OXO Uplift Tea Kettle

Using this handsome kettle is a pleasure. A loud melodic whistle lets you know when water has reached a roiling boil, and the spout opens automatically when you tilt the kettle, so you can pour while keeping your hands safely away from the steam. Made of stainless steel with a brushed-stainless-steel finish. OXO's signature padded handle stays cool and ensures a good grip. Wide mouth makes the kettle easy to fill and pour. Spout opens automatically when you tilt the kettle.
Average Customer Rating:
3.357 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
16 of 28(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
Review 1 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PowerKate
,Columbus
,OH
December 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great kettle for hand issues
December 21, 2013
If you follow the directions for avoiding high heat settings, you won't have trouble. I heat mine on medium-high ("8") -- no higher ever. I bought this kettle years ago when I was facing hand surgery, as I couldn't manage to switch to left-handed pouring. Lifts and pours easily without using thumb or wrist-action. Whistle is plenty loud enough. Clean with warm soapy water only, and move kettle away when frying.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Color, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 2 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MSCC
,NY
,NY
May 2, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Basic Kettle!
May 2, 2013
I got this a a gift when my old kettle rusted out, and I love it. Basic looking to blend with the rest of my kitchen. And it heats the water fantastically.
Pros: Easy to Use, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Weight
Cons: gets very hot use potholder
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LisainAZ
,Scottsdale
,AZ
November 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Plastic Cap Melts
November 30, 2012
This is a great tea kettle except for one flaw. If you have your gas burner on too high and heat rises up the sides, the plastic cap on on the spout will melt.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality
Review 4 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
doglover45
,BOSTON
,MA
January 2, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Try another kettle
January 2, 2012
I used this kettle on my gas stove. The stainless steel exterior began to show spots that look like rust almost immediately and the handle melted within the 1st week. Not a very sturdy kettle in my opinion.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size
Cons: Fragile
Review 5 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
derooster
connecticut
June 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great design with a very soft wistle
June 30, 2011
Love this design. After anxiously waiting for my new kettle, which looked gorgeous on my new stainless range, the wistle could barely be heard in the next room. We have a large home and often I stat to boil water then walk off to do another project, otten forgetting about the water. Hence, the need for a very loud wistle. I was bitterly disappointed in the wistle as I really wanted to keep this one. I ended up buyng the Chantal kettle for the 5th time in my life. It's a great old work horse but I simiply wanted a change.
Pros: Color, Shape, Design
Cons: wistle is very soft.
Review 6 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
babel
Plymouth, ma
March 26, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
-34points
5of 44found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
That was a mistake
March 26, 2011
One day it lasted. One day. It was probably our fault for turning the burner on and not realizing the teakettle had no water in it but... we have made this mistake in the past and did not have the results we had with this one. It was totally ruined. Handle fell off and melted away. It was our mistake but, I don't think that for a $50 teakettle this should happen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: it melted!
Review 7 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Frano
Rosedale, New York
December 31, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect Kettle
December 31, 2010
My friend have one and I decided to get one too. Not too loud and easy to handle.
Review 8 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
slhlgwh
Gainesville, GA
December 26, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Only one problem
December 26, 2010
I got this for a wedding gift 4 years ago. It lasted about 3 1/2. It did great when I had an electric stove top. But then when we got a gas stove top it started having problems. The biggest one was the spout melting. I think it was just due to the flame coming around the kettle a bit. I think if I didn't turn the flame up too high it would have been OK. Like I said, it did great on my electric stove top. Also, it started rusting on the outside when we got the gas stove top. Again, maybe due to the flame? But, I think I would buy again. I think if you have an electric stove you should be fine... and if you have a gas stove just don't turn it up too high. Keep the handle on the outside of the stove so it doesn't get too hot and melt too. They really should make a better spout on this... it is on the stovetop after all. On a positive note... it is very easy to use. It pours well and the lid comes off easily to put water in. Looks great too.
Review 9 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pghlovetocook
pittsburgh, pa
October 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful and functional!
October 17, 2010
I'm not sure why people have had problems... I've had my stainless steel kettle for several months and use it often. We've had no problems and, in fact, are quite pleased with it.
My English grandmother would have loved this updated, yet traditional, tea kettle!
Review 10 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ladyjules79
Franklin, MA
August 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
large enamel chips
August 28, 2010
I received this kettle in the orange color for my wedding. I loved the cheery orange color. After making my first pot of tea with it, a large, perfect circle of the enamel came off. SInce then, the spout has rusted through and the enamel has come off in several other spots. It has lasted a whopping 4 years and now I am replacing it with a Le Creuset, who's enamel seems more sturdy. Here's hoping!
Review 11 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
geop
Pittsburgh, PA
July 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Melting Handle
July 17, 2010
The iconic rubber covering on the handle of this kettle melted after two uses. We returned the item for a new one and the same thing happened. Now off to find another brand with another approach to handle insulation!
Review 12 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Penny5
Port Orange, Fl.
February 17, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good boiling water but not so pretty
February 17, 2010
This OXO teapot is great for boiling water, however, do not get it close to other pots on the stove.
I found when it is next to something
hot it takes off the lovely colored paint. Hence I have a scorch disscolored
mark on the teapot just within a few days of use.
Review 13 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mero
wisconsin
January 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite teakettle for heating my water
January 28, 2010
The teakettle looks and works great. The ones in the store were so light weight and looked cheap.
Review 14 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DD2010
Myrtle Beach, SC
January 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Winner
January 23, 2010
OXO teakettle was a gift for my mother during the holidays. She said the teakettle is wonderful and classy. She loves everything about it and keeps it on the stovetop whereas other appliances are kept put away.
Review 15 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KatS
Central IL
January 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Teakettle
January 10, 2010
Purchased this teakettle almost two months ago ago and absolutely love it. The whistle is loud and clear. It cleans up great and looks fabulous in our kitchen. (We have the red kettle) Would absolutely recommend it to a friend.
Review 16 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
blujmee
west windsor , nj
January 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dangerous
January 6, 2010
The plastic on this teakettle melted and dripped onto the stove and nearly started a fire in our kitchen. luckly my husband walked into the room. also the whistler use to be loud but after a year we can barely hear it.
Review 17 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
occook
Orange County, CA
January 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Long-term quality is terrible
January 5, 2010
I have owned 2 of these and each time, within a year, the inside of the tea kettle has begun to erode. I have owned several other tea kettles and have never run into this problem. i would not reccommend it!
Review 18 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beverley
Lodi, CA
December 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Good in the Long Run
December 13, 2009
This is the second OXO teakettle I have owned. My first had a hard plastic lid that broke easily. After the 3rd replacement plastic lid, I bought this second teakettle because it had a metal lid. Two and a half years later, the metal lid has not shattered but the screws that connect the handle to the lid have broken as has the plastic liner on the lid's underside. I called OXO for a replacement metal lid months ago but have yet to receive it. In the meantime, the grip on the "uplift" handle keeps slipping off and the little red button identifying the OXO brand pops out. I expected much more from a product that bears the OXO name, would not buy another kettle and certainly could not recommend it. The design is good, the choice of materials and construction seriously flawed.
Review 19 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cooknincolo
Denver, CO
November 22, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This tea kettle is wonderful
November 22, 2009
I love the way this tea kettle looks in my kitchen. I have the red one and it is a bright, sleek contrast to my stainless steel appliances. I love how quickly the water heats up and how easy it is to pour. The handle stays cool so you dont need a towel or hot pad to pour the water. The hinged lid opens nicely just by pouring the water and closes easily when you set the kettle down. Water stays warm for quite a while. Best kettle I have ever owned.
Review 20 for OXO Uplift Tea Kettle
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
arunsn25
somerville, nj
November 1, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
3of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What's a kettle without a whistle???
November 1, 2009
No Whistle. I don't wanna babysit a kettle.
The automated uplift is cool though.
Not recommended overall.
page1 2 next