OXO Vegetable Steamer

What sets this stainless-steel steaming basket apart from others is its innovative design: a pop-up handle provides an extended reach for safe and easy removal, and then presses down and locks for compact storage. Pop-up stay-cool handle allows for safe and easy insertion and removal from even the deepest pots; locks down for compact storage. Holes in handle allow the basket to be lifted with a fork. Handle may be removed completely for steaming large items like fish fillets. Fold-out feet keep steamer 1 3/4" above water and fold down for storage. Fits pots that are 8" diam. or larger. Dishwasher safe. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.625 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
5 of 8(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Vegetable Steamer
Review 1 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sunshinehope
,Punta Gorda
,FL
August 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No kitchen should be without this!
August 19, 2014
Very well made, this is one item you really need in your kitchen! And this is a really nice one!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 2 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JRoyan
,SEATTLE
,WA
July 2, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for the money
July 2, 2014
As with most OXO products, this is more than sufficient for the money. It's well put together, has three claw feet to expand if needed (given the pot size being used), the handle makes pulling it out so much easier than trying to fiddle with the closures when hot steam is coming at your face. 100% worth it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 3 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
citymama
,Chicago
,Il
June 20, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed
June 20, 2014
I am disappointed with this steamer. Initially, liked the way it worked. Plus, it fits into several different pot sizes. But handle stopped working after few months. Now handle stays in extended position and pushes lid off pot when steaming.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
eufamystic
,Port St Lucie
,FL
Port St. Lucie, FL
January 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Defective Handle
January 12, 2014
This is a sturdy, well-designed steamer, but the handle stopped working after a month or two (you can't push it into a closed position) so it remains extended so you can't close the pot to steam anything.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Design
Review 5 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Kalali
,Carrollton
,Ms
August 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good but not great
August 16, 2013
Takes much too long to steam. I usually love the Oxo product line but was disappointed in this.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Weight
Cons: took much longer to steam than i expected! i
Review 6 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vizzie
,Norwich
,NY
Norwich, New York
July 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
It's worth the price
July 30, 2013
Obviously it is more expensive--but it is worth it. It does not come apart like the regular ones do (think notches in it keep the "leaves" from coming out, and the handle is great. No longer do I need a separate gadget to get it out of the steamer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 7 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
EBowen
,West Des Moines
,IA
November 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Cooking Steamed Veggies!
November 25, 2012
Like others have stated, we had problems with the handle popping up and not going back down after a few months of use. I ended up taking the handle off completely and now use it without. I carefully dump the steamer and veggies into my colander when I am done cooking. I would give the product 5 stars if the handle wasn't temperamental, but otherwise it is a good product and we have worked around this issue. It makes delicious healthy veggies!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: Temperamental
Review 8 for OXO Vegetable Steamer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jecca
Dallas, TX
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Much better than the grocery store steamers
April 22, 2012
I use this steamer several times a week. It is very durable and has not rusted on me yet, compared to the ones you buy at a grocery store (which only lasts me about 2-3 months).
-The legs are twice as high as most steamers
-I love the pop up handle so I don't have to reach far into the pot to grab it
-I like how the handle unscrews, so I can steam fish
I have given several of these as gifts. This is an easy tool to use for a healthier lifestyle.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size