William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder

Nutmeg tastes best when it's freshly grated, and a little bit of this aromatic spice goes a long way. This tool makes it easy to grate just the right amount. Finely grates fresh nutmeg in the desired amount. Easier and safer to use than handheld graters. Razor-sharp stainless-steel rotary blades. Simple hand-crank operation. Top doubles as a storage compartment for whole nutmegs. Crafted in the USA by William Bounds, a family-owned company that has been making specialized kitchen tools of enduring quality for more than 40 years.
Average Customer Rating:
4.111 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
6 of 9(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
Review 1 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CAspicy
,Ramona
,CA
June 22, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
20 years and still sharp!
June 22, 2014
Excellent quality and easy to use. Unlike many kitchen "gadgets" this is a very practical instrument and you will find yourself using it more than you might think. I've had mine for over 20 years now and it's still super sharp and shaves the nutmeg perfectly.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 2 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MacGuffin
,NYC
December 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Neither Grater Nor Grinder
December 31, 2013
A distinction needs to be made here. This is a nutmeg MILL and the method by which it reduces whole nutmegs is SHAVING. If you want GROUND nutmeg, either use a spice grinder or buy your nutmeg pre-ground. That said, I happen to love shaved nutmeg and always use it in place of ground in recipes that call for it.
I bought my William Bounds Nutmeg Mill many years ago and given that the product is still U.S.A.-made, I can't conceive of its quality having deteriorated. Mine is a heavy-duty mill that continues to work perfectly and I have no reason to expect that it won't continue to do so. Be advised that at some point, you'll need to flip your partially shaved nutmeg 180º and that you'll have to place a new nutmeg on the leavings of its predecessor in order to get it to mill completely.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
debb281
Dickinson TX
Posted October 8, 2014
How to use?
I couldnt get it do anything, is the foam thing supposed to stay in there? either way it didnt shave the nutmeg. i figured next time i'm at w/s i'd ask them to show me.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RenoFoodie
,NV
December 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Threw it away
December 20, 2013
Didn't work like I hoped. You can't get the whole nutmeg to grind down. Purchase a grater for half the price and you'd be better off.
Cons: Size
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 4 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoraeS
April 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good nutmeg grinder if you have fresh nutmegs
April 11, 2013
I love the results I get with this grinder as much as I did grinding with a microplaner -- except now I The Accident-Prone am no longer scared I'll hurt my fingers. I found the nutmegs that came with it less than fresh, and anyway wanted to wash the grinder before use, so I discarded those nutmegs and the foam, washed and dried completely, then easily inserted just one Williams-Sonoma nutmeg. One is all I'll use at one time anyway, and I'll keep the rest fresh in the Williams-Sonoma jar...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 5 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Homebody
,Morro Bay
,CA
Morro Bay, CA
April 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very handy
April 10, 2013
You can store extra nutmegs in the top., Works well, no more stale nutmeg. And it's made in the USA.
Review 6 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ltsuruda
,Boston
,MA
February 19, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nutmeg Grinder Makes Grating Safe & Easy
February 19, 2013
This specialize gadget improves the mundane task of grating nutmeg by making it safer (no accidentally grated fingers), hygienic, and easier to produce large quantities of freshly grated nutmeg without risking dropping any nutmegs. Just rotate the handle after loading a nutmeg from the convenient storage chamber.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 7 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ElizLS
,Boston
,MA
Boston, MA
November 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for what it is
November 4, 2012
I had wanted a nutmeg grinder since a friend's mom showed me hers and how easy it was to use. When I finally received, I loved it and had no issues. Yes, the acrylic top is a bit tricky to get back on (you have to line up the notches and push down/twist simoultaneously), but if you remove the foam inside, the issues with large nutmegs goes aways (ie. everything fits easily). I also store it in a small Pyrex or William-Sonoma glass bowl in the cabinet to prevent the residue from tracking everywhere. As one reviewer said though, if you have always perferred a microplane to grate your nutmeg, most likely you won't like this. But if you hated a microplane, this tool will be a godsend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store
Cons: Temperamental
Review 8 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
number1baba
,mn
April 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nutmeg grinder
April 27, 2012
The grinder works great no problems. I do, like others, wish it had some sort of cap to fit on the bottom because it does leave little shavings where ever it is set.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: Difficult to Store, should have a cap to set it in to contain shavings
Review 9 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
yara
,westfield
,nJ
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice gadget, but doesn't work
January 6, 2012
It is easier for me to use a grater than to struggle with this grinder. Great look though.
Cons: Difficult to Use