Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese

Revered as one of the world's great cheeses, Parmigiano-Reggiano is superb on its own, nibbled in small bits, or added as a one-of-a-kind savory flavor to countless dishes, from antipasti to salads to polenta and more. Authentic Parmigiano-Reggiano comes from Emilia-Romagna, the region in northern Italy that also produces true prosciutto di Parma and balsamic vinegar. Cheese makers there craft the cheese by hand using all-natural ingredients and following traditions almost 700 years old. The cheese is cut from wheels that have been aged at least 18 months and received the highest rating from the government's Parmigiano-Reggiano consortium, which attests to its quality and authenticity. Approx. 2 lb., 8 oz. Shipped chilled. Made in Italy.
Average Customer Rating:
4.7 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
19 of 20(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
Review 1 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhillieFilly
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, California
August 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SIMPLY THE BEST!
August 13, 2013
This is absolutely the best Parmigiano Reggiano cheese that I have ever tasted outside of Italy. In fact it reminds me of the Parmigiano Reggiano that I had at my cousin's home in Italy 5 years ago. This is the real deal. Do not throw the rind away; freeze it and add it to soups especially minestrone and chicken soup for flavor and thickening. Please Williams Sonoma do not ever stop offering this cheese from this vendor. I still can't believe that Williams Sonoma stopped carrying the macarons from Rocq which was a HUGE mistake on their part and offered an inferior macaron from two other companies.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 2 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DALEX
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't live without it
July 17, 2013
As others have stated, this is the very best parm available anywhere. I use it constantly, but like it best in simple dishes like scrambled eggs. I live in fear WS will stop carrying it!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor
Review 3 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TheDivineMissM
Morris County, NJ (Metro NYC area)
July 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Parm-Reg Cheese
July 7, 2011
Wonderful Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese rec'd as a gift. Great texture and aroma. We use it either grated or shaved on pasta, salads and/or crusty bread.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 4 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PattyLee
Banner Elk, NC
October 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Use it Every Day
October 19, 2010
This is the second time I've ordred this cheese because I was so thrilled with the first one. The taste is AMAZING and so much better than anything I've bought at my local grocery store. The first piece I received seemed quite a bit larger than the second one, but it's still worth every penny.
Review 5 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Divacook
Yonkers, NY
July 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Yummy Delicious!
July 1, 2010
This Parmigiano Reggiano is the best i've used so far. It's nutty and creamy with just the right amount of saltiness, and I love eating it just plain. It's wonderful grated on pasta, and makes the most delicious quiches - Lorraine, spinach, and mushroom. I highly recommend this cheese - it's fabulous!
Review 6 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kajo
Minong, WI
June 25, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Savory heaven!
June 25, 2010
I have searched for an exceptional , fairly priced Parm-Reg for quite some time and have found this generous chunk of savory heaven to be both a great value and a delicious aged cheese. It is so good, I find myself planning my menus around this wonderful parm! I will buy this regularly! Fast shipping, too.
Review 7 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
MI
June 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-12points
4of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I love good cheese,but not this cheese
June 14, 2010
I really, really wanted to enjoy this cheese,but found it to be"gritty" It had big white bumps on it too. Maybe I got a bad batch? Very unhappy with it. My guests thought it tasted like sand. Too much to spend on a product that had to be thrown out.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
LilMsFoodie
southwest florida
Posted June 16, 2012
your description of what you got defines Parm
You perhaps have never had real Parmigiano. It is meant to be crumbly and have the "bumps" you describe. The grittiness is a characteristic. It is a great eating cheese when broken in shards and nibbled with a great Italian red wine.
0points
Customer avatar
Lupinelle
Washington, PA
Posted October 22, 2011
It's meant to be like that.
Very much the converse of what you assumed - you got an excellent batch! That's exactly the texture it's meant to have - it's a celebrated part of the cheese. The "grit" you perceived is caused by protein crystals that form when amino acids break down in the cheese during the aging process. The longer Parmigiano Reggiano is aged, the more of them there are, and W-S sells this cheese at such a premium that they're able to get the best examples of the type.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Baygirl
marlton, new jersey
May 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
our favorite cheese
May 19, 2010
We've ordered this cheese many times and have always been so pleased with it! Always fresh and has such a distintive flavor...just the best!
Review 9 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
gman57
Greenville, SC
April 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heavenly
April 1, 2010
This is the best Parmigiano-Reggiano I have ever eaten. I catch myself taking a small sandwich bag with this cheese in it to my favorite Italian restaurants. It is wonderful.
Review 10 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Confessedcheesesnob
Austin, TX
February 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I adore this cheese
February 21, 2010
This is the best parmesan cheese I have ever tasted. Like some of the other reviewers have stated, I just walk past the parmesan cheese that is sold in the gourmet cheese section of my grocery store. It is well worth the price because a little goes a long way. I shrink wrap it in small chunks and freeze it. I found a small chunk in the back of my freezer once that was over a year old and it still had a better flavor then what I get fresh at the grocery store.
Review 11 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JerseyGirlinCalifornia
Rural, northern California
January 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful
January 31, 2010
This cheese is terrific, can not stop eating it. It makes a great Italian meal the BEST! Also, the cheese chunk reminds me of my Mother's kitchen, a memory that always brings a smile to my face.
Review 12 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
qualitynotquantity
Jamestown, North Carolina
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great flavor at room temp
January 13, 2010
A little dry. Nutty taste. Definitely the real thing in Parmigiano-Reggiano. A favorite for us.
Review 13 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmanaChef
Amana, Iowa
December 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Parmigiano-Reggiano
December 6, 2009
This parm cheese is the best I can find from any on line retailer. It has a fresh clean nutty flavor and plain or on pasta the cheese tastes very good. I live in fly over country and this is the only way to get very good quality Parmigiano-Reggiano cheese.
Review 14 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MoltoBene
Bronxville, NY
November 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cheese for Siblings
November 28, 2009
This is at least the 10th year I have sent this Parmigiano-Reggiano to my brothers and sister as Christmas presents. I would like to send them sweaters, or opera tickets, but they just want this cheese. Who can blame them? We are Italian. It is the best. It has not been in the catalog for ages, but, thank heaven, it is available on line. And, here is an unexpected benefit: every time I see Parmesan Reggiano in my supermarket, I smile, walk by, and think of my family. Merry Christmas!
Review 15 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VZAmom
Westerly, RI
February 4, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It Was a Cheesy Christmas!
February 4, 2009
This year, for two gifts that I always have trouble selecting, I chose the Stilton for my sister, the Anglophile, and the Parmigiano-Reggiano for my husband of Italian descent, who is an enthusiastic cook. He could not have been happier! I thought he would grate it, but he has been slicing it to eat with his homemade soppressata. The gifts were so successful that I am sure I will give the 'gift of cheese" again next year to some lucky recipient!
Review 16 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bella2
San Francisco, CA
January 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cheese Around!
January 9, 2009
According to a very, very picky gourmet chef (that this was a gift for) - "this cheese is amazing"! Just like from the "old country", the way my parents use to get it.
Review 17 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yankeeturnedlouisianagal
Lake Charles. LA
September 27, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Cheese
September 27, 2008
I first tried this cheese when my sister brought some to have with some homemade tomato basil soup. It was terrific grated over the soup, and I've found it to be great with lots of other foods (for cheese toast, on Caesar salad, etc.). It is also great for just slicing off a piece as a snack. Even my kids like it!
I haven't found another Parmigiano-Reggiano that compares, even though I've tried various other sources.
It keeps for months in the refrigerator as long as you keep it properly wrapped.
Review 18 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
machin
JASPER, INDIANA
September 11, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
THE ABSOLUTE BEST
September 11, 2008
I HAVE PURCHASED PARMESAN REGGIANO ALL OVER THE WORLD AND HAVE NEVER FOUND A RIVAL TO THIS ONE. PROPERLY STORED, IT RETAINS ITS MOISTURE AND FLAVOR FOR MONTHS!
Review 19 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
thingsgoneby
WV
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
September 3, 2008
A great Parmigiano at a good price! This cheese is as good as we get when we go to Europe.
Review 20 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GreatGrandpaOf12
Little Rock, AR, formerly from NY,NY
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Cheese
September 3, 2008
We eat this cheese out of hand. It is sharp and mild at the same time. It has a "crunch" that to me is a sign of great quality. Sometimes we eat this with bread and fruit for lunch. I highly recommend it.