This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

OXO Oven Thermometer

A poorly calibrated oven has ruined many a baker's masterpiece. Bake, brown and roast with confidence using this well-designed oven thermometer by OXO. A frosted glass back panel allows the oven light to shine through the thermometer, illuminating the large numbers. Great for calibrating an oven and for replacing old-fashioned mercury oven thermometers. See-through glass construction allows oven light to illuminate thermometer for quick and easy readability. Large, easy-to-read numbers. Silicone ring ensures nonslip handling. Clip secures thermometer in oven, whether hanging or standing on rack. Select Fahrenheit or Celsius temperature readings from 200deg. to 550deg.F (100deg. to 300deg. C).
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
3 of 9(33%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Oven Thermometer
Review 1 for OXO Oven Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cjb120
,Rocklin
,CA
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Didn't work at all
November 26, 2012
this thing is horrible, didn't work for anything, never even changed the temperature it was at - maybe a degree or two
waste of money!
Cons: Quality, Inaccurate
Review 2 for OXO Oven Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ebam
,san diego
,CA
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
0points
ruined thanksgiving pies
November 24, 2012
we know our oven heats cold, so I didn't think much when this thermometer recommended I heat the oven way higher than the number on the temperature dial. 1 smoke filled house and 2 ruined thanksgiving pies later, I took it out of the oven, at which point the arrow immediately fell off the face of the thermometer.
Cons: Quality, Inaccurate, Fragile
Review 3 for OXO Oven Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
5GreatGrandkids
,Austin
,TX
August 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Don't Bother!
August 16, 2012
After two uses, this thermometer was useless. It would not go above 200. I know it was wrong because my cakes and cookies baked just fine in the normal time. Waste of your money! I just threw it away.
Cons: Inaccurate
Review 4 for OXO Oven Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Aznangelgurl
,Seattle
,WA
April 27, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Necessity for all ovens
April 27, 2012
Truthfully I always just figured the temp on my oven was always going to be right. But who knew that my oven was not calibrated correctly? A whole 15 - 45 degrees off!!!
If you ever use your oven (even if its just pizza baking) this is an essential. I found the foot stand is a little flimsy but workable. If you're not likely to move the thermometer around this will be a good one. However if you wish to move it from one corner to another then this isn't ur best choice. I personally like it better on top of the rack (instead of under) and it does require some unbending of the flimsy foot to make it stay. It is easy to read the numbers (even in my dark dingy oven), even if I sometimes wish they were a little bigger.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile
Cons: Fragile, foot/stand
Review 5 for OXO Oven Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
arfen
February 11, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Grossly slow and inaccurate
February 11, 2012
With oven set to 350 and a Taylor probe thermometer reading 366, this thing reads 200, After about an hour it got all the way up 300. I gave it one star because the review process wouldn't let me give it zero stars
Cons: Inaccurate
Review 6 for OXO Oven Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sher49
,Marietta
,GA
February 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Worthless Product
February 7, 2012
I don't know if the one I got is defective or if this is just a worthless item altogether. With the oven set at 350 for 20 minutes, the thermometer reading never got above 200. I know the fault is not with my oven because the food I was preparing cooked in the right amount of time. Don't waste your money on this item; if you really need an oven thermometer, look for an electronic one.
Pros: none
Cons: Inaccurate
Review 7 for OXO Oven Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
toasty1
,CA
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
-16points
0of 16found this review helpful.
Oven Temp Off or Thermometer?
November 20, 2011
I don't own this thermometer as yet. My oven can be off quite a bit so I am looking for an oven thermometer.
The only way I know to truly test your thermometer (and oven) is to test against known temperatures (i.e. boiling point at 100c or 212F, vs let's say freezing (0c or 32F)
You can then see whether your thermometer is accurate, or how far off it might be. My guess is the thermometer is likely more accurate than your oven's settings
Review 8 for OXO Oven Thermometer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
DaveInOxford
,Oxford
,CT
Oxford, CT
October 24, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Better way to test it
October 24, 2011
Unless Iciedel tested her thermometer in her oven in NON-CONVECTION mode, the device will always read lower than the oven "setting". That's the nature of convection cooking - low energy/temperature fast results. My copy performs pretty much same way as her's because I always use the convection mode. Her oven, like my GE oven has a standard (non-convection) mode. She should try it in that environment and not take a reading for at least a half hour before making a judgment as to its accuracy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Review 9 for OXO Oven Thermometer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Iciedel
September 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Did not work for my oven
September 23, 2011
I have tried this thermometer both ways, standing up and hanging) and still does not work. Have used my oven 5 times since installing this in my oven and does not even come anywhere near the temperature I set the oven at.
For example, oven set to 350" this thermometer at end of cooking time barely at 250. I have GE Cafe Oven fairly new. NO way my oven is off this many degrees. Am tossing this in the trash.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, Inaccurate
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cookiestore
vermont
Posted November 15, 2011
which temp
this maybe worked just the first time, hard to know.. Since then it has read 425, when the oven has been off, when on it read 500. I bought this because my new oven seemed to cook my cookies lighter and had to cook them longer then instructed. I will try one more.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)