Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3

Towels cut from cotton flour sacks were once used for all kinds of household tasks - from drying dishes and polishing glassware to straining foods and covering rising dough. A longstanding customer favorite, our oversized towels are woven from unbleached organic cotton that is extra soft, absorbent and lint free. You'll find endless uses for them as an alternative to paper towels. Machine-wash. 30" sq. Imported. Set of three. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.82 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 50
21 of 50(42%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
Review 1 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Whaler
,Hartfore
,ct
December 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not up to par
December 28, 2013
I purchased these towels, thinking they would be a good product and boy was I wrong. They are thin and do not absorb any water. They just smeared the water over the dishes. Because of this I do not use these towels and will not buy them again. I will stick with the waffle weave towels.
Review 2 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
OhioFamily
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
13of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointed with ''new'' towels
March 11, 2013
I thought it was just me, but as I was about to buy more of my favorite dish towels, I saw the new reviews and must agree with them. The ''new'' version of these towels is terrible! I have ''old'' ones that are still going strong and the ones I bought last year are already falling apart. They are thin and are soaked with water after drying only a few dishes. Bring back the ''old'' towels, WIlliams-Sonoma! Until then, I need to look elsewhere.
Cons: Quality, durability, non-absorbant
Review 3 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
deconut
January 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bummer organic four sack towels
January 28, 2013
I received these as a gift from a friend who has raved forever about these - I have to agree with the other negative reviewers - maybe a new grade of cotton but they DO NOT ABSORB - period.....waste of money
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lindyks3
FL
Posted March 29, 2013
Flour Sack Towels
I agree with this review. I still have some of the older version towels and they have a much nicer texture and feel than the newer ones. And the newer ones are not lasting as long.
I think changing the towels and calling therm "organic" is just a way to make a cheaper towel and push it off as special.
BRING BACK THE ONES YOU MADE IN THE 90'S! THANKS.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
lcmhome
,Coral Gables
,FL
December 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
11of 12found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They've changed.
December 3, 2012
Have been using these towels in my home for over 15 years. I buy on an average a pack every couple of months and this last set I purchased before the Thanksgiving holiday were a disappointment. They are not absorbent. I thought that it might be because they needed to be washed first so we did and the same result no absorption. This packet is made from organic cotton. They simply do not do the same job as the old ones that were sold, made simply of 100% cotton.
Cons: Quality, don't absorb
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Posted December 12, 2012
Tried boiling them?
Organic cotton generally needs to be boiled before use to become absorbent because of the natural occurring oils in the cotton fabric. Once boiled, the oils are released and the cotton becomes absorbent.
Non-organic cotton is usually so heavily processed that the oils are already broken down.
+4points
4of 4found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zeta
,Weatherford
,OK
Weatherford, OK
November 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dishtowels!
November 12, 2012
These have been the ONLY dishtowels used in my house since the mid 1970's. They are simply the best available!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength
Review 6 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Kesslergirl
,Santa Ana
,CA
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+19points
20of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What happened to the old Flour Sack Towels?
September 23, 2012
I will add my voice to the growing chorus and say - has anyone at Williams Sonoma actually tried the current version of your flour sack towels? They are quite a disappointment and definitely not the same as you used to carry. Williams Sonoma was always my "go to" place for these flour sack towels which I have used for as long as I can remember. I would never purchase anything but these particular towels. If you don't bring back flour sack towels that actually dry glassware and dishes and have the same quality as before, I'm afraid I will have to begin hunting for a new source. Please, I used to love these towels. My recent shipment was a major disappointment.
Hope you listen to the other reviewers. We are just the few that are taking the time to tell you these are problematic...others just won't buy them again. Thanks.
Cons: Quality, not absorbent
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lindyks3
FL
Posted March 29, 2013
Flour Sack Towels
Again, I agree with this review totally!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ritadee
,Ft. Lauderdale
,FL
July 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dish Towels!!
July 28, 2012
I find these towels, wonderful. Extremely large and absorbent. They are a must for every kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 8 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
murphycat
March 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+16points
17of 18found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the same
March 4, 2012
As many, many previous reviewers have stated...these are NOT the same towels! I have been buying these for years and have turned so many people on to them, but this last set I purchased are not at all the same. These are thin and cheap looking/feeling. I'm so glad I still have 2 old towels left because I've thrown away this last set. I really hope you bring back the old towels that everyone loves.
Cons: Quality, durability
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BetsyBee
Norwalk, CT
Posted June 29, 2012
Thank you...
Grateful for your taking the tme to write. I had ordered "flour sack towels" from Amazon and they were junk. Thought Wm Sonoma would be the place. Will check Vermont Country Store next. Nothing is as good as a real flour sack towel. We use them as, among other things, bibs for my 93 year old mother-in-law, held at the neck by a clothes pin.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ColoradoDame
,Niwot
,CO
February 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
12of 13found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thin as cheesecloth!
February 16, 2012
I have been purchasing the WS flour sack kitchen towels for years and have absolutely loved the quality. Recently, I purchased a new set of 3, and I can tell you that the quality is poor compared to the previous sets. They are as thin as cheesecloth and won't last very long at all. In addition, after one washing, they became an irregular shape. I'm terribly disappointed with the change. Please, WS, bring back the older ones!
Cons: Quality
Review 10 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TeddyB2
,Punta Gorda
,Fl
January 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Dish Towels on the Market
January 17, 2012
I have been using these towels now for many years. So when I find them on sale, I cannot resist buying more. They are soft and absorbent and withstand many washings. I also believe that you are the only store that carries the wider sized towel. Please do not change this product. It is perfect as it is now.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Review 11 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
gokathymac
,McLean
,VA
December 23, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I agree with others-not the same WS towel of old
December 23, 2011
I have been buying the flour sack towels and bar mop dishcloths for many years now. The last batch of flour sack towels was just not the same as the ones I have bought over the past several years. They were very thin and flimsy -- and got holes after several washes. Each day I start with a fresh towel and fresh bar mop dishcloth. They get washed frequently, so they need to be sturdy. Please bring back the thicker flour sack towels! They were the BEST for drying crystal and drying hands. I have also used them for drying potato slices ala Julia Child.
Cons: Strength, Quality, durability
Review 12 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
,Redmond
,WA
November 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not your Usual WS flour sack towels
November 21, 2011
I have bought these towels from you before ... or at least ones advertised as flour sack towels. This time I should have paid more attention to the reviews but bought them anyway because I just KNEW they would be ok because WS does not have bad products? Well wrong ... they are non absorbent & the thread count is so bad you can see through them. I have washed them twice hoping the absorbancy might get better but to no avai. I will keep them and use them for cheese cloth because they are slightly stronger than that. Hope you do something to change your supplier. Thanks
Pros: Assembly
Cons: Quality, Weight, Fragile, non-absorbent
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 13 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
notthesame
,Yorktown Heights
,NY
October 21, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not the same towel??? Displeased
October 21, 2011
For years I have purchased these towels... I recently visited several of your locations and have come to the conclusion that you changed supplier. Poor material. Get rid of this supplier and go back to quality.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Jane109
Posted December 4, 2011
Flour Sack towels
You are absolutely right about these towels. I was soooo disappointed I could not find the same towel they usually have.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AussieFan
,Perth
,WA
September 21, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
thanks for the tip
September 21, 2011
I have had a dozen of these towels for 5+ years that I bought while visiting the US and absolutely swear by them. My favourite use was as oversized table napkins when serving whole shrimp, lobster etc at casual picnics. Luxury to have such large absorbent towels. Of course also drying glassware, straining cheese/yoghurt etc. I was about to order another batch for myself and my friends so I could use them more often without feeling I need to 'save' them for special but having read your reviewers have decided against doing so. Please bring back the old ones and let us know that you have so that I can once more recommend to my friends with confidence. Thanks.
Review 15 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargie
Granger, Indiana
August 28, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing product
August 28, 2011
I received 12 of these as a gift several years ago. The are all still almost like new, even after numerous washings. Wonderful for drying china, pans, eveything I hand wash. They are my husbands favorites:) And mine too.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Strength, Weight
Review 16 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
commentsb
fl
August 27, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
flour sack towels
August 27, 2011
You must have a new supplier, these aren't the same towels as they used to be; so many people have this same feeling. Please go back to old supplier. I have purchased so many of these for myself and as gifts.
I will not purchase again until I see in the product "headline"; that they are made again by the "old" supplier.
Pros: they used to be great
Cons: linty & of poor quality now
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
pokaibay
Waianae, Hawaii
Posted September 20, 2011
i agree
i have some older ones that must be going on 10 years old...theylast forever and are fabulous for drying dishes and glassware, etc. but checking out new ones in store, they were brown and looked almost as thin as cheesecloth...didn't buy. and now reading this comment and similar, will not buy now. will try to find elsewhere. yes, go back to old supplies.
Thank you.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Renorose
Pa
August 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Versatility
August 20, 2011
After a wash (or two) the towels became soft and absorbent. As weather permits line drying makes them very nice. I use them to dry the dishes, strain whey from cheese and solids from stocks. It's the only cloth large enough to cover my big bowl when there's dough rising up inside. It's a more substantial flour sack cloth than others I've used.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Weight
Review 18 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldfuddyduddy
July 21, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not what I expected
July 21, 2011
This product wasn't quite what I expected. I can't imagine that this fabric could actually hold flour--it would sift it quite nicely, but you wouldn't get 5 feet before the flour was all over the floor. Before washing it is actually more like a gauze and would be terrific for squeezing fruit pulp when you are making jelly (& even after washing, I think). However, after washing these towels twice I find they do a TERRIFC job drying dishes. They are also excellent for polishing mirrors and dusting. Love them!
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size
Review 19 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Marste
Los Angeles, CA
July 10, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These used to be amazing . . .
July 10, 2011
All I can say is that I whole-heartedly agree with everyone below who wrote that these are NOT what they used to be. (If I could give them zero stars, I would.) I used to use these for drying dishes and glassware when I didn't have a dishwasher, and I could dry dishes from a dinner for 4, including pots and pans, all in one towel. These new towels won't even dry my HANDS, let alone a dish. When I tried them on glassware, they smeared the water around (didn't dry anything) AND left lint all over the glasses! I ended up rewashing the glasses.
On top of all that, these shrink into uneven rectangles when they're washed, so they won't hang or fold straight.
I LOVED the old ones, but these look and act like cheap dollar-store knockoffs. I expect better from W-S.
Cons: Quality, no absorbency
Review 20 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Marquette
Naples, Fl.
June 5, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
June 5, 2011
These towels do not absorb anything!! I use the towels to dry fine china and glassware and have always been very happy with the Williams-Somona product until now. I visited a discount store and found some very thirsty flour sack towels for a 1/3 the price. I expect 'the best" from your company...please revisit this product.
Cons: does not absorb moisture
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
oldfuddyduddy
Elko, Nevada
Posted July 26, 2011
so, it's not just me
I thought these were different and inferior to what I'd bought before. I agree with these other reviewers--let me know when the old ones are back!! (Although they are still better than the junk they sell as dish towels nowadays. Terry cloth dish towels?--PLEASE.)
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
page1 2 3 next