Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3

Towels cut from cotton flour sacks were once used for all kinds of household tasks - from drying dishes and polishing glassware to straining foods and covering rising dough. A longstanding customer favorite, our oversized towels are woven from unbleached organic cotton that is extra soft, absorbent and lint free. You'll find endless uses for them as an alternative to paper towels. Machine-wash. 30" sq. Imported. Set of three. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
2.809 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
(21 Reviews) 21
10 of 21(48%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
Review 1 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May 9, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite dish towels
May 9, 2016
I highly recommend these! Machine wash & dry makes them easy to maintain. They are soft enough and absorbent enough to use on anything - even my nice wine glasses or crystal.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Quality
Review 2 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New Braunfels
,TX
February 28, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
new and improved!!!
February 28, 2016
I've been using flour sack cloths from William Sonoma for over 40 years. Because of all the negativity I hesitated to order again but did. The towels that came were heavier and bigger. They feel like a flour sack material should. I use mine for everything but drying dishes, however I suspect with frequent washings they will become softer and even more absorbent. I did wipe a spill on my counter and it did fine. I think William Sonoma has made positive changes. I did check where the new towels were made - Pakistan. I also checked an older towel which I agree is flimsier that ones I bought years ago and they were made in China. This could explain why the quality in the towels was substandard for awhile. Anyway, I'm glad to have back towels that remind me of the first I ever bought. Thank you William Sonoma.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Durable, Versatile, Quality, Size, Weight, Strength
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
dollie
Posted March 29, 2016
REALLY? ABSORBANT??
I hate to tell you, but the ones that I reviewed ARE from Pakistan, and they are VERY thin!!! It takes me 3-4 times to wipe my table, counter, dishes, to get them dry. As I originally said, they are horrible!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Greensboro
,GA
February 25, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Everyday Towel
February 25, 2016
Although this towel was not on my favorite list when first purchased, I have come to love it. When first purchased, it was not very absorbent so I mainly used it for a counter cover to place cleaned vegetables on for drying which eliminated ever using a paper towel again. The more I have used them, the more soft and absorbent they have become. I now use these towels for everything. As with most new things in the kitchen it can take some experimenting but with this you won't regret.
Pros: Durable, Versatile, Design, Quality, Weight, Strength
Cons: initially difficult to use
Review 4 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
January 5, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NOT ABSORBANT!
January 5, 2016
These towels might be ok for wiping your hands or picking up a hot handle, but as far as absorbancy is concerned, they are the WORST towels I have ever purchased, and I am a frequent customer of all things Williams-Sonoma! They just move the liquid around a table and I have to continually wipe back and forth numerous times until dry. I have many flour sack towels that are not W.S. brand and they are 100% better than these that cost much more. Do not purchase if you want a towel to dry dishes, or wipe dry anything for you will be very disappointed!
Pros: Size
Cons: not absorbant
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
mandya1208
Atlanta, Ga
Posted March 25, 2016
Wash and then they'll work!
Organic cotton and any natural fiber needs to be "prepped" to wash off natural oils that inhibit absorbency. Once these are washed about 10 times ( just keep throwing them in with your next laundry load) they'll be extremely absorbent.
0points
Customer avatar
Ann608
Madison, WI
Posted January 18, 2016
Did you wash first?
I'm considering purchasing these towels. I'm wondering if you washed and dried these before first use?
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 5 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,New Bern
,NC
November 28, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
my favorite cleanup cloths
November 28, 2015
These towels are ideal for anyone who cooks a lot. Perfect for cleaning the water spots from my all clad stainless pots and pans, because I prefer hand washing them.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Quality, Size, Strength
Review 6 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,New York
,NY
November 17, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My Favorite Towel
November 17, 2015
This is a excellent towel, very well made, absorbent and dries everything lint free!
Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Quality, Size, Strength
Review 7 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
October 3, 2015
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for drying dishes
October 3, 2015
These towels work great for drying dishes! I've been using flour sack towels for a while, and these are much better quality than the ones I picked up at a big box store.
Pros: Quality
Review 8 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Boise
,Id
July 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great towels
July 4, 2015
These towels are great for drying. They are large and absorbent. They are great for glassware as well as a quick dry on pans. I love them.i can bleach them, too.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Durable, Quality, Size, Strength
Review 9 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Nampa
,ID
Nampa, ID
January 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
8of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing
January 22, 2015
I was totally surprised when I received the flour sack towels. They are so loosely woven, I doubt they would hold much flour. The towels are more like a semi-fine cheese cloth. I was hoping after washing, they would shrink enough to close the weave, but they didn't. Being a William Sonoma brand, I expected a quality product, not substandard. Please, William Sonoma, do not let your standards fall, it's hard to find companies that keep up their standards any more.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Size
Cons: Quality, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChuckieW
Orlando, Florida
Posted April 26, 2015
Love the sack towel
I always have one of these towels over my shoulder when I am in the kitchen. The weave is perfect for an overall use and the loose weave is perfect. I don't think they are to replace the heavier kitchen towels, I love these and the size is nice too.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Sonoma
,Ca
December 29, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
7of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Expensive, non-absorbent, poor quality
December 29, 2014
Not up to snuff from what I would expect from Williams Sonoma (or their staff) I was told these are absorbent good quality flour sack towels, they are not. Will never purchase them again.
Cons: Quality, price
Review 11 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Altamonte Springs
,FL
November 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
13of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
GET THE OLD ONES BACK!
November 23, 2014
For years I gave these towels to everyone I knew. They were raved about and people always wanted more. Since you have changed the "brand" no one wants these anymore as gifts from me! They are thin, don't absorb and are not even and attractive to look at. I am constantly on the lookout for someone that carries the ones that that Williams carried years ago.
Review 12 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Hartfore
,ct
December 28, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+14points
14of 14found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
not up to par
December 28, 2013
I purchased these towels, thinking they would be a good product and boy was I wrong. They are thin and do not absorb any water. They just smeared the water over the dishes. Because of this I do not use these towels and will not buy them again. I will stick with the waffle weave towels.
Review 13 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Thousand Oaks
,CA
March 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+29points
29of 29found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So disappointed with ''new'' towels
March 11, 2013
I thought it was just me, but as I was about to buy more of my favorite dish towels, I saw the new reviews and must agree with them. The ''new'' version of these towels is terrible! I have ''old'' ones that are still going strong and the ones I bought last year are already falling apart. They are thin and are soaked with water after drying only a few dishes. Bring back the ''old'' towels, WIlliams-Sonoma! Until then, I need to look elsewhere.
Cons: Quality, durability, non-absorbant
Review 14 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
January 28, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
+20points
20of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bummer organic four sack towels
January 28, 2013
I received these as a gift from a friend who has raved forever about these - I have to agree with the other negative reviewers - maybe a new grade of cotton but they DO NOT ABSORB - period.....waste of money
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lindyks3
FL
Posted March 29, 2013
Flour Sack Towels
I agree with this review. I still have some of the older version towels and they have a much nicer texture and feel than the newer ones. And the newer ones are not lasting as long.
I think changing the towels and calling therm "organic" is just a way to make a cheaper towel and push it off as special.
BRING BACK THE ONES YOU MADE IN THE 90'S! THANKS.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Coral Gables
,FL
December 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+22points
23of 24found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
They've changed.
December 3, 2012
Have been using these towels in my home for over 15 years. I buy on an average a pack every couple of months and this last set I purchased before the Thanksgiving holiday were a disappointment. They are not absorbent. I thought that it might be because they needed to be washed first so we did and the same result no absorption. This packet is made from organic cotton. They simply do not do the same job as the old ones that were sold, made simply of 100% cotton.
Cons: Quality, don't absorb
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Posted December 12, 2012
Tried boiling them?
Organic cotton generally needs to be boiled before use to become absorbent because of the natural occurring oils in the cotton fabric. Once boiled, the oils are released and the cotton becomes absorbent.
Non-organic cotton is usually so heavily processed that the oils are already broken down.
+4points
4of 4found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Weatherford
,OK
Weatherford, OK
November 12, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great dishtowels!
November 12, 2012
These have been the ONLY dishtowels used in my house since the mid 1970's. They are simply the best available!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Strength
Review 17 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Santa Ana
,CA
September 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+26points
27of 28found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What happened to the old Flour Sack Towels?
September 23, 2012
I will add my voice to the growing chorus and say - has anyone at Williams Sonoma actually tried the current version of your flour sack towels? They are quite a disappointment and definitely not the same as you used to carry. Williams Sonoma was always my "go to" place for these flour sack towels which I have used for as long as I can remember. I would never purchase anything but these particular towels. If you don't bring back flour sack towels that actually dry glassware and dishes and have the same quality as before, I'm afraid I will have to begin hunting for a new source. Please, I used to love these towels. My recent shipment was a major disappointment.
Hope you listen to the other reviewers. We are just the few that are taking the time to tell you these are problematic...others just won't buy them again. Thanks.
Cons: Quality, not absorbent
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
lindyks3
FL
Posted March 29, 2013
Flour Sack Towels
Again, I agree with this review totally!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Ft. Lauderdale
,FL
July 28, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Dish Towels!!
July 28, 2012
I find these towels, wonderful. Extremely large and absorbent. They are a must for every kitchen!
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size
Review 19 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
March 4, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+18points
19of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the same
March 4, 2012
As many, many previous reviewers have stated...these are NOT the same towels! I have been buying these for years and have turned so many people on to them, but this last set I purchased are not at all the same. These are thin and cheap looking/feeling. I'm so glad I still have 2 old towels left because I've thrown away this last set. I really hope you bring back the old towels that everyone loves.
Cons: Quality, durability
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
BetsyBee
Norwalk, CT
Posted June 29, 2012
Thank you...
Grateful for your taking the tme to write. I had ordered "flour sack towels" from Amazon and they were junk. Thought Wm Sonoma would be the place. Will check Vermont Country Store next. Nothing is as good as a real flour sack towel. We use them as, among other things, bibs for my 93 year old mother-in-law, held at the neck by a clothes pin.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Organic Flour Sack Kitchen Towel, Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Niwot
,CO
February 16, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+13points
14of 15found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Thin as cheesecloth!
February 16, 2012
I have been purchasing the WS flour sack kitchen towels for years and have absolutely loved the quality. Recently, I purchased a new set of 3, and I can tell you that the quality is poor compared to the previous sets. They are as thin as cheesecloth and won't last very long at all. In addition, after one washing, they became an irregular shape. I'm terribly disappointed with the change. Please, WS, bring back the older ones!
Cons: Quality
page1 2 next