OXO Wire Cheese Slicer

Creating perfectly thin slices of cheese is simple with this well-designed tool. It cuts easily through firm cheeses to create uniform slices for sandwiches and other dishes.Swiftly creates even cheese slices for sandwiches, platters and more.Stainless-steel cutting wire glides through firm cheeses.Built-in tension wheel makes it simple to tighten the wire.Wire is easy to replace as needed.Includes a replacement cutting wire.Comfortable soft-grip handle.Heavyweight zinc.Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.583 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
Review 1 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wacko
,Colorado Springs
,CO
March 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NEVER run it through the dishwasher.
March 28, 2014
This is the best cheese slicer I have found, and I have bought a number of different ones. I use it EVERY DAY.
I bought the first one, and it lasted a year. The plastic gear shattered after one year. I tried several others that didn't work. I bought a second one, and the gear broke in a year.
I decided then that the plastic gear probably WASN'T intended to be run through the dishwasher despite the instructions - so I bought another one, and have never stuck it in the dishwasher. I have been using it for about 3 years now, and there isn't any evidence of the gear failing. I checked the gear over with a magnifying glass, and no cracks were forming. like on the others.
SO - if you want a cheese slicer, this is the best I've found - but NEVER, NEVER, NEVER RUN IT THROUGH THE DISHWASHER. As long as you do that, you can probably hand it down to your kids.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Cons: Fragile, not durable enough for the dishwasher
Review 2 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mom22
,Jackson
,WY
Jackson, WY
September 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OXO Cheese Slicer
September 2, 2013
I have had my slicer for several years and love it. The wire has stayed tight, it is easy to use - always hand wash and dry.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Review 3 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
jlich
,Cincinnati
,Oh
August 8, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oxo wire cheese slicer
August 8, 2013
It was everything that was expected from the kitchen tool
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Design, Weight
Review 4 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
wrobertdavis
,Pearland
,TX
July 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Breaks after a few months
July 25, 2013
I thought I had finally found the holy grail of cheese slicers. It worked well and the wire tension could easily be adjusted as the wire stretched with use. Unfortunately, the thread mechanism for tension adjustment is made of plastic instead of metal. The threads in the adjustment wheel stripped after about 4 months use. There is no part replacement available for the wheel. I returned the slicer t0 Williams-Sonoma.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 5 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DrewE
,Bluefield
,VA
May 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Cheese Slicer EVER!
May 28, 2012
Everyone knows about cheese slicers. The wire sags, then breaks and you throw it away. Not this one. The wire is adjustable, though mine doesn't need it after six months. The slicer comes with replacement wires and fits well in the hand. What more could you ask? I give it a "10."
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 6 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kathleentg
pflugerville, tx
August 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not so great cheese slicer
August 17, 2011
I received this cheese slicer as a gift. It only lasted a year and I didn't use it that often. Maybe that's a norm for a $14 cheese slicer, but I don't think it should be. I was disappointed b/c I figured W & S' products were high quality. I'll search elsewhere....
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality
Review 7 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Jacki36243
Niceville fl
February 20, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works Well
February 20, 2011
This works well and makes cutting cheese off of the block much easier.
I would say that its a $14 item - probably not going to last forever.
Easy to adjust slice thickness - just adjust the angle at which you use it.
Review 8 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ahmreview
Sacramento, CA
August 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Had 2 - won't buy #3
August 6, 2010
We've had two of these in the past year. First, the tension wheel broke so I bought another one because I already had the extra replacement wires. Same thing with our second one - if the wheel breaks, you can't use it. Note other reviewers, slices at one thickness, have to angle your slice if you want it thinner.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
b12345
New Jerwsey
Posted January 27, 2011
OXO Wire Chese Slicer
I was checking out cheese slicers and I did not buy the OXO wire cheese slicer because I can imagine the wire breaking and it being difficult to put in a new wire.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
FrammyFace
Hilton Head Island
June 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Cheese Slicer
June 21, 2010
Great for slicing but no way to adjust for thickness. Had an old wooden one with the same type slicer and it was my favorite. Just can't find one like it but this is doing almost as good a job.
Review 10 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MichaelWise
Salt Lake City, UT
May 27, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Adjustable would be nicer
May 27, 2010
Unless I'm missing something, this slicer has only one slicing thickness, which is fairly thick. With some cheeses it might be nicer to get thinner slices than this one makes. For making slices off blocks of cheese that will be used in grilled cheese or homemade mac and cheese I don't see that thick slices are an issue but for slices to put on a sandwich, say, they are too thick.
Review 11 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jodeen
Napa, Ca.
December 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Elegant Cheese Slicer
December 27, 2009
A requested item, this cheese slicer fit the bill. Comes with replacement wires. Sturdy and elegant. Received the product very quickly after ordering.
Review 12 for OXO Wire Cheese Slicer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
noodlenoggin
Oklahoma City, OK
September 17, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice cheese slicer
September 17, 2008
Nice cheese slicer. The features that keep this item from receiving a 5-star rating are: 1) Difficult to cut all the way thru to the cheese board 2) slice thickness is not adjustable. Other than those observations, it's a nice slicer: durable, wide and adjustable (tension).