This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Pears & Comte Cheese Collection

Complex, flavorful Comte is made in the Jura Mountains of France by local village cooperatives known as fruitieres, using only milk from Montbeliard cows. It was one of the first French cheeses to be designated AOC (controlled origin), which guarantees its quality and authenticity. Our Comte is aged for at least 6 months at the French subterranean fort of Saint Antoine. Affineurs from New York's Essex Street Cheese Company hand select our Comte and further ripen the cheese for peak flavor. To complement this very special cheese, we've chosen Red Silk pears from Oregon, prized for their vibrant color, smooth texture and sweet, delicate flavor. Cheese: 1 lb.; Made in France. Pears: 4 lb. (approx. 9-10).; Grown in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
Review 1 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Livinvt
,Dorset
,VT
February 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Pears & Comte Cheese~ The Perfect Combination
February 28, 2013
Perfectly packed so no pears were bruised.
Pears were not overly ripened.
Comte cheese wrapper is attractive and durable for reuse keeping the cheese fresh until it's gone. Generous portions of both.
Would make a lovely gift... To yourself as we'll!
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Micael
,Philadelphia
,PA
February 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Surprising treat
February 19, 2013
These pears and cheese were delicious and an amazing bargain, as they had some discount. The piece of cheese included was at least twice as big as I expected, and every pear was ripe and ready to eat--none had a bruise. These arrived very quickly and were eaten quickly, too!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift, on sale
Cons: none
Review 3 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gusthecat
,Auburn
,CA
February 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect Pears
February 19, 2013
The pears arrived in excellent condition, ready to eat. The best pears we have had in a long time. Sweet and juicy, tasted as if they were tree ripened.
The cheese was ok. A different flavor that did go very well with sliced pears.
I would order again. Sent a gift order to my brother.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kaileesmom
,chicago sub.
,ll
February 19, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
such a treat!
February 19, 2013
The shipping was fast and flawless.
My family loved the cheese. It was delicate and flavorful. The pears I poached in a red wine sauce. Everyone loved it. To get it on sale was the best. I would get it again in a heart beat.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nursehug
,NC
Edenton, NC
February 9, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious afternoon snack.
February 9, 2013
Pears were perfect, sweet and juicy. Cheese was soft and mild. A perfect pairing.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 6 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FLBeaches
,Beachside
,FL
February 7, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Pretty Darn Good
February 7, 2013
So happy I got a set before they sell out at this price. Pears came hard but were softening in 1 1/2 days and every day were sweeter. Large amount of cheese and perfect with the pears. I prefer Royal Riviera pears but it was fun to try these and they are good. It's a great healthy snack full of fiber, protein and calcium!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuzieQT
,Merritt Island
,FL
February 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Outstanding!!!
February 7, 2013
I cannot believe how good the price is compared to the value. I believe this is one of the better buys available.
The cheese is jaw dropping amazing. What am I going to do after they stop selling this?
I haven't tried the pears as they aren't ready (believe me I check several times per day) but they look so appetizing. If they taste anything compared to their looks then that will be the icing on the cake.
I told my friends about this product and I already ordered more.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 8 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
goldstrike
,southern oregon
,or
February 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
OUTSTANDING
February 5, 2013
sent direct from company and pretty positive that the pears are Harry and David, as I recognize their package, plus it arrived so fast and I am 30 miles from them.
The cheese is a HUGE hunk too....
Excellent value at the sale price. Going to order another one.
By the way, I keep the pears in refrig. and take a couple out when I want them to ripen. That way, I have kept pears for several weeks and no musiness.
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Great Gift
Review 9 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dpie
,Chelsea
,MI
Chelsea, Michigan
February 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Beautiful and Delicious!
February 5, 2013
I am so happy I ordered this collection. When I opened the box, it looked just like the picture! But it was also important that the pears and cheese taste good, and they certainly deliver. The pears are sweet and paired nicely with the cheese, which has a wonderful, complex flavor. I grated some and added it to an appetizer for a Super Bowl party. Have other ideas for the rest of it. Yum!
Great price and wonderful customer service. Thanks, W-S!
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 10 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Katzenmutter
,Olympia
,WA
February 5, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Ordering more before it is too late!
February 5, 2013
Yum! Such a deal. The pears arrived still a bit crispy; 2 days and they were at peak, not soft but very juicy and flavorful.
And the cheese is very fine and would easily cost as much as this entire offer in
any quality store.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 11 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
February 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Yummy and A Great Buy!
February 4, 2013
I just ordered a second set of these luscious pears and cheese. The pears are sweet and tender but not mushy. The cheese is firm and buttery and is delicious shaved thin and paired with wine or champagne. The value is unbelievable for such first-rate cheese and fruit!
Pros: Amount, Flavor, Healthy
Review 12 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jodc
,Northern
,VA
February 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Not only recommended, but sent
February 4, 2013
The cheese we received had no expiration date, but was well wrapped in a green foil paper. I'm assuming that the color of the foil is representative of the rating of the cheese since there was nothing directly on the wedge. The shape is just as one would expect for a Comte cheese. The cheese is lovely when sliced very thinly and is especially wonderful when turned into a grilled sandwich. Included were 10 rather small red pears and some were blemished. They were all very firm and we waited for a few days before trying them. There was no need to wait because each has been delicious and the blemishes did not affect the pears. These pears still have not become soft. I've sent several as gifts since receiving the first box.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 13 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
seestheday
,bucks county
,pa
January 31, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
perfect with wine
January 31, 2013
well.....i am so happy ordered this for my hubby for valentines day.....arrived yesterday ......beautiful ...in every way.............he is going to love it.........its just a great combination ....with......wine......fabulous price as well.........i highly recommend this,,,,you will not be unhappy.....you will love it....and williams sonoma has the best customer service........thank you for all you do..........a quality product.......food is love
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 14 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angel1185
,Raleigh
,NC
January 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
What a great deal!
January 30, 2013
My beautiful pears and cheese arrived in perfect condition. The pears will be ready in a day or so. The cheese is magnificent. It is a very large amount of cheese too. I read the bad review. I read the other review where the lady is loving it and ordering another.. Well.. me too. I am here to let all of you know this is amazing. And the price is unbelievable. I am ordering more. Oh did you read that it is free shipping too? Unbelievable. This is an excellent buy!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 15 for Pears & Comte Cheese Collection
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ShellyE
,NJ
January 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Ignored the bad review and glad I did
January 25, 2013
At the sale price I decided to try the Pears and Comte Cheese collectionSo glad I did . it's beautiful and delicious. It arrived today and I immediately ate a pear and some cheese..delicious!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift