Paella Pan

Crafted in Valencia Spain, the birthplace of paella, this pan is designed in the traditional Valencian style. The wide, shallow carbon steel cooking surface is designed to saute meats and vegetables prior to adding rice. Carbon steel construction facilitates even heating over the entire cooking surface. Dimples in the base mimic those of traditional Valencian paella pans and encourage uniform heating. The pan's sloped sides make it easier to stir ingredients. Large handles facilitate carrying the pan from oven to table for serving.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
3 of 6(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Paella Pan
Review 1 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Alvaro
December 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The real deal.
December 8, 2014
I am from Spain (I moved to the states 2 years ago) and when I was looking for a paella pan, I was surprised to see paella pan of stainless steel, cast iron... I have never seen any of those in Spain, the paella my mum uses back home is exactly like this one, but much darker after years and years of use. This pan will become darker after using but that is fine, it is normal, that is why we called black steel back in Spain.
About rusting, you just need to be sure to take care of it properly, which it is not that hard. After washing it, dry it with paper or a towel and then add some olive oil and using a paper towel spread it around the paella, so there is a thin layer of oil that will protect the paella from rusting.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Review 2 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grilling1
July 9, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Paella. Requires Care.
July 9, 2013
This is a great authentic paella pan. I've made at least 12 batches of paella in mine and it's still going strong. Just like a cast iron skillet, it requires special care and seasoning. If you throw it into the dishwasher, then you haven't read the label of instructions, and it will immediately rust. If you take proper care, then your paella will only get better over time!
Pros: Durable, Size, Weight
Cons: High-Maintenance
Review 3 for Paella Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lars2
,Ocala
,FL
May 27, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The right pan
May 27, 2013
Love the pan, it is the right size, the right price and a quality product. My first Paella turned out perfect.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mmeo
,Richmolnd
,VA
April 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-8points
2of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rust problem
April 6, 2013
This pan is not stainless steel and rusts very quickly, after the first wash. It also develops a metalic smell when exposed to high heat. The spot directly over the burner turned black and does not come clean even after scrubbing. All in all I am very disappointed with this item.
Pros: Size
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, rust
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
aupaatleti
Posted January 27, 2014
authentic paella pan care 101
this is actually how typical paella pans in spain are supposed to be. they are not stainless steel and do rust. and yes they do smell when first used. so paella pan care 101: step 1 wash and dry the pan. step 2 wipe down with olive oil. step 3 heat in pre-heated oven for about 30 15-30 mins. step 4 clean paella pan before yo cook with it first time. step 5 second time plus... you clean it but do not to the metal. ok to leave some residue. then step 6 wipe down with olive oil step 7 store in cloth
0points
Customer avatar
Lars2
FL
Posted May 30, 2013
Rust Problem
You did not read the care instructions. The product stated that it was a high carbon steel. Steel will rust if you do not coat it with oil as the instruction state.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GadgetMaster
,Tampa
,FL
Tampa, FL
October 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-8points
5of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rusted Quickly
October 9, 2012
Good price and size. The unit quicky rusted upon dish washing it. Literally 5 minutes after we used it for the first time and washed it, the pan started to rust. Rust was clearly visible on our white towels. We had to quickly apply mineral oil to it. One wonders if any of it may get into the food the next time we cook.
Pros: Size
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KayLeo
Houston, TX
Posted October 6, 2014
Number 1 Contributor
Oh, goodness!
It rusted because you did not bother to read the care instructions... Dish washing any carbon steel cookware is a big no-no. Even the product description on this site says to hand wash only. :-(
Oh, well. Mistakes are for learning and at least this pan has a relatively cheap price.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Paella Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stephanino
,Los Angeles
,CA
October 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Rusts Quickly
October 8, 2012
Like many reviewers here stated, mine rusted after washing with water and soap. I called the manufacturer and they told me to coat the pan with light oil so it does not rust. They also suggested that I buy a stainless steel paella pan. The price for the same size pan was $59.00. Should have done some research before jumping to buy the pan !!
Pros: Easy to Use, Color, Size, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Clean