The Original Peppermint Bark

Our nostalgic peppermint bark is often copied but never matched in quality or flavor. It's handmade from custom-blended Guittard premium chocolate, infused with natural peppermint oil, layered with creamy white chocolate and finished with a snowfall of crisp handmade peppermint candy bits. An original Williams-Sonoma recipe and our beloved holiday tradition. Prepared using time-honored confectionery techniques. Master candymakers pour semisweet chocolate onto a confectioner's table, then add a layer of creamy white chocolate. A sprinkling of crisp handmade peppermint candy bits offers an inspired contrast to the rich, velvety smoothness of the world-class chocolate. 1 lb. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.711 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(135 Reviews) 135
126 of 135(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for The Original Peppermint Bark
Review 1 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JASNTAS
,Houston
,TX
January 17, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Funny Story About This Candy
January 17, 2015
I just wanted to share this ... I gave a box of this candy to a friend who had a three year old grand daughter named Emma. One day my friend was babysitting Emma when the little girl requested "Puppy Candy". My friend was perplexed because she didn't know what the little girl meant - and every thing she showed her, Emma would refuse and continued to ask for "Puppy Candy" getting more and more frustrated. Finally she pointed to the red and white box of the William Sonoma Peppermint Bark and sure enough there was a puppy dog on the box! Plus Peppermint - to a small child - must sound like Puppy! Emma had a big smile on her face when her grandma finally understood! So we have laughingly been calling this Peppermint Bark "Puppy Candy" ever since!! This candy is the best on the market!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for The Original Peppermint Bark
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kaleidoe88
,Phoenix
,AZ
March 13, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Regrets in My Life .
March 13, 2015
This much hyped Williams-Sonoma product disappointed me. The chocolate was completely melted upon arrival. The white and chocolate layers coalesced into a chocolate sludge. I cut off a corner of the plastic bag and squeezed the chocolate slurry into my mouth. The chocolate tasted stale ; the large candy cane pieces, hard and too chewy (not really how I wanted to break a tooth). I guess I expected too much from clearance Christmas chocolate (I purchased this product in March). I feel disappointed in myself for selecting an unsatisfactory treat and in the William-Sonoma brand. I probably won’t return it, since the return shipping fees would negate any monetary refund. I plan on using the tin as a dog food dispenser.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Poolshark7
MD
Posted March 25, 2015
..
that looks terrible,.. i was going to order, (on clearance again now late in march) but i decided to pass after seeing this, and thinking about how long ago Christmas was already.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for The Original Peppermint Bark
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Latrinaloo
,Madera
,CA
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
9of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy, but not worth the high price
January 16, 2013
I have purchased Williams Sonoma peppermint bark for many years now - it is delicious and almost a tradition in my household... but the price has become exorbitant and out of line for what the product really is. This past year it cost $26.95 for one box. The quality of the chocolate is very good, but one can make really good bark themselves at a fraction of the cost by using high quality white and dark chocolate (i.e. Guittard), a dash of peppermint oil and crushed candy canes.
I recently purchased the product at the online WS After Christmas sale for $12 and free shipping. THAT was well worth the price. In the coming years I won't pay more than about $20 for this product.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount, expensive!
Review 4 for The Original Peppermint Bark
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PeppermintPrincess
,Orange county
,Ca
December 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
There okay
December 22, 2012
Given the fact that many baking companies and supermarkets are making peppermint bark its no longer hard to come by. I have tasted so many, in my opinion Mrs. Fields makes the tastiest as it has more crunch and better flavor, Whole foods market sells it year round in my area,. These peppermint barks are very good quality though, they do not have hydrogenated oil, which i'm almost sure Mrs. Fields does! Therefore I give these 4 stars. I wouldn't buy these again, since I find the same quality in whole foods for a bit cheaper. But if I received these as a gift I would be quite happy.
Pros: Quality, Great Gift
Review 5 for The Original Peppermint Bark
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LizaM
,Oakton
,VA
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing flavor this year
January 1, 2013
I have bought this bark for at least 5 years now, and this year I bought 3 boxes for the holidays. I have to say that my family and I felt that this year's batch was not up to standard. Specifically, the dark chocolate layer on the bottom was much thinner than we have come to expect, and that imbalance threw off the taste. Was this the consequence of cost-cutting by the manufacturer? If so, that's too bad. I have always preferred Williams-Sonoma's bark to all others, but I have sadly concluded that this year's version was not worth the expense.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, not a good value this year
Review 6 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth511
,San Antonio
,YX
December 22, 2012
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Peppermint Bark
December 22, 2012
The peppermint bark is without peer, I have ordered it or purchaced it in the stores for several years. During Christmas we keep a box open in the office almost all the Christmas season and then I usually give several boxes away as thank yous for referral business during Christmas. For some reason the boxes that we opened at the office seem to be a little less that satifactory....below William Snoma's normal quality. I called and they promptly replaced the boxes. Thanks William Snoma for your great customer service and wonderful Peppermint Bark
Pros: Flavor, Great Gift, customer service
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DisappointedInAustin
Austin Texas
Posted December 25, 2012
Disappointed with Peppermint Bark
I either purchase or receive a box of WS Peppermint Bark each year for the past several years and wait with anticipation to enjoy myself and share.
This year my box was a gift, and the packaging was not the same. Both pieces were in one cello wrap instead of individually wrapped and one of the slabs was totally broken into little pieces. Additionally, there was little peppermint on the top of the pieces.
This ruined the anticipation and the experience, and I am unable to SHARE my peppermint bark with a friend as planned.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LjandRay
,Melbourne
,FL
January 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Peppermint Bark Ever!
January 11, 2013
Williams-Sonoma has the very best Peppermint Bark hands down. I order as much as I can afford each Christmas. Would love to wait until it goes on sale but by then it is all sold out. Decided that I would not wait this year. At the very first sign of a "Promotion" such as "Free Shipping", I placed my order. I must have put on ten pounds eating my fill of Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark this year. Have tried several and none are as tasty as Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, delicious
Review 8 for The Original Peppermint Bark
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Skpal
,Jacksonville
,FL
December 26, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Smaller portions, higher price
December 26, 2014
I would like to preface this review by saying this bark is phenomenal & it has been a family traditions for years. With that being said, I am disappointed with the fact that the bark is much thinner this year, and the price higher. It is awkward because the top piece is much thinner & the bottom piece the normal size. This would be fine but with an increasing price & half the box being thin & the other half thick, it does not exude the quality that repeat customers are used to.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Disappointing, Amount, decreasing price increasing price.
Review 9 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NatureG
,San Jose
,CA
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Peppermint Bark! The Best Holiday Treat!
December 7, 2012
I buy multiple tins of Peppermint Bark every season for clients and friends and family! Everyone loves and appreciates this very special gift!
This year I bought 10 more tins of bark just for myself! So I'll have treats to eat after the holidays -- since everything I put out at the office and at home gets eaten right away! I want Peppermint Bark for me too:-)!
LOVE Bark and the beautiful collectible tins! Love this William Sonoma tradition. Keep it up.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, wonderful
Review 10 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2minty
,Chicago
,IL
December 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My First Love Of Bark
December 15, 2014
I bought these because I love milk chocolate Guittard's baking chips . So when I saw them in a Geneva's Commons Store I knew this was going to be a treat for me, So I thought. I brought it home and everybody wanted to sample my bark. And this has been a family treat. What I love is that you get 2 slabs and you break them into to any size you want. The dark/white chocolate is so smooth & the peppermint is cool and refreshing. A must buy.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SunshineGrandma
,Houston
,TX
February 10, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Peppermint Bark!
February 10, 2015
Creamy and rich chocolate, topped with the Peppermint, is perfection in taste. Our neighbor brought over a tin of this as a Christmas present. I hesitate to eat chocolate, for diet reasons, but I couldn't stop breaking off little pieces. So rich and delicious! Once it was gone, I ordered more cans, after it went on sale after Christmas. It's well wrapped inside the can, so I think it will keep well for a couple months, at least.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for The Original Peppermint Bark
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
blza
,Mooresville
,NC
March 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I usually love Peppermint Bark
March 20, 2015
W-S Peppermint Bark is one of my favorite things at Christmas. When I placed an online order in February for a different product, I ordered a tin box of the Bark as it was on clearance. My family and I were disappointed in that it tasted old. So, keep in mind that it does have a shelf life and your best bet is to buy it at Christmas time. I gave it a 1-star rating because I ended up throwing this particular box away.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 13 for The Original Peppermint Bark
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CozyKat
,Atlanta
,GA
February 23, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Up to Previous Years' Standards
February 23, 2015
I have bought this Peppermint Bark previously and it was delicious. What I purchased this year was waxy with very little peppermint on top. No real peppermint flavor was apparent. The chocolate seemed to be of a very poor quality - not the rich, melt in your mouth chocolate I remembered. It is so waxy it seems like cheap drugstore chocolate. Very disappointing. I actually threw the bark away and kept the tin!
Pros: cute tin
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, seems cheap
Review 14 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jms825
,Ocean Springs
,MS
April 8, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely fantastic
April 8, 2015
I had a friend tell me about William Sonoma's peppermint bark, so I thought I would try a box. I'm not sure weather I should give them credit for the heads up, or blame them for my new addiction. It seriously is that good. My only suggestion would be to purchase this as a gift and have it sent directly to who ever it's for, because if you have some laying around, your going to eat more than you need to.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Unhealthy
Review 15 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jdrr55
,Hershey
,PA
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Peppermint Bark
December 31, 2012
Yes, it's pricey. And we have tried less expensive brands. But there is no comparison! We splurged and bought ourselves a tin in early December. We rationed it as best we could and then I received an invitation to order online at a special price for that day only. I made sure I got my online order in before midnight and now we are savoring our Peppermint Bark. It's one of our favorite holiday treats!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dolce723
,Manchester
,NJ
March 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peppermint Bark
March 22, 2015
Absolutely to die for. The only thing that I have a problem with is the tin. Who ever makes this is going to HEAVEN FIRST CLASS. Why don't they have "refills" so the tin can be used again? I have 6 tins and 3 more on the way.
I cannot be buying this item (even though I am terribly addicted) because I do not want anymore tins, and the tins are really nice but I cannot buy the bark and have more tins.
Review 17 for The Original Peppermint Bark
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bugsbunny1
,Orchard Park
,NY
December 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Different than previous years
December 2, 2012
This has always been my Christmas obsession, so when it was on sale last month, I purchased 2 tins. Unfortunately, this year the bark is half the thickness as the previous years and not nearly as much candy cane on top. In fact, some pieces had no candy. The chocolate is good, but I don't taste the peppermint either. I am VERY dissappionted and thinking of taking the 2nd tin back to the store. :(
Cons: Disappointing
Review 18 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RosanaDana
,Charleston
,SC
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Family Tradition for Christmas
January 1, 2013
Your peppermint bark is a favorite in our family and for good reason! This candy is delicious -- just the right combination of chocolate and mint -- and complements all the home-baked goodies too. It's a great gift for sending 'a little something' to family & friends far away. The bark also makes a unique hostess gift to bring along to holiday open houses instead of the usual bottle of wine.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 19 for The Original Peppermint Bark
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1stTimeCustomer
,Chapel Hill
,NC
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the Best X'mas Treats
January 16, 2013
I got our first box as a gift and the kids just LOVED it. Now I'm getting them regularly. This year we bought 3 boxes. I've tried other brands. They are just not as good as W-S. The chocolate of W-S seems smoother and creamier. The only slight complaint this year is that there weren't as many peppermint pieces as I recalled. But, the overall flavor is still very nice!
Great Holiday Treats!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 20 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DCJamerican28
,Jacksonville
,FL
December 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Each bite is addicting!
December 6, 2014
A month ago I walked into the store and sampled this. Fell in love immediately! So I bought a candy bar. It wasn't good enough. A week later I bought the tin. We love it so much! I'm going to go back and will buy 2 tins before it's gone! You can't just eat one piece of this it makes you want more. I'm thinking of gifting one of the tins for like a Secret Santa idea as well.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next