OXO V-Blade Mandoline

Everything about this user-friendly mandoline is easy to manage, including your results. Designed for safety, efficiency and ease of use, it produces a variety of popular cuts for cooking and garnishing foods.V-shaped stainless-steel blades slice cleanly through soft and hard foods.Makes perfect crinkle and straight cuts in four thicknesses: 1.5mm, 3mm, 4.5mm and 6mm.Four additional blades create two sizes of julienne and cubes.Pusher securely holds food in place and protects fingers during use.Textured surface keeps foods from sticking to mandoline.All parts store safely on board.Nonskid legs fold for compact storage.Body and food holder are top-rack dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.831 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(71 Reviews) 71
53 of 71(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
Review 1 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
alberto
Miami Lakes, Florida
November 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will not julienne carrots
November 2, 2009
The product will not julienne carrots. They get stuck in the blade and have to be carefully removed. Also the product will be stained by the carrots and will only come off after several cleanings in the dishwasher.
Review 2 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jllaroche
February 25, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Mandoline ever
February 25, 2013
REALLY easy to use. Dial up size with an easy twist of the dial. Easy to clean. Compact with additional blades stored under slicer. Safety lock feature. #1 mandoline by America's Test Kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Weight, safe
Review 3 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dcwife
Washington, DC
June 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Please remember to use the hand guard- it's sharp!
June 4, 2010
I can attest to the sharpness of the blade as the first time I used it I ignored the warning in the manual, did not use the hand guard and sliced my fingers so badly I had to get 9 stitches.
My husband has since used (while I am still bandaged up!) it to chop tomatoes, onions and bell peppers- and it has done a great job. Only complaint is that the last sliver of the vegetable gets a bit bashed up and usually wasted.
It will take me a while to work up the courage to use this product myself again but overall (properly used) it is a good tool and a very reasonable price. I also love how easy it is to store and clean (throw it in the dishwasher).
PLEASE remember to use the hand guard, folks! :-)
Review 4 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
trickytom
Albany,NY
December 7, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Product...Great Value
December 7, 2009
This mandoline features a "V" blade, which makes slicing easier than with straight-bladed models.
The unit features a nice locking feature, and it folds up and stores beautifully.
Don't waste your money on more expensive models.
Review 5 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dcarl
,AL
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Happy so far!
January 10, 2012
I've been wanting a mandoline slicer for a while now and finally decided on this one after reading negative reviews on some of the more expensive varieties.
So far I have been pleased. It took a little while to figure out how to assemble, disassemble, and clean, but is easy to deal with now.
I had to use more force than expected to slice a sweet potato with the "french fry" settings, but ultimately it was successful and much quicker than trying to do it by hand. It has sliced and julienned everything else I have tried with ease.
I think you get a good value for your money with this one.
Pros: Time-saver
Review 6 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
BlueberryLemonade
California
August 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too much work
August 5, 2010
While it seems convenient to store all of the blades in the mandoline, it actually makes clean-up more time consuming. The mandoline has to be disassembled and every part has to be cleaned, even if it was not used. After all of that, the mandoline has to be reassembled.
Another problem that I had was that I was unable to figure out how to use the mandoline for dicing. The instructions included did not address dicing and the online video that I watched for this product did not either.
Overall this product was OK, but involved too much work for what I needed.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
sambadoll
Orlando, FL
Posted September 26, 2011
Top 100 Contributor
Dicing Side Note
I haven't used this yet, so I can't comment on it's worthiness.
However, when reading the booklet before getting started, it says that there is a dicing/cubing accessory (Cubing set # 1136800). The OXO site says it's $9.99. So yes, it supposed to dice, but you must buy additional blades.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
boomerang
Amherst, MA
July 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great product, poor instructions
July 21, 2009
I am pleased with the slicing of this mandoline but it took me a long time to figure out the right technique to use to get the slicer/holder to work. The instruction manual only lists the combination of slicing plates etc you need to achieve a certain shape. There are no hints for getting the right grip on the vegetable holder, how much pressure and when to use it. I almost damaged a blade from pressing a bit too hard and the prongs of the holder came below the spacer and hit the blade. I recommend trying a potato, for instance, gently, without the holder, to get the feel of the slicing and then start using the holder. Otherwise, I am pleased with this product. Faster, easier prep.
Review 8 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tritonsmama
Montague, MA
March 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
okay, but nothing to write home about
March 21, 2010
The Mandoline is a bit flimsy. I expected a sturdier device from OXO and from W-S. It has a blade for making French Fries, although I question if the stand-up setting could hold a raw potato. Maybe if you put it over a large bowl and neglected to use the stand. It's tricky to change blades, and although it works (just) okay, I would not recommend this item to anyone.
Review 9 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
bobbiz
San Diego, CA
February 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Slice or Crush?
February 9, 2010
I've had an inexpensive mandoline before so the the low price of this one didn't discourage me Well, I guess you get what you pay for. It smashed my tomatoes and crushed my bell peppers- cucumbers came through fine. Get the next model up or hone your chopping skills!
Review 10 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cookinginDC
Washington, DC
November 28, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Value
November 28, 2009
This has cut down the prep time of my veggie-heavy meals making them easier to have on a weeknight. The grip is not the easiest thing to work with, but you can't beat the value.
Review 11 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
RXMART
,Fort Worth
,TX
December 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Kitchen Tool
December 20, 2011
This product is sturdy and a great time saver, the change of blades is easy to do and helps to insure what ever you are cutting up will be uniform in size to insure proper cooking!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 12 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CookZ
,Washington
,DC
November 7, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great tool, now that I know how to use it
November 7, 2011
The first time I used the OXO mandoline, I spent about 20 minutes trying to negotiate the slice sizes, blade inserts, height dial, etc. It was frustrating and the manual isn't great, but once I understood how to carefully clip in the different blades and adjust the height, I fell in love with this device. It allows you to slice and julienne effortlessly and cleanup is easy (although you have to be VERY careful with the sharp blades). The advantages of the OXO mandoline over others are the hand guard and multiple blades.
This came highly recommended by Cook's Illustrated and also my store associate at W-S and they were right, it's the best. I'll never buy bagged coleslaw again after making it fresh in just 5 minutes this weekend!
Pros: Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Store
Review 13 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shawpoint
Kauai
March 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
fun in the kitchen
March 21, 2011
This mandoline is easy to use and fun experimenting with anything sliceable - fruits and vegetables, that is! I recommend watching the video first to avoid any mishaps.
Review 14 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Momof7kids
Paris, AR
February 5, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great slicer
February 5, 2011
This slicer has saved me so much time! I used it frequently so I could get used to assembling and disassemblying it. I can do it now without looking at the book. I've used it to make oven fried potato chips, George Foreman grilled french fries, julienne carrots, and various sliced vegetables. It is a real time saver when making my mother-in-law's famous potato soup with lots of sliced onions. It replaces a piece of junk I had and seldom used.
Review 15 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
melissa82
Toronto, ON
December 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Novice friendly
December 28, 2010
I'm one of those people who loves to put together IKEA furniture without referring to the directions, so I found this mandoline a smidge frustrating at first--I had to keep looking at the booklet on how to assemble, disassemble, and clean. However, even though I just opened and started using it today, I've already made a gorgeous julienne carrot and apple salad, and sweet potato fries. I'm most excited to do a potato gratin with those lovely thin slices.
Review 16 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rotilazo
Gilbert, AZ
March 4, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent for potatoes!
March 4, 2010
I bought this because Cook's Illustrated recommended it in their 2008 equipment review.
I only use it when I make a potato gratin/scalloped potatoes since it really cuts down on my prep time.
Love the handle which prevents clutzy people like me from slicing their own fingers and does not waste that last piece of food.
Review 17 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
loubaby
tampa
August 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
can't do the basic slice accurately
August 11, 2009
What I MOSTLY use this for is to thinly slice potatoes/vegetables the thickness I need...when put on the thinest setting, it is too thin--not whole slices...when put on the next thickness gauge it is too thick---I wanted very thin potatoes to wrap fish with....over and over again I kept going back and forth with the degrees and couldn't get a correct slice.
Review 18 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
PamelaM
Vacaville, CA
July 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Takes Practice
July 11, 2009
I've just used this 2 times and it works well. I am a novice, so I'm pretty slow. Slices are even and beautiful. Practice will make perfect. It's not as easy as it looks.
Review 19 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LeeAndDeb
Corpus Christi, TX
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Slices
September 4, 2008
We bought this model because of its excellent review by Cooks Illustrated and are not disappointed. No, it won't slice a ripe tomato (though it yielded a couple of usable slices) but it does crisp vegetables easily and superbly. Cucumbers and onions for gazpacho came out perfect, and quickly. I wondered how a mandoline could dice, and yes, it does. A little tricky to assemble, but not difficult once you see how it works. Easy to clean.
Review 20 for OXO V-Blade Mandoline
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
AvidCook2
,WA
March 5, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Attracts Stains
March 5, 2014
The mechanics work well, but stains stick to the material. I purchased it to slice carrots and the mandoline is now carrot stained. I know it goes in the dishwasher but I cannot get blade clean without injury.
Cons: cleaning
page1 2 3 4 next