Paella Pan

Crafted in Valencia Spain, the birthplace of paella, this pan is designed in the traditional Valencian style. The wide, shallow carbon steel cooking surface is designed to saute meats and vegetables prior to adding rice. Carbon steel construction facilitates even heating over the entire cooking surface. Dimples in the base mimic those of traditional Valencian paella pans and encourage uniform heating. The pan's sloped sides make it easier to stir ingredients. Large handles facilitate carrying the pan from oven to table for serving.
Average Customer Rating:
3.286 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
12 of 21(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Paella Pan
Review 1 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grilling1
July 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Paella. Requires Care.
July 9, 2013
This is a great authentic paella pan. I've made at least 12 batches of paella in mine and it's still going strong. Just like a cast iron skillet, it requires special care and seasoning. If you throw it into the dishwasher, then you haven't read the label of instructions, and it will immediately rust. If you take proper care, then your paella will only get better over time!
Pros: Durable, Size, Weight
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 2 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lars2
,Ocala
,FL
May 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The right pan
May 27, 2013
Love the pan, it is the right size, the right price and a quality product. My first Paella turned out perfect.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 3 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mmeo
,Richmolnd
,VA
April 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
1of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rust problem
April 6, 2013
This pan is not stainless steel and rusts very quickly, after the first wash. It also develops a metalic smell when exposed to high heat. The spot directly over the burner turned black and does not come clean even after scrubbing. All in all I am very disappointed with this item.
Pros: Size
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, rust
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
aupaatleti
Posted January 27, 2014
authentic paella pan care 101
this is actually how typical paella pans in spain are supposed to be. they are not stainless steel and do rust. and yes they do smell when first used. so paella pan care 101: step 1 wash and dry the pan. step 2 wipe down with olive oil. step 3 heat in pre-heated oven for about 30 15-30 mins. step 4 clean paella pan before yo cook with it first time. step 5 second time plus... you clean it but do not to the metal. ok to leave some residue. then step 6 wipe down with olive oil step 7 store in cloth
0points
Customer avatar
Lars2
FL
Posted May 30, 2013
Rust Problem
You did not read the care instructions. The product stated that it was a high carbon steel. Steel will rust if you do not coat it with oil as the instruction state.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GadgetMaster
,Tampa
,FL
Tampa, FL
October 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
4of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rusted Quickly
October 9, 2012
Good price and size. The unit quicky rusted upon dish washing it. Literally 5 minutes after we used it for the first time and washed it, the pan started to rust. Rust was clearly visible on our white towels. We had to quickly apply mineral oil to it. One wonders if any of it may get into the food the next time we cook.
Pros: Size
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance
Review 5 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stephanino
,Los Angeles
,CA
October 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rusts Quickly
October 8, 2012
Like many reviewers here stated, mine rusted after washing with water and soap. I called the manufacturer and they told me to coat the pan with light oil so it does not rust. They also suggested that I buy a stainless steel paella pan. The price for the same size pan was $59.00. Should have done some research before jumping to buy the pan !!
Pros: Easy to Use, Color, Size, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 6 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TDVA
,New York
,NY
October 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+29points
30of 31found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cooking 101 for the 1-star reviews
October 9, 2011
The paella pans are made of carbon steel and should be treated similarly to cast iron. The protective film must be removed, and the pan heavily seasoned in the oven before first use. Just like cast iron, if properly seasoned food should not stick, therefore it should be easy to clean. Never use soap on it. Never put it away wet. Always heat the pan on the cooktop after washing to dry it. I’ve had mine since W-S started carrying them and it’s fantastic. It’s a nice blackish-brown color and has never had a speck of rust.
Pros: authenticity, value
Review 7 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TimN
Reading, PA
August 16, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
13of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Authentic and Perfect
August 16, 2011
This pan is authentic, made in Spain and perfect. I make my Paella over an open fire outdoors, as it was intended to be, and this pan is absolutely perfect. The real deal!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Entertablement
Dennis! MA
August 4, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Trick to removing label
August 4, 2011
The label is easily removed by rubbing the sticky area with coarse salt mixed with a little olive oil. Then just wipe dry with a paper towel.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
F1wrc
WNC
July 29, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
6of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great pan of carbon steel, proper care required.
July 29, 2011
Like all good Paella Pans it is carbon steel with no coating. Carbon steel rusts, that is its nature, you must protect it like cast iron, season it. A good paella is made over an open fire and this pan is perfect for what it was designed for, it creates a great dish with a proper crust on the bottom of the dish. It will rust if you do not treat the pan properly. Season it before use and do not use soap on it after it is seasoned. Do not soak it in water.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 10 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
pmrm
July 24, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
1of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
POOR HEAT CONDUCTOR AND RUSTS
July 24, 2011
On medium heat, the pan immediately burned the onions I was sauteing. I had to continue in another pan since I had company. The pan rusted terribly after I cleaned it up. Williams Sonoma was very agreeable to my returning the pan--no hassle at all.
Review 11 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
117Bus
Arlington, VA
July 2, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pearls before swine
July 2, 2011
This is a great pan. Its made in the traditional manner and composition. Its carbon steel. You have to exercise care with it just as you do with classic cooking knives made of carbon steel. While carbon steel has many advantages, they are not for beginners or at least people who don't want to invest time to take care of it properly. If you don't like cast iron, for instance, don't get this pan, they make no-care stainless paella pans for those not willing to put in the extra care to preserve the wonderful patina of a classic pan.The ration of depth to diameter is perfect. The carbon browns meats beautifully and a nice brown rice crust forms every time, if you do your part.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Weight
Cons: ya gotta clean and oil it before storing it.
Review 12 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
karen40
NYC
June 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-4points
0of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Pan rusted before I could use it
June 26, 2011
Was excited to buy this pan to try out a new recipe. Much like the experience of a previous reviewer, the sticker was tough to get off so I let it soak in water for a couple of minutes and it rusted. i was so surprised I went on line to see if I missed any special instructions and there were none listed. Given how many people have had this problem bit surprised WS is selling it in its current form.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
F1wrc
WNC
Posted July 29, 2011
True paella pans are carbon steel
This is traditional to build a crust on the bottom of the dish, and for open flame cooking as Paella should be done. Carbon steel rusts.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
markJon
Lafayette IN
June 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent pan
June 20, 2011
I'm very pleased with the pan. It performed exactly as described in "PEALLA!" by Penelope Casas. I used it on my charcoal Weber grill to get the smoky flavor and it was great! It turned black on the bottom and it rusted (as you would expect carbon steel to do) after I washed it and before oiling it. I can't wait until the next time.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: requires some extra effort to clean and store
Review 14 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Adolphin
June 15, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice paella pan
June 15, 2011
Sorry to say this but the people complaining about how bad this pan is and how it rusted immediately do not know how to use it and take care of it. You need to treated like an old fashioned cast iron skillet. You need to season it before using it and then clean it appropriately after each use by scrubbing it with a non abrasive sponge and warm to hot water NO SOAP!!! Then rinse and dry immediately and rub a little bit of olive oil while warm before you store it. It will last you forever if you do this. A little bit time consuming but worth it!!!!!!!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight, even heat distribution
Cons: High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Adolphin
Posted June 19, 2011
To be fair, the instructions on the pan and online are pretty much non existent and useless. Unless you have used this type of paella pan before you would not know how to properly take care of it without proper instructions.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
webcat
Columbus, OH
June 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
0of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
True about Rusting
June 14, 2011
Yes, it is true. I too, used this pan only one time. I was shocked to see if rusted. I have never had a pan do this after cooking 1 time. I am so disappointed because it is a nice designed pan. Not sure if I will be able to return it.
Pros: Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance
Review 16 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Taginer
Salt Lake City
June 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-7points
0of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rusted in two hours
June 5, 2011
The sticker on the bottom of the pan is ridiculously hard to remove. Left some water in pan for couple hours to unseat the sticker and the pan is rusted.
Bought it yesterday... It will be going back today. Stay away from this one.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 17 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dotmary
Carlsbad CA
May 17, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
0of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
poor quality
May 17, 2011
This pan rusted before I ever got to use it. Now it sits on a shelf in the garage. I should take it back.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Shape
Cons: it rusts
Review 18 for Paella Pan
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Patty42
LA ,Califonia
March 2, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not like I hoped it would be.
March 2, 2011
I ordered 2 of these pans.13" &17".I wanted a shallow paella pan with dimpled bottom. I did not want copper because it's too fragile & expensive for using on the BBQ which is what I hope to do with the larger one.. I read a review from 2 customers & they liked these pans. I used the 13" on my stove( which is electric). The pan cooked with hot spots and burned in some areas ,not in others. I realize steel is not the best for even heating & I will have to invest in a cast iron trivet to use on my stove next time to avoid this problem . I also realize it wasn't the most expensive pan & I do own exceptional pans but I had hoped it would prove a better product.Also there are some small rust spots showing up after 1 use. I question the finish. I hope it isn't toxic. I haven't tried the 17" on the BBQ yet but I wouldn't buy either again. Sorry, your store has such a good reputation for excellent products. Don't love these and I am a very experienced cook.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
minimalist
Southern US
Posted July 10, 2012
No different than a wok or a cast iron skillet.
They all require you keep them dry and oiled and will eventually develop their own nonstick coating from use. They will eventually go black from this seasoning building up over time.
Carbon steel is desirable in a wok or paella pan due to the ability respond quickly to changes in temperature.
0points
Customer avatar
CookerBelle
Posted March 18, 2011
Season
You need to season the pans before use and maintain it just like you would a cast iron pan. If you get it wet and don't dry it off right away, your pan wil rust. That is just the nature of any carbon steel pan.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
killergriller
KETTERING,OHIO
January 26, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
PAELLA I LOVE YA !
January 26, 2011
ordered all three carbon steel pans, the 13 1/2", 15" and 17" pan. the 13" and 15" are perfect for the gas range and the 17" is great on the grill and gas paella burner I have. now we can have paella for a smaller gathering I don't have to haul out the 22" and 26" paella pans. clean-up is a snap. be sure to scrub your pan and season the pan before you use it the first time.these paella pans will make you HAPPY HAPPY HAPPY.
Review 20 for Paella Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
oldlab
Ashland, OR
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
priceworthy & painless
January 25, 2011
I had checked paella pans in local stores. The WS offering on them turned out to be essentially the same as what I saw, only priced substantially less. I would not have paid local prices, nor swallowed the usual S&H costs. But this one was priceworthy overall. The pan arrived in just a few days.
These are offers to watch for.
page1 2 next