Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Oyster Mushroom Log

Savor the sweet, mild flavor and delicate texture of homegrown oyster mushrooms. Grow them indoors or outdoors with little effort and no mess using our hand-cut hardwood log, which is inoculated with spores that produce a crop of oyster mushrooms every two to three months, for up to two or three years. Simply soak the log in water to start the growing process, and you'll be ready to harvest in just a few weeks. Use your fresh-picked mushrooms to add delicious flavor to omelets, frittatas, stir-fries, hearty stews, risottos, and pastas. Logs are hand-cut and inoculated with oyster mushroom spores in visible drill holes that are covered in cheese wax. Logs can be stood upright or laid horizontally for growing. Metal plaque on underside of log states date of inoculation. Fruiting occurs approximately sixteen weeks from inoculation. You can start the growing process and enjoy your first crop within a few weeks of delivery. Just soak the log for 24 hours in cold water, mist it occasionally, and watch your crop emerge. 12" long, approx. 3"-6" diam. 4-7 lb. Product of 2funguys USA.
Average Customer Rating:
2.625 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
3 of 8(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Oyster Mushroom Log
Review 1 for Oyster Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Woodbury
,ct
March 30, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
bad choice
March 30, 2016
Did not work at all and did not realize that it was not returnable. Will use it as firewood.
Cons: did not work
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Goodbakergirl
Durham, NC
Posted April 21, 2016
Unfair review
From the date of your review you did not give this time to sprout. The instructions say it takes 16 weeks, so unless you purchased this log around the holidays you did not give the log enough time to 'grow'.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Oyster Mushroom Log
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Fayetteville
,NC
January 12, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What do you do now?
January 12, 2016
At least this one made it to our house. But with absolutely no directions of any sort. Just a log in a box.very disappointing!
Pros: it made it to our house
Cons: instructions
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
2funguys
Atlanta, GA
Posted February 2, 2016
Instructions
The instructions are under the corrugated protective wrap we sent the logs in. We make sure every log has instructions. We would love to email you another copy so you can have a soft copy as well. email us please info @ 2funguys
Enjoy!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Oyster Mushroom Log
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
December 13, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
lovely oyster mushrooms!
December 13, 2014
I highly recommend these mushroom logs. My log yielded some awesome oyster mushrooms of high quality and GREAT taste, much better than what you could find in the store. It's fun to pick the mushrooms off the log and put them right into the saute pan...it does not get any fresher than that! I have both an oyster log and a shiitake log -- both are excellent products.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Appearance, Design, fresh delicious mushrooms
Review 4 for Oyster Mushroom Log
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May 12, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
totally cool
May 12, 2014
In culinary school at Le Cordon Bleu and my project was on Oyster Mushrooms so I purchased this item and was able to grow right at home. very cool.
Review 5 for Oyster Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,NC
Dublin, North Carolina
February 5, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nothing happened
February 5, 2014
This was a Christmas gift for my science-oriented boys. We followed the instructions to the letter after Christmas. Now I read some of these products on your website should have been opened immediately upon receipt. I never saw that when we ordered and these sat under the tree for about a month. This may have been the problem. I hope others have a better experience.
Review 6 for Oyster Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Nantucket
,MA
November 11, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
oyster mushroom logs
November 11, 2013
I bought this and the shitake log for my husband for Christmas. He opened them early as I thought we might improve our chances by not storing them in dark boxes until Christmas.
However, nothing on either log. Despite following the directions word for word twice our log produced nothing. I e mailed 2funguys, the supplier and heard not a word back. That was when I made the decision to return them. If the supplier won't support their own product what am I meant to do
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, High-Maintenance
Review 7 for Oyster Mushroom Log
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
October 14, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oysters worked for me!
October 14, 2013
Bought this log late last year and its started fruiting this fall. These are delicious! I’m so glad that I bought both the Oyster and Shiitake logs. I re-soaked my logs after the first mushroom fruited, and tons more appeared. Great for foodies!
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 8 for Oyster Mushroom Log
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poteau, Oklahoma
May 16, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's not working as promised
May 16, 2013
I was so excited when one -- repeat one mushroom sprouted. I did everything right.... as directed. then nothing. Someone may be a better at growing mushroom than I, but when one is perfect then nothing. I can't be don't to much wrong...
Pros: easy to get ready, dark room required