Nielsen-Massey Vanilla

Only the best vanilla from the island of Madagascar is intense enough for Nielsen-Massey, purveyor of premium pure vanilla products since 1907. Long the choice of bakers and ice-cream makers, this vanilla adds depth and flavor no other vanilla can match. Rich, intensely flavored extract is made from select vanilla pods in an exclusive cold-process method; available in 4-oz. and 8-oz. bottles. Vanilla beans are whole 7" pods, each equivalent to approximately 1 tablespoon of extract; two pods per jar. Pure vanilla paste is convenient to use and infuses baked goods and ice cream with flavorful flecks of vanilla bean seeds; 4 oz. Vanilla sugar blends the finest-quality baker's sugar with a hint of vanilla - delicious in coffee or sprinkled atop baked goods; 8.5 oz. Whole beans imported from Madagascar. All other products made in USA with imported ingredients.
Average Customer Rating:
4.913 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
(172 Reviews) 172
169 of 172(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
Review 1 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RenoFoodie
,NV
December 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Worth the price
December 20, 2013
I've been happy with all the vanilla extract flavors. The "Paste" is the perfect substitute for real beans... it gives you the vanilla seeds. Perfect for crème brulee. Check out Emeril's Grand Marnier crème brulee, It's wonderful!
Pros: Texture, Quality, Flavor
 
My Recommendations
 
Review 2 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SuSu
,Asheville
,NC
Asheville, NC
November 23, 2013
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great beans!
November 23, 2013
I ordered the N-M vanilla beans to make vanilla sugar for caramelization of the topping for my cherry clafoutis. The beans were incredibly flavorful and I was able to remove the seeds from the bean quite easily. N-M vanilla is always yummy and these beans are wonderful!
Review 3 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JhenniM
,Gilbert
,AZ
October 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Tantalyzing aroma and flavor
October 30, 2013
This sturdy brown bottle arrive timely and the scent of the vanilla was quite pleasing. When baking the flavor came through with mellow overtones and clarity. Great product for baking or cooking.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 4 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mathgirl
,Long Neck,
,DE
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
1of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best * Vanilla * Ever!
October 22, 2013
I love this vanilla. I've tried many different brands and always come back to this. I'm finished searching...this is the best vanilla ever!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 5 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LesliefromTX
,Nacogdoches
,Tx
October 22, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Taste
October 22, 2013
This vanilla makes everything taste so much better!
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 6 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CelticGirl
,Phoenix
,AZ
Scottsdale, Arizona
September 8, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Heavenly Vanilla
September 8, 2013
I was taught that baking for your family and friends was a loving gift for them and that only the best ingredients should be used to honor that gift. Nielsen-Massey Vanilla is the best vanilla that I have ever found and I have tried several other kinds. I now use Nielsen-Massey vanilla exclusively and my baked goods are, I modestly allow, enthusiastically received.
Pros: Texture, Amount, Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 7 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bakerofcookies
,Derby
,Ny
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best Vanilla
August 25, 2013
This is the best vanilla for all my baked goods. When baking gifts it is always a good idea to use the best ingredients you can. It makes a huge difference. Many ask me about the taste of my cookies and I always tell them about this vanilla.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 8 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Natab0525
,NJ
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Absolute best vanilla!
August 25, 2013
I bake ALOT and I have never found a better vanilla extract. It makes a huge difference in the flavor of the finished product. I love their vanilla bean paste too.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 9 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
downunder
,Bowral
,NS
May 18, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best i've ever used
May 18, 2013
every time i visit family in States, i buy 3-4 bottles... so glad to read you are coming downunder
Pros: Amount, Quality, Flavor
Review 10 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Jense097
,Plymouth
,MN
April 30, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best vanillia ever
April 30, 2013
I've tried other vanillias, and this one is by far the best! i will only ever use this when baking - it has the most incredible taste!
Pros: Amount, Quality, Flavor
Review 11 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Limpylegs
,Newton
,NJ
April 6, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great for baking
April 6, 2013
Love this vanilla, the paste puts anything you use it in over the top. Great in homemade chocolate chip cookies.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 12 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JRNelson
Texas
March 26, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
3rd bottle
March 26, 2013
This is my 3rd bottle. It's a must and the wonderful enhanced flavor.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Review 13 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rubyslipperstwo
,Rapid City
,SD
March 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
in a word, 'DEVINE"
March 7, 2013
this is utterly delicious, I like to use the vanilla paste as you get the feel of real vanilla as you can see the seeds, the flavor is unique and stronger than regular vanilla I feel, I love to use it in my baked goods, I really LOVE using it to make homemade vanilla ice cream for both the flavor and the visual appeal.
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Review 14 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
NathanH
,Troy
,NY
February 21, 2013
Ability level:Novice
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
7of 9found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent vanilla, annoying bottle
February 21, 2013
I'm certainly not a connoisseur of vanillas, so my opinion doesn't count for much as far as the quality of the vanilla goes; nevertheless, I have found this to be excellent. It has a good, strong flavor; it's exactly what I expect.
My only gripe (and it is a small one, but 5 stars is when I can't think of a single thing to complain about) is that the bottle is difficult to pour from, at least when it's full. Note that this is vanilla; I don't need much at a time, so I try to pour slowly, but doing so invariably causes the fluid to run down the side of the bottle. It's not the end of the world, but it does waste some of my delicious vanilla. Having a glass dropper lid would remedy this satisfactorily, in my opinion. As I said, it's a small issue.
Overall, it's good vanilla. :)
Pros: Quality, Flavor
Cons: Difficult to Prepare
Review 15 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Browneyedgirl1953
,Spanish Fort
,AL
February 7, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than Extract!
February 7, 2013
I saw the Nielsen-Massey Vanilla Bean Paste used in a Williams- Sonoma technique class. The taste was amazing and the presence of the vanilla bean flecks were like using a vanilla bean with less work to use in a recipe. This vanilla bean paste is better than vanilla extract and now my "go to" product as it is measures out just like using an extract.
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Good for Entertaining, Time-saver, Decadent, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 16 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TuanCanCook
Los Angeles County, CA
January 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the vanilla extract & vanilla paste!
January 15, 2013
I recently thought I'd try the Nielsen-Massey vanilla extract & paste instead of the well known mail order brand P. that I had been using for the past few years. Love the vanilla paste especially. The paste does have some sugar in it so I use slightly less sugar in my cake or cookie recipes. It adds a subtle custardy vanilla flavor to my biscotti and little dark vanilla specks. You won't be disappointed with this product. I already went and bought a 2nd bottle of vanilla paste before even finishing the first one!
Pros: Authentic, Quality, Flavor
Review 17 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SharonandDave
,Vero Beach
January 2, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
product used in most of my baking
January 2, 2013
This product has been used by top chefs you see on TV. If they spend the money for this product it has to be better than what those taste testers think. That said have you ever been to Mexico and see the price they get for twice the size of Nielson-Massey ? Just as good at less than half the price . Sorry Williams-Sonoma .
Pros: Quality
Cons: Amount
Review 18 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
teagulper
,East Lansing
,MI
December 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Simply the best
December 28, 2012
This is my go to flavoring for everything. If I add a little extra to cookies, they disappear even faster.
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Great Gift
Review 19 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jhm11
,Madison
,WI
December 23, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Will never use anything else
December 23, 2012
I've been using this vanilla past for a few years now. There is nothing like it and truly makes a huge difference in the flavor and aroma of all my baked goods and ice creams. It's on the same level as scraping out whole vanilla beans, with none of the mess. It's a beautiful product and has been consistent through the several bottles I've already gone through. They are hard to find at stores around here, so I'm glad WS carries it.
Pros: Texture, Authentic, Quality, Time-saver, Flavor
Review 20 for Nielsen-Massey Vanilla
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kittyb
Waldwick, NJ
June 29, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Wouldn't Use Store Bought Again
June 29, 2012
I have been using this Pure Vanilla Extract for years. It is worth every penny. When you hear chefs/bakers say use quality/good vanilla, this is it. Bar none. It doesn't have the strong, fake fragrance or taste that grocery store brands have.
Pros: Quality, Flavor
page1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next