This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Panettone

In Italy, Christmas and New Year's would be incomplete without a panettone on the table. One Italian legend traces the bread's origins to a poor baker named Tonio, who developed a special bread to earn the dowry for his daughter to marry a nobleman. The delicious creation - known as pan de Tonio - was a hit and allowed Tonio to ensure his daughter's fortuitous match. Few can rival our Italian version from Pasticceria Scarpato, panettone bakers since 1888. Enriched with golden raisins and a generous allotment of glazed chestnuts, the bread is high and light thanks to several risings. Serve panettone with coffee, tea or sweet dessert wine such as Vin Santo. Its flavor and texture also make it ideal for French toast or bread pudding. Made in Italy by the venerable Pasticceria Scarpato in Legnago, in the province of Verona, using an exceptional recipe they developed in 1888. 2 lb. 3 oz. (serves 12). Hand wrapped and packaged in a festive, reusable gift tin.
Average Customer Rating:
3.609 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
16 of 23(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Panettone
Review 1 for Panettone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
foodforethought
,Austin
,TX
Texas
December 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Not Sorini, but still quite good!!
December 30, 2013
I was so disappointed that Williams Sonoma changed brands from their 5 star Sorini brand. The first year after the change there was a huge difference in taste and the chestnuts were virtually non-existent. Since then they've improved quite a bit and increased the size and amount of chestnuts. This panettone, while not the coveted Sorini brand, is still by far and away the best available.
Pros: Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, great packaging!!
Review 2 for Panettone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Born2Bake
,Brandon
,MS
December 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious!
December 30, 2013
Yes, its true, Sorini is not the baker of the Panettone as it was years previously. With that being said, the product is still very good. Not sure what the other reviewers are complaining about; must have gotten a "lemon". Ours was moist, fragrant and tasted great! It is a splurge, but has become our Christmas morning tradition eaten along with a cup of coffee. Would like to see the product featured in a more decorative tin. Wish this was sold year round.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 3 for Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
violets
,PA
December 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious!
December 28, 2013
For years I purchased the Sorini panetone and loved it at first, but over the years the quality declined. What was once whole and large chunks of chestnuts deteriorated to 2-5 small bits of chestnuts the size of a small pea in the entire bread. Further, the bread no longer stayed moist and fresh over time as it once did. (I eat the panetone as an Advent treat with tea, cutting the first piece on the first Sunday of Advent and eating 1/4 of it each week until Dec. 24.) After 3 years of the poor quality, I was about to give up on it until I saw the brand had changed. I was hesitant about trying it, but I am glad I did! Back to whole chestnuts with a nice chunk or two in every slice and staying fresh throughout Advent. Thanks WS for Scarpati!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
Review 4 for Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FL2ACK
,Palm beach gardens
,Fl
December 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
The best panettone
December 25, 2013
I have had many panettone over the years, but this one is amazing. It was our Christmas morning breakfast and it was perfect.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent
Review 5 for Panettone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
loraina
,new york
,ny
December 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
extremely disappointed!!!!
December 25, 2013
I too have brought this for years but it just isn't the same. If you care about your customers you will go back to the Sorini!!! The taste,smell, & texture was heads & shoulders above this that you are selling now. Please go back!!!!!
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 6 for Panettone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bab0027
,Malibu
,CA
December 21, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Different brand - disappointed
December 21, 2013
I had no idea that Williams-Sonoma started carrying a different brand of panettone...it's a little misleading since the packaging is nearly identical. I had LOVED the Sorini panettone and had to get several each year for myself and for gifts, but this new brand is not the same at all. I wasted hundreds of dollars not even realizing that I was purchasing something different. I've now resorted to finding Sorini elsewhere online.
Cons: Disappointing
Review 7 for Panettone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
artworx
,tucson
,az
December 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
burnt and dry
December 19, 2013
2 years in a row, no more. this shouldn't be the quality of william sonoma. i have received this as a gift twice and not good both times.
Cons: Disappointing, over cooked
Review 8 for Panettone
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SnowB
,UT
December 15, 2013
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Sorini or Scarpato Pannetone
December 15, 2013
I've been buying or have been gifted pannetone from Williams Sonoma for years and I, too, was very disappointed when they switched from Sorini to Scarpato. An earlier reviewer said the Sorini and Scarpato are one in the same and made in the Scarpato bakery in Villa Bartolomea. According to the tins and some research, the Sorini brand was from Castelleone, Italy while the Scarapto brand is from the Scarpato Bakery in Villa Bartolomea, Italy - miles apart from one another. Therefore, it seems they are not from the same bakery and we aren't imagining a difference in the two! Scarpato is still good, but Sorini was better :)
I love the pannetone so much it was worth the time to post this. The Scarpato website is worth looking at to see their pannetone baking process - it's a 3-day process!
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SnowB
UT
Posted December 18, 2013
Sorini
Mirko, then the mystery continues.... the Sorini panettone tin from Williams Sonoma (from past years) has 'Castelleone, IT' written next to 'Sorini'. Are you suggesting that Scarpato did, indeed, make the 'Sorini' panettone from years past? The listed ingredients seem to be one in the same. At this point, I really would like to get to the bottom of this! If Sorini was made by Scarpato, then why did they use that name before?!?
0points
Customer avatar
mirko
italy
Posted December 18, 2013
Scarpato panettone
Dear SnowB,
if you take a look at Sorini website, you can see that this brand doesn't produce panettone. They have never produced panettone.
0points
1of 2found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for Panettone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jennyb237
,Allen County
,KY
December 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
What happened?
December 12, 2013
I received my Panettone yesterday and couldn't wait to open it. I love the sweet, special smell of this traditional bread. The smell was missing, so I tried a piece. It was tasteless. Did I get a Panettone that didn't get any flavorings or did Scarpato change the recipe? I am very disappointed.
Cons: Disappointing, smell, Flavor
Review 10 for Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Moana
,Honolulu
,HI
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Pannetone Bread for Christmas
January 4, 2013
Excellent! This is the best! Love it and makes great Christmas gifts!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 11 for Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
808Angel
,Aiea
,HI
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Awesome Yearly Tradition
January 3, 2013
Since WS opened in Hawaii, we have been purchasing the Panettone each year. We normally purchase between 20-30 and give out as gifts. Christmas morning is not complete without a slice or two of this tasty treat (plump raisins, sweet chestnuts, the smell of vanilla) with a cup of coffee, tea or cocoa. I've even gotten my cousin and her family "hooked" on this tradition. Nothing yummier than this treasure for an Awesome Yearly Tradition for our family!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift, smell, ingredients, packaging
Review 12 for Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jpgreg78
,Denver
,CO
December 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
An Annual Favorite
December 28, 2012
I give this out to many friends and family. Everyone raves about it. One of my friends was so enthused he went out and bought 12 more to give to his friends. Nothing better in the morning than a buttered slice of toasted Panettone and coffee.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 13 for Panettone
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
judikam
,AR
December 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wonderful holiday treat
December 26, 2012
Ordered the panettone for ourselves and as a gift for several years. Agree with others that last year's product was not as good as other years. The ones we ordered this season were very good, just wish they had much more chestnuts and more evenly distributed.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: not enough chestnuts
Review 14 for Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Karenlee
,Ocean Ridge
,Fl
W Palm Beach, FL
December 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious panettone
December 24, 2012
This is the best panettone on the market. We had Italian born friends here from Florence Italy who are very particular about their panettone. They tried the Williams Sonoma panettone and described it as one of the best they had ever had!
The panettone is moist and has wonderful chestnuts. Great flavor and texture.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 15 for Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jujujillybean
,Oglesby
,IL
Oglesby, IL
December 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Loaded with candied chestnuts
December 23, 2012
Oh my gosh, I can't believe these bad reviews. I have been ordering panettone from W-S for years. Although there was one year where the quality wasn't quite as high as the panettone from a different vendor, this is not that year! This is the THIRD panettone I've ordered in a month (one was a gift to a friend). Nothing compares to lifting off that lid, opening the wrapper and inhaling that heady scent of sweet, tender yeast bread and all its sweet goodies within it. Well, the eating of it beats the scent. Ha! I thought this year's batch was especially loaded with candied chestnuts--more than usual. I can't give this one a high enough rating. (-:
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for Panettone
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SoriniLover
,Wallingford
,PA
December 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Go Back to Sorini Please!!
December 21, 2012
We have ordered this for years and everyone raved about the Sorini Panettone. This Scarpato brand doesn't compare at all. It is very disappointing compared to Sorini's Panetone. Please go back to offering the Sorini brand.
Thank you.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, dry and lacks rich flavor of sorini brand
Review 17 for Panettone
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
butch47
,San Francisco
,Ca
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Not the best
December 17, 2012
Please go back to Sorini. This one lacks taste. Bought for my aunt from Sicily, and she threw it out
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 18 for Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JBridgesAdams
,Cincinnati
,OH
December 15, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
The BEST Panettone
December 15, 2012
I have purchased many panettones over the years at holiday time, but this is by far the best yet! I have many Italian family and friends, and I often prepare Italian dinners. I served this at my most recent dinner, and everyone raved about it. They all asked if they could take a piece home. It was definitely a step above the rest. If you want a true, first-class Italian panettone for your family and friends, this is the way to go!!!
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 19 for Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
beachboy
,lodi
,nj
December 14, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Delicious panettone, better than last year!
December 14, 2012
Like last year, I received this panettone from my friend. He told me that this producer is the one who made Sorini panettone in the past! The texture is silky, light and fluffy, and the sweetness is just the right sweetness for the holiday bread. The chestnuts are the best part. I think I have found the best panettone that I've ever eaten! This is the present I will do to my friends.
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 20 for Panettone
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tkellyd
,Arlington
,VA
December 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Fabulous Panettone
December 13, 2012
In years past, Sorini Panettone was difficult to get my hands on during the holidays, and I must say that I still cannot find it. I had to have some Panettone this year and it turned out to be Scarpato. The big red tin looked similar to to the Sorini tin so I thought I'd try it. It is everything that Sorini was! Matter of fact, I'm wondering if this Scarpato is Sorini in disguise. A change of company name, maybe? Don't know, but I do know that the Panettone is fabulous!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Great Gift, the glazed chestnuts are a big plus!
page1 2 next