Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese

Revered as one of the world's great cheeses, Parmigiano-Reggiano is superb on its own, nibbled in small bits, or added as a one-of-a-kind savory flavor to countless dishes, from antipasti to salads to polenta and more. Authentic Parmigiano-Reggiano comes from Emilia-Romagna, the region in northern Italy that also produces true prosciutto di Parma and balsamic vinegar. Cheese makers there craft the cheese by hand using all-natural ingredients and following traditions almost 700 years old. The cheese is cut from wheels that have been aged at least 18 months and received the highest rating from the government's Parmigiano-Reggiano consortium, which attests to its quality and authenticity. Approx. 2 lb., 8 oz. Shipped chilled. Made in Italy.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
4 of 4(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
Review 1 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Boynton Beach
,FL
April 20, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Parmegianno without having to go to Italy
April 20, 2016
This cheese is beyond amazing! I buy the 2 and half pound wedge and I use it on everything! Fresh pasta, italian dishes, eggs, roasted veggies or just slice a hunk off and nibble with some italian balsamic. Parmesan crisps in the oven are out of this world! Grate some of the cheese into a 2 inch mound on a baking sheet and bake for 5 to 10 minutes on 350 degrees. It has a wonderful complex flavor that is truly authentic. I hope Williams Sonoma can keep this in stock because sometimes it goes on backorder. Don't hesitate on buying it or you might have to wait a few weeks. This cheese is not like store bought cheese, it is truly an amazing italian treat and you will not go back once you try it! I would give it more stars if I could!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Authentic, Great Gift
Review 2 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Buffalo
,NY
August 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A lot of really good cheese!
August 25, 2014
If you do a lot of cooking and like to use fresh ingredients, this is a good buy. This is NOT the canned sprinkle cheese you get in the grocery store. It's a little more work, but grating your own Parm-Regg adds a great layer of flavor to Italian dishes and so much more. Mix some with shredded Mozzarella to make the Mozz easier to sprinkle. Add some to a fresh green salad or on a piece of bread spread with mayo on a sandwich - the list is endless!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 3 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, California
August 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
SIMPLY THE BEST!
August 13, 2013
This is absolutely the best Parmigiano Reggiano cheese that I have ever tasted outside of Italy. In fact it reminds me of the Parmigiano Reggiano that I had at my cousin's home in Italy 5 years ago. This is the real deal. Do not throw the rind away; freeze it and add it to soups especially minestrone and chicken soup for flavor and thickening. Please Williams Sonoma do not ever stop offering this cheese from this vendor. I still can't believe that Williams Sonoma stopped carrying the macarons from Rocq which was a HUGE mistake on their part and offered an inferior macaron from two other companies.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Healthy, Great Gift
Review 4 for Parmigiano-Reggiano Cheese
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Santa Fe
,NM
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't live without it
July 17, 2013
As others have stated, this is the very best parm available anywhere. I use it constantly, but like it best in simple dishes like scrambled eggs. I live in fear WS will stop carrying it!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor