The Original Peppermint Bark

Our nostalgic peppermint bark is often copied but never matched in quality or flavor. It's handmade from custom-blended Guittard premium chocolate, infused with natural peppermint oil, layered with creamy white chocolate and finished with a snowfall of crisp handmade peppermint candy bits. An original Williams-Sonoma recipe and our beloved holiday tradition. Prepared using time-honored confectionery techniques. Master candymakers pour semisweet chocolate onto a confectioner's table, then add a layer of creamy white chocolate. A sprinkling of crisp handmade peppermint candy bits offers an inspired contrast to the rich, velvety smoothness of the world-class chocolate. 1 lb. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.746 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
62 of 67(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for The Original Peppermint Bark
Review 1 for The Original Peppermint Bark
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Latrinaloo
,Madera
,CA
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy, but not worth the high price
January 16, 2013
I have purchased Williams Sonoma peppermint bark for many years now - it is delicious and almost a tradition in my household... but the price has become exorbitant and out of line for what the product really is. This past year it cost $26.95 for one box. The quality of the chocolate is very good, but one can make really good bark themselves at a fraction of the cost by using high quality white and dark chocolate (i.e. Guittard), a dash of peppermint oil and crushed candy canes.
I recently purchased the product at the online WS After Christmas sale for $12 and free shipping. THAT was well worth the price. In the coming years I won't pay more than about $20 for this product.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount, expensive!
Review 2 for The Original Peppermint Bark
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PeppermintPrincess
,Orange county
,Ca
December 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
There okay
December 22, 2012
Given the fact that many baking companies and supermarkets are making peppermint bark its no longer hard to come by. I have tasted so many, in my opinion Mrs. Fields makes the tastiest as it has more crunch and better flavor, Whole foods market sells it year round in my area,. These peppermint barks are very good quality though, they do not have hydrogenated oil, which i'm almost sure Mrs. Fields does! Therefore I give these 4 stars. I wouldn't buy these again, since I find the same quality in whole foods for a bit cheaper. But if I received these as a gift I would be quite happy.
Pros: Quality, Great Gift
Review 3 for The Original Peppermint Bark
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LizaM
,Oakton
,VA
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing flavor this year
January 1, 2013
I have bought this bark for at least 5 years now, and this year I bought 3 boxes for the holidays. I have to say that my family and I felt that this year's batch was not up to standard. Specifically, the dark chocolate layer on the bottom was much thinner than we have come to expect, and that imbalance threw off the taste. Was this the consequence of cost-cutting by the manufacturer? If so, that's too bad. I have always preferred Williams-Sonoma's bark to all others, but I have sadly concluded that this year's version was not worth the expense.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, not a good value this year
Review 4 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elizabeth511
,San Antonio
,YX
December 22, 2012
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fabulous Peppermint Bark
December 22, 2012
The peppermint bark is without peer, I have ordered it or purchaced it in the stores for several years. During Christmas we keep a box open in the office almost all the Christmas season and then I usually give several boxes away as thank yous for referral business during Christmas. For some reason the boxes that we opened at the office seem to be a little less that satifactory....below William Snoma's normal quality. I called and they promptly replaced the boxes. Thanks William Snoma for your great customer service and wonderful Peppermint Bark
Pros: Flavor, Great Gift, customer service
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
DisappointedInAustin
Austin Texas
Posted December 25, 2012
Disappointed with Peppermint Bark
I either purchase or receive a box of WS Peppermint Bark each year for the past several years and wait with anticipation to enjoy myself and share.
This year my box was a gift, and the packaging was not the same. Both pieces were in one cello wrap instead of individually wrapped and one of the slabs was totally broken into little pieces. Additionally, there was little peppermint on the top of the pieces.
This ruined the anticipation and the experience, and I am unable to SHARE my peppermint bark with a friend as planned.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LjandRay
,Melbourne
,FL
January 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Peppermint Bark Ever!
January 11, 2013
Williams-Sonoma has the very best Peppermint Bark hands down. I order as much as I can afford each Christmas. Would love to wait until it goes on sale but by then it is all sold out. Decided that I would not wait this year. At the very first sign of a "Promotion" such as "Free Shipping", I placed my order. I must have put on ten pounds eating my fill of Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark this year. Have tried several and none are as tasty as Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark. I highly recommend it.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, delicious
Review 6 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NatureG
,San Jose
,CA
December 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Peppermint Bark! The Best Holiday Treat!
December 7, 2012
I buy multiple tins of Peppermint Bark every season for clients and friends and family! Everyone loves and appreciates this very special gift!
This year I bought 10 more tins of bark just for myself! So I'll have treats to eat after the holidays -- since everything I put out at the office and at home gets eaten right away! I want Peppermint Bark for me too:-)!
LOVE Bark and the beautiful collectible tins! Love this William Sonoma tradition. Keep it up.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, wonderful
Review 7 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jdrr55
,Hershey
,PA
December 31, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Peppermint Bark
December 31, 2012
Yes, it's pricey. And we have tried less expensive brands. But there is no comparison! We splurged and bought ourselves a tin in early December. We rationed it as best we could and then I received an invitation to order online at a special price for that day only. I made sure I got my online order in before midnight and now we are savoring our Peppermint Bark. It's one of our favorite holiday treats!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for The Original Peppermint Bark
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
bugsbunny1
,Orchard Park
,NY
December 2, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Different than previous years
December 2, 2012
This has always been my Christmas obsession, so when it was on sale last month, I purchased 2 tins. Unfortunately, this year the bark is half the thickness as the previous years and not nearly as much candy cane on top. In fact, some pieces had no candy. The chocolate is good, but I don't taste the peppermint either. I am VERY dissappionted and thinking of taking the 2nd tin back to the store. :(
Cons: Disappointing
Review 9 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RosanaDana
,Charleston
,SC
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Family Tradition for Christmas
January 1, 2013
Your peppermint bark is a favorite in our family and for good reason! This candy is delicious -- just the right combination of chocolate and mint -- and complements all the home-baked goodies too. It's a great gift for sending 'a little something' to family & friends far away. The bark also makes a unique hostess gift to bring along to holiday open houses instead of the usual bottle of wine.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount
Review 10 for The Original Peppermint Bark
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
1stTimeCustomer
,Chapel Hill
,NC
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the Best X'mas Treats
January 16, 2013
I got our first box as a gift and the kids just LOVED it. Now I'm getting them regularly. This year we bought 3 boxes. I've tried other brands. They are just not as good as W-S. The chocolate of W-S seems smoother and creamier. The only slight complaint this year is that there weren't as many peppermint pieces as I recalled. But, the overall flavor is still very nice!
Great Holiday Treats!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 11 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grandmac16
,Arlington Heights
,IL
December 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It must be Christmas
December 21, 2012
Our grandchildren said " we love come to your house, grandma, because we know its Christmas because you have Peppermint Bark. We sure hope you don't run out"
My big problem is that we have 16 Grandchildren, so when I tell them I got another shipment of Peppermint Bark from William Sonoma, the response just was ( about 10 mins ago). We are on our way over to get more
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, delicious, grand kids keep coming for more
Review 12 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Garden0421
,Corpus Christi
,TX
December 24, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
December 24, 2012
I've never had peppermint bark before but my mom saw some in a store and commented that she'd like some so ordered from WS for my mom for Christmas.
I accidentally ordered two so I kept one for myself....I'm glad I did because it is absolutely delicious!!! There is plenty in the package to share and the tin it comes in is super neat too.
Pros: Amount, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 13 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ToddL
,Kennesaw
,GA
December 14, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Highly Addictive
December 14, 2012
There isn't another company that can match this Peppermint Bark for its quality and taste. If there ever was a candy that's addictive, this product is it. It is hard to wait for late November to come around each year for this appear in stores. I buy multiple tins every year.
I highly reccommend this to any Chocolate lover.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 14 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddkagan
,Roswell
,GA
January 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely the best!
January 1, 2014
I have tried other brands of peppermint bark but none even come close to this one! The peppermint chips are mild and not overpowering like some I have tried. It is consistently good each year I purchase it. The holidays are just not the same without Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark! It makes a wonderful gift.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 15 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MC1HONEY21
,Los Angeles
,CA
September 16, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING & DELICIOUS!!
September 16, 2013
I'm not much of a fan when it comes to peppermint bark but still decided to try it when I was given a tin by a friend. I was surprised by the taste...... so creamy, minty & chocolatey. You can tell the ingredients are top notch. IT WAS DELICIOUS!!!! I am going to stock up on this amazing treat. I'm hooked.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 16 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BUMMY
,Toronto
,ON
March 9, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
PEPPERMINT CHOCOLATE BARK
March 9, 2012
My husband received a tin of Peppermint
chocolate Bark for Christmas and did not opened it until March out of curiosity. Little did we know that we had the best chocolate treat in our house sitting for months unopened. Now I have decided to purchase more and it is unavailable - What a shame!
AW
Pros: the best
Review 17 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momlovesbark
,CA
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My mom is hooked on this bark!
December 2, 2013
So this was a gift for my mom, who is apparently addicted to your Peppermint Bark after trying it at a friend's house. She actually had to hide the shipment in her basement to avoid eating it before Christmas! I hope she can last a few more weeks so it ends up under her tree!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Great Gift
Cons: expensive
Review 18 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lmitchel
,Avon
,IN
January 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Peppermint Bark Ever
January 9, 2013
I have seen some negative reviews on this once a year candy. I tried all of the other peppermint bark that was available including some "brand name" candy and this is by far the best peppermint bark ever! The peppermint is real and the chocolate is fantastic! I am addicted
Pros: Flavor
Review 19 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AZSnowbird
,Flagstaff
,AZ
Flagstaff AZ
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ABSOLUTELY THE BEST IN THE WORLD
December 25, 2012
ONLY BOUGHT 3 TINS OF THIS DELICIOUS CANDY FOR CHRISTMAS --- UNFORTUNATELY, NONE OF IT MADE IT UNTIL CHRISTMAS-- EVERYONE WANTED SOME. WILL BE BUYING MORE NEXT WEEK IF STILL AVAILABLE AND NEXT YEAR HAVE PLANS FOR A LARGER AMOUNT. THIS IS THE BEST BARK THERE IS ANYWHERE.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 20 for The Original Peppermint Bark
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GreenTara
,Fayetteville
,NC
December 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
5of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Peppermint chunks are too big
December 21, 2013
Really enjoy the cool peppermint flavor and the quality chocolates but the peppermint candy chunks on top are too big and hard to crack open. Please make them smaller, grind them up more. I broke off a $950 crown on this stuff. I'm afraid to bite down on it now.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Texture
page1 2 3 4 next