OXO Food Mill

The food mill is the tool of choice for controlling the texture of pureed foods. With a polished stainless-steel interior and white enameled-steel exterior, this one features three different-sized discs for producing perfect mashed potatoes, applesauce, baby food and more.Includes three discs for fine-, medium- and coarse-grained purees.Simple spring-loaded lever for easy disc exchange and disassembly.Fits securely over vessels up to 11" in diameter.Soft ergonomic handles provide a comfortable nonslip grip.Arms fold for compact storage.Constructed of dishwasher-safe steel.
Average Customer Rating:
4.086 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(35 Reviews) 35
27 of 35(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Food Mill
Review 1 for OXO Food Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mrar
,NYC
,NY
October 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
bought two and both broke in same place
October 26, 2013
I purchased two of these -- one for the city and one for the country house. I liked them, until almost immediately when the knobs fell off. They do not reattach, and it is extremely difficult to use these mills without a knob. I also almost never cook in the city, so must have only used that one a couple of times.
Next time, I think I might pay 3x as much happily for one made in the US or EU.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: knob easily falls off
Review 2 for OXO Food Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
preservesaremything
,Nashville
,Tn
October 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
works like a champ!
October 19, 2013
I wanted to try my hand at making apple butter preserves. But it calls for using a "food mill". (I'd never used one, but had been told it was the thing to use to process my summer tomato crop…) There are a few more expensive models in the store, but I just didn't have the budget to get them. Even with a few negative reviews, I decided to take a chance. I processed my cooked apples with skin and core in the mix and it sifted them right out. The trick is putting the mesh on the bottom correctly. It looks like it is suppose to go one way, but it is actually flipped. It's written on the bottom which direction goes up, but you have to read carefully! My apple butter is to die for, and I used this mill with no problems at all!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, love the fold up legs!
Review 3 for OXO Food Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
romedot
,Clarks Summit
,PA
September 24, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
great food mill
September 24, 2013
I already own this producd, so I bought this for a friend. I love this food mill. It is easy to use and disassemble to clean.
We grow tomatoes each summer and I use it to help make tomato sauce. I recommend it to anyone to use for any cooking chore.
Review 4 for OXO Food Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
UrbanSam
,Chicago
,IL
September 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Design flaw
September 18, 2013
Do Not purchase this product if you plan on using for a large amount of food. It might work fine if you have a small amount and have spare time.
This product is not heavy enough to do a proper job milling food. I purchased it to make jarred tomato sauce. It took forever to pass the tomatoes through the food mill. The "lip" where the food passes under is too small, therefore it is impossible to do anything with this mill quickly. I would recommend searching for a different mill.
Cons: Quality, Size, not heavy enough to be productive
Review 5 for OXO Food Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rose1
,Plaistow
,NH
September 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Buyer beware
September 16, 2013
This product is a complete failure. All it did was twirl my tomatoes around no matter if they were whole, chopped or diced.
Much faster to do my sauce by hand. Don't waste your time or money.
Review 6 for OXO Food Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sarahgazz
,Atlanta
,GA
August 29, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Canning and Jamming
August 29, 2013
I bought this to use for making canned jams and sauces! Works great - Not much in the way of "How To" so it took me a few tries to figure out which blades to use for what I was doing. Other than that it is super. SG
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Weight
Review 7 for OXO Food Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
daydreambeliever
,Chino
,CA
Chino, CA
February 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works like a charm
February 17, 2013
I bought this food mill on WS website and I am so happy with it. I previously used a potato ricer that I purchased from WS, but it was too difficult to use and I gave it away. I've only used this to mash potatoes, but what a difference this tool makes. Easy to use and the potatoes come out fluffy. The knob rotates easily with no struggling. Yes, you do have to reverse it at times to get all the potatoes through, but it's not hard. It's dishwasher safe which makes cleaning it a breeze. I'm looking forward to pureeing tomatoes next. I don't hesitate to make mashed potatoes now with this tool. I use it all the time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 8 for OXO Food Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
rosiefreckles
,NH
January 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Food Stays in Mill.
January 22, 2013
I really want to like this product. I thought the price was very fair. I like preparing food in simple ways, and a food mill like this certainly fits that bill. I've used this product several times to prepare mashed potatoes and once to puree carrots. The food has remained stuck in the mill every time. It doesn't move down into the bowl underneath. I've tried using all of the discs, and I've followed the instructions, which suggest to frequently spin the mill in the opposite direction. I'm very disappointed.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 9 for OXO Food Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ChuckT
,Nogales
,AZ
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Sauce and perfect potatoes
January 2, 2013
Great item to make outstanding mashed potatoes and tomato sauce. Easy to use. easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 10 for OXO Food Mill
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jodimaca
,WA
November 26, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-19points
0of 19found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Junky junky junky
November 26, 2012
So disappointed in this item - returning today. A waste of time and money.
Review 11 for OXO Food Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ddic
,Marianna
,Fl
November 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quick and easy
November 7, 2012
This product works very well. I really got it for sauces but it came in the day I bought sweet potatoes for my pies. It was a simple deal to drop the potatoes and turn the handle a few times. Yes, you may have some that doesn't go through the grate...scraped out with rubber spoon. Perfect. Rinse under sink immediately and put away. Love that.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 12 for OXO Food Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
July 16, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great
July 16, 2012
Works great...I like this food mill...compares to higher priced ones...would recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 13 for OXO Food Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Iggysoup
,Buffalo
,NY
February 6, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good value
February 6, 2012
While not overpriced, this food mill does what it's supposed to. I still plan on getting the tomato press since I think it will work faster on my large batches.
Looking forward to making apple sauce in the fall!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 14 for OXO Food Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
melissamachete
,CA
November 12, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Its worth it JUST for the mashed potatoes!
November 12, 2011
Food mills are great for making any kind of soup (esp tomato because you don't have to peel or de-seed) or sauce. Mills make every food particle uniform. There will be no chance of random chunks of carrot in your ginger carrot soup!
All that being said, I only use mine about 2 times a year to make the most amazing mashed potatoes you've ever had. Unlike any masher or ricer, with the food mill you can boil your potatoes (I use yukon gold) with the peels on, which keeps the moisture out. Once the potatoes are cooked, plunk them in the mill's bowl and crank away. Add some butter, cream, my secret ingredient (Worcester sauce), and you will have the creamiest, fluffiest, most savory mash you've ever tasted. If you rinse right away there is little mess to clean up, even in my tiny kitchen.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Versatile
Review 15 for OXO Food Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sugarleah
,Milton
,VT
October 14, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent quality, worth the price
October 14, 2011
Well made and easy to use. Definitely better than the variety store type. The legs allow it to fit on any size bowl
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Design
Review 16 for OXO Food Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Willcookanything
,Fremont
,CA
September 22, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great utensils for making life easier
September 22, 2011
I love the new fod mill good bargain for the job it does. I use this to process stone fruit and tomatoes for sauces and jams. It alleviates the need to separate and peel the skin, pits and seeds. Makes processing that much quicker
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 17 for OXO Food Mill
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
UnclePete
Apex, N.C.
July 25, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A good size
July 25, 2011
This is a good size food mill. You can use the mill for a wide range of applications and store it away in a small space.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile
Review 18 for OXO Food Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BaltimoreKerry
Baltimore
January 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great
January 10, 2011
I bought this to deal with the onslaught of tomatoes this summer. I must have put at least 30 lbs of cherry tomatoes through. I love it! Easy to operate, fit fine over every pot i would want to use it with and did a great job with the tomatoes. Perfect tomato sauce every time. I have also used it with apples and had great luck. Have not used for potatoes yet.
Review 19 for OXO Food Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CoolDrinks99705
North Pole,AK
January 8, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mashed Taters Extraordinaire!!
January 8, 2011
This is the tool for EVERY serious cook! Especially if you're going "Green"......no electricity required. It's great for getting kids involved in cooking, just like the old "Crank-Crank" hand cranked ice cream makers of our youth. This tool is great for mashed potatoes, applesauce, baby food, jams&jellys and more. Easy cleanup(dishwasher-safe). Affordable and easy to use. I SWEAR by the OXO brand......excellent products at reasonable prices!!!
Review 20 for OXO Food Mill
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
eclectic
San Antonio, TX
December 18, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gets the job done
December 18, 2010
I am so glad I purchased this food mill. Used it for the first time at Thanksgiving, Let my 77 year old mother mill the mashed potatoes, now she wants one. Potatoes came out great and so did the cooking experience with mom.
page1 2 next