Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Pecan Pumpkin Butter

Ripe pumpkin, premium pecans and classic spices give this spread its prize-winning flavor. The recipe originated at Muirhead, a family-owned restaurant in rural New Jersey that grew into a leading producer of specialty foods. In fact, the third generation of the Simpson family still produces this favorite treat with old-fashioned care. Spoon the butter onto quick breads, ebelskiver pancakes or muffins, or blend it with eggs and cream for a luscious pumpkin-pie filling (recipe included). 13.5 oz. (makes one 9" pie). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.682 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
20 of 22(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
Review 1 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Corona
,CA
January 27, 2016
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Long lost recipe "Pumpkin Dessert Squares"
January 27, 2016
I received this recipe YEARS ago...and every year I'd see the Pecan Pumpkin Butter on the store shelf, but couldn't find the recipe! Hope it's okay to share here:
"1 Box Yellow Cake Mix
1 jar Muirhead Pumpkin Pecan Butter
1/4 cup Sugar
1 Tbsp Flour
3 Eggs
3/4 cup Butter
3 Tbsp Milk
1 tsp Cinnamon
Reserve 1 cup of the Cake Mix, set aside. Mix remaining cake mix with 1/2 cup melted butter and 1 egg. Press mixture lightly into the bottom of a 9x13" pan. Mix 1 jar of Muirhead Pumpkin Pecan Butter with 2 large eggs and 3 tbsp of milk-- pour over cake mixture in pan.
Mix to a crumble reserved cake mix with 1 tbsp Flour, 1/4 cup Sugar, 1/4 cup of Soft Butter and 1 tsp Cinnamon-- Crumble over top of pumpkin layer. Bake 35-40 min. @ 350 degrees or until golden. Cool and Serve."
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
greenmtgirl
Boston
Posted September 16, 2016
Hooray for Pumpkin Squares
My aunt made these every thanksgiving and we always loved them as kids--my recipe is the same but uses pure canned pumpkin that you jazz up with spices and sugar. I'm totally making it with Pumpkin Butter, thanks for the tip!!
0points
Customer avatar
LKCast
Mahwah, NJ
Posted September 3, 2016
Thank you for sharing...
Thank you for sharing your recipe. It looks really great and I am buying an extra jar of Pecan Pumpkin Butter to try this out. :-)
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,M
November 24, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Holiday tradition
November 24, 2015
This is one of the ingredients used to prepare pumpkin trifle and it is scrumptious
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Authentic
Review 3 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bowling Green
,KY
November 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the pumpkin butter
November 22, 2015
Buy a supply for myself every year and also give some as gifts.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Time-saver, Great Gift
Review 4 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bremerton
,WA
November 4, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A wonderful fall treat
November 4, 2015
I have been purchasing this pumpkin butter for years. It has always been an item that kicks off fall and the holiday season in my home. I have given it as gifts and everyone who has received it has become a fan. I use it in my grandmother's recipe for pumpkin bread and then we top warm slices of the bread with a bit more. It is amazing! This year I have decided I will be using it in my pies and a cheesecake as well as some bar recipes. I know they will be delicious. I also have to admit that I have caught family members eating it directly out of the jar! No double dipping allowed!!!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Great Gift
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mimi4213
Richmond Hill, GA
Posted August 9, 2016
Pumpkin butter
Hi!! I saw your comment about using this in pumpkin bread.... Do u replace an ingredient or just add to recipe? Love making pumpkin bread!! Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fort Lauderdale
,FL
Florida
October 26, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Addictive!
October 26, 2015
Goes well on so many things...sweet potatoes, pancakes, muffins. I just added 1/4 teaspoon to milk frother for my espresso,
& little cinnamon heavenly.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent
Review 6 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hanoi, Vietnam
October 20, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for the Holidays or Any Time
October 20, 2015
I have used the Pecan Pumpkin Butter for years. Usually making a simple pie or topping it with pecans. This year I made a pumpkin cheese cake and it was utterly delicious.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Healthy, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 7 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 1, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious - love it!
October 1, 2015
This spread is delicious. I taste all the flavors with one not overpowering another. My favorite thing to make now with it is a cinnamon roll. Just spread a thin layer on frozen puff pastry, add raisins, roll it, slice it and bake. I've made it twice this week. lol
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Lancaster
,PA
November 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
11of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Misleading label info
November 26, 2014
According to the label, the jar contains 25 tablespoons, which should equal 1.5 cups. When I emptied the jar into a measuring cup, there was only slightly more than a cup. This product might taste great, but I won't buy it again because of the labeling. Makes me wonder about other WS products...
Cons: misleading label
Review 9 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Damascus
,MD
October 31, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Ever!
October 31, 2014
I use this spread at home and take it as hostess gifts along with the Gluten-free pumpkin bread. Everyone loves both!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 10 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Hendersonville
,NC
October 19, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Addictive!
October 19, 2014
This makes the BEST pumpkin pie EVER (recipe on lid label) but if you just can't wait, try a glob on baked sweet potato and/or use it as a spread on toast or English muffins (my preference). Actually, that sweet potato thing is making me salivate RIGHT NOW!!
I was a Wms-S employee in the 90's and this is one of 3 of their must-haves that I can still afford to indulge in. Do yourself a favor and try it (but beware--I warned you!!)
Review 11 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Suburban
,NJ
Short Hills NJ
September 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
5of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Where's the Pumpkin? (And the pecans?)
September 9, 2014
Bought this due to the reviews, and recommendation of someone who raved over the yellow cake mix bars made with it. Well, when people say, "I don't usually like pumpkin desserts but I love this" I should have seen the red flag. It tastes more like a gooey, sticky base of pecan pie with a TON of overwhelming pumpkin pie spices in it. Very little actual pumpkin flavor and WAY too sweet for my taste. The pecans are miniscule - the reviewer below got it right in that you can't taste them. Not saying it's horrible on its own but If you want something to actually taste like pumpkin rather than just the spices associated with it, don't use it. Spend your money on the amazing W/S pumpkin seed brittle instead!
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor
Review 12 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Youngstown
,oh
November 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have!!!
November 22, 2013
I use the Pecan Pumpkin Butter every Thanksgiving to make my pies and they are the best desert at the table!! There's no going back!!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Review 13 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Long Island
,NY
Long Island, NY
November 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
November 15, 2013
I buy pumpkin butter every year, I bake with it as well as spread it on toast or baked goods. I decided to try the pecan pumpkin butter this year. I made a pumpkin tart and added some to the recipe...it's rich with wonderful flavor and aroma, I can taste the pecan as well as the pumkpin and spices. Also added some to a pumpkin/butternut squash soup. Returning for my 2nd jar, I hope this will be back next year!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, useful for flavoring, can use as a spread
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 14 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,KS
October 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tastes like Fall
October 1, 2013
One bite of this Pecan Pumpkin Butter & you feel like it's Fall - and it is! I could've eaten the entire jar by the spoonful, but I used some to bake some Breakfast Bars which were delicious. In fact, I sent the recipe to the company & they're sending me a free jar. If you don't like pecans, don't worry - you really can't taste them. I want to try some of their other products, though I think they're pricey.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: price
Review 15 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Richmond
,VA
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite fall butter for everything
September 23, 2013
I fell in love with this instantly. I couldn't imagine going a year without it. I put it on and in my breads, pancakes, sweet potatoes, sauces etc. I am hooked!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Henderson
,NV
September 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Abssolutely Wonderful!
September 22, 2013
I've been buying this for years and just love, love, love it. I use it with the WS Pumpkin Bread and get raves from family and friends when they come for Thanksgiving. You will not be disappointed. Buy several as when they're gone, you have to wait until the next Fall to have it again. Makes wonderful gifts as well.
Review 17 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,WV
September 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile...and delicious.
September 21, 2013
I adore this stuff... I've purchased other cheaper pumpkin butters, but they pale in comparison. I eat this on toast, mixed into oats, on Greek yogurt... It adds yumminess to strata, souffled pancakes, French toast, etc. I have even made a pie with it...thanks to the directions on the jar. I buy several each year for myself and give a few away as gifts. You won't regret giving it a try.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 18 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Spring Hill
,TN
September 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Incredible!!!
September 13, 2013
Bought this in store last year and was given several recipes to accompany the product. It is wonderful! Completely worth the price!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 19 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ashland
,KY
Ashland, KY
January 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding!
January 18, 2013
We bought the pecan pumpkin spice bread mix and added this as a topping! OMG! So good! Reminds me of a very delicious apple butter! Going to try it on warm biscuits next! I wish I could buy this year round! Makes me long for Fall and I usually hate the long dark days of Fall!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: can't buy year round
Review 20 for Pecan Pumpkin Butter
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,OzarkMountains
,AR
September 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummmmmy Incredibly Declicious
September 17, 2012
I ordered the Pecan Pumpkin Butter to try it out since I love Pumpkin Pie, Pumpkin Cheesecake, Pumpkin Bread... Etc. WOW! I was amazed how wonderfully yummy the Pecan Pumpkin Butter is! My children love it and my 2 grandchildren do as well. Would be nice if the 2 Quantity was still available or it was available in a larger size option, but I'm just thankful the single jars are not sold out. It's is a delicious delight and am giving a couple of jars for gifts.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift, delicious
Cons: larger jar/amount option for purchase
page1 2 next