This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Perfect Endings Flower Pot Cake

Pastry artistry in full bloom, this chocolate devil's food cake arrives in the exquisite shape of a potted African violet. Send the flower cake as a sweet Mother's Day gift, or serve it as a show-stopping addition to your spring table. Velvety-rich five-layer chocolate devil's food cake with chocolate-caramel truffle cream filling and coffee buttercream frosting. Topped with hand-sculpted sugar paste flowers and green fondant icing leaves. Made for us by Perfect Endings in California's Napa Valley. Easy to prepare: simply thaw and serve. Shipped frozen. 5 1/2" diam., 6 1/2" high (serves 4). Made in the USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.714 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
7 of 7(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Perfect Endings Flower Pot Cake
Review 1 for Perfect Endings Flower Pot Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ScorpTO
,Newport
,RI
June 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Amazing!!!
June 24, 2012
I purchased this cake for my mother's birthday last month. First, let me say that the cake came earlier than I had expected, which isn't a bad thing; as a matter of fact, I was extremely happy with the early arrival (though I had to hide it from my mother) and it was received in perfect condition. Second, the flavor was amazing! After I had presented it to my mother I found out that she wasn't a big chocolate fan (however she loves Red Velvet) but, later she admitted that she tried a piece and was tempted to eat the whole thing (she didn't, she shared). The flavor was ridiculous, and after a week of hiding the cake from my mother it was still moist. I have the feeling that if I purchased this for her again she would not have a problem eating it.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Perfect Endings Flower Pot Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
domesticengineer
,Monroe
,MI
Monroe, MI
April 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent!
April 24, 2012
The cake arrived packaged very well and I transferred it to the freezer immediately. A month later I got it out for our anniversary and it was perfect. I let it thaw out on my mother’s violet cake stand in the middle of our table. The boys and husband left it alone as they thought it was a real potted plant! It took my husband a while to figure out where the cake was hidden in plain site! We all enjoyed a small slice of this truly rich, decadent chocolate fudgy cake. I’m not a candy lover so a small slice went a long way. The outside frosting is one of best I have ever tasted and I want Williams and Sonoma to put this recipe online so I can try and master it for my own cakes! I would highly recommend this cake for any special occasion in a small group or a couple a ladies. You will not be disappointed period! Price is a little steep but I will again order this one.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: pricey
Review 3 for Perfect Endings Flower Pot Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LPAAA
Norwalk, CT
May 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Lovely cake
May 26, 2011
I sent this cake to my mother-in-law for a Mother's Day treat and she said it was so pretty but deceptively small based on the packaging and ALOT of frosting. However I still think it's a great option instead of flowers or candy.
Review 4 for Perfect Endings Flower Pot Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ArizonaMom
Arizona
May 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious Mothers day gift
May 8, 2011
My daughter sent this as a Mothers Day gift and I cannot say enough good about it. It arrived on time, was in great shape and as soon as I opened it I knew it had to be special. I was not disappointed, neither was my husband. We each had a slice this evening and look forward to the remaining six slices. It is delicious, especially the "pot" a very creamy and tasty treat,. The cake was equally yummy. Any Mother would appreciate a cake like this for any occasion,.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, bigger than it looks
Review 5 for Perfect Endings Flower Pot Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SBFOODIE
Santa Barbara, Ca
May 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
MOTHER'S DAY GIFT
May 8, 2011
I ordered this gift for Mother's Day. Just received a phone call from my Mom and she said not only did it arrive Friday in perfect condition (she lives in southern Arizona) she let it rest until Sunday in the refrigerator. She and my Dad LOVE this cake. It's as beautiful as the photo and incredibly moist and delicious! Home Run Gift W-S and Perfect Endings, Thanks!
Pros: Quality, Great Gift
Review 6 for Perfect Endings Flower Pot Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Trainer90210
Encino
April 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
To die for cake!
April 8, 2011
Worth every penny! I cannot tell you how fabulous this cake was. It was rich, creamy, moist, fresh and tasted as if it was made only minutes before we ate it! Served it at a garden tea party and it stole the show. It's not a huge cake but it is so rich you truly need just a sliver. I don't mind paying top dollar for perfection and that is what this cake is. I have never tasted a better cake and I will certainly order another one.
Review 7 for Perfect Endings Flower Pot Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Villa
Palm Beach
April 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
EDIBLE ART!
April 2, 2011
Had this EXTRAORDINARY cake for my birthday, along with their amazing cupcakes, and I've never heard more raves about dessert in my life! The Perfect Endings cupcakes are to die for, and this flowerpot cake is a work of art! It's not overly sweet but it is rich and so a little goes a long way. This is the best cake I've ever tasted!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sesee
Minneapolis
Posted May 8, 2011
Expensive piece of cake
You would have to supplement cupcakes with this $25 per slice cake. I thought I would be able to feed the family purchasing this cake for $100, when I discovered a dilemma as to which 4 family members would be able to get a slice. I expected a bigger cake and was disappointed at its size.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)