This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Pecan Pumpkin Butter

Ripe pumpkin, premium pecans and classic spices give this spread its prize-winning flavor. The recipe originated at Muirhead, a family-owned restaurant in rural New Jersey that grew into a leading producer of specialty foods. In fact, the third generation of the Simpson family still produces this favorite treat with old-fashioned care. Spoon the butter onto quick breads, ebelskiver pancakes or muffins, or blend it with eggs and cream for a luscious pumpkin-pie filling (recipe included). 13.5 oz. (makes one 9" pie). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.533 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
13 of 15(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
Review 1 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lilysue1
,Lancaster
,PA
November 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Misleading label info
November 26, 2014
According to the label, the jar contains 25 tablespoons, which should equal 1.5 cups. When I emptied the jar into a measuring cup, there was only slightly more than a cup. This product might taste great, but I won't buy it again because of the labeling. Makes me wonder about other WS products...
Cons: misleading label
Review 2 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carol403
,Damascus
,MD
October 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
The Best Ever!
October 31, 2014
I use this spread at home and take it as hostess gifts along with the Gluten-free pumpkin bread. Everyone loves both!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 3 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ginnivoed
,Hendersonville
,NC
October 19, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Absolutely Addictive!
October 19, 2014
This makes the BEST pumpkin pie EVER (recipe on lid label) but if you just can't wait, try a glob on baked sweet potato and/or use it as a spread on toast or English muffins (my preference). Actually, that sweet potato thing is making me salivate RIGHT NOW!!
I was a Wms-S employee in the 90's and this is one of 3 of their must-haves that I can still afford to indulge in. Do yourself a favor and try it (but beware--I warned you!!)
Review 4 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lindamama
,Suburban
,NJ
Short Hills NJ
September 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
2of 5found this review helpful.
Where's the Pumpkin? (And the pecans?)
September 9, 2014
Bought this due to the reviews, and recommendation of someone who raved over the yellow cake mix bars made with it. Well, when people say, "I don't usually like pumpkin desserts but I love this" I should have seen the red flag. It tastes more like a gooey, sticky base of pecan pie with a TON of overwhelming pumpkin pie spices in it. Very little actual pumpkin flavor and WAY too sweet for my taste. The pecans are miniscule - the reviewer below got it right in that you can't taste them. Not saying it's horrible on its own but If you want something to actually taste like pumpkin rather than just the spices associated with it, don't use it. Spend your money on the amazing W/S pumpkin seed brittle instead!
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 5 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kate52
,Youngstown
,oh
November 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A must have!!!
November 22, 2013
I use the Pecan Pumpkin Butter every Thanksgiving to make my pies and they are the best desert at the table!! There's no going back!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 6 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MakeitEZ12
,Long Island
,NY
Long Island, NY
November 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Delicious!
November 15, 2013
I buy pumpkin butter every year, I bake with it as well as spread it on toast or baked goods. I decided to try the pecan pumpkin butter this year. I made a pumpkin tart and added some to the recipe...it's rich with wonderful flavor and aroma, I can taste the pecan as well as the pumkpin and spices. Also added some to a pumpkin/butternut squash soup. Returning for my 2nd jar, I hope this will be back next year!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, useful for flavoring, can use as a spread
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KSGal
,KS
October 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Tastes like Fall
October 1, 2013
One bite of this Pecan Pumpkin Butter & you feel like it's Fall - and it is! I could've eaten the entire jar by the spoonful, but I used some to bake some Breakfast Bars which were delicious. In fact, I sent the recipe to the company & they're sending me a free jar. If you don't like pecans, don't worry - you really can't taste them. I want to try some of their other products, though I think they're pricey.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 8 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JustCookin
,Richmond
,VA
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
My favorite fall butter for everything
September 23, 2013
I fell in love with this instantly. I couldn't imagine going a year without it. I put it on and in my breads, pancakes, sweet potatoes, sauces etc. I am hooked!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 9 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsPoobah
,Henderson
,NV
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Abssolutely Wonderful!
September 22, 2013
I've been buying this for years and just love, love, love it. I use it with the WS Pumpkin Bread and get raves from family and friends when they come for Thanksgiving. You will not be disappointed. Buy several as when they're gone, you have to wait until the next Fall to have it again. Makes wonderful gifts as well.
Review 10 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AshleyB
,WV
September 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Versatile...and delicious.
September 21, 2013
I adore this stuff... I've purchased other cheaper pumpkin butters, but they pale in comparison. I eat this on toast, mixed into oats, on Greek yogurt... It adds yumminess to strata, souffled pancakes, French toast, etc. I have even made a pie with it...thanks to the directions on the jar. I buy several each year for myself and give a few away as gifts. You won't regret giving it a try.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
autgr97
,Spring Hill
,TN
September 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Incredible!!!
September 13, 2013
Bought this in store last year and was given several recipes to accompany the product. It is wonderful! Completely worth the price!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LadyPresident
,Ashland
,KY
Ashland, KY
January 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Outstanding!
January 18, 2013
We bought the pecan pumpkin spice bread mix and added this as a topping! OMG! So good! Reminds me of a very delicious apple butter! Going to try it on warm biscuits next! I wish I could buy this year round! Makes me long for Fall and I usually hate the long dark days of Fall!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: can't buy year round
Review 13 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OzarkButterfly
,OzarkMountains
,AR
September 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Yummmmmy Incredibly Declicious
September 17, 2012
I ordered the Pecan Pumpkin Butter to try it out since I love Pumpkin Pie, Pumpkin Cheesecake, Pumpkin Bread... Etc. WOW! I was amazed how wonderfully yummy the Pecan Pumpkin Butter is! My children love it and my 2 grandchildren do as well. Would be nice if the 2 Quantity was still available or it was available in a larger size option, but I'm just thankful the single jars are not sold out. It's is a delicious delight and am giving a couple of jars for gifts.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, delicious
Cons: larger jar/amount option for purchase
Review 14 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsB
,Bakersfield
,Ca
Taft, CA
September 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
New fall favorite
September 11, 2012
Great topping for quick breads or toast.
I mixed it with cream cheese frosting and served it on pumpkin bread, fantastic!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 15 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
foodforethought
,Austin
,TX
Texas
February 3, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Another Holiday Favourite!!
February 3, 2012
I buy gobs of these every year. If you haven't tried using this with Williams Sonoma's Pumkin Butter Squares Recipe (recipe is available in stores during the holidays), well then you have something to look forward to! I'm always asked for the recipe. Put this pumpkin butter and the other ingredients in a package with the recipe for the squares and you have a thoughtful, wonderful gift for someone special!!