size of this cake...
December 21, 2011
I was extremely disappointed in my order this year. I have ordered this cake several times in years past -- it was huge (9" diameter by 6"H). Unfortunately I did not read the fine print to see that this year the cake was only 6" diameter by 3" tall! But of course it was still the same price - $70! This cake tastes great, but the huge decrease in size for the price is outrageous. Too bad, they had a great product in the past.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Disappointing, Amount
Review 10 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
MariaFlorida
,Boca Raton
,fl
December 2, 2011
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Not that good
December 2, 2011
Very dissapointed. I have had better coconut cake for half the price. Not worth it at all. My husband thought it was just ok.
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, Flavor, plain basic cake, not much flavor at all, very overpriced
Review 11 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tetonmama
,Jackon
,WY
November 11, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect Coconut Cake
November 11, 2011
When this cake arrived, I was very skeptical that it would serve 8-10 people, because it looked so small. Not only does it serve that many, but it is one of the best coconut cakes that I have ever had. It is very rich, so the servings can be small. Was perfect for my husband's 80th birthday party.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, great way to blow your calories!
Cons: Unhealthy, lots of calories
Review 12 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RLTALLEY
,Fresno
,CA
Leon Valley, TX
October 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Birthday Cake for Mom
October 31, 2011
This was one of very few birthdays I missed to celebrate my Mother's life... So I sent her this beautiful cake and she loved it...
Direct from my Mom, "The cake was a big success, it was DELICIOUS! You are the sweetest, thank you again for sending it!"
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mfwillick
,Redding
,Ca
October 1, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Wonderful Wonderful Cake
October 1, 2011
I ordered this coconut cake for my sister's perfect endings cake since this is her last birthday. She is dying from cancer and wanted her favorite cake (coconut cake). I surprised her with this beautiful cake. I talked to her this morning wishing her a Happy Birthday with her telling me the cake is already devoured by her husband and herself and the BEST coconut cake she has ever eaten. Thank you for baking and sending such a WONDERFUL
cake. You helped make my beloved sister's last birthday special! ;-)
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift, shipping was extremely fast!
Review 14 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
craftwitch
Cape May Co NJ
August 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Cake was unwrapped in box
August 10, 2011
Although the cake was received uncovered in the box I was told they would send another to my daughter (birthday) she received it about a week later and it was delicious! Follow instructions that come with the cake and it will be like it was just baked.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Great Gift, fresh
Cons: unwrapped
Review 15 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoodCritic
Jupiter, FL
July 12, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Incredible Frosting
July 12, 2011
This is a fantastic cake and it arrives very quickly. The quality of the cake and the butter cream icing are superior. There's nothing not to love and it's hard to resist ordering it again! Oh....those calories!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, fast delivery
Review 16 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Long Beach,CA
May 18, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Coconut Frosting Ever!!!!!
May 18, 2011
I ordered this last year, and it simply stated, is the BEST tasting coconut frosting EVER!!! I"ve even written to Sam Godfrey about it!!! This frosting is just as tasty as I want it to be. It's light, fluffy, just sweet enough, with the right coconut flavor!!! This FYI is Oprah's favorite frosting too.
Review 17 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JamieLS
San Jose, CA
January 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious Cake!
January 24, 2011
I ordered this coconut cake for my husband's birthday, and it was perfect! Because it arrived frozen, it traveled easily with us on our roadtrip to the snow where we celebrated his birthday with friends and family. Everyone gave compliments on how delicious it was...very moist, not overly sweet, coconut flavor in the cake and icing... I would definitely recommend this cake.
Review 18 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seine7
NJ
January 3, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best Coconut Cake
January 3, 2011
I served this at a party recently. I had seven cakes which included two other cakes from Perfect Endings. This cake was the first to go. My guests all loved it including non coconut fans. This cake is the best coconut cake ever.
Review 19 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
jina
Marin, Cs.
November 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Too small for Thanksgiving
November 28, 2010
The cake was not as large as I had hoped for. It was delicious a little too much butter taste. I took a chance as I had always ordered the chocolate cake in the past which was a show stopper. When I saw how small this one was I felt I needed to bring another dessert in case this was not enough for Thanksgiving. Would not order again for Holiday.
Review 20 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DustinW24
New Orleans
November 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Absolutely amazing!
November 18, 2010
Not only the best coconut cake I have ever tasted, this is the best cake I have ever had! Tender and moist and buttery. FANTASTIC!
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
dindi1167
Texas
Posted November 30, 2010
This is not a large cake but so full of delicious flavor. I ordered this and the red velvet and loved both but my husband just raved about this coconut cake, so moist. Will definitely order again.
0points
Customer avatar
dindi1167
Posted November 25, 2010
Best coconut cake, moist and not too sweet. Perfect Endings delivered again.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)