Nordic Ware Detailed Decorating Pen

Unleash your inner artist! With this handy tool, customizing your favorite homemade treats is as easy as writing and drawing with a regular pen. You can personalize them with names and messages - or embellish them with creative designs. An easy-to-use tool for customizing cookies, cakes and other home-baked treats. Our Deco Pen is a cinch to use - just fill it with colorful icing, then have fun decorating everything from home-baked cookies to cupcakes. A fun decorating tool for both kids and adults. A great gift for holiday bakers - including yourself. Made by Nordic Ware International. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
4.286 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
6 of 7(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nordic Ware Detailed Decorating Pen
Review 1 for Nordic Ware Detailed Decorating Pen
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Lolol
,Long Island
,NY
May 10, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not a good choice
May 10, 2015
This LOOKED like a great addition to my cake decorating tools. It really isn't. The bags burst easily, the design is not quite effective. I ended up on the day of a party cleaning frosting out of the vents of my oven becasue it shot across the room. Epic Fail. Oh, thanks for the added stress....... Will stick with Wilton pastry bags from now on
Pros: Easy to Clean
Cons: complicates rather than making it easier, pastry bags very inferior quality
Review 2 for Nordic Ware Detailed Decorating Pen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sabrejet
,Denver
,CO
May 9, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I didn't know I couldn't live without this.
May 9, 2015
Yes, I agree with others who have said this is a good product. I, too, was reluctant to buy yet another gadget, but I tried it based on other's reviews and I agree. I now own four of them and could use more, although they aren't hard to switch out bags so I'll probably just use what I have. I decorate cookies and use lots of colors. These mainly keep the icing in the bag and off my hands. I think I have better control, too.You sort of need to wrap the end of the bag around the tool to keep it out of the way but that isn't hard to do. I doubt they will work with Wilton's new Quick Change Coupler (I don't have one) because I think the coupler is too big to fit down in it but I need this tool more than I need that one. I do love this tool.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Shape, Design, Weight
Review 3 for Nordic Ware Detailed Decorating Pen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jovanna
Long Island, NY
December 2, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Easy for little ones to use
December 2, 2014
There are many pieces to this set for the money. It comes in a pretty box for gifting. My g'daughter and her mom are always into baking cupcakes, so I figured this would be a gift for both of them to use together. Recently I was piping filling into mini cannoli shells on Tgiving day; my young g'daughter wanted to help, but it was a large piping bag, it was awkward for her to hold it, while keeping the top of bag twisted and closed, while squeezing simultaneously, all during a holiday frenzy. This set has a 'caddy' for the piping bag to sit in. You simply press the lever down and no jumping thru hoops with awkward maneuvers to get the contents out. So this is especially helpful fpr young bakers, not just grown ups...easier learning curve.
Review 4 for Nordic Ware Detailed Decorating Pen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
T3xaslilly
,Elgin
,TX
July 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+8points
9of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My daughter love it.
July 1, 2014
I go this for me. But my daughter saw it and started to use it. She LOVES it. It is very easy to use and her cakes come out looking beautiful. The only downside is that she now will not let me use. Since it's hers now
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight
Cons: bought it for me but my daughter now has it
Review 5 for Nordic Ware Detailed Decorating Pen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Beenie
February 1, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+18points
19of 20found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Decorating made so much easier!
February 1, 2014
I bought this on a whim - since a lot of gadgets like this can make things more complicated. However, I'm very surprised how helpful this pen is!! The bag seems more secure, easy to put together/use. I will use this each time I need to detail work with decorations. I used for first time when decorating cookies.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design
Review 6 for Nordic Ware Detailed Decorating Pen
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anna23
January 8, 2014
Would You Recommend? Yes
+38points
40of 42found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
INCREDIBLE!!
January 8, 2014
I am always weary of buying "gadgets" for my kitchen b/c they either end up not working well or so incredibly hard to use that they are more work than what they are worth. These decorating pens, however, are a GODSEND! My family decorates Christmas cookies each year and in the past we've used decorating bags but b/c none of us are professionals, the cookies end up coming up looking anything but perfect. We decided to try these though.. I bought 5, one for each color and ALL of our cookies look professionally done! The pens are just so easy to use and you have more control b/c you only have to use one hand instead of using two, which becomes cumbersome and difficult to use. Extremely thrilled with these and can't wait to use them again!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Versatile
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 7 for Nordic Ware Detailed Decorating Pen
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
BostonGirl30
,Boston
,MA
October 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+36points
39of 42found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So much fun!
October 25, 2013
I just used this product to decorate a cake and had such a great time. I used 2 of the 6 tips included - one to make rosettes and another to write "Happy Birthday". Both were very easy. I didn't give it 5 stars because I felt like the directions were unnecessarily confusing, complicated, and just plain unhelpful. I also would have like to see some time of picture or explanation for what to use each tip for, which was not included. Also, the tips were very difficult to clean. Overall, I'm very happy with the product.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size
Cons: Difficult to Clean