Nordic Ware Ultimate Decorating Tool

Decorating home-baked treats is easy thanks to our efficient tool: Simply fill the barrel with icing and squeeze the handle to create borders, fillings, writing and more. Superbly engineered for ease of use and minimal mess, it's ideal for beginner bakers, advanced decorators and creative kids. Ideal for decorating cakes, cookies, cupcakes and more. Generous barrel holds buttercream frosting, royal icing or whipped cream. Durable clear plastic sides reveal how much icing remains in the barrel. Easy to use-simply insert icing into barrel, attach a tip and squeeze the handle. Sealed ends keep icing neatly inside the barrel. Handles ensure a steady grip and protect icing from warm hands. Small and large decorating tips include round, leaf, star and basket-weave designs, plus a filling injector. Stainless-steel and plastic barrel, stainless-steel tips, plastic handle and collars. Components fit neatly into the included storage box. Dishwasher-safe decorating tips. Made by Nordic Ware, a family-owned company famous for its fine bakeware since 1946. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive. Decorating Tool includes: 1 cylinder barrel. 6 small decorating tips. 4 large decorating tips, including 1 filling injector. 2 collars. Instructions. Storage box.
Average Customer Rating:
2.25 out of 5
2.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
2 of 8(25%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nordic Ware Ultimate Decorating Tool
Review 1 for Nordic Ware Ultimate Decorating Tool
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jowi
,Chesapeake
,VA
May 30, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
tool to make cream rolls
May 30, 2015
I bought this product on 5/16/2015.in the store after seeing it on line.I was discouraged a little by reviews ,but decided to buy after seeing anyway.I know now why there were all bad reviews written,.Instructions are not clear.Before I got it right I put a metal tip through Bottom Cap assembly and of couse it didn't work; tip was falling inside the tube.Metal tip should be placed over bottom end and Tip Holder should be screwed over it.I only wish that a tube were larger;I use it for cream rolls feeling.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Review 2 for Nordic Ware Ultimate Decorating Tool
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
atlmichelle
March 30, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointed Again for a different reason!
March 30, 2015
The concept of this product is awesome. I hate dealing with the piping bags as they are messy and the icing always ends up coming out the end. I purchased this product years ago when Williams Sonoma sold the first version and it worked well for a few years, but was made cheaply and eventually the plastic cracked where you screwed it together. My sister bought this one for me because the girl in the store had said it was the new improved version of the old one. Well yes...the plastic is much stronger and its easier to use, however they got rid of my favorite tip that I used to ice my cupcakes. The three icing tips included are ones I would never use or would use very rarely. So while this product works better, the old tips do not fit on it and I can't find additional tips to fit this either. So I'm disappointed once again and have to go back to using the dumb piping bags. Fail Williams Sonoma....Fail.
Review 3 for Nordic Ware Ultimate Decorating Tool
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ohmm
,fort myers
,fl
July 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Useless product
July 2, 2013
I used this twice to pipe macaron and it broke. The press handle would no longer work, and the plunger was ok, but doesn't really push at a steady rate as the plastiic insert fits very tightly. Also the chamber is small and required frequent refills. So dissapointed...stay away from this one.
Cons: breaks easily
Review 4 for Nordic Ware Ultimate Decorating Tool
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Lauren8456
,Milwaukee
February 25, 2013
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the concept, but...
February 25, 2013
There's a lot to like about this tool: it's easy to put together, handles well and can make beautiful designs with some practice. BUT, there should be a warning that comes with the directions that once the plunger is to the end of the container, the tips will become inverted if you pull the plunger backwards. It creates a pretty strong vacuum that destroyed two of my star tips before I figured out what was happening. This can be avoided by unscrewing the tip before pulling the plunger back, but the directions should really indicate this or the metal in the tips should be of stronger quality.
Pros: Easy to Use, Shape, Design
Cons: Quality, Difficult to Clean
Review 5 for Nordic Ware Ultimate Decorating Tool
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Gingerbread29
,dudley
,Ma
December 17, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a year
Would You Recommend? No
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
breaks easily
December 17, 2012
I was using this product to decorate gingerbread men with buttercream frosting. The press handle snapped.
So, I returned the broken tool and got a replacement. I didn't get a chance to use the 2nd one until this Christmas. It broke again; same problem.
Junk!
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Quality
Review 6 for Nordic Ware Ultimate Decorating Tool
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
allnamestaken
,haddonfield
,nj
September 26, 2012
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Broke after second use
September 26, 2012
I found this to be flimsy in design. I was using the tool for making rosettes on muffins with cream cheese frosting and it broke. It was a lot of money for something so weakly designed.
Cons: breaks easily
Review 7 for Nordic Ware Ultimate Decorating Tool
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VeganGuy
,Pensacola
,FL
April 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best decorating tool I've used
April 15, 2012
This tool works great for decorating cakes and cupcakes. It is durable, well made and fits your hand well. The included tips work well for a variety of tasks. It is easy to load with your favorite frosting or fillings and cleans very easily. The barrel unscrews from the fittings at both ends and I simply push a soapy dish rag through the tube making cleanup a snap. I have used pastry bags and have found this item much easier to use and clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
risRN25
CT
Posted December 7, 2014
Use other decorating tips
Are you able to use other standard decorating tips with this tool?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Nordic Ware Ultimate Decorating Tool
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
apple2012
February 1, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+12points
14of 16found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Poorly engineered
February 1, 2012
I was very excited about this product, but ended up being very disappointed. It makes easy decoration; however, cream goes into behind the plunger which cannot be opened for washing. It can be opened one side (decoration tip side) of the cap, but not the other side (plunger knob side). I wish both ends can be opened or washing thoroughly.
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Response from Williams-Sonomaby Emily, Bakeware BuyerMay 14, 2012
Hi apple2012,
Both sides of the Ultimate Decorating Tool actually are removable. You can detach the handle and plunger from the base easily by simply unscrewing it the same way you do the tip. This ensures that you can completely clean both the plunger and the tube itself. In addition, the stainless steel sleeve on the tube is also removable, so you can get a thorough cleaning of the entire tool after each use.

We’re glad that you find the tool easy and enjoyable to use otherwise, hopefully these tips help!

Best,
Emily
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
carmen22
miami,fl
Posted September 11, 2012
I can`t open the ends
I`ve tried and there`s no way I can open the ends to clean or fill the decorating tool.
any ideas
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)