This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Panasonic Rice Cooker

Not only can this compact cooker produce 10 cups of perfectly tender rice, it also handles a wide variety of tasks, from cooking stews to steaming vegetables. The specially designed pot evenly disperse heat and the nonstick interior makes cleanup easy. Pot's dimpled design evenly disperses heat for rice with better taste and texture. Preprogrammed settings include sushi rice, brown rice, regular rice, soft grains, slow cooking (for stews and soups), steaming (for vegetables and seafood) and quick cooking. Black binchotan nonstick cooking bowl rests on a cupped heating pad, promoting uniform cooking. Preset timer up to 24 hours in advance. Cooker automatically keeps rice warm up to 12 hours.Cool-touch body and carrying handle for easy transport from counter to buffet. Stainless-steel lid. Includes steaming rack, rice paddle, measuring cup and recipes. Detachable cord for easy storage. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.846 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Panasonic Rice Cooker
Review 1 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Rucker
,Everett
,WA
July 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Rice Cooker
July 15, 2013
A special order for us. Confusing to operate. Product was used and missing parts.
Review 2 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChefMaloney
,Acton
,Ca
October 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great & Pricey
October 4, 2012
I love this rice cooker. It cooks perfect rice. I love cooking Jasmine rice and the texture and flavor are always perfect. The missing star is based on two factors: Price... I am seeing comparable Panasonic rice cookers with the same parts and functions for nearly $90.00 less. Maybe its the brushed stainless steel lid? Also... the directions are a bit confusing. WHY doesn't Panasonic have someone educated in languages write the instructions for each country of distribution? Great rice cooker!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Cons: Speed
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
PhillyBill
Andalusia,Pa..Border of Philly-Lower Bucks County
Posted November 4, 2012
Language e & Tranlation
Oh Great Wise One Chef Maloney.
You would think with all the money that companies send on R&D et that they would be Intelligent enough to ensure that the Instruction
Manuals would be properly translated .
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Twiggles
,Denver
,Co
May 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
How do I use this thing?
May 3, 2012
All I need are some good instructions and I can use almost anything. The "Operating Instructions" are poorly written. There is not even a rice to water ratio chart or listed cooking times. I made 1 cup of rice and it took 3x's as long as my last rice cooker. It would be helpful for meal planning if they told you how long it would take the rice to cook. I have spent more time online looking for instructions or on the phone with Panasonic than I have eating rice.
Pros: Easy to Store, Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, poor instructions
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
NT00112233
Oakland, California
Posted September 9, 2012
Rule of Thumb, Use Your Index Finger
Here's a rule of thumb about electric rice cookers and the right amount of water you need to use. After rinsing off the excess starch from your rice in the pot, fill water up to the first bend of your index finger. It's a trick my Chinese mother taught me which has been fool proof for 3 to 4 cups (the included measuring cup) of rice cooking.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lovecookingk
March 21, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Great rice cooker
March 21, 2012
I have used this to cook white rice, spanish rice, brown rice and rice pilaf and it works great! I use it to cook rice in the boxes with seasoning packets and just throw the seasoning in with the rice. So much easier than rice in a pot on the stove, you throw it in this rice cooker, press the button and perfect rice! I have not used it as a slow cooker yet but am aware it can be used for that as well.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Lovecookingk
Posted March 10, 2013
Update
Update March 2013 - STILL love this rice cooker and it still works as good as ever. Cooks all rice perfectly and I also steam vegetables in it such as broccoli, squash, and even corn on the cob, all came out PERFECT! So happy with this.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mike58
,San Antonio
,TX
September 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-5points
2of 9found this review helpful.
Excellent Service
September 22, 2011
I received an expedited rice cooker from Panasonic on time. However, it didn't function correctly (although you would press the blinking "Start" button and it would stop blinking and stay lit, it only warmed the uncooked rice; You had too press it repeatedly and with force to get it to cook the rice). With one quick call to customer service, I'm now exchanging the rice cooker, which I'll receive in 3 business days. Excellent service is why I keep coming back to Williams Sonoma!!!
Pros: i'm sure it'll be great
Cons: didn't work properly
Review 6 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dremily
Eureka, Ca
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
We are eating a lot more rice
September 6, 2011
Great rice cooker.....the Japanese are serious about their rice, and it shows with this cooker. Makes a great pot of any type of rice very easily. It also serves as a slow cooker that you can put on a timer, or a steamer. I have been able to replace several appliances with this one.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nickg
DFW, TX
March 16, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Fantastic.
March 16, 2011
Slightly expensive but fantastic buy. I use this thing 4-7 times a week and it always produces pefect results.
Only downsides with it is its technically not dishwasher save but i put the bowl and metal lid in the washer everyday and aside from some discoloration it works fine.
Review 8 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mizterri
texas
January 28, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
great rice cooker
January 28, 2011
I really like this rice cooker. I have made several kinds of white rice and a rice cassarole and they all turned out AMAZING!!! I have not tried to make brown rice, but it is on my to do list.
Review 9 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DougDoug
Phoenix, AZ
December 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
How did I live without it
December 17, 2010
Got this as a gift and love it. Always makes great rice and keeps it warm for hours if needed. I even made a cake in it. This thing rocks
Review 10 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BL1105
Scottsdale Arizona
March 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Favorite Item I've ever bought
March 17, 2010
This rice cooker is the easiest one I have ever used. Super easy to use with the buit in measurer inside for water. My favorite item I have bought from Williams -Sonoma !! Anyone who says it's hard just didn't read the instructions and take the time to look it over. Amazing machine. We use it every day
Review 11 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fish1
Lexington, SC
March 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Terrific!
March 4, 2010
I couldn't live without this rice cooker. Bought several years ago and have never had a problem. I go by the instructions and rice turns out great. I love being able to assemble ingredients, put in cooker, and never think again about the rice until it's ready to serve. Highly recommend--especially for people who don't want to hang around the stove making sure the rice doesn't burn.
Review 12 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
levi50174
El Paso, Tx
February 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Great rice!
February 27, 2010
I have been using this product for almost a year and think it is great. I did have some issues when I first started cooking different types of rice and have come to the conclusion that anything wrong with the rice is user error. My wife was able to use this cooker with ease but I on the other hand have had to have some trial by fire to get it down. I have created several new dishes to include rice mash, al dente rice in gravy, and a few I have yet to name. The good news is once you read the directions (or listen to your wife) you can use this rice cooker with ease. I recommend this cooker because it really does cook good rice and isn't that hard to use but because it will do more that heat up water there is a learning curve for some of us..
Review 13 for Panasonic Rice Cooker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Anonymous
Queens, NY
February 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
13of 27found this review helpful.
Disappointed
February 23, 2010
I've had this for a year and tried many different types of rice and ways of cooking it, but have never had really good results. It's easy enough, and the rice is okay, but never great. I'm upset I spent so much money for something that is so average.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Cambridge, MA
Posted January 2, 2012
Hmmm, should have returned it!
I have had my Panasonic rice cooker for about as long, but I probably don't use it as often. However, the rice is always perfect! It did brown/burn a few brown rice grains one time but I'm pretty sure I did not put in enough water.
If you don't get perfect white and brown rice every time, it IS defective. Exchange it and you'll have a perfect rice cooker.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)