Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Pecan Pie In-A-Jar

A favorite in the American South, pecan pie is generally believed to be a 20th-century invention based on traditional sugar pies - simple blends of brown sugar, eggs, milk and butter. Our pecan pie filling, made in the hill country of central Texas, lets you quickly create a pie that captures the taste of the classic southern recipe. Simply blend the filling with butter and eggs, then pour into two pie shells and bake. 1 lb., 12 oz. (makes two 9" pies). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
14 of 18(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
Review 1 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
January 3, 2017
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious - Use Non-Stick Spray!
January 3, 2017
I made this mix with a store-bought pie crust for Christmas dinner and it was delicious! However, the crust stuck to my ceramic baking dish because I did not use non-stick spray on the dish first. A rookie baker's mistake, sure, but worth noting for the less experienced bakers out there like me! Even though the crust was nearly impossible to cut, the pie was delicious! Best of all, it was so easy to make and saved lots of baking time for our dessert.
Pros: Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Quality, Time-saver
Review 2 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Baltimore
,MD
December 31, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Guests Raved but Recipe Directions are Off
December 31, 2016
I bought this on sale and planned on baking the pies for Christmas. When I went online to get the recipe, I read some negative reviews and was concerned. My pies turned out perfectly and guest raved. Much more than over my own recipe. Here are my tips: First, I used a refrigerator crust and did not prebake it. I microwaved the filling to get it out of the jar (as instructed). Added the butter as suggested. Also, I typically make a chocolate pecan pie, so I added 1 cup of chocolate chips. To make enough filling for the two 9 inch pies (not deep dish), I added at least a half cup or more more pecans which I had on hand Next, I sensed that the baking temp of 300 was too low as all other recipes I had said 325. That temp worked. I baked the pies at least 5 minutes longer than suggested, until browned. Yes, the pies were soft in the center but still cut OK. Remember to bring them to room temperature for serving.
Pros: Authentic, Decadent, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Quality, Time-saver
Cons: recipe directions
Review 3 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mobile
,AL
December 30, 2016
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Pecan Pie
December 30, 2016
Followed the Directions....
The perfect pecan pie from an older lady southern cook. Just as good as from scratch.
Review 4 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Batavia
,NY
December 10, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very disappointed
December 10, 2016
I have bought this in the past. I couldn't even get it out of the jar. When cooking it never set it was a runny mess. I cooked it for 2 hours had to throw it out! Waste of money. I contacted Willams Sonoma they just said sorry. The only item I have ever been disappointed with. Don't buy to save time its too expensive to have to throw away
Cons: Difficult to Prepare, Disappointing, Texture, Time to Prepare
Review 5 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Littleton
,CO
November 23, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tried this, then went out and bought a pie!
November 23, 2016
Based on reviews, I decided to try this for Thanksgiving. Bake my pies the day before, thank heavens. I have added a half hour to the bake time so far, and it is still just like soup, not the jiggly gelatin they say it should be. I will be sending my husband out to rescue Thanksgiving and buy us a pie in a few minutes. I expect to be throwing this goop away later.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Time to Prepare, inedible
Review 6 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,TX
December 29, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pecan Pie to Die For
December 29, 2015
Am a born-and-bred Texan and this Pie-in-a-Jar is authentic and absolutely delectable!
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 7 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Austin
,TX
Texas
December 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Outstanding Pecans!
December 25, 2015
I REALLY LOVE this product. Not just for it's ease, but because it's more than just pie filling in a jar. You simply can't buy the same superior quality pecans at the grocery store. I also purchase pecans directly from San Saba because they're that good. One word of warning though - you'll not be able to go back to store bought once you know what pecans are supposed to taste like.
I don't find this too sweet at all, as one reviewer commented. I would suggest skipping the optional additional butter if you're concerned about the richness.
Excellent product.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 8 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Aurora
,CO
December 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Pecan Pie Filling
December 12, 2015
I read all the reviews before I bought this filling for my pie at Thanksgiving. A couple of the comments said that after it sits it becomes very crusty and hard to cut and while that may be true, the flavor and ingredients make up for that. It is 100% natural and the flavor is fantastic. It says it makes 2 pies, by really it only makes one.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Time-saver, Easy to Prepare
Review 9 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
January 21, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
hard to remove from jar and too runny after baking
January 21, 2015
Filling was very hard to remove from jar, and very runny. I even added 15 minutes to cook time.
Pros: Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing
Review 10 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Poulsbo
,WA
January 1, 2015
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fighting over it
January 1, 2015
My family enjoyed the pie so much they fought over it. In the middle of the night they were sneaking pieces of it. Till it was gone. Had to buy more jars. Also used to make mini pies for the holiday
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York City
,NY
December 24, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than expected
December 24, 2014
This pie filling is so yummy. One jar makes a generous deep dish pie. I used the butter, which is optional in the mix. Definitely a must for a rich flavor. Will purchase again for next year. Totally some lovin' from the oven here !
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: calories
Review 12 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Farmingdale
,NY
December 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
6of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth it
December 2, 2013
I bought the Peacan Pie in a jar as I though it would save me some time in preperation and I wanted to try it.
I would never buy this again, I was so very disapointed. I prepared and cooked as per the instructions. It spilled over the pie shell and stuck to the tray. OK I could live with that, but the next day we went to cut it and where it had overflowed, the sugar had turned so hard, we could not cut it. In fact we banged a heavy knife through the pie, but could not eat a bit as it was rock hard. NEVER AGAIN, would I buy this product.
Cons: Texture
Review 13 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Oklahoma city
,Ok
November 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Something new
November 29, 2013
I bought this to make an easy pecan pie but at the last minute decided to try something different. Boiled yams, added some butter and poured this over them. Made the best casserole! Everyone loved it! Think I will try it on brownies next. I'll pour it over the brownies half way through the baking and anticipate the results!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: high sugar content
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
taycat
Florence, SC
Posted December 28, 2014
DId you try the Brownies?
Would love to know how the Brownies turned out. May want to try. Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Santa Fe
,NM
September 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
6of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Way too sweet for us
September 28, 2013
I tasted this before using and had to add sea salt. It's a good flavor, but it's more southern style, as they like really sweet pie.
Review 15 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
August 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Pecan Pie in a Magical Jar
August 19, 2013
Tried making this pie and it was a hit! After using the filling I was able to make use of the glass jar it came in too, gotta love free containers :)
I'm not sure if it ended up saving me a lot of time because it took a bit of time to get everything out of the jar. Although, I am happy I wasn't left with lots of dirty dishes and measuring cups/spoons.
The only thing I can think of that would improve this product would be a better recipe for the crust, and details on what are the contents of the jar!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: Unhealthy, Ingredients
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lmoon2550
Frisco, TX
Posted December 26, 2015
Really?
Is there a healthy pecan pie recipe? I don't believe so!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
July 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
-5points
3of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pecan Pie mix
July 14, 2013
This product arrived with one of the two jars damaged (lid dented & jar leaking). Will try the remaining jar.
Review 17 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Spring Hill
,FL
July 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tart fillings
July 14, 2013
I'm going to use the pie in a jar for my Christmas Tarts this year. I find that a whole pie is way to sweet, that's why I'm using it for tarts. Not overpowering sweetness when you have just one bite.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Great Gift
Review 18 for Pecan Pie In-A-Jar
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Baton Rouge
,La
December 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pecan Pie - Delish!
December 30, 2012
I made this pecan pie with the WS Gluten-free crust mix. It is extremely sweet, as expected. It is delicious!! I followed the filling recipe on the literature attached to the lid. Hubby thought it was great!
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor