This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook

Discover a thoroughly modern approach to slow cooking, where classic comfort foods are enlivened with fresh flavors, colors and textures. Ideal for today's busy schedules, this creative cookbook reinvents traditional slow-cooked favorites with over 100 contemporary recipes for family dining and easy entertaining. Each beautifully photographed recipe includes a simple way to add fresh, seasonal character - such as pairing slow-simmered farro with crisp spring vegetables or teaming garlicky chicken with colorful tomatoes and corn. You'll also find tips for healthy side dishes and make-ahead suggestions for hectic weeknights. Highlights include tender short ribs with crunchy daikon and carrot salad, sliced brisket with chimichurri sauce, and chicken-tortilla soup with avocado, corn and cilantro. Hardcover, 224 pages.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(12 Reviews) 12
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
Review 1 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
ChrisCWVUPGH
,Pittsburgh
,PA
November 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Not Impressed
November 13, 2012
I was disappointed in the lack of variety in this cookbook. I would try another one.
Cons: not enough variety
Review 2 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
IvanNYC
New York
March 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Way better than I expected
March 5, 2012
Bought this on the recommendation of a friend and had no idea how great it would be. Brightens up the usual braises with fresh salads and salsas. Really interesting variations on the usual stews, brisket and pork, but best of all, amazing, unexpected seafood recipes. Halfway through the book and not a flop yet. You really need this book if you use a slow cooker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, delicious
Review 3 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NurseTealy
,Madison
,AL
January 10, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+11points
11of 11found this review helpful.
Great for Full Time Working Parents
January 10, 2012
My family has LOVED the recipes in this book. The instructions are easy to follow. It includes recipes that are inexpensive to make as well as ones that are for special occasions that require special ordered meats. The Posole cost about $22 using organic ingredients at my local supermarket and made about 4 quarts of a very hearty stew plus toppings - if the vegetables were in season and I were gardening it would have cost $10. The Chicken Paprika recipe was about $11 with a vegetarian fed/no hormones/no antibiotics/free range chicken. On one of my off days, I cook one recipe in my dutch oven while I cook another in the crock pot overnight. Considering I work 3 12+ hr shifts/wk, I LOVE that just one recipe feeds my family for days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Design, delicious, variety of flavors and ethnic recipes
Review 4 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GinnySays
,East Patchogue
,NY
December 5, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
My new favorite cookbook
December 5, 2011
If you love using your slow cooker - you will love this cook book!
Very updated recipes. Uses traditional methods but then adds fresh ingredients at the end or pairs with a crisp salad for a lighter approach.
Pros: Easy to Use
Review 5 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CenTexCook
Temple, Texas
July 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Have Cookbook Application
July 15, 2011
Recipes are quite good and suit my style of cooking. My family likes all recipes tried to date. I am enjoying the application. I see a picture and tap it to get the recipe. I have learned to take a picture of the recipe and print it by a quick press of the home and power buttons.
Pros: Durable, Accuracy, Easy to Store
Review 6 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
jogamu
North Potomac, MD
June 15, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
6of 12found this review helpful.
New Slow Cooker Cookbook for iPad
June 15, 2011
Receipts seem good though sophisticated, however I DO NOT RECOMMEND this iPad application:
- Receipts cannot be printed, thus being sophisticated you have to keep looking (and touching) your iPad w/your hands full of food. The iPad screen suffers
- Font are small and difficult to read; and font size cannot be increased
Without addressing these concerns, this product may be dangerous for your iPad
Review 7 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Milt
Phoenix
April 26, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Way too Estoeric for me
April 26, 2011
I was looking for a cookbook that took advantage of the new aluminum insert for the All-Clad slow cooker that is a Williams-Sonoma exclusive. This was not that cookbook. Instead it appears that more for exotic cooking and recipes that take far more prep time and final serviing time than I have available.
Review 8 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
citygirl05
Mendham, NJ
February 23, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Bright and Fresh
February 23, 2011
I very much enjoy using the AllClad slow cooker but was very tired of the typical slow cooker recipes that created flavorful meals but lacked any "eye appeal".
As soon as I saw this book and read through the self-proclaimed modern approach to slow cooking I was sold. Everything I have made has been wonderful. Perhaps a bit more prep time but certainly worth planning for it. Also appreciate that recipes can translate from slow cooker to oven cooking
Review 9 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
deb2020
McAllen, TX
February 19, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Nice recipes
February 19, 2011
Looking forward to making some of these dinners. I have a busy schedule and it will be a real tome saver for me
Review 10 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
DeedeeSea
Seattle, WA
January 29, 2011
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Sophisticated slow cooking!
January 29, 2011
Love this slow cooker book. Recipes are for high quality meals that often use fresh garnishes to add interest to the meal. Really like the contrast of food cooked to extreme tenderness with something crunchy and fresh on top. Highly recommend this one!
Review 11 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Angiez
New Jersey
December 16, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Slow Cooker Cookbook
December 16, 2010
Book has excellent recipes. My family has enjoyed the meals I have cooked from the book. I highly recommed it.
Review 12 for Williams-Sonoma The New Slow Cooker Cookbook
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AMiller
Mission Viejo, CA
September 3, 2010
Would You Recommend? Yes
+33points
38of 43found this review helpful.
The Best Slow Cooker Cookbook
September 3, 2010
I was a little concerned with this at first that the recipes may be too advanced and time consuming but this book has some of the best slow cooker recipies I have ever tried! The recipes are practical and delicious. WIth the recommended browning in each recipe, it does lengthen the prep time but it is well worh it. I highly recommend this for people looking for good high quality slow cooker recipes.