OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders

Oxo makes it easier than ever to enjoy the lively flavor of black pepper and the fresh flavor of sea salt, ground to your precise specifications. Handsome enough to bring to your dining table, these mills quickly adjust from coarse to extra-fine grind. Sturdy, clear acrylic body with stainless-steel accents and Oxo's signature nonslip grip. Easy-to-use tab allows you to select your preferred grind. Grinding mechanism is positioned up top, keeping your counter and tabletop mess-free. Non-corrosive ceramic grinder won't absorb flavors or odors. Rests flat on the counter when upside down, for easy refilling. Arrives filled with whole black peppercorns or sea salt crystals.
Average Customer Rating:
4.391 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(23 Reviews) 23
20 of 23(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
Review 1 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rearviewreview
,San Francisco
,CA
May 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grinders!
May 9, 2013
I'd been trying to reuse disposable salt/pepper grinders from the grocery store, but after about 2 refills, the pepper grinder hardly cracks the corn, and I was getting salt rocks in my food!
I read the reviews on these OXO's, as well as some of the Peugeot's (which I'd heard were good too). The OXO's seemed to have more, better reviews, so I went with those.
So far, so good! The grinders are easy to use, easy to refill, grind consistently, and haven't jammed up on me yet.
It's maybe not the fanciest looking, but it's solid, simple, and I would recommend.
Pros: Easy to Store, Size, Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Weight
Review 2 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
IsaacK
February 1, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
5of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bottom Cap Fell Off
February 1, 2013
I bought these grinders after reading the reviews. One review mentioned that a bottom cap fell off. When they arrived I made sure the caps were tight. When I picked up the salt grinder last night, the bottom cap fell off and I wound up with salt pellets all over the floor. Until then, I was very satisfied with the grinders. Unfortunately, the original packaging and packing slip are long gone otherwise they would be returned.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, Fragile, defective caps
Review 3 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Schroz
,Austin
,TX
August 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another quality OXO product
August 17, 2012
I best describe OXO products as 'consistent quality at a fair price'. My wife and I enjoy cooking, and we equally like this pepper grinder. The grip is comfortable and non-slip. The grind setting is easy and does not drift during use. Refilling is easy because you can stand the grinder on it's top. Overall, solid build, solid performance!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 4 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MouseyMimi
,Cypress
,CA
July 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Salt & Pepper Grinders
July 13, 2012
These salt and pepper grinders are very nice looking. They work very well. Usually the pepper mills are top heavy and I especially like that these are not. They stand sturdy and look very classy. They are easy to store and the quality is top notch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 5 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Porscha
,Hickory
,NC
May 8, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grinders
May 8, 2012
Received these grinders and they really work great as with any OXO product I've ever purchased! Labels were a little hard to remove..
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 6 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NYCFlexitarian
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I LOVE these things
April 9, 2012
These are seriously amazing little contraptions. I love being able to adjust the coarseness. You can really tell the difference and it makes them very versatile. Have never had a problem with the cap.
Sometimes the pepper grinder misses a few beats, but it's not a real problem.
They're not as pretty as some of the colorful lacquered ones, but they look good enough and I'm so in love with them I mostly don't care.
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lakotarose
,Albuquerque
,NM
January 19, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
January 19, 2012
Love my grinders, easy to use and comfortable grips. These products do not bother my arthritis.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 8 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jaquelyn
Olympia, WA
January 14, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Design Compromised by Cheap Materials
January 14, 2012
Pros: 1) Good design--leaves no residue on your counter/table, etc., because the grinding mechanism is in the top; 2) Allows selection from fine to coarse and operates easily by turning the bottom.
Cons: 1) Fills from the bottom by unscrewing a plastic "cap," but the threads for this cap are insufficient to hold the cap tightly onto the grinder. For the 2nd time I have just picked up out of the cupborad, off the counter, and off the floor, about 150 peppercorns because the cap fell out of the bottom; 2) when the product arrived from WS, sticky lables on the metal part of the grinders left residue that could not be removed without rubbing alcohol and elbow grease. (PS: You might think it a pro that Jacque Pepin uses this OXO pepper grinder on his PBS TV show. Maybe he can afford to throw out grinders every year. It's frustrating that none of the grinders WS carries receives an unqualified 5 stars. I hesitate to scale up).
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Design
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
EmilyEmily
New York
Posted November 11, 2012
how long have you had them?
It would be helpful to know how long you had the grinders, and how often you refilled them, before the seal issue you mention became a problem. I have used both the salt and pepper grinder virtually daily for six months now and have not had that happen; would be valuable to know if its just a matter of time, or if perhaps you had a defective set. I've been very happy with mine, they've held up well. (I do agree wit the sticky labels though.)
0points
Customer avatar
maltipoomom
Salt Lake City, UT
Posted June 10, 2012
There are 5 star S&P grinders on WS!
Try the Trudeau Graviti!
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 9 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nerdchef
Boston, MA
November 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best salt/pepper grinders on the market
November 5, 2011
I have had a set of these for about 2 years, use them at least 2-3 times per day, drop them regularly on my tile floor, and generally abuse and neglect them. They still function beautifully! I like the dial to select how course you want the grind - it makes adjustments really easy. I have never had a problem with the lids falling off, as some other reviewers have mentioned.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 10 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Anonymous
September 30, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
love it hate it
September 30, 2011
it looks nice, good material, i love the coarse adjustment with a simple twist. the mechanism of the twist is sturdy, solid feel. BUT I HATE the cap, it fell off many times. after using this tool a couple times, the cap will eventually turn loosen and loosen, and when the cap is completely off, it will just come off, pepper/salt everywhere. So from now on, every time i use it, i have to re-twist the cap to make sure it's fully tighten.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Cons: cap fell off
Review 11 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TriHawaii
,Hilo
,hi
September 22, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy use, sleek look
September 22, 2011
I love these salt and pepper grinders. I was debating between the more conventional hardwood grinders and these, and am so glad I opted for this sleek looking pair. Ultra easy to use, very smooth grinding and more modern look.
I took away one star because on my first use the pepper grinder, the lid came off and I had pepper kernels EVERYWHERE. It was a lesson for me to check the cap before use :).
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 12 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RescueDogs
,Riverside County
,CA
September 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AND THEY DON'T LEAVE A MESS
September 9, 2011
These are great. The prior reviews I read pointed out the fact that they rest upside down not the typical way with the opening of the grinder right on the counter or table top. I LOVE THIS FEATURE. It sounds minor but it's really not because you don't have little trains or salt or pepper from the grinder on your table and the fact this also seems a lot healthier.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 13 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kristencooks
June 27, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastic Salt & Pepper Grinders!
June 27, 2011
These OXO salt and pepper grinders are quite simply the best grinders I've ever used. They're extremely well-made & solid, and fit very well in your hand. Not to mention, they grind smoothly, no matter which coarseness setting you use. Two enthusiastic thumbs up!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 14 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Frostbite
West Virginia
June 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the adjustable grinds!
June 21, 2011
I tried this product because I like OXO products. Easy to use, easy to fill, I can change the grind from small to large quickly. Well worth the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 15 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldcook
Houston, TX
June 8, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
neat and consistent
June 8, 2011
These are fantastic. The grind is very consistent, no large chunks. Also, no mess in cabinets or on table, since salt and pepper comes out of the top. OK for the table for every day, though too big for company.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, neat
Review 16 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Deedle
Rhinelander, WI
May 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use
May 14, 2011
These S&P grinders are a good fit in your hand. I have hand problems but I'm still able to use them. They're attractive on the table and I love the selection of grinds they offers.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 17 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
beachdoggy
Chatham, MA
April 19, 2011
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great grinders!
April 19, 2011
I bought both the Salt and Pepper Grinders, and I love them both!
The only reason I gave this item 4 stars was due to the sticky label that was nearly impossible to remove! They both came with OXO labels attached around the clear base that were easy to remove... but the pepper grinder had a Williams Sonoma barcode label stuck on the stainless steel section that left a sticky rectangle that I am still trying to remove. The salt grinder had the same barcode label, but it was on the top of the grinder attached to an easy to remove clear sticker. I'm thinking the pepper grinder was probably supposed to have the same "easy to remove" barcode sticker.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Cons: sticky label
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cupcake123
Gig Harbor, WA
Posted June 16, 2011
sticky label
Try buying the product called Goo Gone for the removal of the sticky label. I have had good luck with this product for many challenging sticky labels.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perazzi
Paducah, KY
March 29, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Glad I Purchased These
March 29, 2011
After multiple attempts to find the "grail" of salt & pepper grinders, I believe that OXO finally got it right! No mess on the counter or table, easy grind adjustments, handsome appearance, and a breeze to refill. To top it off the price is easily 3x less than others that I have either owned or contemplated purchasing. As far as durability, as of now they show no signs of fatigue or frailty. Nice fit & finish. Very pleased.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 19 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Babette54
Sacramento
March 28, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So far so good
March 28, 2011
These were recommended by a nice store person in San Francisco and so far they have been great. The best I have owned. Now we will see if they stand the test of time.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design, Weight
Review 20 for OXO Salt & Pepper Grinders
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
costanza
columbus, ohio
January 18, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
salt and pepper grinders that really work
January 18, 2011
After years of owning pepper grinders that deposited whole peppercorns on our food and salt grinders that left deposits of salt on our dining room table, it is a treat to use these. No mess on the table (since they dispense from the top), and the salt and pepper comes out in a nice even grind no matter which size you dial. My only complaint is that they are a little large and bulky looking, but I knew that when I ordered them. Overall, very satisfied.
page1 2 next