OXO Food Scale

A kitchen essential, this innovative digital scale is packed with user-friendly features. The display panel pulls away from the base, making it easy to check readings when your container overhangs the platform. As you add ingredients, just press a button to reset the scale and view the updated reading. Display features large numerals and an optional backlight, and pulls away from the base for easy reading. Shows measurements in 1/8-oz. and 1-gram increments up to 11 lb. or 5 kg. Tare feature enables weighing multiple ingredients in a single container. As you weigh your ingredients, an easy-to-read indicator bar lets you know how much capacity is left on the scale. Stainless-steel platform removes for easy cleaning. Thin profile for convenient storage. Uses four AAA batteries (included).
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
18 of 21(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Food Scale
Review 1 for OXO Food Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BobSr
,Boston
,MA
September 6, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poor Quality
September 6, 2014
Easy to use while it lasted. After an unknown amount of time since buying it the readout became scrambled. Not a battery issue, just poor quality.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KSGal
Posted October 16, 2014
OXO replaced
I had the same issue & emailed OXO. They sent free replacement.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for OXO Food Scale
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
KSGal
,Shawnee
,KS
July 13, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great - while it worked
July 13, 2014
I loved this scale & used it often. But after 18 mos. the readout is scrambled. I've changed batteries to no avail.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
KSGal
Posted October 16, 2014
OXO sent replacement
A followup on previous post - I emailed OXO about the scale dying & they replaced it for free.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stewart
,VA
Williamsburg, VA
July 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Scale is the bomb
July 2, 2014
I have used this scale for several years. It is accurate and easy to use. Additionally, I have used it long enough to have to replace the battery and that itself was easy, as well. If you are on the fence jump quickly and secure one. You will be glad you did.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, compact size is wonderful
Cons: none
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Sherlockzie
Virginia
Posted September 1, 2014
Response to Foodie Too
Question posed: Now what is it you use this "bomb" scale to weigh daily?
I use it to weigh chicken, beef, fish and etc. Also use it to weigh ingredients in any recipe I use from day to day to go with the main course. Hope the clarification is helpful.
0points
Customer avatar
FoodieToo
US
Posted August 26, 2014
But what do you use it for?
LOL...
Now what is it you use this "bomb" scale to weigh daily?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 4 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lmt1
,Hulmeville
,PA
January 9, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Favorite Kitchen Tool
January 9, 2014
I use it all the time when baking bread, but has many other uses, especially measuring portion sizes fro meat and veggies. Excellent value at a reasonable price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Shopandcook
,Charlotte
,NC
November 14, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works well, easy to use
November 14, 2013
I have had this scale for a few months now and really like it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Review 6 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
PhillieFilly
,San Francisco
,CA
San Francisco, California
October 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
ACCURATE AND USEFUL SCALE!
October 31, 2013
I love this scale. The most important features for a scale are the accuracy of the scale and the measuring increments. This scale has both features. In addition, the tare feature enables weighing multiple ingredients in a single container. This scale also has an easy-to-read indicator bar to let you know how much capacity is left on the scale since you will probably be weighing multiple items in a single container. In addition, the stainless steel platform removes for easy cleaning.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 7 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joeiws
,Fishers
,in
October 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
-4points
1of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
so easy!!!
October 10, 2013
haven't officially used the scale, but it will be so wonderful not to have to convert the ingredients anymore. We did test weighing bowls with and without water in them. So easy to use!!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 8 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Royland
,Coweta
,ok
August 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AS DESCRIBED
August 12, 2013
This scale was exactly as advertised and perfect for my needs.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 9 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
carlvs
,Central
,IL
July 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love everything about it!
July 30, 2013
I love this scale. It is perfect for weighing most thing, and super easy to use. It is highly readable and the best part is how little space it takes to store!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 10 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuSu
,Asheville
,NC
Asheville, NC
May 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this scale!
May 6, 2013
This scale is perfect. I weigh many of my ingredients for baking. The scale allows you to zero the weight after you place your container on the scale. Your scale results are lit. If you are using a larger container, you have the capability to move the weight results panel forward for viewing. I am so happy with this scale. Another great Oxo product! Thanks for carrying, WS!
Pros: Accuracy, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 11 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
colleen3115
,Kalamazoo
,Mi
March 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
No more guessing
March 22, 2013
Love that I can see within a gram of wight and that it can measure up to 11 pounds.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 12 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ninamax
March 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Couldn't be simpler
March 21, 2013
The metric and English measurement feature has opened up a whole new world of recipes (just made something quoted in grams and would never have been able to figure that out). I love being able to use any container at all, and the scale operates flawlessly and stores easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 13 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cyzanzubi
,Cleveland
,TN
February 26, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My new kitchen scale
February 26, 2013
The is so easy to use it's amazing. Extremely accurate and attractive.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 14 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Guskind
,Amenia
,NY
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
JUST WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR
February 21, 2013
When I got Thomas Keller's books, one of the things he stressed was weighing ingredients and I knew I couldn't do it with the scale I had at home. This scale has all the bells and whistles I needed and it was really inexpensive, too.
I'm really happy with this scale...if I could only cook like Keller I'd be in chef's heaven.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight, great purchase
Review 15 for OXO Food Scale
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
January 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
10of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My second OXO food scale
January 31, 2013
I've had the smaller 5lb scale for about 3 years and am happy enough with it to buy this 11lb capacity scale. Everything is good about it except as a previous reviewer noted it does shut itself off after about 5 minutes even if your still measuring. I guess they did this as a battery saver feature but I would prefer if OXO let me monitor my own battery usage. This is what prevents me from giving it 5 stars but I like it well enough to buy a second model.
I do recommend it, just measure everything quickly or be aware that you need to shut it off if you get side tracked or have alot of stuff to measure.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Versatile
Review 16 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rajmpls
March 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb value
March 28, 2012
Efficient, sleek, effective and - I think - accurate, this scale is a great value at the current price point. I've only used it for a few weeks and it has changed my kitchen habits for the better - especially because of the easy conversion button. Sleek, low profile design is a plus. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Design, Weight, converts weight simply
Review 17 for OXO Food Scale
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ttownmegster
,Tacoma
,WA
Tacoma, WA
March 18, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
8of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Scale Turns Off Mid-Job
March 18, 2012
Scale seems accurate - but did not come with very good instructions. It tends to turn off and I have to re-zero and re-weigh. This is especially a pain if you are doing a lot of chopping and weighing as you go. I would not recommend this scale.
Pros: Accuracy, Easy to Store
Cons: Difficult to Use, poor instructions
Review 18 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RainyDay
,Seattle
,WA
Seattle, WA
February 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+12points
12of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Accurate and Well-Designed
February 22, 2012
This is a fantastic scale. We have never had any issues with the recipes we use it with. The pull away display is a great feature. The stainless steel makes for a very easy clean up.
You may want to keep the box it comes in. It makes for a great storage compartment, as this scale must be stored in a certain manner.
I love this scale and would definitely recommend it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 19 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SunnyS
,Cedar Rapids
,Io
Cedar Rapids, IA
February 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So easy, now I weigh all my food
February 16, 2012
I hated my old food scale therefore I often guessed at the weight and thus the calorie count. No wonder my diet wasn't going as well as I had hoped. Then I got my new OXO Food Scale. Wow, what a difference! It is easy to use. Easy to read. Easy to clean. I love it! I wish I had purchased the OXO Food Scale when I first committed to losing the weight I'd gain after I quit smoking. It is really making meal prep and proportion control easier.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 20 for OXO Food Scale
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beginner10034882
,Urbana
,IL
January 25, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works great so far
January 25, 2012
I just started trying to bake my own bread. This scale is very easy to use and is small enough to store easily.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile
page1 2 next