OXO Poultry Shears

The tapered, finely serrated blades of these shears trim, cut and divide poultry with surgical precision, while their soft spring-loaded grips reduce hand fatigue. A notch in the blade holds bones in place while you're cutting.Ergonomic loop handles provide a comfortable nonslip grip.Handles lock for safe storage.Stainless-steel blades come apart for thorough cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
4.091 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Poultry Shears
Review 1 for OXO Poultry Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ellendy
,Santa Cruz
,CA
Santa Cruz CA
December 1, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Helps Use Every Bit of the Bird
December 1, 2013
I recently got religion on using wings, backs and ribs of poultry to make broth and, at about the same time, I discovered spatchcocking, which requires removing the backbone of the bird and cooking it flat. These shears make a tough job doable. Some effort is required, but in just minutes, we spatchcocked our 12 lb turkey, and it's even easier with small chickens. Spatchcocked birds cook in about half the time or less, and you can save the parts for stock. I always buy the whole bird now and save for stock.I also love that these shears come apart for thorough cleaning. It would be nice if they were dishwasher safe, but the label says "no". They are very easy to clean with hot, soapy water, once dismantled.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Weight
Cons: not dishwasher safe
Review 2 for OXO Poultry Shears
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Spoan
May 8, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very Awkward grip
May 8, 2012
I am a fan of reverse spring scissors as I use them for crafting religiously. That being said, I disliked the grip on these very much. The spring isn't tense enough to allow for a firm grip. Returning for another style.
Cons: awkward
Review 3 for OXO Poultry Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kessham
Queens, NY
March 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Cuts cleanly and cleans easily
March 1, 2011
After struggling with old-fashioned poultry shears and giving up, I bought these last year and have been extremely pleased. They cut easily and cleanly through bones and joints as well as soft skin and flesh. Love the way they come apart and clean in the dishwasher. Snaps closed for storage. Comfortable in the hand, too.
Review 4 for OXO Poultry Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stein
Macon, GA
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy to use
February 19, 2011
These poultry shears are wonderful! They are light but very strong. I was able to cut through a whole chicken with ease. They come apart for easy cleaning. Would definitely purchase again.
Review 5 for OXO Poultry Shears
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dorianne
Long Island, NY
February 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for cutting poultry bones, but not the skin
February 4, 2011
These are my first poultry shears. They cut through the bones and joints of a chicken very easily. Just don't try cutting through the loose skin...it's virtually impossible!
The soft grip handles feel very comfortable and really do help give you good control when cutting. I try to make sure to handle the chicken only with my free hand to prevent the handles from getting slippery.
The blades separate for cleaning (something I'm glad about.) I have not had any problem with them separating during cutting (though I've only cut up two chickens so far.)
The shears have a small closing clip at the end of the handles to keep them closed during storage...a nice feature.
Review 6 for OXO Poultry Shears
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SadieB
Illinois
February 23, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worked great until the spring broke
February 23, 2010
Received these shears as a gift about 16 months ago and have used them a lot - they are easy to use, powerful, and sharp. But last weekend the leaf spring (that holds the handles apart and gives the shears their power) snapped off at the handle, rendering them basically useless as a poultry tool.
While they were working, though, they did work great and were a major improvement over previous shears I've used.
Review 7 for OXO Poultry Shears
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ShawnB
December 21, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not so great :(
December 21, 2009
I have used these shears several times. They are hard to handle. They don't have a very wide spread, so while cutting poultry, you struggle. They have also come apart while I was using them. I would NOT recommend.
Review 8 for OXO Poultry Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
snowshoe
eugene oregon
December 6, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best for cutting turkey bones
December 6, 2009
doing a new recipe for turkey this year and the shears were perfect..cut down the backbone on both sides of the turkey and did it with ease
Review 9 for OXO Poultry Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JMadeline
Knoxville, TN
July 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not Just For Chcken!
July 13, 2009
These shears are wonderful for chicken, but don't forget all the ways they can make your life easier. The curved blade makes cutting pizza, bread crusts, pita bread & cheese sandwichs a breeze. Use for trimming artichokes, celery, scallions, etc. I use them every day.
Review 10 for OXO Poultry Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sandman
Conejo Valley, CA
February 5, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great shears
February 5, 2009
A very good buy. And makes cutting up a chicken sooooo much easier! To be honest, I don't know why I spent so much time doing it the old fashioned way, when these shears make it a snap!
Review 11 for OXO Poultry Shears
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meek
Katy, Texas
October 5, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolutely Wonderful
October 5, 2008
These Kitchen Shears made my job so much easier. They cut the chicken so precisely and safely. These should be a part of every cook's kitchen. I am buying another pair for my dear friend Rose!!