OXO Vegetable Steamer

What sets this stainless-steel steaming basket apart from others is its innovative design: a pop-up handle provides an extended reach for safe and easy removal, and then presses down and locks for compact storage. Pop-up stay-cool handle allows for safe and easy insertion and removal from even the deepest pots; locks down for compact storage. Holes in handle allow the basket to be lifted with a fork. Handle may be removed completely for steaming large items like fish fillets. Fold-out feet keep steamer 1 3/4" above water and fold down for storage. Fits pots that are 8" diam. or larger. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
11 of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Vegetable Steamer
Review 1 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
eufamystic
,Port St Lucie
,FL
Port St. Lucie, FL
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Defective Handle
January 12, 2014
This is a sturdy, well-designed steamer, but the handle stopped working after a month or two (you can't push it into a closed position) so it remains extended so you can't close the pot to steam anything.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Design
Review 2 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kalali
,Carrollton
,Ms
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not great
August 16, 2013
Takes much too long to steam. I usually love the Oxo product line but was disappointed in this.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Weight
Cons: took much longer to steam than i expected! i
Review 3 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vizzie
,Norwich
,NY
Norwich, New York
July 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's worth the price
July 30, 2013
Obviously it is more expensive--but it is worth it. It does not come apart like the regular ones do (think notches in it keep the "leaves" from coming out, and the handle is great. No longer do I need a separate gadget to get it out of the steamer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 4 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EBowen
,West Des Moines
,IA
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Cooking Steamed Veggies!
November 25, 2012
Like others have stated, we had problems with the handle popping up and not going back down after a few months of use. I ended up taking the handle off completely and now use it without. I carefully dump the steamer and veggies into my colander when I am done cooking. I would give the product 5 stars if the handle wasn't temperamental, but otherwise it is a good product and we have worked around this issue. It makes delicious healthy veggies!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: Temperamental
Review 5 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jecca
Dallas, TX
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Much better than the grocery store steamers
April 22, 2012
I use this steamer several times a week. It is very durable and has not rusted on me yet, compared to the ones you buy at a grocery store (which only lasts me about 2-3 months).
-The legs are twice as high as most steamers
-I love the pop up handle so I don't have to reach far into the pot to grab it
-I like how the handle unscrews, so I can steam fish
I have given several of these as gifts. This is an easy tool to use for a healthier lifestyle.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size
Review 6 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
SPDPRPMP
Ridgefield, CT
September 7, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Over rated
September 7, 2011
I have gotten two of these because I loved the ease of steaming with it. Both center pieces broke. I messed with them to still work but it just isn't as good. Save your receipt! If this breaks under warranty I suggest returning it.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Fragile
Review 7 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Aushley
Rancho Cucamonga, CA
February 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Totally in love!
February 5, 2011
Not only does this item work fabulously, it's a very healthy as well. I no long smother my vegtables and fish in butter to cook. I could use this steamer everyday. In fact, I have for the past 3 days! I would recommend this to anyone looking to lose weight or live a healthier lifestyle.
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 8 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Portia
Wakefield RI
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Avoid this product
January 17, 2011
This is the only OXO product that has ever disappointed me. The handle pops up and is difficult to get it to go back down. OXO did replace the part for me once but the problem remained the same. You cannot use this steamer when the handle is up.
Review 9 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Seashells
Seal Beach, CA
April 12, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love using my steamer!
April 12, 2010
It's great! Easy to use, easy to clean, easy to store. I must have if you like steaming.
Review 10 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chinaguide
Dulles, VA
August 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
steamer makes vegies mm good
August 9, 2009
This is a great steamer for small saucepans. Makes delicious vegetables!
Review 11 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Garth
St. Petersburg, Florida
May 30, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-5points
6of 17found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not all it's cracked up to be!
May 30, 2009
This is nothing more than the $6 steamer you can get at the grocery store, but with a somewhat flimsy handle. I seem to buy one at the store every 6 months when the last one breaks. I had higher hopes for this product. I just got it and have used it twice so I will wait and see. The construction appears the same as the store bought poorly engineered ones. If it lasts 6 months I will recant my review! I would not hold your breath though.
Review 12 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pearl62
West Hills, CA
April 9, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Super steamer
April 9, 2009
First time shopper here. This was part of my first order. Wonderful, met all my expectations. Steamed salmon and vegetables oh.... so good. This steamer just met my sons expectations as an athlete. He uses it to prepare his meals. Even his coach is impressed with it. We will get him one for his birthday.
Review 13 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mimi1
Maine
March 26, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best steamer
March 26, 2009
We love this steamer. It is so sturdy it will last for years. We were buying ones in the grocery store every few months. The folding legs on this one are also a great feature.
Review 14 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FullCode
MD
March 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great steamer
March 10, 2009
This is the first steamer I've ever bought. I really like it a lot. It is easy to use, clean and store, especially because it is collapsible.
Review 15 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dawg
Los Angeles, CA
December 31, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Steamer
December 31, 2008
This is the best steamer cartridge; I've never had sweet potatoes, zuccini or carrots taste better. Its legs are high so the veggies don't touch the water level... this is the best way to cook without a doubt. It's also the healthiest way to eat as opposed to microwaving or boiling food. Everything tastes better steamed than nuking the food. Wish I had known about this years earlier!!
Review 16 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GabbyG
Japan
October 9, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's a BIG-UN
October 9, 2008
This is a really big steamer. I put 4 large potatoes in to steam, and they turned out wonderful. Keep in mind that with a big steamer, you'll need a big pot. I used a deep stockpot and it worked fine. I was even able to put the 1-1/2 legs down, meaning I was able to put LOTS of water in there and not worry about losing my steam!
I love that the ratcheting center post is removable, leaving more surface area for my large potatoes. But when I did smaller veggies, I left the post in. When they were all done, I was able to put my fork tines into the slot in the top of the post and pull the whole works out. Easy, easy, easy. And big...