Pastry Brushes

Our professional-quality brushes are designed for basting foods as well as oiling or buttering bakeware, waffle irons and griddles. The brushes are also handy for cleaning coffee grinders and spice mills. Made from sterilized natural boar bristles that are neither bleached nor dyed. Bristles are tightly bound to the handles with plastic bands to prevent shedding. Hardwood handles are lacquered for moisture resistance. Set of three includes 1"-wide, 1 1/2"-wide and 2"-wide brushes.
Average Customer Rating:
3.273 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
6 of 11(55%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Pastry Brushes
Review 1 for Pastry Brushes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
charlebo
,Dallas
,TX
April 23, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Pastry Brush
April 23, 2013
I think this is the best pastry brush I have ever used. I like it because you can clean it after you use it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Review 2 for Pastry Brushes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheKitchenMagician
,East Lansing
,MI
March 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Does the job!
March 28, 2012
U.S. made boar bristle brushes: Keep a dry one for distributing powders, another for butter, a third for shortening. They work exactly as they should, loading and unloading well. Like any natural bristle, they will shed after a while; however, they are inexpensive enough to replace after a dozen trips through the dishwasher (for the butter). Keep in mind the dry one and the one for vegetable shortening will last a long time if stored in the refrigerator. Remember though, they are NOT to go in the microwave, ever!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, made in the usa
Review 3 for Pastry Brushes
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Love2eatewrtrtwwrg
Des Moines, Iowa
March 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
March 4, 2011
Love the brush, but the laminated covering peeled off, even though I only washed mine by hand. This leaves bare wood exposed to water and liquids. W-S did replace for me, but I don't feel confident about the product now.
Review 4 for Pastry Brushes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mudear
Sun City Hilton Head
August 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Brushes
August 20, 2010
I ordered for use in a second home, I have these brushes and have used for years. they are well made , easy to clean and use on a variety of surfaces. Great kitchen accessory!
Review 5 for Pastry Brushes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Denim
Maryland
June 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth it
June 22, 2010
I have used the brush twice and have cared for it as instructed but the bristles come of far too easily. I am tossing it in the trash.
Review 6 for Pastry Brushes
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
zuzi
Mountain View
March 22, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Seems great but isn't
March 22, 2010
I hadn't had the large brush long before the hairs came out in a block. I was able to wedge them back in but lost a fair chunk and thereafter repeated the same process several times, each time losing more hairs. The hair block is now too loose to be of any use. They must have used a glue that is water soluble.
Review 7 for Pastry Brushes
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pappylady
Ft. WOrth, Tx
November 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very nice
November 4, 2009
They are very nice brushes- don't tend to splinter as much and love the different sizes.
Pop in the dishwasher to clean.
Would recommend
Review 8 for Pastry Brushes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RosieB
Aurora, Co
September 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pastry Brush worth the money
September 22, 2009
I have used these brushes in the past, since I am a pastry chef, and have had great results. Even when I used delicate pastry like Phylo dough. You need to use alittle caution when brushing your pastry, make sure you have enough butter on the ends of your brush, also use a "light hand" when brushing.
Review 9 for Pastry Brushes
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BaklavaMom
Cary, NC
July 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use Only if You Want Boar Bristles in Your Food
July 27, 2009
Absolute rubbish. My brush hasn't stopped shedding since the first day I bought it. I gave it a try two or three times, thinking that the breakage and shedding would stop after one or two uses, but after my last painfully long attempt at assembling a kreatopita (meat in phyllo pie requiring much brushing of butter between phyllo layers) due solely to the poor quality of this brush, it's going in the garbage. A complete waste of money.
Review 10 for Pastry Brushes
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
John818
Denver, CO
April 8, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ok
April 8, 2009
These are well made brushes but I wish they could stand up to heat. Unfortunately, any exposure to heat causes the ends of the bristles curl up and burn. If you use with cooking, these brushes will not last and will need to be replaced fairly soon.
Review 11 for Pastry Brushes
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Canne
December 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very good pastry brush set for the price
December 4, 2008
I had never owned pastry brushes prior to this purchase. These brushes are beautifully made and work great -a real bargain!