This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree

Butternut squash has been a favorite on generations of autumn menus-including ours. To help busy cooks streamline prep, we've crafted a velvety puree from ripe organic Oregon squash, gently cooked to preserve its natural goodness. Brown sugar, herbs and spices bring out the rich, buttery flavors. A recipe for butternut squash soup is included, but you can use our timesaving blend in any recipe that calls for pureed butternut squash. 32 oz. Made in USA. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.026 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 76
59 of 76(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
DivotDiva
,Mililani
,HI
October 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Just Make the Original Butternut Puree
October 11, 2012
A few years ago W-S made a plain butternut puree which was fantastic for making soup, risotto, etc. The past few years they have replaced it with this one that contains cinnamon and it is sweeter. Please just offer the original so that people can make up their own mind how much spice or sugar to add to recipes. I threw mine out as it was way too sweet and tasted of too much cinnamon for soup.
Pros: Amount, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
swarner
,Greensboro
,NC
November 20, 2011
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Great for Cooking With!
November 20, 2011
I used this puree to make the Butternut Squash Risotto listed under the Recipes tab. In a word: WOW! Even though this puree is slightly sweet due to the spices it is extremely versatile and with the right ingredients and seasonings that sweetness will disappear! I will be using this with any additional butternut squash recipes I come across as this is so much easier to use than roasting/steaming and mashing the squash yourself. I wish WIlliams-Sonoma would feature this as a regular item since they have a sure seller with this product.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor, Healthy
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sysko
,Bend
,OR
November 9, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Very disappointing
November 9, 2011
I'm a huge WS foodie and was delighted to see this new treat in the store recently. I bought two jars, only to find, after opening and tasting the first that it was thin in flavor, lacking any butternut squash characteristic and acrid on the tongue. I gave WS the benefit of the doubt anyway and prepared the Butternut Squash soup as directed; one taste and I dumped the whole pot. The $17 price tag is what finished off my "distaste"! I'm not one of those picky, nose-in-the air eaters or cooks. My closest WS is three hours away, but I will definitely be returning the second jar next time I'm in town. Save your money and use the real thing.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, Flavor, price
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Sysko
Bend, OR
Posted November 13, 2011
Correction
I had the price incorrectly listed - it is $13.00.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chidmd
,Chicago
,IL
September 20, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Absolutely Delicious!!
September 20, 2011
The easiest way to make a delicious and unforgetable butternut squash soup. i started out using it only when having guests over...but is now a staple in my pantry. Since it is only available seasonally, I make sure to stock up for use all year long.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Easy to Prepare, Authentic, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
severlupe
st. louis
January 17, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
A Pantry Must Have
January 17, 2011
Incredibly versatile, for soups, sauces, and even as is. Delicious - wish this was available all year long
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SouperStar
Jackson, MS
January 4, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Suprisingly Impressed
January 4, 2011
After making soup from the recipe on the jar, I was happy when my husband said "man, this is really good."
I immediately called the closest store and yes, they were completely out of this product.
Please consider making this a permanent selection from your store/catalog products.
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kysa
Bakersfield, CA
December 30, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Loved it!!
December 30, 2010
I made this today using the soup recipe on the label. I served it to my 5 friends & we all loved it. I topped each bowl with a drizzle of cream, it looked very festive. I was sad to see that it's no longer available. Please bring it back, sooner than next Fall?
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
souplady
Santa Clarita
November 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
delicious soup additive
November 19, 2010
I have made alot of soups in my day, but the soup I made today using your Organic Butternut Squash Puree was absolutely the best flavored and smelling soup, I have ever made. My whole family devoured it heartily, and my picky eating daughter had to eat two bowls of it. It is really great tasting. Thank you.
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Sjk00
Philadelphia, PA
November 14, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Like old recipe much more
November 14, 2010
I agree with many of the other reviewers. I liked the old, plain squash, puree. Please bring it back!
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Keelie
Centennial
November 8, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Too sweet for soup
November 8, 2010
I was so excited to try this product. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed by the sickeningly sweet taste of the soup. I served it to 6 people and not one of them cared for it. I followed the directions on the jar exactly. Not sure I will try another WS base as the price didn't reflect the taste.
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bestcookinworld
Grapevine, TX
October 21, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Wonderful Soup Base
October 21, 2010
I use this butternut squash puree as a base for my Caribbean spice soup with rice. My family can't get enough. It adds so much richness and is easier than cooking and pureeing squash. I keep several on hand all fall.
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CottageDarling
San Leandro, CA
October 10, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Absolutely Divine
October 10, 2010
I'm a big fan of a good butternut squash soup. I'll drive long distances to lovely restaurants during the fall season for a good warm bowl. I was intrigued when the puree came out. Would I REALLY like it? I'm not one to like many canned goods. We are a from scratch sort of family. I followed the recipe as written on the side of the jar. Took me less than 20 minutes to cook up. My husband, a meat loving hungry man, is asking for seconds. The jar says six servings but that's got to be someone else's family. I have purchased jars as gifts for my foodie friends.
Review 13 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sassy09
nc
October 9, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Delicious and easy to use
October 9, 2010
This puree is easy to add to recipes. The butternut squash casserole recipe WS provides is outstanding and even my kids will eat this. I wish it was available year round. I highly recommend.
Review 14 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
abRN
Clarksville, TN
October 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Perfect fall soup
October 6, 2010
Used this puree to make the soup suggested on the jar last night for my fiance and I. It's hearty, easy to make, and makes the home smell so inviting. I will be purchasing again many times in the future!
Review 15 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Elisabetta
Chicago, IL
September 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
A great Fall starter
September 19, 2010
A very easy soup to make with minimal ingredients. The soup tasted fresh and the seasonings were great. I am ordering more and am considering it for a first course for Thanksgiving.
Review 16 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ingalaxy
San Diego, CA
January 19, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
YUMMY!
January 19, 2010
I made the soup recipe that is on the jar and it was fabulous. It is very important to me to purchase organic products. In addition to being healthy and scrumptious, what makes this puree so great is that I don't have to peel and cut butternut squash when I want to make a quick and delicious soup. Thanks Williams-Sonoma, the puree is worth every penny.
Review 17 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satiated
Westfield, NJ
January 6, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Excellent Soup
January 6, 2010
Using the recipe on the side of the jar, this puree made an excellent soup. The soup was tasty with a wonderful texture. Made into soup in no time.
Review 18 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SeeYa
USA
January 5, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great cold day pick me up
January 5, 2010
We had this at Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I have this when it is really cold out side and it picks me up. A sweet and savory soup. I also made butternut squash bread with it and gave to neighbors at Christmas. They loved it.
Review 19 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
doublebara
Lawton, OK
December 31, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Can't get enough of this soup
December 31, 2009
I really like this soup! It's not bitter, in fact it's just slightly sweet if you follow the directions to the letter. I've had homemade and it's fantastic, but I don't cook, so this is absolutely perfect for me. My only regret is that I didn't buy more while I had the chance!
Review 20 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SallyS
Parkland, Florida
December 27, 2009
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Wow what a Soup
December 27, 2009
I made Butternut Squash Soup with Pears and it was a sensation at our Christmas dinner! I skipped adding proscuitto as was indicated in the recipe. The red pears gave it a fabulous flavor and the squash puree made it so easy. I chose to use non fat half and half instead of heavy cream as a healthier alternative. It is really one of the best soups you will ever make!! This is the second time I've made it and it will not be the last.
page1 2 3 4 next