Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan

A Hong Kong favorite for generations, the puffy, doughy treats called "egg waffles" are traditionally cooked by sidewalk vendors and enjoyed for breakfast and snacks. Now you can make the waffles at home using this pan from Nordic Ware, a family-owned company famous for its fine bakeware since 1946. Creates egg-shaped waffles with crispy-golden outsides and tender-creamy centers. Durable cast-aluminum distributes heat quickly so the waffles cook evenly. Durable PFOA-free nonstick cooking surface for low-fat cooking, stick-free release of waffles and easy cleanup. Rugged stainless-steel handles. Hinged, interlocking pans separate for easy washing. Recipe included.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 18
16 of 18(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
Review 1 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SammyNC
,St. James
,NC
September 7, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love this waffle pan
September 7, 2014
I bought this waffle pan for our son and granddaughter's visit. I did a practice batch, which was a good idea. I followed the receipe which came with the pan and it worked very well and our granddaughter, who is a very fussy eater, loved the waffles! Most of the previous tips worked well, especially cooking each side for about 70 seconds each and heating each pan separately. Also, make sure the egg whites are whipped to medium peaks. I didn't do that with the practice batch and it made a big difference. To make it easier to put everything together, take out all ingredients so you don't have to go back and forth to the pantry. Brush oil or use Pam.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Shape
Cons: Difficult to Store
Review 2 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cookWlove
,Toronto
,ON
February 4, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Mommy is the Best
February 4, 2014
My kids think I'm the best parent EVER!! I bought this and the family circled me like vultures as I was preparing the egg waffles. Once they descended on the waffle it was a free for all dive into the waffles. Not a pretty picture but the feedback was amazing. The pan itself is heavy duty and there was no sticking when I used a canola oil spray. On a gas stove on medium it only took 1.5 minutes per side. Love love love this new tool and look forward to many more waffle experiences.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
yrrats
,Saratoga
,CA
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Non-stick coating not durable
February 1, 2014
I used this pan about once a month for two batches of egg waffles. After using it for one year, non-stick coating at a few areas already wore off. It does not affect the end result at this moment but I start wondering how long will the non-stick coating last.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 4 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GoodFoodLover
,Portland
,OR
Tigard, OR
November 14, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+9points
9of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good Pan, different recipes for HK style
November 14, 2013
Own this pan for couple of years and still going. As some of the reviews said, it takes a little practice to make it right. Here are some tips:
1) The recipe given is not the same result as those make in HK but more like a western style and cake like. Still good.
2) I preheat the 2 pans seperately on 2 gas stove and use 2 stoves at all time. After preheat with medium heat, pour batter into one and cover with the other side, I time for 1 min 10 sec each side, peel off easily with wood skewers.
3) Cleaning is NOT as easy because water splatters big time, so you need to either soak or clean it side way. Sponge go thru each holes....
4) Product last. I did post another recipe on this site that will give a result much closer to HK style egg waffle, hope everyone will enjoy it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
stevo2000
Costa Mesa CA
Posted February 21, 2014
GFL's recipe from Comments of another review
Willing to share Original HK Egg Waffle recipe
Felt the same, the recipe given is kind of heavy so I searched, and here is close to the original egg waffle in HK. However, must pour less batter and learn to make it thin.
•140 grams all purppose flour (1 C)
•7.5 grams baking powder (1.5 tsp)
•1 tablespoon custard powder
•28 grams tapioca starch (3 TBS)
•2 eggs
•140 grams white sugar (2/3 C + 2 TBS) better to use 1 C
•28 grams evaporated milk (2 TBS)
•140 ml still water
•28 grams vegetable oil, for making the egg batter (2 TBS)
•small quantity of vegetable oil, for greasing the mould
•2 drops vanilla essence
Method:
1.Firstly mix and sieve the flour + baking powder + custard powder + tapioca starch. Set aside.
2.Beat the eggs and mix in the white sugar using a wooden stirrer. Add in gradually the evaporated milk and still waterMix thoroughly.
3.Add the sieved flour mixture (1.) into the egg mixture (2). Stir thoroughly until a smooth batter is form. It is important that it forms no lumps.
4.Add in the vanilla essence and mix well.
5.Finally add in the vegetable oil.
6.Cover the batter with cling wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.
7.Take the egg batter out from the fridge half an hour prior to using; allowing it to return to room temperature.
8.Warm up each side of the mould, and brush a thin layer of oil on each side.
9.Pour the egg battle into a large measuring cup for ease in pouring so onto the mould.
10.Pour the egg battle onto the mould filling upto 80% full.
***Note - I preheat the mould on stove top then pour the batter, time 1min 10 sec then flip side and time another 1 min. Did not brush oil and peel the waffle off easily.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
leahlinda
Los Angeles, CA
Posted January 15, 2014
Recipe
I would love to get your recipe to use this waffle. Can you repost it? or guide me to where I can find it? Thank you very much.
0points
Customer avatar
kurkk
Boston, MA
Posted December 23, 2013
Unable to locate your receipe
I was unable to locate your recipe on this site that will give a result much closer to HK style egg waffle.
Can you please reshare or point me to the location on this site? Thanks.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 5 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
chunli
,Miami
,FL
November 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
High quality pan, low quality recipe
November 6, 2013
I bought this item because I knew it'd last longer than an electric gai daan jai maker, and because I don't think I can find a place that makes these here in Miami. When I received the item I was happy to say it seems very durable. I just recently tried to make some and followed the recipe and instructions that came with the pan. However, the recipe created some pretty heavy egg waffles, so I don' t think I'll be using that again. The pan heats up really quickly, and it's a challenge to make these the first time. But practice makes perfect :)
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
GoodFoodLover
Tigard, OR
Posted November 14, 2013
Willing to share Original HK Egg Waffle recipe
Felt the same, the recipe given is kind of heavy so I searched, and here is close to the original egg waffle in HK. However, must pour less batter and learn to make it thin.
•140 grams all purppose flour (1 C)
•7.5 grams baking powder (1.5 tsp)
•1 tablespoon custard powder
•28 grams tapioca starch (3 TBS)
•2 eggs
•140 grams white sugar (2/3 C + 2 TBS) better to use 1 C
•28 grams evaporated milk (2 TBS)
•140 ml still water
•28 grams vegetable oil, for making the egg batter (2 TBS)
•small quantity of vegetable oil, for greasing the mould
•2 drops vanilla essence
Method:
1.Firstly mix and sieve the flour + baking powder + custard powder + tapioca starch. Set aside.
2.Beat the eggs and mix in the white sugar using a wooden stirrer. Add in gradually the evaporated milk and still waterMix thoroughly.
3.Add the sieved flour mixture (1.) into the egg mixture (2). Stir thoroughly until a smooth batter is form. It is important that it forms no lumps.
4.Add in the vanilla essence and mix well.
5.Finally add in the vegetable oil.
6.Cover the batter with cling wrap and refrigerate for at least an hour.
7.Take the egg batter out from the fridge half an hour prior to using; allowing it to return to room temperature.
8.Warm up each side of the mould, and brush a thin layer of oil on each side.
9.Pour the egg battle into a large measuring cup for ease in pouring so onto the mould.
10.Pour the egg battle onto the mould filling upto 80% full.
***Note - I preheat the mould on stove top then pour the batter, time 1min 10 sec then flip side and time another 1 min. Did not brush oil and peel the waffle off easily.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Talk2fabian
,CA
April 9, 2013
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LE--GO" MY WAFFLEs
April 9, 2013
Great pan...high quality...best of all made in the USA and not China.... Waffles are very yummy....
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Shape
Review 7 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HeidiUT
,Salt Lake City
,Ut
April 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good as the real thing!
April 2, 2013
My husband kept coming home from business trips in Hong Kong raving about these waffles so I bought this pan. According to him they are spot on. The first one or two waffles turn out a little lame (kind of like the first batch of pancakes off a griddle), then they are perfect. The directions say to cook 2 minutes per side, but on my gas stove that is way too much. I cook them for one minute per side at Medium-Low. I use cooking spray before each waffle. The recipe that comes with this pan is perfect. The waffles are sweet enough that you don't have to use syrup. The only con is that the recipe is a little more complicated than your average waffle recipe so these aren't really quick to prepare.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Shape, Weight
Review 8 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dbdaze
,Bellingham
,WA
January 3, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
LOVE IT!!!
January 3, 2013
I got this just in time for our Family Christmas morning breakfast and it didn't disappoint me. Everyone agreed they were delicious and unique. Loved how easy it was to use and clean!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, unique
Review 9 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
AVasyuta
,Sackets Harbor
,NY
December 1, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
4of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good pot, questionable recipe
December 1, 2012
I think this is a very good pan, and it looks and feels like it will last forever. I am very glad that I bought it and would do so again.
That being said, the recipe that comes with the pan makes waffles that feel rather heavy, not light and crispy. I do not believe it is the pan that causes this, but rather the recipe. When making waffles, I recommend finding a different recipe, as the one that comes with it will not give you light and crispy waffles.
Overall, this is worth the purchase price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Weight
Review 10 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
yww168
,San Francisco
,CA
August 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+24points
28of 32found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Egg size too small
August 3, 2012
I have an original egg waffle pan that I purchased from Hong Kong 20 years ago. Since I have used it extensively, it is showing lots of wear and tear on the old one so I decided to buy this from W-S. I should say the quality of this product is excellent plus it is non-stick but it has one very major design flaw. The size of the egg mold is way too small to create the eggs properly. The authentic Hong Kong egg waffles are hollow inside the egg with a thin shell which is the reason why it is so popular in Hong Kong since it is light and crispy. When the egg mold is too small and too shallow like on this W-S unit, the eggs will turn out near solid with very little air inside--nothing close to the original egg waffle found in Hong Kong. If W-S can redesign this pan with bigger and deeper egg mold, it'll be perfect then.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Shape
Cons: egg size too shallow and too small
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ucla107
Posted December 30, 2012
Did you use the same recipe on the HK pan and the WS pan?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
shmilye
,Virginia Beach
,VA
March 17, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
1of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than expected
March 17, 2012
First one came out burned because my stove is hotter than average. After that, they were all perfect! The recipe that came with it was amazing and my family was fighting over who got the last one! Delicious plain or with the strawberries/powdered sugar. I cannot wait to try other combos. Consider this a must-get!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TheMerryCupcaker
,FL
Tampa Bay
February 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Lovely and easy to use
February 6, 2012
The recipe that comes on the box is wonderful, as is this pan. Easy to use, durable, and easy to store. Used it the first day it arrived and wanted to call over the neighbors over to see. :-) Only wish it weren't quite so pricey . . .
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Size, Design
Cons: price
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 13 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DoroM
,Brooklyn
,NY
January 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Eggsolutely amazing
January 22, 2012
Was given this for Christmas and am loving it every weekend!!! Even made brunch waffles for 30 using it. The recipe included is delicious!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 14 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MeeMee
,New York
,NY
January 19, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Fun to make!
January 19, 2012
It works very well over stove. The only thing is the recipe. It should be more simple. I tried my own instead, hasn't perfect it yet but I know I'll will. Great to have one especially if you have children or teens!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Color, Size, Versatile, Shape, Design
Review 15 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
WSreviewer99
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great idea... lousy in practice
January 12, 2012
This looked like a great idea, and I've used something similar years ago. Pan is nice, but the preparing the pan & the mix was much more than expected (from reading the listing & talking with staff). Made 2 batches of waffles, trying to find the right 'way' to come close to expected results... unsuccessfully. Mix tastes good but no where near the expected 5 waffles. Unfortunately this is being returned.
Pros: Durable, Size
Cons: Difficult to Use, Difficult to Clean, High-Maintenance, not easy to prepare
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChefBeth
Northern Montana
Posted January 19, 2012
A lot easier than they make it out to be!
I use plain old pancake mix & add a little vanilla, nutmeg & cinnamon. No need to do all the extra work that the recipe calls for on the packaging & with concessions I just would n't have time! So I just tried the pancake mix & it worked great! Make it a little thick... not like crepe batter. I use a gas stove & about 1-1/2 minutes on each side seems to do it! Good luck!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cook2love
,Miami
,FL
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
delish dessert for any time!
January 10, 2012
The waffle iron is easier to use on gas than electric, but still gets the job done. Takes time to figure out how much to use, so be patient. When the finished product comes out, it's a delight to enjoy.
Pros: Durable, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Difficult to Use
Review 17 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stacia
,New hamburg
January 3, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent product
January 3, 2012
The quality of this pan is excellent! You will be very happy with this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Review 18 for Nordic Ware Egg Waffle Pan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fungi
January 3, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Egg waffles anytime!
January 3, 2012
I've been watching for this to go on sale for about a year and was so happy to see it on sale just in time for Xmas. We buy the egg waffles from a shop whenever we're in SF but wanted to make them at home. Didn't have anyone going to HK to bring me back a pan.
I didn't have any qualms about the weight or quality when I saw online that it was made by Nordic Ware. We've used it multiple times in the week we've had it and my teenage son has become the official waffle dude. Tried a recipe found online and it's good but we're still experimenting.
The pan is well made but I'm hoping the nonstick surface will hold out long term. Where the two pans interlock the surface is getting nicks and scratches which is to be expected and since it's not the cooking surface it doesn't really matter.
Egg waffles are a great treat and the pan makes it possible to eat them hot and crispy anytime right at home
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design, Weight, unique
 
My Recommendations