Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree

Butternut squash has been a favorite on generations of autumn menus-including ours. To help busy cooks streamline prep, we've crafted a velvety puree from ripe organic Oregon squash, gently cooked to preserve its natural goodness. Brown sugar, herbs and spices bring out the rich, buttery flavors. A recipe for butternut squash soup is included, but you can use our timesaving blend in any recipe that calls for pureed butternut squash. 2 lb. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
2 out of 5
2
 out of 
5
(5 Reviews) 5
1 of 5(20%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,MD
November 22, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Bring back the original version
November 22, 2015
With the original version, you had the extra steps of adding onion and then using a blender or hand mixer if you wanted it to be smooth, but it tasted wonderful. The new version is faster, but very thin and sour. I made it edible by adding ginger, curry and 2 teaspoons of sugar. We loved the old version, so this was a major disappointment.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, Texture
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Brooklyn
,NY
November 14, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
WHAT HAPPENED?
November 14, 2015
The original Butternut Squash Puree was excellent and made a fabulous soup. This new iteration has a metallic, sour taste. I tried to make a batch to freeze for Thanksgiving and I'm about to toss it. Horrible. Please bring back your original BS Puree. I bought 2 and don't know what to do with 2nd jar.
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor, metallic sour taste
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Winnemucca
,NV
December 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for Lasagna
December 10, 2014
This stuff is so good. I have made Butternut Squash Lasagna with this product and it always turns out excellent. Thanks for such a wonderful product. Hopefully you will have more next year.
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,King George
,VA
December 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
4of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Salty taste, squash?
December 4, 2014
This is a thin soup, which is ok, but the flavor is strange. Tastes like it's heavily salted and tangy. Not what you'd expect from a squash soup. We got two jars, used one for soup, and didn't feel like finishing that. Waste of calories. Love Williams-Sonoma but this product is a clinker.
Pros: Amount, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Flavor
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma Organic Butternut Squash Puree
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Mililani
,HI
October 11, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+19points
21of 23found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just Make the Original Butternut Puree
October 11, 2012
A few years ago W-S made a plain butternut puree which was fantastic for making soup, risotto, etc. The past few years they have replaced it with this one that contains cinnamon and it is sweeter. Please just offer the original so that people can make up their own mind how much spice or sugar to add to recipes. I threw mine out as it was way too sweet and tasted of too much cinnamon for soup.
Pros: Amount, Time-saver
Cons: Disappointing, Ingredients, Flavor