Olivewood Salt Keeper

Beautiful and practical, this box keeps up to 8 oz. of cooking salt within close reach. Handcrafted of richly grained olive wood with an oil finish, it has a swiveling magnetic lid for easy one-handed access. Carved from olive wood, each box has a unique grain pattern. Swiveling lid with magnetic latch keeps salt fresh and dry while allowing easy one-handed access. Stainless-steel hinge resists corrosion. Handcrafted by Berard, maker of fine wood products since 1892. May be engraved with a single- or triple-initial monogram.
Average Customer Rating:
4.848 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(33 Reviews) 33
33 of 33(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Olivewood Salt Keeper
Review 1 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dvious
,San Diego
,CA
July 20, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Kitchen Must
July 20, 2014
For avid home cooks, this salt keeper is a must. It's just the right size to always keep on your kitchen countertop. I think the design is simply perfect!
I also purchased this for my sister a few Christmases ago and when I asked her later how she was enjoying her gift, she goes, "I love it! It's such a beautiful jewelry case." LOL! I had to tell her it's a salt keeper!!! I guess it just goes to show you that this salt keeper is lovely enough to store your jewelry in!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 2 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cake88
,East point
,GA
July 18, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Exactly what I wanted
July 18, 2014
This looks exactly like I'd hoped...nice enough to leave on my (minimalist) counter. I've put a mixture of salt and ground pepper in it, so I have my basic seasoning readily accessible.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Design
Review 3 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrswrence
,Klein
,TX
Houston, TX
July 11, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So beautiful
July 11, 2014
This salt keeper is beautiful and works well. It is an attractive addition to any kitchen! My first one had a small crack in the wood and ended up splitting. However, WS took care of me as usual, and exchanged it for a new one. I definitely recommend keeping it oiled so the wood doesn't dry out.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 4 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LissasKitchen
,Farmvill
,Va
November 9, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fresh Salt, awesome design!
November 9, 2013
Love this container! Only complaint is that we chose the cursive font for the monogram with the dark wood and slender font it doesn't make a statement, use a bold font, I wish this product had that as a suggestions when purchasing!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: use bold monogram!
Review 5 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Molly0812
,Cleveland
,OH
October 8, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Beautiful!
October 8, 2013
This salt keeper is really beautiful sitting on our counter and I love that the lid just slides over vs. coming off.
Definitely worth the cost!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Weight
Review 6 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amy55
,Long Grove
,Il
September 23, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Waited to long to get a great salt keeper.
September 23, 2013
This salt keeper is a small work of art. It is so pretty and it is made so well, so easy to slide open and will not spill if tipped, we love it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 7 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Magic10
,Willoughby
,OH
September 19, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks beautiful on my counter!!
September 19, 2013
I bought three of these as gifts. The olive wood is beautiful and when I use it I feel like a real chef.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Review 8 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TrapperJoe
,Hammondsport
,NY
September 10, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Salt & Pepper Keepers!
September 10, 2013
Bought two--one for salt and one for pepper.Very handy when you need a pinch of salt or pepper while cooking. Love the way the top snaps closed with the magnetic latch.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
LEDY
FLORIDA
Posted October 23, 2013
salt and pepper keepers
I HAD THIS SALT AND PEPPER KEEPER FOR MORE THAN A YEAR AND USE IT AND OUT OF THE SUDDEN THE WOOD IS CRACK AND DWARD AND THE LID DONT CLOSE GOOD . CAN SOME BODY TELL ME WHAT WENT WRONG WITH THIS ITEM THIE WHOLE KEEPER IS CRACK AND I HAVE THE BOX TOO . THANKS VERY MUCH
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vickchickia
,Tulsa
,OK
August 13, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mi fa ricordare Italia!
August 13, 2013
I had been wanting this little extravagance for several years and finally sprang for it. I was not disappointed. I filled it with my favorite coarse kosher salt and find myself using it all the time. Such a beautifully crafted product, and I recommend that you get the monogram....it adds SO MUCH! It puts me in mind of my beloved Italy (Mi fa ricordare Italia). In fatti, I plan to order one for my son who is soon to graduate from culinary school (he loved mine). Instead of salt, I will tuck a nice check inside.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Size, Design
Review 10 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
KatherineT
,TN
July 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nice, But Watch Out for Defects
July 31, 2013
I was excited to get this product after several incidents where my son knocked our salt container off the table and spilled it all over the floor. However, I was extremely disappointed with the first salt keeper that arrived. It had a very large knot in the side that had split open and obviously been filled with wood filler. This made a not very nice looking piece which is not acceptable for something of this price.
Fortunately, when I contacted W-S, they were extremely helpful in facilitating an exchange and the new salt pot we received was very nice. We use it every day to store Maldon salt for the table and are very happy with its ease of use, capacity, and ability to stay closed if it is knocked over.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size
Cons: Quality
Review 11 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SpiceyItalian
,Syracuse
,NY
July 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Just what I've been looking for..
July 21, 2013
This salt keeper is exactly what I've been looking for to keep my kosher salt in. I like it because it has a cover to it and the grain of the wood is very pretty and looks good sitting on my counter top..Also, once I placed my order, it came within 4 days.. I would absolutely recommend this to anyone who is looking for something to store their salt in.. Definitely a keeper..
Ramona
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MCorbin
,Piscataway
,NJ
Hoboken, NJ
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the $$
July 17, 2013
Everytime I went into Williams-Sonoma I always caught myself looking at this salt keeper. Finally, I bought it. I always felt the price for this was "salty" but after I bought it, I was not disappointed. It looks great on the countertop and the top easily slides open and shut. If I am in a pinch and need a pinch, I already have grinded up salt in the keeper. For those who love to be in the kitchen, this is a great addition!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 13 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RenoFoodie
,Reno
,NV
July 16, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A must have
July 16, 2013
Looks great on the counter and opens easily with one hand. It's the perfect place to store your Kosher salt. I don't have to drag out that 3LB box anymore.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Design
Review 14 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
GraftonG
,Grafton
,WI
June 20, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
we really should wait to review but
June 20, 2013
After much going back and forth with myself I decided to bite the bullet and pay for the nicer salt keeper.
The one I received had a flaw due to the grain of the wood so I've had to send it back for a replacement. I'll have to reserve some stars until I see the new one but it worked easily and is the right size for next to my stove. I loved the swivel lid to stop grease and/or dust getting into the salt.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, Weight
Review 15 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NextDoorFoodie
,Morgantown
,WV
May 12, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great gift idea!
May 12, 2013
I love mine... Beautiful enough to sit out on my counter top. The wood feels great and sturdy. Makes a great gift for the person who has everything. Have it monogrammed and they will think of you every time they use it. Even if the recipient isn't a cook there a hundreds of uses for it. Great gift idea for a crafter (a place to store beads or supplies) or can be used to hold jewelry and such.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Review 16 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rkute
,yorba linda
,ca
Fullerton, CA
April 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
what a beauty
April 22, 2013
Very beautiful salt keeper. I just let it hang out on my counter to show it off! The texture of the wood is amazing.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Design
Review 17 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GigiMor
,NYC
January 26, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Gorgeous Keeper
January 26, 2013
I received this as a wedding gift -- it wasn't even on my registry. But it's turned out to be something we use everyday, looks pretty on the counter, and the swivel tout is convenient. Salt keeps well, never gets clumpy.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Design
Review 18 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ContentedCook
,Independence
,mo
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love gift - would have liked monogram
January 3, 2013
The only downside is that when I bought it, monograming was not available. But the keeper is beautiful - I use it daily and just love the look and feel of the wood. I redeemed a birthday gift card for it and am SO happy with my decision...and it makes me think of my daughter each time I use it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: couldn't get monogram
Review 19 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
oldechef
,Kissimmee
,FL
October 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
in use constantly
October 19, 2012
This is a beautiful addition to my cooking counter space. The wood isperfect and the monogram classic.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Design
Review 20 for Olivewood Salt Keeper
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Atlanta
,GA
October 17, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Can't put salt in it
October 17, 2012
because it is too beautiful to keep in the kitchen...
Absolutely gorgeous. This has become a jewelry box in the bedroom.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight, piece of art
Cons: none
page1 2 next