Nordic Ware Heat Diffuser, 8"

This heavyweight steel plate fits over a stovetop burner to create a flat cooking surface that distributes heat more evenly during cooking, eliminating scorching and hot spots. For use on electric or gas stovetops. Made of heavy-gauge aluminized steel that absorbs and diffuses heat for greater energy efficiency. Distributes heat evenly to prevent scorching, burning and hot spots. Nonstick coating for convenient cleanup. Wipes clean easily. 8" diam. size fits larger burners. Made in USA by Nordic Ware.
Average Customer Rating:
3.833 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(6 Reviews) 6
4 of 6(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nordic Ware Heat Diffuser, 8"
Review 1 for Nordic Ware Heat Diffuser, 8"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LauraPL
,Leesburg
,VA
Leesburg, VA
February 11, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Every kitchen needs one.
February 11, 2013
Many residential (non-professional) ranges and cooktops have difficult time regulating their low heat settings causing hot spots. This takes that out of the equation by disbursing the heat before it ever gets to your cookware. Need to warm butter without browning? This little disk will make all the difference.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Nordic Ware Heat Diffuser, 8"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Satisfied1
,Irving
,TX
June 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Solved my problems
June 6, 2012
We recently purchased a new home with a gas cooktop that is not professional line. The annoying challenges we faced were the inability of the smaller burners to maintain a simmer. The small burners were constantly causing burning and boil overs.
The Nordic Ware Heat Diffuser solved our problems and eliminated an expensive replacement of the cooktop.
This product works great and looks like a normal part of the cooktop when stored on the cooking grid. It fits multiple burners and is large enough to hold almost any size of sauce pan.
Great product that I highly recommend to those who like to keep foods warm without burning or boiling over.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Nordic Ware Heat Diffuser, 8"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
laeva
April 25, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for stove with heat problems
April 25, 2012
I ordered this heat diffuser for my mother. she has a stove that the burners even at the lowest setting are still too hot to cook certain things like rice. She called me and was thrilled that this product worked for her. She said the rice cooked perfectly after lowering to low setting using the product. for the first time nothing burned.
Pros: Size, Versatile, Shape, Design, Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Review 4 for Nordic Ware Heat Diffuser, 8"
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Jackkie
Texas
April 22, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
3of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Over priced junk
April 22, 2012
This is not up to the task and is well below WS standards. I returned mine to the store for the same reasons mentioned by the other reviewer. I purchased copper ones online and they perform fantastically. The copper ones are what WS should be selling. This actually deserves 0 stars, but...
Cons: Difficult to Use, Quality, Difficult to Clean, Weight, Fragile, Size
Review 5 for Nordic Ware Heat Diffuser, 8"
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
momson
,grove
,ok
December 20, 2011
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
This is a Diffuser
December 20, 2011
The name is Diffuser and that is what it is. You are suppose to keep your heat low (like simmer). Not high. I have had mine (from W.S.) for about 10 years and it works great. Bought it because my stove did not get low enough for simmer. But with this it works great.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Shape
Review 6 for Nordic Ware Heat Diffuser, 8"
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
SugarSugar723
Thousand Oaks, California
February 1, 2011
Would You Recommend? No
+28points
33of 38found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Nordic Ware Heat Diffuser peel, warp + scratch
February 1, 2011
These are metal with a teflon coating that scratches, smells bad if they get too hot, and warps badly. So, if you do want them, you must never let your burner go above MEDIUM, if that. If you forget and try to boil water using this you will ruin it. If it warps, the pots will rock on the burner. If you "baby it", it will work well, though it will scratch and look bad fast. It will diffuse heat. I found an old CAST IRON one by PROGRESSIVE that is excellent., but they aren't making them now, sadly!!!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
rubybegonia51
Washington, DC
Posted February 28, 2012
Not what this is for!
The purpose of a diffuser is to cook on low heat for long periods of time to prevent burning. You should never even use it on medium heat.
sometimes I can't get the simmer low enough on my gas viking. Then using this would be for its purpose. And it works very well.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)