This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Peppermint Crunch Cake

A holiday classic, this rich dessert features four layers of rich, moist chocolate cake filled with fluffy peppermint buttercream, swirled with crunchy bits of peppermint candy and finished with a smooth peppermint frosting. For a festive finishing touch, we've included a packet of peppermint candy bits to sprinkle over the cake just before serving. Shipped frozen, the cake is easy to prepare- simply thaw, decorate with candy bits and serve. 9 1/2" diam., 5 1/2" high (serves 16-20). Shipped frozen. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
6 of 8(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Peppermint Crunch Cake
Review 1 for Peppermint Crunch Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
marie7
Ohio
January 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Yearly tradition
January 11, 2012
I have ordered this cake for the past 2 years. Everyone who has sampled it loves it. Very moist for chocolate cake and the peppermint is not over-powering. Larger than most WS cakes.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 2 for Peppermint Crunch Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MaryLisa
,Rancho Mirage
,Ca
December 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Birthday!
December 30, 2011
So delicious and the perfect treat to celebrate my daughter's Christmas Eve birthday. She spotted this cake in the catalog and added it to her wish list. Thank you for making her so happy!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Peppermint Crunch Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mkhmiller
December 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent cake!
December 30, 2011
Absolutely fabulous cake! Great flavor - the cake was moist. Not one complaint. Worth every penny!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 4 for Peppermint Crunch Cake
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Consuela
,Midland Park
,NJ
December 29, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Too dry/sagging icing
December 29, 2011
This cake was so pretty, smelled heavenly and was a great size. I took it out Christmas morning, but by the evening the icing on the sides of the cake had sagged off and pooled all along the base of the cake stand! The taste of the icing was amazing, but the cake itself was far too dry. Makes me sad because I would definitely have ordered it again...
Pros: Amount, Flavor
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 5 for Peppermint Crunch Cake
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Susan38
,Somerset
,KY
December 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
This was a disappointment.
December 24, 2011
I was disappointed in the cake. I have ordered other baked goods from you before and have been pleased with the products. However, even though this cake was beautiful on the cake stand, it was dry and hard. Most of the slices were left on the plates by my guests.
I would not recommend.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, dry
Review 6 for Peppermint Crunch Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WWOTW
,Seattle
,WA
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Absolutely delicious!
November 21, 2011
I ordered 2 of these last year and am ordering them again this year. They are delicious, moist and keep really well. I panicked when I didn't see this in the fall catalog but am so relieved to see WS include it for Christmas! Yes, it is expensive, but it serves a lot of people and you can re-freeze what you don't eat the first time. After cooking all day for Xmas, it was nice to just pull this out of the freezer. It tasted like it had never been frozen! It looks beautiful and tastes fabulous if you like chocolate mint, which I do.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, doesn't taste like it was ever frozen
Review 7 for Peppermint Crunch Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
scogs19
Phoenix, AZ
December 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
This is a great cake
December 14, 2010
I ordered this cake for a Christmas cocktail party as a sweet item for the table. Everyone loved this cake. It has a great balance of peppermint and chocolate. My husband (who hates cake) has been eating all the leftovers. I am ordering another for my Mom for our family Christmas.
Review 8 for Peppermint Crunch Cake
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
aris
San Diego
December 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
so delicious
December 8, 2010
I ordered this cake to do a taste test before sending as a corporate gift to clients. It was absolutely fabulous! It is the BEST cake I have ever had. It is moist and obviously made with a high quality chocolate, all the ingredients must be the finest because this cake is really the best I've ever tasted. The frosting and filling are smooth and creamy. Order this cake, you won't be disappointed.