The Orange Chef Co. Prep Pad

Make prep ultra-efficient with the Prep Pad-the smart food scale that gives you real-time, graphic insight into the nutrition of the food you eat. Designed for use with the intuitive Countertop app for the iPad(R), this innovative scale makes it easy to plan meals, personalize nutrition goals and customize ingredients to reach your dietary objectives. Compatible with iPad(R) 3 and 4, iPad mini(TM) and iPad Air(TM). At the touch of a single button, Prep Pad wirelessly pairs with the Countertop app to help you navigate, save and share your kitchen endeavors. Personalize the Countertop app and the Prep Pad to fit your dietary goals using simple settings and profile preferences. Adjust your meal by adding or removing ingredients and fine-tuning portion size to easily reach your personalized goals. Countertop app pulls from a database of over 300,000 foods to provide a complete picture of your meal or snack and provides meal-by-meal data you can use to create an eating routine. Vibrant graphic illustrations of proteins, carbs, fats and other nutrients let you instantly see how they impact the nutritional balance of your meal. Top surface is made from a durable recycled paper composite that easily wipes clean-and can be sanitized when needed. Carved from a single piece of aluminum, this scale is compact enough to be stored anywhere. Weighs up to 15 lb. (6.8 kg.) of food at a time. NSF-certified scale meets the high-level hygiene standards for professional kitchens. Designed in California and made in USA by a company committed to hands-on product development, state-of-the-art quality and eco-friendly business practices.
Average Customer Rating:
3.333 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
3 of 6(50%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for The Orange Chef Co. Prep Pad
Review 1 for The Orange Chef Co. Prep Pad
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
HappyHippo
,Houston
,TX
Houston, Texas
August 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth it
August 21, 2014
Did not like it at all. I can do the same with just a good quality kitchen scale in less time than it takes to figure out the app. There are no instructions except for the video and quite frankly it does not work as portrayed on the video. Mine is going back.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Quality, Temperamental
Review 2 for The Orange Chef Co. Prep Pad
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Feejr
,Canton
,MI
May 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good idea, room for improvement
May 18, 2014
Pros
The option to add a photo with your meal.
I really like the fact that I can use this to accurately determine the calorie amount for fruits and vegetables. I have always had a hard time using measuring cups for these items as leafy greens can be compact and fruits can vary in size.
Cons:
As far as I can tell there is not a way to add a food that is not in the database. I have scanned bar codes without success. Users should be able to add foods.
Adding an item without weighing--if you want to add water, etc. to a recipe. This is just a small inconvenience.
Tracking mechanism could be friendlier. It would be nice if it integrated with other apps. I found myself copying the info from this app to myfitnesspal because I want to track activity as well.
Only 3 meals and 1 snack for tracking. It would be nice if this were customizable.
Also, the app crashes A LOT.
With some improvements this will be a great tool, but I am undecided on whether or not it was worth the cost.
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental
Review 3 for The Orange Chef Co. Prep Pad
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Surfperch
,Ocean Park
,WA
May 8, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
3of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't use it as a scale
May 8, 2014
I returned it. The nutritional information was good, and I loved that it interfaces with the iPad. But I use my food scale all the time to just weigh things, in both grams and ounces, and this just doesn't do this. My Salter Nutri-Weigh does the weighing part better, but doesn't interface with the iPad. I don't have enough room for both.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design
Cons: cant't just simply weigh things
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Surfperch
Posted September 29, 2014
I was wrong
After reading what was added to my comment, I bought the Prep Pad again and have been using it since. It does function as a scale and does it just fine.
0points
Customer avatar
TheOrangeChefCo
San Francisco
Posted September 26, 2014
Scale Mode
Prep Pad has a scale mode since this comment was made. It includes Tare, Hold and Unit functions, so you can cook and bake with accuracy while still being able to keep a close watch on nutrition.
It also has the added benefit of being displayed on your iPad or iPhone so the food you're weighing never covers up the weight, Prep Pad handles up to 15 lbs of weight and you still have access to nutritional information if you need it.
0points
Customer avatar
TheOrangeChefCo
San Francisco
Posted May 13, 2014
Grams, Ounces and Calories
You can toggle between grams, ounces and calories! Just tap on the number to the right of "My Meal" and it will swap between your options.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 4 for The Orange Chef Co. Prep Pad
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KevinB
,New York
,NY
April 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing product, great design
April 28, 2014
I love my prep pad! I enjoy using it every week in the kitchen, measuring my caloric intake, and sharing new recipes with my family. I'd recommend for anyone who loves to spend time in the kitchen and is interested in cooking smarter. Its fun and easy to use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accuracy, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 5 for The Orange Chef Co. Prep Pad
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Breadandbutter
,San Francisco
March 11, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
8of 8found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is fantastic!
March 11, 2014
This has been so helpful in portioning out meals and snacks for my family. It is easy to use, and the app is really intuitive. It is amazing to see the nutritional content of homemade meals, and I love that I can adjust my ingredients to meet my goals. I recommend this to EVERYONE. I also bought the stand, and love that I can throw it in the dishwasher- they also sell sleeves to protect your iPad while you're cooking. Genius.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Review 6 for The Orange Chef Co. Prep Pad
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Coastinganon
,Boston
,MA
February 28, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
-13points
4of 21found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Check your iPad before purchase!!
February 28, 2014
So sad - I was so excited to use this and it came and it turns out you need an iPad 3 or higher to run the app. I am so disappointed. I can't afford a new iPad, but I am heartbroken to return this.
Cons: discriminatory against not-that-old technology
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
tanderson4
Rancho Mirage, CA
Posted May 8, 2014
Bluetooth LE Needed
It isn't that they're trying to be discriminatory. This device uses Bluetooth LE (Low Energy) to communicate with the iPad, and that only became available in the iPad3 and newer. Sadly, technology changes, and it can be expensive to keep up. If it didn't use Bluetooth LE, it would probably eat batteries, and you would be unhappy with its short battery life.
0points
Customer avatar
dnkmmw
Chicago, IL
Posted April 5, 2014
Description was clear
I don't think it's fair that a negative product review was posted by someone who didn't even use the product. The description was clear about the technology requirements.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)