Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3

Towels cut from cotton flour sacks were once used for all kinds of household tasks - from drying dishes and polishing glassware to straining foods and covering rising dough. A longstanding customer favorite, our oversized towels are woven from unbleached organic cotton that is extra soft, absorbent and lint free. You'll find endless uses for them as an alternative to paper towels. Machine-wash. 30" sq. Imported. Set of three. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.2 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 10
3 of 10(30%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
Review 1 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Whaler
,Hartfore
,ct
December 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not up to par
December 28, 2013
I purchased these towels, thinking they would be a good product and boy was I wrong. They are thin and do not absorb any water. They just smeared the water over the dishes. Because of this I do not use these towels and will not buy them again. I will stick with the waffle weave towels.
Review 2 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OhioFamily
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+23points
23of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointed with ''new'' towels
March 11, 2013
I thought it was just me, but as I was about to buy more of my favorite dish towels, I saw the new reviews and must agree with them. The ''new'' version of these towels is terrible! I have ''old'' ones that are still going strong and the ones I bought last year are already falling apart. They are thin and are soaked with water after drying only a few dishes. Bring back the ''old'' towels, WIlliams-Sonoma! Until then, I need to look elsewhere.
Cons: Quality, durability, non-absorbant
Review 3 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
deconut
January 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
16of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bummer organic four sack towels
January 28, 2013
I received these as a gift from a friend who has raved forever about these - I have to agree with the other negative reviewers - maybe a new grade of cotton but they DO NOT ABSORB - period.....waste of money
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lindyks3
FL
Posted March 29, 2013
Flour Sack Towels
I agree with this review. I still have some of the older version towels and they have a much nicer texture and feel than the newer ones. And the newer ones are not lasting as long.
I think changing the towels and calling therm "organic" is just a way to make a cheaper towel and push it off as special.
BRING BACK THE ONES YOU MADE IN THE 90'S! THANKS.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lcmhome
,Coral Gables
,FL
December 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+19points
20of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They've changed.
December 3, 2012
Have been using these towels in my home for over 15 years. I buy on an average a pack every couple of months and this last set I purchased before the Thanksgiving holiday were a disappointment. They are not absorbent. I thought that it might be because they needed to be washed first so we did and the same result no absorption. This packet is made from organic cotton. They simply do not do the same job as the old ones that were sold, made simply of 100% cotton.
Cons: Quality, don't absorb
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Posted December 12, 2012
Tried boiling them?
Organic cotton generally needs to be boiled before use to become absorbent because of the natural occurring oils in the cotton fabric. Once boiled, the oils are released and the cotton becomes absorbent.
Non-organic cotton is usually so heavily processed that the oils are already broken down.
+4points
4of 4found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zeta
,Weatherford
,OK
Weatherford, OK
November 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dishtowels!
November 12, 2012
These have been the ONLY dishtowels used in my house since the mid 1970's. They are simply the best available!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength
Review 6 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kesslergirl
,Santa Ana
,CA
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+25points
26of 27found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What happened to the old Flour Sack Towels?
September 23, 2012
I will add my voice to the growing chorus and say - has anyone at Williams Sonoma actually tried the current version of your flour sack towels? They are quite a disappointment and definitely not the same as you used to carry. Williams Sonoma was always my "go to" place for these flour sack towels which I have used for as long as I can remember. I would never purchase anything but these particular towels. If you don't bring back flour sack towels that actually dry glassware and dishes and have the same quality as before, I'm afraid I will have to begin hunting for a new source. Please, I used to love these towels. My recent shipment was a major disappointment.
Hope you listen to the other reviewers. We are just the few that are taking the time to tell you these are problematic...others just won't buy them again. Thanks.
Cons: Quality, not absorbent
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lindyks3
FL
Posted March 29, 2013
Flour Sack Towels
Again, I agree with this review totally!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ritadee
,Ft. Lauderdale
,FL
July 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dish Towels!!
July 28, 2012
I find these towels, wonderful. Extremely large and absorbent. They are a must for every kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 8 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
murphycat
March 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+18points
19of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the same
March 4, 2012
As many, many previous reviewers have stated...these are NOT the same towels! I have been buying these for years and have turned so many people on to them, but this last set I purchased are not at all the same. These are thin and cheap looking/feeling. I'm so glad I still have 2 old towels left because I've thrown away this last set. I really hope you bring back the old towels that everyone loves.
Cons: Quality, durability
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BetsyBee
Norwalk, CT
Posted June 29, 2012
Thank you...
Grateful for your taking the tme to write. I had ordered "flour sack towels" from Amazon and they were junk. Thought Wm Sonoma would be the place. Will check Vermont Country Store next. Nothing is as good as a real flour sack towel. We use them as, among other things, bibs for my 93 year old mother-in-law, held at the neck by a clothes pin.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ColoradoDame
,Niwot
,CO
February 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thin as cheesecloth!
February 16, 2012
I have been purchasing the WS flour sack kitchen towels for years and have absolutely loved the quality. Recently, I purchased a new set of 3, and I can tell you that the quality is poor compared to the previous sets. They are as thin as cheesecloth and won't last very long at all. In addition, after one washing, they became an irregular shape. I'm terribly disappointed with the change. Please, WS, bring back the older ones!
Cons: Quality
Review 10 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeddyB2
,Punta Gorda
,Fl
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Dish Towels on the Market
January 17, 2012
I have been using these towels now for many years. So when I find them on sale, I cannot resist buying more. They are soft and absorbent and withstand many washings. I also believe that you are the only store that carries the wider sized towel. Please do not change this product. It is perfect as it is now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight