This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

OXO Convertible Colander

This extra-large colander fits right over the sink, thanks to folding arms that extend the frame's width to 23". Fold the arms down to convert it to a standing colander.Stainless-steel colander has graduated holes to encourage fast drainage.Black nonslip arms unfold to brace it across a sink or fold down for freestanding use.Fits most sinks.Dishwasher safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Convertible Colander
Review 1 for OXO Convertible Colander
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Babs1456
,Hanover
,Pa
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Stickers near impossible to remove
January 4, 2013
I am not sure why manufacturers think they have to use an adhesive on their product stickers that would hold airplanes together! I spent 30 minutes removing both stickers and am beyond annoyed. I haven't been able to get rid of the residue that is left over on the colander. What am I supposed to use? Gasoline? Give me a break. A product that I want that has already been ruined. Next complaint will be to Oxo.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 2 for OXO Convertible Colander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gigi2009
,New Orleans
,La
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Gift for my daughter.
January 3, 2013
She absolutely marvels at it and is continually texting me about its convenience. My comments are based on her comments to me.
Review 3 for OXO Convertible Colander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jwrn
Novato, CA
July 14, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
SO GLAD I HAVE THIS PRODUCT!
July 14, 2011
Perfect for draining pasta in the sink with no "back flow" from water in the sink or "tipping" which happens when you use standing colanders. Also perfect for rinsing and draining vegetables and fruits. Easy to clean in dishwasher. Saves storeage space.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 4 for OXO Convertible Colander
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
NormaAZ
AZ and WI
February 10, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
OXO colander
February 10, 2011
Bulky. No easy to use, stability questionable. Photo with leaks misrepresents actual size. First disappointing item ever purchased from WS
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BLHD
New Jersey
Posted April 14, 2011
Don't understand review
This is a great product. I have one myself and have bought as gifts. Fits over standard size sink and is very stable and very safe. This has to be a comment for the wrong product.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for OXO Convertible Colander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DomesticPrincess
Kansas City, MO
August 7, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Finally found the perfect colander!
August 7, 2010
I have had several colanders over the past few years. Big, small, pretty, ugly, decorative...tried them all. But they all fell apart or were very inconvenient. I found this one one day while browsing WS and went to find one the next day. I was happily surprised by the generous size of the colander and it has been a very worthwhile investment.
Review 6 for OXO Convertible Colander
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
JMKO
Cypress, CA (Orange County)
October 29, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Solution for pasta
October 29, 2008
Like most OXO products, this convertible strainer is convenient and useful and allows me to cool down and rinse spaghetti and other pastas after cooking. The holes are also small enough so that thin spaghetti does not slip through I especially like the sides that fan out to hold the strainer above the bottom of the sink by straddling over the sink edge. On top of all this, it is dishwasher safe. My only problem has been storage.
Review 7 for OXO Convertible Colander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Veggiechiliqueen
Texas
September 21, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Amazing
September 21, 2008
For years, I'd struggled with heaving pots of boiling water to the sink and attempting to dump the contents into a colander, where the backwash of hot water would inevitably flood whatever I was cooking and end up splashing me in the process. Last year I ended up purchasing the Oxo convertible colander, which is a lifesaver (that, and buy a pasta pot). It has foldable legs that extend to fit over the edges of your sink, holding the colander in place so you can keep both hands on the pot of boiling water. The holes wrap around the sides and the bottom, so your contents drain evenly. When you're finished, the legs simply fold down and you can slide the colander onto a shelf for easy storage (it's also a great place to stash frequently used baking / cook's tools such as mini pastry rollers and tartlette pans). This is definitely one of the handiest, best-designed kitchen tools I own.
Review 8 for OXO Convertible Colander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
megs098
Westminster, MD
September 19, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love it!
September 19, 2008
Great product. It's perfect to fit into any size sink. It's easy to clean, and the holes aren't large so I can strain my angel hair pasta with ease.
Review 9 for OXO Convertible Colander
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brittanylala
California
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great Colander!
September 3, 2008
This is a fabulous colander. The handles fold up ... I use it most often over my sink for draining pasta, etc. It cleans easily and is very sleek.