This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake

Sam Godfrey, founder of Perfect Endings Bakery in Napa, California, created this luscious German chocolate cake to honor his Southern grandmother. The tempting dessert alternates three layers of tender-crumbed chocolate cake with a buttery coconut-pecan filling and frosting, re-creating his grandmother's recipes down to the last scrumptious crumb. 6" diam., 4" high (serves 8-10). Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(27 Reviews) 27
19 of 27(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
Review 1 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
holly40love
,Hartsville
,SC
November 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Tiny Cake - Deceiving Picture
November 19, 2012
I have ordered this cake many years and it's delicious, but I just got my order for Thanksgiving and the cake is TINY! Yikes! I've got to make other plans for dessert, as this cake is too small to serve - it looks like a "fun size" cake. Very disappointed WS.
Cons: Disappointing
Review 2 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bettina90210
,Bel Air
,Ca
December 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Amazing German Chocolate Cake
December 30, 2011
Moist and the perfect amount of sweetness. Ordered this for my grandfather because it's his favorite. It was so good he couldn't believe it came from a mail order company! We had 6 cakes by this comany and every one of them was moist, creamy and delicious. Best cakes we had ever tasted.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 3 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Midwestnurse
,IN
December 9, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Disappointing
December 9, 2011
Very disappointed in this cake. The icing was so sweet it makes your teeth ache, and the actual cake layers were dry and nearly tasteless.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 4 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
julienN
,Washington
,NC
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The most delicious cake I've ever had in my life.
December 6, 2011
This is a very well made cake, not too sweet but just enough to make your mouth like water....Its taste is beyond ordinary cakes. Definitely worth the money! Deliciously baked,Thanks!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 5 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BetteS
,Lopez Island
,WA
San Juan Islands, WA
November 16, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Cake gone in seconds!
November 16, 2011
This cake was sent to a college student for her 21st birthday. When asked how it was, she responded "It was good and it was gone in seconds!"
I realize college students would love anything, but they seemed to think the cake was really wonderful.
Pros: Great Gift
Review 6 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
meg153
South Caoline
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
The perfect gift!
August 4, 2011
Because I live over 1,000 miles away from my family, I have to think "outside the box" when it comes to gifts. I sent this to my grandfather for his 80th birthday, and for the person that has EVERYTHING and needs NOTHING (not to mention very hard to please) this cake was a huge hit! Everyone raved about how delicious it was and that it simply was the BEST German Choclate Cake they had ever had. Not one bit dry or overly sweet, and it feed 10 people without a problem. It arrived only 4 buisness days after I ordered it, and intact. I will absolutely order this again and reccomend it for the hard to shop for person on your list!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
severlupe
st. louis
July 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Beyond Outstanding
July 29, 2011
Did a test run this summer with regard to whether or not this should be part of the holiday dessert festivities. At first, my family was horrified by the price; that is, until they realized I had free shipping (WS Reserve is a must have) and they tasted it. I cannot recommend this enough, and neither can the family. They DEMANDED this cake when I cook throughout the holiday season. Really, really great stuff, and given the test run product arrived perfectly in 103 degree weather here, bravo!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 8 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PerfectFan
NC
May 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best German Chocolate Cake out there!!!
May 31, 2011
This is arguably the second best cake I've ever eaten. Moist, sweet, delicious.
If you like German chocolate Cake this is a MUST try!!!
Now, some of the reviewers are complaining about the size of the cake...it is on the small side (says feeds 8 to 10) but I think it can easily feed 6 to 8. Whichever reviewer said it only feed 3 people must have huge appetites!
Also, everyone needs to understand this is not a Williams Sonoma made cake...hence the difference in size. It is made by Perfect Endings in Napa CA. They are world-renowned for their cakes. I'm glad to see they have finally decided to branch out...as long as the quality remains high, I'm a fan! They did our wedding cake and when you compare what we paid per slice for a wedding cake, versus the $60 bucks for their cakes here, these are a heck of a deal!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
MamaHen
IL
Posted July 16, 2011
2nd best??
You say it's the second best cake you've eaten, what's the first?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tweetiebird
Wisconsin
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fantastic G-Chocolate Cake!
March 7, 2011
I've tried several cakes from Perfect Endings and this one is their best. It is moist and sweet but not "hurt your cheeks" sweet which plague some German chocolate cakes. And it stayed fresh for two and a half weeks (under a cake cover in the fridge) and was just as tasty and moist as when it was first defrosted. It's small but very rich so you don't need a huge piece to feel satisfied.
Review 10 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dolmettler
New Jersey
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
German Choclate Cake
February 24, 2011
Ever since, I came to this country 30 years ago and tasted my first German Choclate Cake, it became my favourite desert. However, I have tried every bakery and brand and William Sonoma's was the only TRUE and delightfully tasy German Choclate Cake. I am getting this for my own Birthday, that is how much I love it.
amettler in NJ
Review 11 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vallentina
Pismo Beach
February 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Truly outstanding
February 24, 2011
I was too lazy to bake and bought this and their red velvet cake on an impulse for a week long ski trip. They were the first things to disappear and we had to rush order two more the second day into the trip! Moist and absolutely delicious. Can't remember having better cake ever.
Review 12 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Benji1968
Provo, Utah
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
YES!!!!!!!!!!!
February 21, 2011
The search is over...THIS is what German Chocolate Cake is supposed to taste like! Hands down the best cake I have ever eaten. Melts in your mouth and not sugary. Absolutely incredible!
Review 13 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AllezGilles
Colorado Springs
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Showstopper!
February 20, 2011
In appearance this is a very humble cake, but one bite will blow your mind! The cake is really moist and the coconut pecan frosting is incredible. Never tasted a better cake anywhere. A winner!
Review 14 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeattleDew
Seattle
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Alltime favorite cake!
February 19, 2011
If I could I would eat a slice of this amazing cake every day for the rest of my life! So moist and buttery but not sickening sweet like a lot of german chocolate cake can be. Best cake I have ever tasted!
Review 15 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FarmersMark
Nantucket
February 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
EXTRAORDINARY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
February 18, 2011
I was worried about some of the reviews and almost didn't buy this cake but I am SO HAPPY I did! This cake is AMAZING! By far the best german chocolate cake my family has ever tasted. Rich and buttery but not too sweet. It really is perfect. This cake is smaller than the normal 9 inch cake, but by no means it is the size of a cupcake! We served 12 people and it was plenty. Worth every penny and I just ordered 2 more!
Review 16 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jillian234
Grand Rapids, MI
January 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Awesome Frosting, OK Cake, Small Size :(
January 26, 2011
Some of the best coconut pecan icing I've had, and the cake had a generous amount of it (which is hard to find). The cake was just OK, and overall the cake was waaay to small for the price.
Review 17 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Howdee
Los Angeles
January 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Bigger and better than it looks.
January 10, 2011
Don't let the size or the look of this confection fool you. It serves far more and satisfies beyond expectation. The cake is wrapped in plastic wrap which smashes the coconut into the cake. So, although it's not picture perfect, the end result is very satisfying. We served 6 for dinner and 8 for lunch the following day. If you go slim on the slices, you will be able to serve more without losing out on the satisfaction of eating this delicious confection. I'm sold.
Review 18 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lybby
McAllen, Texas
January 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Not like other cakes bought at Williams-Sonoma
January 5, 2011
I have bought several cakes from Williams- Sonoma and this one was a big disappointment. The cake was much smaller than the others we bought and had a bitter flavor. Nothing like the German Chocolate Cakes we have had in the past. I really can not recommend this cake and I am very sorry for that. The other cakes from Williams - Sonoma were fantastic.
Review 19 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stoops
New York
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Poor Taste
January 4, 2011
This cake has a poor taste. I recommend not purchasing this overpriced cake.
Review 20 for Perfect Endings Vintage(TM) German Chocolate Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Indygirl
Anderson,IN
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Very small
December 31, 2010
This cake was very small. It was a dry cake. It was not a good cake at all.
page1 2 next