Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3

Popular with Japanese restaurant cooks, these strainers feature a shallow ovoid shape ideal for blanching batches of vegetables in quick succession, scooping noodles from a pot of boiling water and transferring cooked foods to a pan or serving dish.Set includes three dishwasher-safe 18/10 stainless-steel strainers in graduated sizes.Durable stainless-steel mesh holds its shape and is dishwasher safe.U-shaped handles double as hanging loops.A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
Review 1 for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NYCBride
,New York
,NY
August 15, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent scooping strainers!
August 15, 2013
Love these strainers. Truthfully, I've had them for months, and still only used the smallest size. I haven't had much of a need for the big one yet.
I find it so helpful to have when I want to strain something but keep the water. For example, I made a pasta that the recipe called for cooking the different vegetables one at a time, in the same boiling water. So the strainer made it easy to pull out cooked vegetables, but keep the water boiling in the pot for the next one.
I also have actually found it helpful for serving, too. They're so easy to pull out pasta from a large bowl with toppings and serve into individual size bowls or plates.
And they look beautiful. I've put in the dishwasher, and it came out looking great!
Also - final plus - easy to store!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 2 for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Laughingsprite
,Carmel
,IN
September 8, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So glad I bought these....
September 8, 2011
I have had these for a little over a week and have already used them five times. So much easier to use these than to get the awkward collander out of the cabinet. They fit perfectly in my crock with all my other spoons, etc. They clean up well, too.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 3 for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ChefClaudia
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
August 17, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wonderful Small Strainers - Easy to Store!
August 17, 2011
I got these shallow strainers for washing berries and fruit. They are ideal for cleaning a small batch of blueberries or cherries, and they store easily since they are flatter than most strainers. I have also used them to scoop noodles out of a pan of boiling water. We like them so much that we just ordered them as a gift for friends!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 4 for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StudioCook
buffalo grove, il
April 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love Them!
April 5, 2010
I love these. Wonderful shape for scooping foods like pasta or vegetables, etc., out of pots. I love these.
Review 5 for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chitowncooktoo
Chicago
February 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-38points
1of 40found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
light duty slicer convenient, reasonable
February 21, 2010
If you have an occasional need for this type of production slicing, this product fills the gap between food processor and hand held knife work at a reasonable cost.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AlmostJane
Posted October 17, 2013
???
Think this review - for a slicer of some kind - got placed in this category by error.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chezhoss
Amagansett, NY 11930
February 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useful strainers
February 16, 2010
We make lots of soups and stock. These are very handy to use and easy to store.
Review 7 for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chef77
December 15, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Works like it says....
December 15, 2009
It's called an oval scooping strainer for a reason. On this type of item you never want a handle on the other side. Thats what a regular strainer is for. The purpose of this item is to scoop food out of a pot. Such as pasta. It is a strainer b/c it strains the water. For this it works perfect. Would recomend!
Review 8 for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dndb
December 3, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
scoopers
December 3, 2009
They are NOT strainers. They are scoopers. Strainers have that little thing on the other side. That's not what these are for. They are perfect SCOOPERS
Review 9 for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
e1980sky
New York
February 10, 2009
Would You Recommend? No
-2points
0of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice, but...
February 10, 2009
I agree with the previous reviewer. If using only as a strainer, I rather use the Chinese bamboo strainer, because it's much lighter. Since this is made of metal, adding a little metal side handle on the other side will help balance it when laying on top of the saucepan.
Review 10 for Oval Scooping Strainers, Set of 3
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
LZ220
New York, NY
November 10, 2008
Would You Recommend? No
-6points
0of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great strainers that lack the extra handle
November 10, 2008
These strainers are great in many respects (size, strength and fineness of mesh), but they are missing "handles" on the other end that would otherwise help them balance on a pot or bowl. Without that, their functionality is limited.