This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

The Original Peppermint Bark

Our nostalgic peppermint bark is often copied but never matched in quality or flavor. It's handmade from custom-blended Guittard premium chocolate, infused with natural peppermint oil, layered with creamy white chocolate and finished with a snowfall of crisp handmade peppermint candy bits. An original Williams-Sonoma recipe and our beloved holiday tradition. Prepared using time-honored confectionery techniques. Master candymakers pour semisweet chocolate onto a confectioner's table, then add a layer of creamy white chocolate. A sprinkling of crisp handmade peppermint candy bits offers an inspired contrast to the rich, velvety smoothness of the world-class chocolate. 1 lb. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.843 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(828 Reviews) 828
799 of 828(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for The Original Peppermint Bark
Review 1 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mennie
Kalamazoo, MI
February 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The quest for the best Peppermint Bark
February 26, 2009
I went all over my hometown to find Peppermint Bark in '06 and '07; because I had Peppermint Bark from Williams-Sonoma in California; and, when I moved back to Michigan, there were no stores nearby-alas! I did not have Internet access, and I looked all over to find Peppermint Bark. I bought at least six kinds, and none of them came within miles of the Original! I even brought some back to a popular Bed, Bath and more store, and told the cashier about Williams-Sonoma Peppermint Bark, and how it was soooooo much better! A year later, this past Holiday season, I was able to purchase some online, as well as for my sister-it has become our favorite Holiday tradition! I brought some to the cashier, who know knows me as "the Peppermint Bark girl!" She heartily agreed that it is the best! I was also able to give some to a customer of mine at work, who was having surgery and nervous-she was overjoyed to get it, and very grateful! There were moans coming from the lingerie section that day!
Review 2 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
valentin0
san diego ca
January 11, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious Peppermint Bark
January 11, 2010
I had been sampling other vendors peppermint bark throughout the holiday season. I found it interesting but could not find the one that I found terrific tasting.Then I ordered a tin of Williams & Sonoma Peppermint Bark for myself hoping that I could purchase more tins as gifts for the holiday season. I opened the tin and could smell the delightful pure peppermint aroma even thought it was wrapped in cellophane. I then tasted it and it literally melts in your mouth with a perfect combination of the chocolate and the white chocolate and the candy cane pieces on top of each piece. The peppermint flavor is perfectly balanced with the chocolate. Love, love, love that candy. It will be on my list for friends next Christmas. Thank you again for your excellance in products. I never have to worry about quality when I am making a purchase at Williams and Sonoma. Keep up the good work because it does matter.
Sincerely, Carolina
Review 3 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
maralee
Baltimore, MD
February 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
In the event that I would eat candy...
February 7, 2010
I received 1 tin of Peppermint Bark this past Christmas. It was so delicious, particularly the mixture of the various consistencies. Sometimes though, I noticed that what I developed as the 'perfect bite' was not happening or able to happen with just what was in the given tin itself... So, as it happened, a different someone else had also gifted me some 'high end' candy canes which I would strip of their wrapping, wrap carefully in a paper towel, followed by wrapping it in a fresh clean cloth napkin at which point I used a mini-hammer and smashed away both into the perfect sized tiny chunks as well as any free floating anger I may have had at the time. I sought out where this heavenly stuff came from and ordered 4 more boxes, shared 2 boxes, and all by myself enjoyed the remaining 2 as described above, while watching movies on the couch completely enjoying myself without even the tiniest spot of guilt!!!
Review 4 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SarahMS
San Diego, CA
December 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The best... and fast delivery too
December 11, 2009
I'm SO glad my friend Carole recommended me to get peppermint bark from her fave place to get it from which is this place. I completely trust her judgement as she is a vegetarian too and I know she cares about what quality of items she gets and she cares of where she gets them too. I am just so glad I asked her where she got them so I could order it this year!
It's quite strong in the mint but it kicks it up a notch (where is Emeril LOL) and the additional peppermint candies on top just give it a perfect holiday "candy cane" touch.
This is THE BEST peppermint bark and I am ordering this again for next year if I can. Thank you Carole for this recommendation!
Thank you too Williams-Sonoma for the very swift 3 day-select UPS delivery when I didn't even request that... with no additional charge...
Sarah here in San Diego, CA... a first time happy customer :-)
Review 5 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
QueenofFun
Montreal, Quebec
January 9, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Had to hold back from eating more...
January 9, 2011
My favorite combination is chocolate and mint. Every year I see the infamous bark with all the rave reviews and tell myself...it's so expensive should I buy it?! Shipping just chocolate was also so expensive and seemed not worth it. However, this year my mom was going to Florida and I thought to ask her to buy me some from the mall store, since there are no Williams-Sonoma in Quebec. (when will you get here already?!) What a brilliant and oh so fattening idea! Most people ask for other souvenirs, but not me...that's all I wanted! My family finally tasted the bark the other night and everyone savored every bite. We all agreed that it is delicious. I think it's dangerous keeping it in my house and I may have to send the funky tin to her pantry! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! LOVE IT! It was worth the wait!
Review 6 for The Original Peppermint Bark
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Burkegreen
East Burke, Vermont
January 14, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Peppermint Bark
January 14, 2011
I had purchased "peppermint bark" at a retail store in Burlington. I had never splurged on this before, so at Christmas I decided to try it. It was marvelous and my family was crazy about it. The top layer was very white and the peppermint was amazing...like a peppermint rush. I live quite a distance from the nearest store and so I ordered some on line and to our disappointment there is no comparison. The top layer is a cream color and the peppermint is very mild.
I ordered two of them since they were on sale, so that I could share it with my family. I don't know what the difference is, but it is truly disappointing to say the least.
Also, please bring back the peppermint dish soap,hand lotion and counter spray. I had many disappointed relatives this Christmas, as I couldn't get it.
Review 7 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FrankieBeans
New York City
February 18, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Best Peppermint Bark Ever!
February 18, 2009
Williams-Sonoma's Guittard peppermint bark candy is THE BEST you can buy. I have tried several other brands, and while some have been good, none can compare to this bark. The other barks are nearly not as tasty - their chocolate is not as flavorful and the peppermint is bland. William-Sonoma's bark is made of a perfect balance of very smooth dark and white chocolates, a bright peppermint "bite" from real peppermint oil, and a good smattering of crunchy, crushed candy cane bits on top. It is so delicious and perfect, and I can't wait for its arrival each year. Buy more than one box - you won't regret it. I only wish there was an option to buy the bark without the tin container. I buy upwards of 10 tins a season, and though I can recyle the empty tins, it just seems so wasteful.
Review 8 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Austin, TX
January 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
AWESOME!
January 9, 2009
I thought I loved Ghiradelli's peppermint bark squares until I tried this. Someone left out a tin at the office and I gobbled most of it up! It was so good that it caused me to come on this site and buy two tins (at the nicely discounted after-season price - yay!)! I called the store to avoid shipping but they were all out! I can't wait until it arrives. The best part is that there is no trans fat (partially hydrogenated oils) in the ingredients. That also means though that I would recommend freezing it if you're going to let it sit around for long since trans fats act as a preservative.
I like my candy natural, please, and Williams-Sonoma is delivering it! Thank you Williams-Sonoma! I can't wait until next year's batch! :)
Review 9 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PeppermintBarkForever
Charlotte, NC
November 29, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
THE best gift for out of town family
November 29, 2010
What do you get for aunts and uncles and family friends? This Peppermint Bark has done the trick for many years! As families have grown and we can no longer manage to buy individual gifts for all the cousins and all our friends' families, we have turned to sending a tin of Peppermint Bark for the family. We usually buy 15 tins each Christmas and that takes care of our entire list! One year we thought of switching to something else only to hear at Thanksgiving from a great-grandfather, "Oh, we are looking so forward to our Peppermint Bark that we get each Christmas!" So now it's officially a tradition for us to send. Of course, we do keep a couple tins at home for ourselves! Delicious!!!
Review 10 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tami
Philadelphia, PA
November 30, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Painfully Addictive
November 30, 2008
I would have to agree with every other review posted. This is the most amazing candy I've ever tasted, but I just won't spend that much on candy for myself, nor do I want that quantity around. I ask for this candy for Christmas, but I always get imitations and they simply cannot compare. Every year I just wish Williams & Sonoma would put out a smaller sized tin (maybe half the size), because I know I would eat the entire thing far too quickly for my own good. Or perhaps even sell it in bulk? I don't know if anyone from the corporate office actually reads these reviews, but just in case, that's my suggestion. This would make a top selling "impulse item" if sold in a smaller sized option.
Review 11 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Julianna
Lake Grove, NY
January 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
The Chocolate I Hate To Love
January 27, 2009
I never bothered to order the Peppermint Bark when I first noticed it in the WS catalog in 2006 and '07 because I don't like white chocolate. For some reason, 2008 was different; I ordered two boxes for Christmas - one for a friend and one for me. Suffice it to say, it became two boxes for me and none for the friend once I had my first taste. So, I am now hooked and look forward to Christmas 2009 when I will order three boxes for me and one for my friend who will never set eyes on it because it will have become four boxes for me and none for my friend. If we keep expanding like this every year, you can just send a semi directly to me, loaded to the hilt. Thank you for a real treat.
Review 12 for The Original Peppermint Bark
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Latrinaloo
,Madera
,CA
January 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Yummy, but not worth the high price
January 16, 2013
I have purchased Williams Sonoma peppermint bark for many years now - it is delicious and almost a tradition in my household... but the price has become exorbitant and out of line for what the product really is. This past year it cost $26.95 for one box. The quality of the chocolate is very good, but one can make really good bark themselves at a fraction of the cost by using high quality white and dark chocolate (i.e. Guittard), a dash of peppermint oil and crushed candy canes.
I recently purchased the product at the online WS After Christmas sale for $12 and free shipping. THAT was well worth the price. In the coming years I won't pay more than about $20 for this product.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Amount, expensive!
Review 13 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MamaBear2
,Roseville
,CA
December 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Sampled the rest, this is the best!
December 6, 2011
William Sonoma's Peppermint Bark is legendary among our family and friends. We've tested out numerous commercial offerings for this product and none can hold a candle to WS Peppermint Bark. The key, for me, is the rich & smooth quality of the dark chocolate base to this delectable treat. Another is the generous peppermint topping. The candy bits are also expertly balanced; never too little or too much for the palate. Another PERK: you never have to worry about SHIPPING it - because it holds its form, and if it does crack or break into smaller pieces, that's just part of the expected form! You can't lose. Well worth the price!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 14 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rose347
Los Angeles, CA
January 2, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Worth the yearly wait....
January 2, 2010
I first tasted this as a sample at the WS store and fell in love. I bought a tin. Then the following year got it as a Christmas gift and unfortunately shared it with the family. When I got the tin back, it was empty and I was so bummed. The following year I bought a tin for myself and an additional one for the family. Now everyone gets a tin. It is the best peppermint bark ever. I agree there is no comparison and the holidays wouldn't be the same without this delicious treat. If you buy it at a store you get whole pieces. If you order online you get smaller broken pieces due to the shipping. Either way it is all delicious!!!
Review 15 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lalag
San Francisco, CA
November 6, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My Favorite "go to" Holiday Gift, Peppermint Bark
November 6, 2008
Several years ago, I started giving out tins of peppermint bark as "happy holiday" gifts. I give them to the mail carrier, the helpful guys at my local UPS store, dog sitters, neighbors and friends.
Last year, I was a little late in handing them out and when I finally delivered my gifts, each person who had received one in the past actually remarked that they had been worried that I wasn't giving out peppermint bark that year.
In a previous year, I bought my candy too soon and ended up eating two tins (with my husband's help) before the holidays. I don't think the recipients of my knitted hats were as happy that year.
Review 16 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tshep35
Portland Oregon
December 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Peppermint Heaven
December 12, 2010
I am not a big peppermint fan. I am not a white chocolate fan. I do not like that white chocolate that people give with pieces of candy canes in the white chocolate. I am a Hairdresser who's client brought me a tin of peppermint bark for Christmas from Williams-Sonoma. I thought, "yaaaaay, (sarcasm) the stuff I can give my family". I took one bite and I ate half the tin in one sitting. I LOVE how they don't put pieces throughout the chocolate so my teeth hurt when I'm chewing it. I LOVE how they put peppermint into the chocolate. The balance is delicious and perfect. This really should be a year round treat. I LOVE IT!
Review 17 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BarkQueen
North Palm Beach, Florida
February 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Best Candy EVER!
February 3, 2010
This candy is the best tasting, smooth, perfect texture. I only wish that it was available all year long. I hate it that I have to wait a whole year to buy it. The price is high and that is the ONLY drawback. If you would lower your price, more people could enjoy this taste sensation!!!!! Since you only have it at the holidays, put it on sale a couple of days during the week, not just at the end of the season. I confess, I buy it and hide it because it is my weakness, I normally share everything, but this, I just hog it all myself!!!! Shameful, I know! Do not ever change the recipe, it is perfect!!!!
thank you
vicki
Review 18 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miamica
Dorset, UK
January 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Superlatives are not enough!
January 5, 2009
Our Peppermint Bark was given as a New Year gift by an American friend who had recently brought it back from the States. From the moment we opened the tin we were hooked on this unusual, addictive, sweet, chocolate minty treat! We have had nothing like it before in the UK and I think the fact that you just snap off uneven chunks like an indulgent child makes it even more compelling! It brings back childhood Christmases for me and I feel like a slightly naughty child breaking into the sweetie jar when I open the tin. Anyway, our tin lasted only a week and I have come onto the website to order more!
Review 19 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vinnie
Fort Worth, TX
January 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Surprise hostess gift
January 7, 2009
The Original Peppermint Bark was a huge hit at two different parties we attended during the recent holidays. Many friends that attended had never heard of peppermint bark, so it was very gratifying to be able to tell them about it while actually tasting it. The sight and smells of the chopped peppermint mixed on top of the absolutely smooth layered white and dark chocolates is something to be so fondly remembered to become a tradition. It has been one in our family for over 25 years. I use to make it, but stopped when I found peppermint bark that tasted at least as good as mine; probably better.
Review 20 for The Original Peppermint Bark
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
samilla417
New Castle, IN
February 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Yearly indulgence
February 8, 2010
This is the third consecutive year that I have purchased the peppermint bark from WS. I have given some as gifts and kept some for myself. I love it so much, that I like to buy extra for freezing in order to have some later in the year. I have to try to "forget" about it being in the freezer, but sometimes I hear it "calling" my name and I cannot ignore the call. I do wish that it was offered year round, but then it might not be quite as SPECIAL! If you haven't tried it, you should. It is a little pricey, but it is wonderful. The creamy texture and the chocolate/peppermint taste is the BEST!
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 42 next