OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener

This smart little device combines a can-do attitude with amazing efficiency. Its supersharp wheel cuts cleanly beneath the lid to open cans without leaving behind any sharp edges. Thanks to OXO's famous ergonomic design, using the opener is a breeze. Efficient can opener quickly removes lids and leaves behind a smooth, safe edge. Easy-turn side grip and soft, nonslip handles make this tool very comfortable to use. Stainless-steel cutting wheel doesn't touch your food, so it stays fresh and clean. Built-in pliers for no-touch lid removal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
5 of 9(56%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener
Review 1 for OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
gg45
,Vernon Hills
,IL
February 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Only works a couple of years
February 26, 2014
This opener worked great the first 2 years, but it became harder to open cans in the third year. By the end of the third year it wouldn't open anything. If you want a long lasting opener, don't get this one.
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 2 for OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jd1905
December 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
works for a while
December 17, 2013
This product worked for a couple of months with one turn of the can. I'm now shopping for different model, because my hands are tired. If you enjoy turning the can in a can opener 10 to 15 times around to finally get the lid off, then buy this model from OXO you'll love the amount of times you have to turn this model to get the lids removed. Happy turning!
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Store
Review 3 for OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeacherPR
,Dover
,DE
November 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent Can Opener
November 13, 2013
I have been using this can opener for a while and it is an excellent product. This time I bought one for my daughter.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Cons: it took me several trials to learn how to use it.
Review 4 for OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
greencook
,Chicago
,IL
November 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I Love, Love, Love it!
November 5, 2013
This has to be the easiest manual opener I have ever used. It was important to have an effortless opener due to arthritis in my hands and I have found this one to be just perfect! It took a few minutes to figure out how to get the lid off the can as it is a smooth edge. Design allows opener to stay clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cookie14
,MA
September 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No More Cut Fingers
September 18, 2013
This is a great can opener. It is easy to use & no more jagged edges to cut your fingers or hand. The large knob makes it easy to turn. I'm very happy that I bought it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 6 for OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sum1
,Los Angeles
,CA
July 11, 2013
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
The BEST Can Opener!
July 11, 2013
It may take a few tries but once you get the hang of it, this can opener works like a charm. It works very smoothly and cuts on the edge of the can, so there are no sharp edges. Best of all, the tiny pliers on the side allow you to grip the edge of the lid so you can lift it away without touching it with your hands. And, it does not rust! It truly is a brilliant little device! You will NOT be disappointed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 7 for OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
fyrphnx
,Seattle
,WA
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great at first, but doesn't last long
March 11, 2013
When we first bought this can opener, it was great. We had it for about 6 months before it stopped working well. Now we have to run the can opener around the can 5 times before it'll cut through the can completely.
In general, it has a nice design. It's comfortable to use and ergonomic. The little beak on the side does a great job in grabbing the can lid for removal. But the cutting blade dulls after repeated use.
We used this can opener twice a day to open wet cat food cans, so it did get a lot of use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: doesn't last long
Review 8 for OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PumpkiNpeaches
,Plantation
,Fl
March 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great product
March 13, 2012
The best can opener I have ever had! It was a little tricky at first, but after trying it the first time, it was very easy to use!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean
Review 9 for OXO Smooth Edge Can Opener
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Joanne123
,Philadelphia
,PA
January 26, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Hard to figure out
January 26, 2012
I had to watch an online tutorial to figure out how to use this can opener. My boyfriend can't figure it out no matter how many times I show him. It is easy to get started but getting the lid of of certain cans is kind of difficult.