Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Scarpato Panettone

In Italy, Christmas and New Year's would be incomplete without a panettone on the table. One Italian legend traces the bread's origins to a poor baker named Tonio, who developed a special bread to earn the dowry for his daughter to marry a nobleman. The delicious creation - known as pan de Tonio - was a hit and allowed Tonio to ensure his daughter's fortuitous match. Few can rival our Italian version from Pasticceria Scarpato, panettone bakers since 1888. Enriched with golden raisins and a generous allotment of glazed chestnuts, the bread is high and light thanks to several risings. Serve panettone with coffee, tea or sweet dessert wine such as Vin Santo. Its flavor and texture also make it ideal for French toast or bread pudding. Made in Italy by the venerable Pasticceria Scarpato in Legnago, in the province of Verona, using an exceptional recipe they developed in 1888. 2 lb. 3 oz. (serves 12). Hand wrapped and packaged in a festive, reusable gift tin.
Average Customer Rating:
3.954 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 43
33 of 43(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Scarpato Panettone
Review 1 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ridgefield
,CT
December 1, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best chestnut panettone
December 1, 2016
I've been enjoying this sugared chestnut panettone for several years, with my family. It's very large and absolutely outstanding, not too sweet, the perfect texture, always fresh and the sugared chestnut pieces are divine. No citrus rind in this, just as I like it! It stays fresh for days, but if there are any leftovers, it makes a very special French toast.
Pros: Amount, Authentic, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Great Gift, Healthy, Quality, Texture
Cons: a bit pricey
Review 2 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Miami Springs
November 23, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Taste all about it
November 23, 2016
this is the best panettone for me, been buying it for 10 years can tell you is the best ever been
Pros: Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Great Gift, Quality, Texture
Cons: Amount
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Dallas
,TX
January 29, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best holiday bread ever
January 29, 2016
Excellent product and highly recommended and wish it was available all yr round.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 4 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Monroe
,Ny
January 20, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Italian cake
January 20, 2016
Panettone is best Italian cake.it's soft, taste wonderful, good kwith tea, or coffee. Panettone makes wonderful French toast a great breakfast.
Pros: Quality
Review 5 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Rockville
,MD
January 19, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A happy holiday tradition
January 19, 2016
For many years we received a Panettone at Xmas from Italian friends and we came to think of this delectable sweet bread studded with chestnuts (and such) as Xmas morning. This Scarpato brand has always delivered on taste. It is great plain but I love it toasted with a cup of coffee for a special breakfast. Thank you, Wms-Sonoma, for always delivering on time no matter where we have spent the holidays. It's not Xmas without this. (Bonus: it comes in a great tin.)
Pros: Quality, Amount, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Authentic, Great Gift
Review 6 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Tampa
,Fl
January 17, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best panettone anywhere
January 17, 2016
I don't eat any panettone but this panettone.! It is the best.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Scarpato Panettone
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,W Chester
,Pa
January 11, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as many lovely chestnuts!!
January 11, 2016
This is still one of the best panettone available in the US, but we were disappointed to find far fewer of the delicious chestnuts as in past. The abundance of chestnuts made it worth the high price....
Cons: Disappointing
Review 8 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
January 6, 2016
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fluffy cloud of buttery yum
January 6, 2016
It's not the least expensive panettone but I can't find it anywhere else and it is heavenly. My mother waits for it every year.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Authentic, Great Gift
Review 9 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
December 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pantettone
December 28, 2015
This is one of the best Panettones I have ever had! I have traveled extensively throughout Italy, and this rates up with the freshest straight from Italy. It has had larger pieces of chestnut in the past but this year was smaller pieces, but still was an excellent panettone. I will order this each year! Love it!
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Authentic, Great Gift
Review 10 for Scarpato Panettone
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,mount kisco
,ny
December 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not as good as the previous one
December 20, 2015
I bought 2 boxes of the Panettone this fall.
I'm very disappointed. Hardly found any chestnuts in the bread. Used to be much better. Please don't cut corners. Bring back the old one.
Cons: Disappointing
Review 11 for Scarpato Panettone
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
December 13, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bought 4 and sent as gifts
December 13, 2015
Very disappointed. This panettone is one of the worst based on all feedback from family. I send panettone from William Sonoma fir the holidays for several years now with good reviews - this one is different. My advice: don't buy it.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Texture, smell
Review 12 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
December 10, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The Best Panettone
December 10, 2015
This is the best Panettone I have ever purchased. I have been buying it for years and it has now become a family tradition. Simply delicious!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Authentic, Great Gift
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Scarpato Panettone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Silicon Valley
,CA
November 20, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
2nd favorite of the Scarpato Brand
November 20, 2015
I have been purchasing this chestnut panettone for some time now...then I saw the Beer Panettone that's now being offered online. Both are great but the Beer is my favorite! This chestnut version is delicious, don't get me wrong, but it's a tad too sweet for me. Still, if someone offered me a piece, I wouldn't turn it down =).
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Decadent, Authentic, Great Gift
Review 14 for Scarpato Panettone
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
October 4, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
BRING SORINI BACK!
October 4, 2015
Not nearly as good as the old Sorini brand. Please being that brand back!
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Texture
Review 15 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Francisco
,CA
February 6, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite holiday treat -Panettone
February 6, 2015
The best panettone out there! The chestnuts are whole and very good. It has been a tradition for my family to buy this for the holidays.
Pros: Quality, Great Gift
Review 16 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pittsburgh
,PA
January 27, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delicious, buttery and moist
January 27, 2015
I had never had a panettone but saw Giada's description of one and decided to try. I had both the traditional and pear/chocolate and both were absolutely delicious, moist, tender and flavorful. This will be an annual purchase.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 17 for Scarpato Panettone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Cutler Bay
,Fl
January 17, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Every Christmas
January 17, 2015
Yes I get one every Christmas and this year I sent one to a friend as a gift and recommended it to my niece who first went to the store and was fortunate to get a sample and of course she got one also. See you next Christmas
Pros: Quality
Cons: price has gone up a lot since i started buying thi
Review 18 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Monmouth County
,Nj
January 16, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The best panettone ever!!!
January 16, 2015
This is the best you'll ever have it is just very expensive. I love it and have one every Christmas
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 19 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pasadena
,ca
January 12, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Panettone ...Hands Down!!!
January 12, 2015
Take it from an Italian who would never eat panettone before discovering William Sonoma's Panettone from Italy. I always found them to be dry and boring with no flavor.
Until 10 years ago, my brother served one at Christmas Dinner and I was hooked. The following year I had one delivered to all my friends, and I have every year since. They wait for it now and don't want anything but panettone for a gift.
It is moist, loaded with flavor and the candied Chestnuts are heavenly. It also freezes perfectly. We froze one for Easter and it was just as good.
Its the best!!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 20 for Scarpato Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mercer Island
,WA
January 9, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
calphon saute pan
January 9, 2015
I purchased eight chestnut panettone this 2014. Gave 4 as gifts and my husband and I ate 4 of them. Absolutely delicious. Best ever made. Hope you have them again Christmas 2015.
You are out of stock, or I was going to order another.
Bette Orrico
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
page1 2 3 next