Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker

Meet the first-ever Nespresso machine to brew both true American coffee and authentic Italian espresso. A total game changer in the coffee world, it relies on patented Centrifusion(TM) technology for state-of-the-art brewing. Just pop in a Nespresso capsule - the VertuoLine machine scans the capsule's bar code, then automatically custom-brews the ultimate cup of coffee or espresso. Fully automatic machine uses a revolutionary new brewing technology for traditional Italian espresso beverages and classic American coffee. Advanced, ultra-quiet Centrifusion(TM) technology relies on centrifugal force to gently and precisely brew coffee and espresso - both topped with a natural amber crema for the deepest, most complex flavor and richest aroma. Computerized scanning system reads the bar code on your Nespresso VertuoLine capsule, ensuring precision blend-specific brewing for your desired beverage. Works exclusively with Nespresso's new VertuoLine premium capsules (12 are included-8 coffee and 4 espresso). Brews one or two cups of coffee (7.77 oz.) or espresso (1.35 oz.), all with one-touch convenience.
Average Customer Rating:
3.718 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
24 of 39(62%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
Review 1 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,St. Louis
,MO
June 2, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great choice/espresso maker!
June 2, 2016
Love the quality of the coffee. Nice amount of crema. Unit seems well constructed.
We use this in addition to a regular multi-cup coffee maker.
Would recommend this highly. Great price well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quality
Review 2 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
February 6, 2016
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Complete garbage
February 6, 2016
Never have I been more frustrated with a product or a group of people making up a customer service team. I have had 2 Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee/Espresso Makers in the last 6 hours. The first one I bought did nothing. Defective. The second one I exchanged it for can't work out an air bubble that is apparently in 95% of the machines. I have spent FIVE HOURS on the phone with "customer service", 4 different people and every.single.person.talks about this air bubble. I did the same 2 steps countless times per their instructions. Out of the 4 people, two of them said they would call back for a follow up and both FAILED. Not only is this machine complete garbage, there isn't even a customer service team capable enough to walk buyers through an apparently routine issue. I am beyond mad and fed up with this machine. The worst part is, I don't know what I will replace this product with since I don't know of any similar machines.
Cons: doesn't work
Review 3 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,novato
,ca
January 14, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Love the taste but the coffee is just not hot
January 14, 2016
I have had good luck using this machine in hotels so I decided to purchase one at home. I was struck how luke warm the coffee was. As this is our afternoon coffee machine for one off I am ok with it but I put in heated water before hitting the brew button.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: warm not hot coffee
Review 4 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Mechanicsburg
,PA
January 3, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Better than Starbucks
January 3, 2016
Best coffee I ever drank. Easy to use and no need for milk
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Speed, Size
Review 5 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,GA
December 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not so hot coffee, honestly!
December 5, 2015
Was so excited get it in and use it. First of all, when I began the start up process, I tried to do it several times. Then I handed it over to my hubby for him to try, and it didn't work until he did it several times. It was very loud, too. Then, when I used a pod to try it out, it was still loud and the coffee was not the temp that I like. It was not hot enough. I had seen several reviews on here that commented about the same thing. I thought that maybe since we are all different, it wouldn't matter to me as much. It did matter. I called the Nespresso customer service line and spoke to a very helpful lady named Christine. She took notes on my experience. I went ahead and sent the machine back the next morning, because I just couldn't justify keeping this expensive coffee maker that was just so-so. Time to get the dripper back out!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Design, Easy to Store, Assembly
Cons: Temperamental, Loud, coffee not hot enough
Review 6 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Chicago
,IL
December 5, 2015
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
NON FUNZIONA!!!
December 5, 2015
This machine has a good look and feel. It seems well made...but mine hasn't worked once, despite a lot of time spent on the phone troubleshooting with Nespresso. They say the problem is probably an air bubble in the machine. Really? An air bubble? This machine has a pump that can't pump water through an air bubble? That's hard to believe, but if it's true, that doesn't bode well for the quality of the machine. And you should hear the pump! It's pretty loud, working hard to pump out that air bubble! I wonder how loud it is when it's pumping water! lol. I hope Nespresso will be able to make it right, but if not, I hope WS will. Regardless, quality control is quite poor, so I recommend trying a different coffee machine.
Pros: Design
Cons: Difficult to Use, Temperamental, High-Maintenance, Loud, Quality
Review 7 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Woodbridge
,VA
October 15, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
4of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Liked the machine...but
October 15, 2015
The coffee without the creme was really good coffee but the foamy, chalking taste of the creme was just too weird. I don't want to go through the process of separating the creme from the coffee every time I want to enjoy a cup of coffee. The temperature of the coffee was not always consistent, but not a deal breaker. I usually warm my coffee tumblers or mugs. Really liked the machine and the coffee...but minus the weird foamy creme. I think the Nespresso Pixie/Inissia for espresso would be better for me and a separate coffee maker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Versatile, Design, Speed, Quality, Size, Time-saver, Easy to Store, Assembly
Cons: temperature of coffee
Review 8 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Napa
,CA
September 7, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great machine
September 7, 2015
This machine is easy to use and maintain. Every cup of coffee or espresso is perfect.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Durable, Versatile, Design, Speed
Review 9 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Prescott
,WI
September 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Coffee at Home
September 4, 2015
I purchased the Nespresso VertuoLine after looking at it at least a half dozen times in the last six months. I purchased it as a gift and we have been enjoying it!
It takes seconds to warm up and every pod we have tried as been wonderful.
The coffee has been hot each time. No problems at all with the machine or operation.
Ordering more pods has been quick and easy. Fast delivery.
People have mentioned the pods are expensive but for a great cup of coffee or espresso it is worth every penny. Still less expensive than stopping out for coffee and having to wait in line.
I just had a cup of coffee from a very famous coffee shop this morning while having a meeting and it was weak and not worth the $5+ I paid for it.
So glad to have made the purchase. Highly recommend this for anyone who loves their coffee.
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, Speed
Review 10 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,fl
July 13, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Husband loves...
July 13, 2015
I am a tea drinker so difficult for me to be accurate as I purchased this for my husband. He loves the taste (French press user for decades!) quality and convenience. REAL concern about being hot enough although he assures me it is but can't linger over it! Did contact Cust. Svc. who did give us a few tips (i.e maybe our cup was too big to start). Pods are pricey but this is offset by the quality. I know I should not have to do this for the $ we paid, but I put boiling water in the cup to heat it up before using (as I am boiling water for my tea anyways!) Bottom line he does like it and assures me he has no intention of thinking about returning it. Oh - it looks quite nice on the counter - that was one of my concerns.
Review 11 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
,Egg Harbor Township
,NJ
July 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Good coffee
July 4, 2015
The coffee is very good and flavourful ! The cream on top is very good and what you would expect from a regular manual espresso maker.
The only thing is , and I have seen other comments similar, if you like to add milk or cream to your coffee it cools,it off quickly so you have to reheat in microwave for 30 seconds.
Overall good product make great coffee 100 x better than an K cup!
Pros: Easy to Use, Design, Speed
Cons: coffee could be hotter
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
1bikergirl
Posted July 26, 2015
Heat the milk
If you heat milk in the microwave before adding it to your coffee, the coffee won't get that bitter reheated taste.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,CO
April 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great Machine!
April 8, 2015
I purchased this for my husband as a wedding anniversary present. It is easy to use and looks great on our counter.
Review 13 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Vancouver
,Wa
April 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
0points
3of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not the machine for us
April 4, 2015
This is a very good looking machine. We didn't care for it due to the temperature of the coffee being way too cool. The crema is not true crema but more of a weird foamy substance that has a bitter taste. The pods are way more expensive than the original line. I had to return it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SuSu2
NY
Posted October 3, 2015
Top 25 Contributor
It's not perfect. but..
I find the coffee not quite hot enough, but I find heating the mug with hot water first helps. To me, the crema is definitely not bitter. Nespresso's coffee tastes so good that I look forward to it in the morning. It's so much better than what's offered for the Keurig machines, and since I get up at 5 a.m., this machine is a blessing.
Yes, these capsules are more expensive than the original espresso machines, so for the time being, I still use my Nespresso espresso maker, too.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,West Bend
,WI
March 20, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect for our use
March 20, 2015
My wife and I wanted a single serving coffee and espresso maker for those late-night work sessions or when we wanted a single cup of coffee to perk us up in the afternoon.
For us this Nespresso works wonderfully. I wouldn't want to use this product every day due to the cost of the pods, and we have a very good coffee maker for making full pots in the morning. Where the Nespresso works for us is those times when we don't want to make a full pot of coffee, or if we would otherwise go to Charbucks in the course of running errands.
The crema that this maker leaves is wonderful. (Tasty, rich and thick.) The area where this maker falls slightly short for us is in the selection of coffees that are available. But because this is our secondary coffee maker, it's not that big of a deal, and the selection is still better than you can get at Charbucks.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Assembly
Review 15 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
,Appleton
,WI
March 14, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I wanted to love it...
March 14, 2015
I wanted to love this machine. It looks beautiful in the kitchen and I love the sound of the brewing and the crema, but I love strong coffee where I can add cream and still taste the coffee. This machine and the coffee that is now available for it doesn't offer this. I have adjusted the size of the cup, but it doesn't give me what I am looking for. Perhaps as they add more choices in the pods I will find one that meets what I am looking for. Would love any suggestions that would get me to the I love this machine!
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: coffee not strong enough
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SuSu2
NY
Posted October 3, 2015
Top 25 Contributor
I like strong coffee, too
That's why I hated my Keurig. Have you tried Nespresso's Odacio? If that's not strong enough, you may want to change to the espresso capsules and adjust the size of the cup. .
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 16 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Boise
,ID
March 8, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Excellent product
March 8, 2015
We love this machine. Easy to use, little to no cleanup or maintenance and most importantly, it is excellent coffee. If you are really into superb coffee, Nespresso delivers. It's not just the flavor of the coffee, it's also the texture. The brewing process produces a coffee just like a quality latte from a good coffee house. The Nespresso app makes it a breeze to order new pods and the shipping is lightening fast and seamless. We love this machine!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet
Review 17 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Canton
,GA
February 25, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+4points
4of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Best At Home Coffee
February 25, 2015
I have owned a number of coffee makers...from Capresso, a completely automatic model, a Nespresso Pixie, Keurig and others... The Nespresso Vertuoline is the best I have ever owned. The coffee has a great taste, and the froth/crema is excellent. I read about some of the temperature problems from others, I did not have this problem. It might not be the hottest coffee I have ever had, but the taste and creama make up for any lack of heat. I purchased the maker with the Aeroccino. I didn't think I would really want this item or use it...but, I was VERY wrong. I love the Aeroccino. It really makes a really nice froth that gives you a lot of possibilities in making a coffee beverage. While the coffee is more expensive than the Pixie or smaller cups, I am willing to pay the cost. I HIGHLY recommend this coffee maker.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Cons: cost of coffee
Review 18 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,houston
,tx
February 18, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
6of 11found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Dissapointing!
February 18, 2015
This is by far the worst product I have ever had the misfortune of running across. I received the vertuoline as Christmas present. The machine is not capable of making a hot cup of coffee. The coffee or espresso comes out lukewarm at best so you better drink it very fast. Not only is the machine and capsules overpriced but the quality of the coffee is poor. I have tried all the various types of coffees and espresso flavors and all are very week. Disappointing for someone who likes strong coffee. The worst part is the inability to get a hot cup. Don't waste your money. I called customer service to inquire if there was a problem with the machine and I was told that the temperature of the coffee is a general complain. So nespresso are award of this issue. Save your money. Don't buy this piece of garbage.
Pros: Easy to Use, Assembly
Cons: Quality, High-Maintenance, cannot make hot coffee
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SuSu2
NY
Posted February 27, 2016
Top 25 Contributor
Right Comment.....
But somehow W-S applied it to the wrong review.
Anyway, I like the quality of Nespresso's coffee very much. And although it's not very hot, it's hot enough if served in a double wall glass coffee mug.
0points
Customer avatar
SuSu2
NY
Posted March 14, 2015
Top 25 Contributor
Order Capsules On-Line or by Phone
It's easy and quick delivery when ordering the capsules directly from Nespresso on-line. We also have a local department store with a Nespresso Boutique where we can buy capsules.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 19 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Alexandria
,VA
January 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Great machine, great coffee
January 13, 2015
Really love having both the coffee and espresso option. While you can make american style coffee using the Citiz Espresso maker and hot water, it's not quite the same, especially if you have guests that are used to american roast coffees. This satisfies everyone. The coffee is plenty hot for me, and the machine is not as loud as the Citiz was. Recycling the pods is easy and free through Nespresso. Plus, I like that they aren't plastic. The one thing I wish you could do that you can't is run a shot of hot water to warm the cup first.
Pros: Easy to Use, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, free recycling on pods
Review 20 for Nespresso VertuoLine Coffee & Espresso Maker
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Los Angeles
,CA
January 10, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
3of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A category of its' own
January 10, 2015
Yes, the coffee is $1 a cup but the coffee foam on top and the speed and consistency with which it delivers is worth it.
It greets you with a low base whirling sound - rather than the head splitting shrill whistle of other machines - while the liquid streams into the glass.
Don't try to do a side by side comparison with other pod machines as the end product is completely different.
There are a wide range of coffee pod flavors and strengths from which to choose but not interchangeable with other coffee company's offerings.
Perfect for coffee aficionados.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design, Assembly
Cons: limited coffee product.
page1 2 next