Osso Buco Braising Sauce

The rustic cookery of the Italian countryside is famous for hearty, long-simmered braises like veal osso buco. Made with the finest all-natural ingredients, including traditional wines, vegetables and spices, our all-natural braising sauce makes it simple to cook this rich, savory dish at home - capturing all the depth and complexity of the classic preparation. Simply combine with browned veal shanks in a slow cooker or Dutch oven, simmer and serve. 1 lb. 8.5 oz. (makes 6-8 servings). Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.375 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Osso Buco Braising Sauce
Review 1 for Osso Buco Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,LAS VEGAS
,NV
August 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EXCELLENT SAUCE
August 27, 2015
I used this with cuts of Filet mingon instead of veal. I added baby red potatoes and whole onions to my slow cooker. It was one of the best meals I ever had.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor
Review 2 for Osso Buco Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,FL
February 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wanted more
February 2, 2015
I gave this sauce to my dad for his birthday, and we decided to try it this past weekend while I was visiting. We weren't able to find enough veal shanks for the recipe, and so tried it with beef shanks. We were not disappointed - it was wonderful, and actually reminded me of braciole. The meat fell apart, and it was so flavorful. I'd recommend checking on it about 5 hours in - we had to turn it to low at that point. We served it over pasta - and wished we had more sauce, as it was that tasty!
Pros: Time-saver, Flavor
Cons: Amount
Review 3 for Osso Buco Braising Sauce
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
October 25, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worst Sauce Ever!!
October 25, 2014
Please don't waste your money on this sauce -esp with nice veal chops. It tasted so strong and burnt. We had to rinse it off the veal. Just tasted awful. Pretty much ruined our dinner.
Cons: Flavor
Review 4 for Osso Buco Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Denville
,NJ
April 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Sauce
April 4, 2013
After previously making my own sauce for Osso Buco I decided to try the William-Sonoma braising base since I have used and been very pleased with their other sauces. The first time I used it I received rave reviews and everyone thought it was my own. Each time I have used it since the results have been the same. It is a consistently delicious sauce for Osso Buco, and saves a great deal of time in the preparation. Now it's the only way I will make the dish. Love it!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Osso Buco Braising Sauce
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,CA
August 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not just for osso buco!
August 29, 2012
I bought this to make osso buco but couldn't find veal & bought short ribs instead. Made them using the slow cooker method. Based on other's reviews I shortened my cooking time & stayed home to monitor it. First 3 hrs on high, last 2 hrs on low. The sauce is delish & full bodied. The short ribs literally slid off the bones. I made little changes like browning the meat in 1 Tbs bacon fat & 1 Tbs canola oil, & added 4 slices of chopped up lean bacon to the cooker with this & it melted into the sauce. Yum! I had 2lbs of meat so a lot of extra sauce after cooking & I plan to use it to make meatloaf. After cooking I removed the meat, cooled & refrigerated the sauce so that the fat could rise to the top. I skimmed that off easily in the morning. Just a tip for those concerned about fat if you don't have a gravy separator. It was scrumptious! I give 4.5 stars because the ingredients list soy protein. I avoid soy in my diet and hate that it is added to so many products these days.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: added soy
Review 6 for Osso Buco Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Beverly Hills
,CA
April 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Your friends will think you're a good cook
April 28, 2012
Bought the shanks, bought the la crueset Dutch Oven, and bought the braising base. Wondered if it was all worth it. Yes!!! My Osso Bucco was rated the best ever tasted. All I did extra was add some onions and a couple of carrots, then seared the meat, forgot to add salt and pepper, added the sauce and baked in the oven at 325 for two hours. Make sure to get humanely farmed meat. It makes you feel a bit better.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 7 for Osso Buco Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
March 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great sauce
March 6, 2012
I used this with boneless beef short ribs and we loved it.
Review 8 for Osso Buco Braising Sauce
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Lemont
,IL
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easiest & best recipe ever for Osso Bucco
January 7, 2012
After the raves, and if asked, I tell my friends my recipe:
First, get a Le Crueset or similar enameled cast iron pot.
Then, buy some veal shanks.
Buy the Williams-Sonoma Osso Bucco braising base and follow the instructions.
People can't wait to try it or come back to our house!
All the W-S braising bases are fantastic. We also love the one for short ribs, and use the stout for lamb shanks.
One tip: use the pot in the oven, not a slow cooker.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift