This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake

Coconut cake is a classic of the American South, and this one is the real deal. Layers of extraordinarily tender coconut cake are filled and frosted with a rich coconut buttercream icing and topped with a blizzard of fresh flaked coconut. Napa Valley's celebrated Sam Godfrey makes it from scratch using a recipe handed down from his grandmother, and every bite is a dream. 6" diam., 3 1/2" high (serves 8-10). Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.2 out of 5
3.2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
3 of 5(60%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
Review 1 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Annamae
,Seattle
,WA
July 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Coconut Cake Five Star Appearance One Star Taste
July 19, 2013
Appearance is that of an old fashioned cake. The resemblance is in appearance only but not in the size, nor in the taste. A truly old fashioned cake would be an 8 or 9 inch cake with a light and fluffy texture. This was a very heavy cake texture. It does slice well, and thinly sliced will go a long way. I say this because , having had a professional chef in the family, and having tasted truly old-fashioned light and fluffy 8 to 9 inch cakes, this does taste at all like an old fashioned cake and perhaps should be renamed, because the name is misleading. Nothing light and fluffy about this "vintage" cake, except the appearance.
There was not an ingredient's list included with this cake. Would not buy again, because not only of the taste and size, but my guests and I like to know what we are eating and not having to guess as to what was used, cream, butter, shortening? . Isn't listing ingredients a legal requirement?
Pros: Appearance
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, no ingredients listed
Review 2 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AEDP
,West Palm Beach
,FL
Hartford, CT
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
The Best Coconut Cake Ever, Really
February 28, 2013
I order this cake twice a year and savor every single bite. Yes, the cake is small but whatever the cake lacks in size is more than made up in flavor. Moist and delicious, the cake is not overwhelmed with too much frosting - just enough with the outside sprinkled with sweetened coconut. A cake can't taste this good without top quality ingredients.
The cake arrives in perfect condition, frozen and wrapped to ensure it looks as good as it tastes.
Pros: Authentic, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Great Gift, Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Size
Review 3 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
shawnaw
February 20, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
hands down...best coconut cake ever
February 20, 2013
this cake was SO good. i couldn't stop eating it.
the frosting was fantastic and the cake part was mmm delicious. my mouth is watering just looking at the picture while writing this review.
the only reason i didn't give it 5 stars is because of the size/price ratio. if it was solely based on tase then there wouldn't be enough stars to give it.
with that being said...i'll definitely be buying this again because it was just so good.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, taste
Cons: price, Size
Review 4 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KathyMc
,Granada Hills
,CA
January 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Wonderful Cake
January 11, 2013
I thought this cake was excellent and not too small at all. Wonderful coconut flavor and just the right amount of frosting. The cake itself was moist and flavorful. It can easily serve 8-10. This cake is not "supersize", it is just right. If you enjoy a good coconut cake and don't want to bake it yourself, try this.
Disclaimer - I bought this cake when it was on sale before Christmas and I also did not have to pay shipping and handling. I'm not sure that I could justify buying it at full price no matter how good it is.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Cons: pricey
Review 5 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) Coconut Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
holly40love
,Hartsville
,SC
November 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Downsized!
November 19, 2012
I agree with Maryland girl. I, too, have ordered this cake many years and it's delicious, but I just got my order for Thanksgiving and the cake is TINY! Yikes! I've got to make other plans for dessert, as this cake is too small to serve - it looks like a "fun size" cake. Very disappointed WS.
Cons: Disappointing, Amount