OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer

Not your average potato ricer, OXO's model offers three settings-fine, medium and coarse-that expand the tool's uses far beyond producing light, fluffy mashed potatoes. Just select your desired consistency, place cooked vegetables, fruit, eggs and more in the large hopper and squeeze the handles. Rotating adjustable disk allows you to switch from fine to medium to coarse settings by turning a dial. Fine setting is great for making fluffy mashed potatoes, baby food and cooked vegetable and fruit purees. Medium setting is ideal for making spaetzle and pressing water out of cooked greens. Coarse setting is perfect for creating chunky applesauce, egg salad and pressing tomatoes for sauce. Constructed of dishwasher-safe stainless steel. Soft comfortable nonslip silicone handle. Grooved pot rests allows ricer to sit securely over bowls and pots. The ricer, including rotating disk, comes apart for easy cleaning.
Average Customer Rating:
2.882 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(17 Reviews) 17
7 of 17(41%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
Review 1 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bobbie1963
,Newport News
,VA
July 15, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just LOVE it!
July 15, 2014
I purchased this ricer to replace my old one ...... SO GLAD I DID! I read some of the reviews given but I don't agree. This is so easy to operate and clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile
Review 2 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
juju5
,nashville
,tn
November 18, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
difficult to remove blade
November 18, 2013
It took forever to try to release the blade to be able to clean it. It is very difficult to do but that is the only negative regarding this product.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 3 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Maxdog
,Palatine
,Il
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome For Everything
October 22, 2013
No idea what these people are talking about! Mine just rocks, I even use it to make Scratch Pumpkin Pie. Mashes Pumpkin PERFECT, No bending or breaking and as long as ya use it more than once the cleaning becomes easier. If the bottom came off to easy then everyone would complain it fell apart when trying to adjust setting, Just cant win. It is by far the BEST Ricer I have ever owned.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 4 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Melinia
,SAN DIEGO
,CA
January 1, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Loved it so much - I gave it as a gift
January 1, 2013
Mom has been having GI tract issues, so this ricer allowed her to have great mashed pototoes, yams, turnips....with one easy squeeze.
Makes fab mashed potatoes!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Suzanidy
December 27, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for mashed potatoes
December 27, 2012
I don't know how we lived without this. Absolutely perfect for making mashed potatoes. My 10 year old daughter made them for Christmas dinner with this and it was so easy. Highly recommend!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver
Review 6 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
CookingMan77
,Carbondale
,CO
December 25, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
9of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't use muscles!!!
December 25, 2012
Broken during first use. cooked potatoes for 1 hr and peeled them, then used some force to push them through. Busted the plastic and bent the handle. I'm not some beastly man, just wanted to make gnocchi. Don't buy this piece o junk. Buy something full steel. That is what I am about to do. Pretty disappointed in W&S for carrying this junk. If your gonna rip us off on price at least make sure its quality equipment.
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Fragile, garbage
Review 7 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Nettirod
,MA
December 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Almost great
December 5, 2012
Love the convenience of being able to change consistency of ricer on the spot. Unfortunately, the major problem is getting the accessory piece off for cleaning. Regardless of lining it up as the instructions say, myself and at least 2 other family members end up having to wrestle it off every time. The second issue is that it only has moderate torque. I have had to push food through the thicker setting first to then use the fine setting. For very soft foods, however, it works as described.
Pros: Versatile
Cons: Difficult to Clean, somewhat weak
Review 8 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kateypgh
,Pittsburgh
,PA
November 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not a great product
November 1, 2012
I liked that this ricer was adjustable, and I wanted to make gnocchi so I bought it. Immediately I found it hard to use--it's very difficult to take it apart to clean. When you adjust it to the "fine" setting, the cooked potato pieces do not get fine enough for gnocchi and I had lumps in the dough. Secondly, squeezing potatoes at this setting causes the removable disc to be ajar, but not come off completely (it's really hard to remove it completely even if you want to). This also caused the texture of my "riced" potatoes to be lumpy. Once you finally do get the screen off, it's really hard to get it back on--there are cut outs you have to line up on each side but it only goes on one way, a real pain because you dont know which cut out lines up with which. I wish I still had the receipt so I could take this thing back. Not pleased at all.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Temperamental
Review 9 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SallyBaby
,Philadelphia
,PA
November 1, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not too impressive
November 1, 2012
I love OXO products. This however is not a good tool. The discs do not turn so easily and tend to get stuck while turning. Cleaning is not so easy either as potato bits get trapped under the disc. The reason I gave this two stars and not one is because it does actually mash. Don't waste your money on this product. A food mill works so much better and can be used for multi purposes. The OXO food mill is great. I should have bought that first.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean
Review 10 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Pinckney
,MI
October 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
DO NOT BUY
October 25, 2012
I have tried this device a couple of times and it's impossible to take apart and clean. I have many uses for it, but never take it out of the drawer because of the hassle. I wish I would have returned it. Take my advice and don't buy this thing.
Pros: there are no pros
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Store
Review 11 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mrsgeogman
,Framingham
,MA
June 13, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Could not turn the disk
June 13, 2012
I could not turn the disk to adjust the puree consistency. Also, could not remove it for cleaning. I asked my husband to try it, and he could not do it either . I was afraid that the whole bin would crack under the pressure of trying to turn the disk. So..... I returned it!
Pros: Size, Weight
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BigTuna
Brooklyn
Posted July 3, 2012
Boy, is this right.
This is just flat out poor design. I tried it once and the pressure of the ricing threw the disk out of whack - I'm pretty strong and it would not budge when I tried to turn it. Kill this product immediately. It stinks. Very unusual for WS to have a lemon like this one.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
joyjoy22
,Machesney Park
,IL
Rockford, Illinois
April 9, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Adjustable Potato Ricer
April 9, 2012
This was very clever to make a tool that can mash different items. My eggs for egg salad and potatoes for mashed. Love it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 13 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
QBee
March 20, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too Difficult to use
March 20, 2012
I ordered this in December after using a ricer my friend had, which was wonderful. It was not the OXO brand, however. I did not have an opportunity to use this until last night and am going to have to return it. I broke my wrist last September and found this impossible to press the handles together, unlike my friend's ricer, and it was extremely difficult to get the disc off for cleaning, and now can't get it back on (the arrow and notch markings are really ridiculous)
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Difficult to Store, Size
Review 14 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ItalianCoffeeLover
,London
,UK
London
March 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Versatile but awkward to store
March 4, 2012
Overall I'm pleased with the purchase. I've only used the large setting (applesauce) and small (mash potatoes). Both worked a treat and I love the fact that I don't have to store separate discs.
I didn't have trouble taking off the base, but what I did was turn it to the release notch, lift up as high as it could go by pulling on it, and then curl my fingers under the gap created to lift the rest of it off. Maybe I got lucky as I'm sure manufacturing isn't always consistent. But it's always been easy for me to disassemble.
The reason this gets 4 stars is because of the large size. Bigger and more awkward than my last ricer, it's made organising our utensils drawer a nightmare. And the handle does give a bit when you press down, so I am worried it may break one day. So I'll update my review if durability proves to be poor. But so far so good!
Pros: Easy to Use, Versatile, Design
Cons: Difficult to Store, Size
Review 15 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Terrymct
,Silver Spring
,Md
February 21, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Broke first use
February 21, 2012
The first time I tried to use this, the adjustable screen plate came partially off and jammed so that the screen diameter can never be changed.
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile
Review 16 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kitchenkrazy
South Dakota
January 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best mashed potatoes ever!
January 13, 2012
love this ricer! makes the best mashed potatoes. can't wait to use it on other foods.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Review 17 for OXO Adjustable Potato Ricer
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gadgetqueen
Lansing, MI
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Difficult to take apart
January 4, 2012
I agree - this thing is virtually impossible to take apart. I thought I was doing something wrong and took it back to the store for a lesson. They struggled with it too. I decided to do without the frustration and returned the ricer.
Cons: Difficult to Clean