OXO Silicone Sink Strainer

This brilliant update of the traditional sink strainer is made of flexible silicone, which greatly simplifies emptying of the basket - just give a pull of the post and food drops out easily. Ideal as a food catcher in the kitchen sink. Perfect for sinks without a disposal or to protect your disposal from harmful food debris. Durable, perforated silicone is stain resistant and won't scratch your sink basin.The silicone's flexibility makes the basket easy to empty: simply pick up by the center post and invert the silicone basket to remove food without having to scoop it out. Outer rim is sturdy stainless steel. Fits any standard kitchen sink drain. Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
3.429 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
4 of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Silicone Sink Strainer
Review 1 for OXO Silicone Sink Strainer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kirroyale
,NYC
March 19, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Essential for sinks without disposals
March 19, 2014
My kitchen sink does not have a disposal. Having lived in this situation before, where my fiance's solution was to leave a colander in the sink as a catchall, the strainer was necessary.
This does the job 95% perfectly. It catches everything that would otherwise go down and clog the drain. It also looks very nice and blends in with my stainless sink, and doesn't take up the space of a colander.
I have two small gripes. A few things (like eggshell pieces) slide under the rim and get trapped, because of the very slight threshold. Also, it can be pretty gross to clean out. It can be flipped inside out, which helps. Every month or so I toss it in the dishwasher to get it really clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design, Assembly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for OXO Silicone Sink Strainer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
efhale
,Royal Oaks
,CA
Watsonville, CA
September 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a stopper
September 13, 2013
Expected this "strainer" was a regular sink drain stopper but it was not. Otherwise a nice way to dress up an old drain.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: not a stopper
Review 3 for OXO Silicone Sink Strainer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
SeaglassSusan
,Blaine Harbor
,WA
March 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A strainer that doesn't stop flow
March 21, 2013
After moving into a new, to us, house I was unable to find a strainer that didn't end up being a stopper. This solved the problem. It is only a strainer. The silicon makes it easy to turn inside out to clean or empty. It is said to be dishwasher safe and though I haven't tried it, it certainly looks so. It is attractive in the sink and very light.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Review 4 for OXO Silicone Sink Strainer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Digsdrwho
,Rutheron
,NM
November 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Strainer by OXO
November 7, 2012
I bought this strainer, but was dissappointed with it because food was sticking around the edges. It would be nice if they came up with one that would also close so I could keep water in the sink as well as letting it drain. I do like the rubber part, easy to clean out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Size
Review 5 for OXO Silicone Sink Strainer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tomnpat
,Chattanooga
,tn
September 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
2of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what was advertised
September 27, 2012
I bought this strainer because of the functionality....strains, has soft rubber that can be turned inside out to empty and was supposed to hold water in the sink by turning it. There is not even a way that it can hold water in the sink, it's just a holy strainer. Not what was advertised.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: does not function as advertised
Review 6 for OXO Silicone Sink Strainer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MommyK
March 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Like it a lot
March 20, 2012
I like how the rim covers the drain. Looks Clean, the price is right.
Pros: Easy to Use, Weight
Review 7 for OXO Silicone Sink Strainer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PeteN
Alaska
December 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a stopper as described
December 17, 2011
The description states that the item may be used as a stopper by giving a knob a quarter turn. This is not possible with the piece I received. According OXO's site, it is a completely different product. Based on the WS description, I thought I was receiving the strainer/stopper.
The product itself is OK, but now I'm going to have to see if it is worth it for me to return the item or not.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: not as described.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Sunrey
Tampa Bay, Florida
Posted December 27, 2011
PeteN from Alaska is right - NOT A STOPPER
The description, which I copy and paste here, "To use as a stopper, give the knob a quarter turn", is inacurate. You cannot turn 1/4 turn or any turn. It is one seamless piece of rubber/plastic and in no way can it turn. In any event I bought it for it's strainer capabilities and it does the job and so far the stainless steel base has not corroded which also makes me happy.
I give it 3 stars also. If it had not been for the misleading/deceptive description I would of given it a 4 stars.
Thanks
Rey
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)