Osso Buco Braising Base

The rustic cookery of the Italian countryside is famous for hearty long-simmered braises like veal osso buco. Our all-natural braising sauce makes it easy to cook this rich, savory dish at home, capturing all the depth and complexity of the classic preparation. Made with the finest all-natural ingredients, including traditional wines, vegetables and spices. Simply combine with browned veal shanks in a slow cooker or Dutch oven and simmer. 24.5 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.429 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
19 of 21(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Osso Buco Braising Base
Review 1 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CColon
,Denville
,NJ
April 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Superb Sauce
April 4, 2013
After previously making my own sauce for Osso Buco I decided to try the William-Sonoma braising base since I have used and been very pleased with their other sauces. The first time I used it I received rave reviews and everyone thought it was my own. Each time I have used it since the results have been the same. It is a consistently delicious sauce for Osso Buco, and saves a great deal of time in the preparation. Now it's the only way I will make the dish. Love it!!!
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 2 for Osso Buco Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mshomecook
,CA
August 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not just for osso buco!
August 29, 2012
I bought this to make osso buco but couldn't find veal & bought short ribs instead. Made them using the slow cooker method. Based on other's reviews I shortened my cooking time & stayed home to monitor it. First 3 hrs on high, last 2 hrs on low. The sauce is delish & full bodied. The short ribs literally slid off the bones. I made little changes like browning the meat in 1 Tbs bacon fat & 1 Tbs canola oil, & added 4 slices of chopped up lean bacon to the cooker with this & it melted into the sauce. Yum! I had 2lbs of meat so a lot of extra sauce after cooking & I plan to use it to make meatloaf. After cooking I removed the meat, cooled & refrigerated the sauce so that the fat could rise to the top. I skimmed that off easily in the morning. Just a tip for those concerned about fat if you don't have a gravy separator. It was scrumptious! I give 4.5 stars because the ingredients list soy protein. I avoid soy in my diet and hate that it is added to so many products these days.
Pros: Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor, Great Gift
Cons: added soy
Review 3 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CountessaCook
,Beverly Hills
,CA
April 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Your friends will think you're a good cook
April 28, 2012
Bought the shanks, bought the la crueset Dutch Oven, and bought the braising base. Wondered if it was all worth it. Yes!!! My Osso Bucco was rated the best ever tasted. All I did extra was add some onions and a couple of carrots, then seared the meat, forgot to add salt and pepper, added the sauce and baked in the oven at 325 for two hours. Make sure to get humanely farmed meat. It makes you feel a bit better.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 4 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cathij
March 6, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Another great sauce
March 6, 2012
I used this with boneless beef short ribs and we loved it.
Review 5 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freemarketmaven
,Lemont
,IL
January 7, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easiest & best recipe ever for Osso Bucco
January 7, 2012
After the raves, and if asked, I tell my friends my recipe:
First, get a Le Crueset or similar enameled cast iron pot.
Then, buy some veal shanks.
Buy the Williams-Sonoma Osso Bucco braising base and follow the instructions.
People can't wait to try it or come back to our house!
All the W-S braising bases are fantastic. We also love the one for short ribs, and use the stout for lamb shanks.
One tip: use the pot in the oven, not a slow cooker.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 6 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StellaSoo
,East Lansing
,MI
November 10, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
November 10, 2011
I bought this base because it was on sale and wanted to give it a try. I'm not a fan of slow cookers, and I love food cooked slowly stove top. I browned the veal in my pot, then added the sauce and let it simmer for 3 1/2 hours. It was amazing, served over orechiette pasta! The whole family loved it! Gotta run, I'm off to the store to buy more....
Review 7 for Osso Buco Braising Base
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
nyfoodlover
June 13, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Terrible cooking instructions
June 13, 2011
As others have mentioned in their reviews, the slow cooker instructions are completely wrong. I set my slow cooker to 6 hours as instructed, only to find that the osso bucco was completely overdone, with the meat extremely hard. Given the cost of purchasing osso bucco, I would not use this sauce unless you are willing to risk a poor result.
Cons: Disappointing
Review 8 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Babzer
Dallas, Tx
March 7, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fantastico!
March 7, 2011
This sauce is amazing! Makes serving the delisious shanks a breeze. Perfect in a slow cooker.
Review 9 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DHouse
San Francisco Bay Area
February 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent and Easy
February 21, 2011
My husband and I had osso buco at a local restaurant a few weeks ago and decided to try and make it at home. We bought this base and gave it a try. The osso buco was just as good as the restaurants and was so easy to prepare. We served with polenta, which we also purchased from WS. We will make both again and serve it to our friends and family! The only adjustment I would make it the cooking time. The osso buco was ready in about 4 hours vs. 6 hrs on high in a slow cooker. Otherwise, I would definetly recommend this sauce!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 10 for Osso Buco Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wrp1
Illinois
January 25, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Finally Osso Bucco at home
January 25, 2011
This is the first base for Osso Buco that I have been satisfied with. Short of starting from scratch you will not find any better Osso Buco at restaurants. I will order more.
Review 11 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Snowmass
Dayton, OH
December 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious!
December 1, 2010
We tried this sauce with veal chops and it was fabulous ! My son loved it so much, we used it when he had to bring in a family dish to cooking day in 3rd grade !
Review 12 for Osso Buco Braising Base
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Dutchy
Painesville, OH
February 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Osso Buco Sauce
February 1, 2010
I loved the sauce, but the recipe on the bottle for use in a crock pot was way off on its timing. It said 6 hours on Hi and the veal was done in 3. I had to turn off the crock pot to keep the veal from becoming so overdone that it melted into the sauce. I turned the crock pot on at low an hour before serving to reheat.
Review 13 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nitwit
Springfield, VA
January 13, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So good!!!!!
January 13, 2010
Used with veal chops and wow - delicious!!! Thanks for a great product!!!
Review 14 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Toronto, Canada
December 2, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Osso Buco Braising Sauce
December 2, 2009
My husband really loves this dish and I had never tried making it before...so when he requested it for his birthday, I bought the sauce and "followed the directions" and it was perfect. I served it with a four mushroom risotto and we will not wait for a special occasion to enjoy it again!!
Review 15 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
csilva
Rhode Island
November 12, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
AMAZING!!!
November 12, 2009
I have to say I like to try new things and this was nothing like I imagined. I was impressed with the Osso Buca sauce. As a quicker dinner a made it with flank steak and even as leftovers it was great.
Review 16 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mespo
Rancho Cucamonga, So Ca.
September 13, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Awesome
September 13, 2009
I used Short Ribs, Cremini Mushrooms and added Red Wine. It was great, I will be making this again and again. Everyone loved it.
Review 17 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AlpineCowgirl
Alpine, CA (San Diego)
March 11, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Makes a Gourmet Dinner Fast!
March 11, 2009
This base is so GOOD! Easy to prepare a gourmet dinner, just brown veal shanks in your slow cooker (Deluxe All Clad) and pour sauce base over and simmer away...Viola!
Review 18 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Tiki Island, Texas
November 8, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This base ROCKS!!
November 8, 2008
I have used this base multiple times over the past 12 months, and I can't get enough. I keep at least 2 jars in my cabinet at all times for making Osso Buco on Sunday evenings. It creates a wonderful blend of flavors that are not overpowering, and it has that savory, comforting taste that makes you feel good. So easy to make, recipe for the meal is on the jar. This inspires me to keep cooking!!
Review 19 for Osso Buco Braising Base
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nuyenspoodle
Rainier, ORegon
September 4, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
We loved this sauce!
September 4, 2008
Several months ago we purchased this sausce and found that we liked it a great deal. Our Osso Bucco that first time was delicious. (Previously, we have tried to concoct our own sauce, only to be disappointed.) We would like to get it again. It is our hope that W-S will continue to offer this sauce.
Review 20 for Osso Buco Braising Base
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GRAMANANCE
APACHE JUNCTION, ARIZONA
September 3, 2008
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
EASY OSSO BUCCO
September 3, 2008
I GAVE THIS TO A FRIEND WHO IS VERY ITALIAN AND OSSO BUCCO IS ONE OF HIS FAVORITES. HE SAID IT WAS YUMMY!
page1 2 next