Nespresso VertuoLine, Chrome

Meet the first-ever Nespresso machine to brew both true American coffee and authentic Italian espresso. A total game changer in the coffee world, it relies on patented Centrifusion(TM) technology for state-of-the-art brewing. Just pop in a Nespresso capsule - the VertuoLine machine scans the capsule's bar code, then automatically custom-brews the ultimate cup of coffee or espresso. Fully automatic machine uses a revolutionary new brewing technology for traditional Italian espresso beverages and classic American coffee. Advanced, ultra-quiet Centrifusion(TM) technology relies on centrifugal force to gently and precisely brew coffee and espresso - both topped with a natural amber crema for the deepest, most complex flavor and richest aroma. Computerized scanning system reads the bar code on your Nespresso VertuoLine capsule, ensuring precision blend-specific brewing for your desired beverage. Works exclusively with Nespresso's new premium VertuoLine capsules (12 are included - eight coffee and four espresso). Brews either a cup of coffee (7.77 oz.) or espresso (1.35 oz.), all with one-touch convenience. Machine heats up quickly, reaching optimal brewing temperatures in 15 to 20 seconds. Adjustable tray accommodates cups of various sizes (from small cups to travel mugs). Used capsules are automatically ejected and collected in a built-in container. Removable water tank simplifies refilling. Energy-saving function turns the machine off automatically after 9 minutes of inactivity. Descaling alert lets you know when it's time to descale your machine.
Average Customer Rating:
3 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
3 of 8(38%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nespresso VertuoLine, Chrome
Review 1 for Nespresso VertuoLine, Chrome
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Kags
,Denver
,CO
August 3, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So Much Promise . . . Such Poor Delivery
August 3, 2014
I was SO excited about a single cup coffee OR espresso maker. I am crushed that the VirtuoLine has failed me. The coffee is barely warmer than lukewarm. A customer service rep said it is intended to brew at 140 degree cup of coffee "for better flavor". Experts say optimal brewing temp for best flavor is 190-200 degrees. The crema with each cup is a luxury, but it does not compensate for the three quarters of a cup rather than full cup of coffee that it makes. And, as if that wasn't enough, the coffee doesn't taste great! I love a robust, full-bodied, rich cup of coffee. This coffee (I tried all the non-flavored pods) tastes two dimensional and leaves a bad taste. I thought it was just my personal taste until I made a cup of coffee for a friend who said, "It isn't very good coffee".
Luke warm, 3/4 of a cup and flat tasting coffee and expresso. Otherwise I love the machine. It IS easy to use. The crema is nice, but it isn't worth the trade offs especially for the price.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Speed, Design, makes single cup of espresso or coffee
Cons: luke warm coffee, 3/4 rather than a full cup of coffee, flat tasting coffee with poor after taste
Review 2 for Nespresso VertuoLine, Chrome
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Parisjfk
,New York
,NY
July 26, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I am now a Nespresso convert
July 26, 2014
I have always been an illy cafe drinker but my husband bought me this machine for my birthday. It is soooo easy to use. The choices are amazing. I like the green capsule for the coffee which is the strongest
And the dark blue for the espresso. I can't remember the names but love the jewel tone recyclable capsules. The ability to make both coffee and espresso in the same machine is pretty cool.
The coffee is always hot with about an inch of crema on top. It is simply delicious. Only problem is I am now drinking way too much coffee as it is so good and too easy to use!
Sorry Illy Cafe the ease of use and the price point of the machine has made me a Nespresso convert. The coffee is really, really good as well.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design, Assembly, makes wonderful coffee
Review 3 for Nespresso VertuoLine, Chrome
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HJBIII
,Brighton
,MI
June 21, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-3points
0of 3found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Brew Heaven
June 21, 2014
I couldn't be more happy with this machine. The coffee is rich and creamy. The machine is ultra simple to use. This is for coffee lovers -- an excellent choice.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 4 for Nespresso VertuoLine, Chrome
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lc31
,San Francisco
,CA
June 12, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
-2points
1of 4found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect For Me
June 12, 2014
Honestly, don't understand the complaints about the coffee not being hot - it is plenty hot and lasts at least 20 minutes while I drink my coffee. It's by no means lukewarm. Then again, I don't take my coffee boiling because I like to keep from scalding my tongue. If that's you - don't buy this machine.
I like the crema it creates so much that I only put a tiny bit of milk in my coffee. I purchased the bundle with the Aeroccino, but honestly, this foam is enough that I barely use it.
The majority of the capsules are great, the Melozio is a crowd pleaser - a nice medium blend that's rich and, with milk, tastes creamy with caramel. I also like the Half Caff capsule - perfect for a mid day pick-me-up without all of the caffeine from a regular capsule.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Speed, Versatile, Design
Review 5 for Nespresso VertuoLine, Chrome
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Rileyo
,Media
,Pa
May 4, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not so good
May 4, 2014
I was really hoping this would be great coffee and replace Starbucks. The machine looked awesome. Not the coffee. The biggest disappointment was the coffee is not hot! I am used to my Mocchamaster..steaming. This is a big disappointment for the price.
Pros: Design
Cons: heating element
Review 6 for Nespresso VertuoLine, Chrome
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JohnnyLeroux
May 3, 2014
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
6of 10found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Disappointing at Best
May 3, 2014
This American coffee product is simply terrible. Tried entire sample pack. Some were watery. Some were bitter. Beautiful machine. Terrible coffee! Returned machine.
Pros: Design
Cons: Quality, Loud
Review 7 for Nespresso VertuoLine, Chrome
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
tryingallsortsofcoffee
,Portland
,OR
April 10, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Choose a different espresso/coffee brewer
April 10, 2014
Really thought this machine would be the answer to everything I was looking for: being able to make coffee and espresso drinks at home and eliminate my daily Starbucks run. The coffee was delicious, however it came out so lukewarm and once I added milk (even if it was steamed) it cooled really quickly. The customer service staff at WS were "shocked" that I returned it. Clearly they had not read most of the online forums that also indicated that this coffee only comes out around 140 degrees. Hopefully the next model will be better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Speed, Quiet, Design
Cons: Size, coffee temperature too low
Review 8 for Nespresso VertuoLine, Chrome
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cag6
,Bethlehem
,PA
April 6, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+3points
5of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Looks great, works poorly.
April 6, 2014
The product illustrates the concept of "style over substance." After having using it to brew ONE pod a day for less than a month (coffee was good, temperature was disappointingly low), and having cleaned it as directed, the light atop the machine head started flashing and wouldn't stop. After some troubleshooting over the phone with Nespresso (their "tech support" was obviously not familiar with this machine and aside from recommending I unplug the it and wait 10 seconds before plugging it back in, couldn't offer ANY other suggestions to fix the blinking light), they admitted there was an "internal error" and said they would replace it. So I'm going to be coffee-less and cranky for a week, thanks to Nespresso's inability to troubleshoot the issue or to allow me to bring the broken machine back to Williams-Sonoma. Wish I'd stuck with my Citiz instead.
Pros: Design
Cons: malfunctions, poor tech support and return policy, coffee temperature is low, limited variety of compatible pods available
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mojak
Posted April 30, 2014
Seriously cag6
If you just returned it To WS they would have replaced the machine no questions asked! This is a long standing policy of WS and that's why they have great customer service.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)