William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder

Nutmeg tastes best when it's freshly grated, and a little bit of this aromatic spice goes a long way. This tool makes it easy to grate just the right amount. Finely grates fresh nutmeg in the desired amount. Easier and safer to use than handheld graters. Razor-sharp stainless-steel rotary blades. Simple hand-crank operation. Top doubles as a storage compartment for whole nutmegs. Crafted in the USA by William Bounds, a family-owned company that has been making specialized kitchen tools of enduring quality for more than 40 years.
Average Customer Rating:
3.551 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
33 of 49(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
Review 1 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MacGuffin
,NYC
December 31, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Neither Grater Nor Grinder
December 31, 2013
A distinction needs to be made here. This is a nutmeg MILL and the method by which it reduces whole nutmegs is SHAVING. If you want GROUND nutmeg, either use a spice grinder or buy your nutmeg pre-ground. That said, I happen to love shaved nutmeg and always use it in place of ground in recipes that call for it.
I bought my William Bounds Nutmeg Mill many years ago and given that the product is still U.S.A.-made, I can't conceive of its quality having deteriorated. Mine is a heavy-duty mill that continues to work perfectly and I have no reason to expect that it won't continue to do so. Be advised that at some point, you'll need to flip your partially shaved nutmeg 180º and that you'll have to place a new nutmeg on the leavings of its predecessor in order to get it to mill completely.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 2 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
RenoFoodie
,NV
December 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Threw it away
December 20, 2013
Didn't work like I hoped. You can't get the whole nutmeg to grind down. Purchase a grater for half the price and you'd be better off.
Cons: Size
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 3 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LoraeS
April 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good nutmeg grinder if you have fresh nutmegs
April 11, 2013
I love the results I get with this grinder as much as I did grinding with a microplaner -- except now I The Accident-Prone am no longer scared I'll hurt my fingers. I found the nutmegs that came with it less than fresh, and anyway wanted to wash the grinder before use, so I discarded those nutmegs and the foam, washed and dried completely, then easily inserted just one Williams-Sonoma nutmeg. One is all I'll use at one time anyway, and I'll keep the rest fresh in the Williams-Sonoma jar...
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Homebody
,Morro Bay
,CA
Morro Bay, CA
April 10, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Very handy
April 10, 2013
You can store extra nutmegs in the top., Works well, no more stale nutmeg. And it's made in the USA.
Review 5 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ltsuruda
,Boston
,MA
February 19, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nutmeg Grinder Makes Grating Safe & Easy
February 19, 2013
This specialize gadget improves the mundane task of grating nutmeg by making it safer (no accidentally grated fingers), hygienic, and easier to produce large quantities of freshly grated nutmeg without risking dropping any nutmegs. Just rotate the handle after loading a nutmeg from the convenient storage chamber.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Accuracy, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 6 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ElizLS
,Boston
,MA
Boston, MA
November 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for what it is
November 4, 2012
I had wanted a nutmeg grinder since a friend's mom showed me hers and how easy it was to use. When I finally received, I loved it and had no issues. Yes, the acrylic top is a bit tricky to get back on (you have to line up the notches and push down/twist simoultaneously), but if you remove the foam inside, the issues with large nutmegs goes aways (ie. everything fits easily). I also store it in a small Pyrex or William-Sonoma glass bowl in the cabinet to prevent the residue from tracking everywhere. As one reviewer said though, if you have always perferred a microplane to grate your nutmeg, most likely you won't like this. But if you hated a microplane, this tool will be a godsend.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Store
Cons: Temperamental
Review 7 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
number1baba
,mn
April 27, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nutmeg grinder
April 27, 2012
The grinder works great no problems. I do, like others, wish it had some sort of cap to fit on the bottom because it does leave little shavings where ever it is set.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality
Cons: Difficult to Store, should have a cap to set it in to contain shavings
Review 8 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
yara
,westfield
,nJ
January 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
nice gadget, but doesn't work
January 6, 2012
It is easier for me to use a grater than to struggle with this grinder. Great look though.
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 9 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookinggadgetlover
December 13, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great luxury gadget
December 13, 2011
I got this grinder for myself and it is so nice that I ordered 3 more for gifts! I have nicked my knuckles for the last time and this would be so cool on the bar by the eggnog! It works very well and is well made.
Pros: Easy to Store, Design, Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, safe
Review 10 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
,Bluffton
,SC
USA
October 31, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nutmeg Gringer
October 31, 2011
I have had this grinder for years! it is fabulous! Stores the whole nuts. smooth grinding, easy to use!!! Highly recommend it!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 11 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cookn
,Millbrook
,NY
October 19, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I really did not like it at all
October 19, 2011
I may have gotten a lemon but this grinder never worked for me and eventually I tossed it in the garbage. Grrrrr.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality
Review 12 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LesleyNow
Vancouver, Canada
September 6, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely gadget!
September 6, 2011
This nutmeg grinder solves a problem neatly. I always had to throw away half of each nutmeg or risk grating my fingers, but now I can use almost the whole thing. It works well, looks good and is easy to clean. I'm very pleased with it, and we've been making a lot of rice puddings in the few days we've had it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Design, econimical
Review 13 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
WyoWindblown
Casper, Wyoming
August 30, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I haven't seen anything better
August 30, 2011
It's not a perfect grinder, but it's good enough. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's a bit difficult to close the lid after retrieving a new nutmeg from the storage container part and one has to watch that the size of nutmeg stored isn't too large. If you can deal with those drawbacks, the grinding function is quite good and beats skinning knuckles on a grater any day.
Pros: Durable
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 14 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
GourmetJules
Gettygsburg, PA
July 30, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Use a grater instead!
July 30, 2011
I strongly recommend passing on this item; I deposited mine directly in the trash after waiting too long to return it.
It is very difficult to secure the top to the bottom once the nutmeg is inside, even my husband agreed.
Not a good design, like the one I remember my mom had.
I have found that a simple grater of any kind is much easier, quicker, and just as effective!
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Temperamental
Review 15 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WeeWee72
Florida
March 31, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nutmeg Grinder
March 31, 2011
I went to visit my mother and she had one of these.. i had to have one of my own. The nutmeg comes out a little coarser than i remember at my moms, but its still a great accessory to the kitchen.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 16 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RayCanCook
McLean, VA
January 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Too Small for Actual Nutmegs
January 23, 2011
A toothed, spring-loaded piston holds the nutmeg tightly inside a small tube as you rotate the handle and turn the nutmeg against the cutting blade. This would be an excellent design if there were two small changes. First, the small tube needs to be about 25% larger. None of the nutmegs I bought at the store would fit inside the tube (where do they get those midget nutmegs they package in the product?). Second, the thing cannot go in the dishwasher. Taking it back for a refund.
Review 17 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bakingwhiz
Fairfield Ohio
January 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
no skinned knuckles
January 1, 2011
I have owned one for several years and gave one as a gift this Christmas,I love the flavor from the fine grinding. I only wish it had a small lid to catch the fine shavings so as not to be on my shelf.
Review 18 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bakenforaliving
Lexington, KY
November 20, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Grinder
November 20, 2010
I am a professional baker and have tried every grinder out there. This grinder is great. It is easy to use, fill, keep clean, and the grind never fails. This is the only grinder I have used in 3 years. I tap it after every use on a towel and it leaves minimal shavings if any on the shelf. I have 5 lg nuts in it at all times.
Review 19 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
spiceinlife
Suburbia, Illinois
November 1, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
amazing grinder
November 1, 2010
I've used this nutmeg grinder for a while now. Whenever it seems my nutmeg isn't grinding - I flip the nutmeg over and the rough side catches on and I finish the other half of the nutmeg. The only thing I wish this grinder had, was a base to rest in. Then the shavings wouldn't be all over my counter. Otherwise, I use this every morning!!
Review 20 for William Bounds Nutmeg Grinder
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
RosevilleCook
Roseville, CA
October 28, 2010
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not my favorite
October 28, 2010
I went in to purchase a nutmeg grater and was convinced the grinder was a superior solution. First, every time I open it to add a nutmeg, the ones in the foam roll all over the place. Second, the grinding is not smooth and toward the end, it tries to slice the remaining nutmeg. Suggest a grater instead!
page1 2 3 next