This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother

Enjoy fast, streamlined one-touch brewing and superb espresso with this compact single-cup machine. Ideal for small kitchens with limited space, the customizable Nespresso U features a movable water tank you can position on either the machine's back or side plus a magnetic drip tray you can switch from the front to the side for the best fit in your kitchen. The included Aeroccino Plus creates steamed or frothed milk with the push of a button. Stylish modular design with adjustable water tank and removable magnetic cup tray. Tray can be removed completely to accommodate taller cups. Easy one-touch operation machine automatically loads, brews, and ejects capsules at the push of a button. No-drip spout retracts into the machine after brewing to keep espresso from dripping onto countertops or on the machine. Three programmable cup sizes: 25, 40 and 110ml; machine automatically remembers your preferred size. Includes Aeroccino Plus milk frother, which quickly heats milk for consistently perfect foam. Frother has two whisk attachments and an auto-shutoff feature. Works exclusively with Nespresso's premium coffee capsules (16 are included) for locked-in freshness and convenience. Automatically shuts off after 9 minutes; takes just 25-30 seconds to reheat for another cup. Indicators for empty water tank and full capsule container. ABS plastic and stainless-steel construction. Espresso maker: 14 1/2" x 4 1/4" x 9 3/4" high. Milk frother: 4" diam., 6 3/4" high; 8-fl. oz. cap.; 550W. This product is intended for use in the United States and Canada and is built to US electrical standards. Made in Hungary.
Average Customer Rating:
4.105 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
14 of 19(74%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
Review 1 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MOT44
,Ventura county
,CA
June 29, 2014
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Very happy with this Nespresso
June 29, 2014
I was hesitant to purchase this because I didn't want to be tied down to the nespresso pods but I am very happy with how this works. The milk frother works extremely well. The espresso is very good The pods are reasonably priced and are very easy to order and arrive quickly. I'm very happy with the purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, super easy to make great espresso!
Review 2 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
emnems
,Los Angeles
,Ca
October 13, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for a Quick Cup To Go
October 13, 2013
I've been using this for almost a year and I still love it! The capsules and milk frother make it easy to make a quick and consistent latte before I got to work in the morning. One downside is running out of capsules and having to order refills online or driving an hour to a Nespresso retailer. It can also be a bit difficult to use for the first time if you don't read the directions.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 3 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JLHart
,Columbia
,MD
August 25, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Awesome espresso maker
August 25, 2013
I was hesitant after I read some of the reviews since I got a great deal on this machine. I don't know why people say it doesn't get hot enough as we had no problem with it. My husband has been enjoying lattes and my kids like the frothed milk. Will be great for hot chocolate when the weather gets cooler.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet
Review 4 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hillery
,Pleasant Hill
,CA
July 3, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:3 - 6 months
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Better than a Coffee Shop.
July 3, 2013
It's wonderful !!! I make Latte's every morning . I love the aeroccino too !
Well made and so easy to clean.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Versatile, Quiet, Design
Review 5 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
salbajak
,daly city
,ca
March 7, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
3of 9found this review helpful.
buy the pixie instead!!!
March 7, 2013
went through 2 machines before upgrading to the pixie. it makes horrible shots and has to many electrics to do its work. will and sonoma were very cool in exchanges and all that, but get the pixie it has less togo wrong and makes a better shot of espresso.
Cons: Temperamental, broke 2 times
Review 6 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Carreen
,Corvallis
,OR
January 29, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great for a quick cup!
January 29, 2013
Tried this product at a friend's house. It made a great latte considering it took less than two minutes to create. Perfect for that quick cup first thing in the morning and when I don't have time to warm up the "professional" espresso machine. The milk frother does not make the milk extra hot, but I don't like my milk extra hot.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 7 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmandaG
,Norwalk
,CT
January 27, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Gem of an Espresso Machine!
January 27, 2013
The Nespresso U makes such delicious coffee I've stopped buying coffee out altogether. I received this set (with the Aeroccino plus) as a Christmas gift and have enjoyed it every day since. A few pluses: A small footprint for the countertop, supereasy use, and easy cleaning. A very minor con: the coffee is not piping hot. Not really a problem for me--I say drink fast and brew another cup! In terms of cost, you may not consider this a bargain if you are changing from a regular drip coffee maker. But if you're making a change from a $3-5 cup from a coffee shop every morning, the Nespresso is quite cost effective.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Speed, compact
Review 8 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
AlofMD
,MD
January 20, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
3of 5found this review helpful.
Good Coffe - $$ and poor support
January 20, 2013
Pros: Great coffee
Cons:
1. Expensive Machine
2. Expensive Coffee
3. Poor customer service. They had a promotion to receive $100 of coffee for free. I received this as a gift and had a gift slip but no receipt. I called customer service, and after several calls and a run-around, I found you had to email customer service. No telephone customer service. After several rounds of email, including one where I even showed them I could scam them by buying another one and returning it, they said they would “ask management.” Almost 4 weeks later, nothing. Then after two more emails, a courteous note from customer service that “management said no.” This is not what I would expect from a high end vendor. Perhaps this is because they are a European company.
Review 9 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
peharding
,Patterson
,NY
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Great machine, great design, simple, works very we
January 4, 2013
Very happy with the Nespresso machine offered as a Williams Sonoma special. Turns out to be the latest machine offered in Europe with beautiful design, easy to use and working very well. Great espresso and great capuccino with the frother add-on which also works well.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, best value
Review 10 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
vickster562
,Cerritos
,CA
December 22, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
new favorite toy
December 22, 2012
great price, great machine, not so great availability of capsules! but at least in southern california, we have the option to go to a boutique instead of just purchasing online with ridiculous shipping fees. makes really great tasting coffee beverages. won't be giving up my keurig for everyday use, but it's nice to have the nespresso option.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Quiet, Design, Assembly
Cons: capsules are expensive and hard to come by
Review 11 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tmol2012
,Campbell
,CA
December 10, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Terrific Machine
December 10, 2012
Purchased the equipment in late November and have enjoyed using it every day.
Easy to set up, use and clean.
Creates a perfect cup each time. Be sure and read up on each type of coffee and make them as described.
The frothing machine is the best thing since sliced bread!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed, Design
Review 12 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dadof5
,Williamsburg
,VA
December 6, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Espresso snob convinced
December 6, 2012
Took some convincing by my wife to go for a pod or capsule like machine (she wanted easy and fast) - but after a month it is all I am using now... Great espresso every time, no mess and no fuss. Especially like the drip free design of the U (I hate watching a machine dirty itself). The water tank design is great - easy to keep filled even during parties. One negative, I have yet to receive an order from Nespresso in the cited two business days.
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design
Review 13 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
jscan
,CT
December 3, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
2of 3found this review helpful.
ok machine, good function BUT not hot enough.
December 3, 2012
For the price I expected more, I like my espresso to come out piping hot , it comes out hot, but not hot enough. I like to sip my espresso while its hot, but within about 4 min. in my cup, it is just about warm. My cups are room temp. before hand, I shouldnt have to pre heat cups.(I even tried that and doesnt really make too much of a difference). I will be returning. I have read other reviews and have noticed the same comment about not hot enough.(Their websight)
Pros: Easy to Use, Design
Cons: not hot enough
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
jscan
Posted December 5, 2012
addition to my own comment
While searching extensively online I came across many sights about espresso and found all to state proper espresso brew temp. should be minimum 190. I called nespresso and they told me their temp. is between 160 and 180. and that I should run @ least 2 cups thru before I brew a cup of espresso to get to the 180...NO THANKS, not for that price.. (like I stated in my original review, 180 is hot but not hot enough to relax, savor and enjoy a cup)... I also noticed that other reviews that stated "not hot enough" on WS websight have since dissappeared...hmmmmm?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrswrence
,Katy
,TX
Houston, TX
November 29, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Fantastic Espresso!
November 29, 2012
We love this machine! It makes fabulous tasting espresso with a great crema. It is so quick and easy to use. The water tank can sit in the back or move to the side which is very convenient. Nespresso has a great variety of espresso. I love the Livanto and Vivalto Lungo! The frother is okay. We use soy milk because of a lactose sensitivity and it does not create a good foam. It does heat it up nicely and gives it a little air to make it lighter so it works well for lattes but not so much for a good foamy cappuccino. We did try lactose free milk and it frothed that nicely so it may just be the soy milk. I do heat my cup up in the microwave first to take the chill off. It helps keep your coffee hotter longer. I thought I would mind having to order my espresso online but Nespresso has everything set up very efficiently and delivery is quick. I love being able to have a delicious latte whenever the mood strikes!
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Speed, Design, Assembly
Review 15 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anela
,Sacramento
,CA
October 28, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Just Like Ordering at a Cafe!
October 28, 2012
This Nespresso U makes the best espresso! They have really thought this design through. The water unit can be moved to the back or sides of the unit and the pod drops down, so there is no need to touch it after brewing. The milk frother is terrific and I don't have to go to a special coffee store to have them brew the perfect espresso. I can do it myself at home!
Pros: Easy to Use, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size
Review 16 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
rafjack
,Versailles
,KY
October 9, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+3points
3of 3found this review helpful.
Quick, Easy and Delicious
October 9, 2012
We've tried several expresso machines and were either overwhelmed by the complexity or disappointed with the taste. This machine solved those issues, brilliantly. It's simple to operate and clean up is almost non existent. But, it's the taste that is incredible. The people at Nespresso know what they're doing. Perfect expresso every time. And, the frother is easy to use and makes a hearty froth. The package price is a nice bonus.
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Speed
Review 17 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Joran
,Snohomish
,WA
October 7, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+10points
10of 10found this review helpful.
Looks great but the joy ends there
October 7, 2012
We tried samples in the store and they were wonderful! So, we bought one about a month ago and found that our Nespresso U made it only 130 degrees. The first 2 times we called Nespresso their advice was to pre-heat our cup and let a couple cycles run through the Nespresso before making a cup to drink. Really? So much for fast espresso. When we called a third time, they asked us how we stored our milk and suggested it was perhaps too cold. We've been drinking coffee and espresso for decades and this does not make it at a sufficient temperature. So, after a few weeks with no success with Nespresso, we finally convinced them to send us a replacement. We packed up and returned ours over a week ago and have been waiting and waiting and waiting for a replacement. Not happy with the Nespresso U or with their customer service. Will go for a different brand next time.
Review 18 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
grammargirl
,va
October 4, 2012
Ability level:Novice
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? No
-3points
3of 9found this review helpful.
doesn't work!
October 4, 2012
Followed the directions to get the machine running--tried three times with my engineer boyfriend, but to no avail. So, am sending back and requesting a new one. I hope the new one will be the winner!
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
2354
Posted October 20, 2013
Priming the U machine
Same thing happened to me when priming machine first time. I called Nespresso customer service, they were great! After 20 minutes of trying to get water flowing it finally worked! Customer service was great and I have been thoroughly pleased with machine & espresso ever since!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Nespresso U Espresso Maker with Aeroccino Plus Automatic Milk Frother
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KayeD
,Seattle
,WA
September 13, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
LOVE this Machine!
September 13, 2012
This is the newest Nespresso machine. It's priced under $200 bucks! ($199.95)...The Nespresso team listened to the consumer!
It has an auto shut off (which most have), the option to choose from 3 shot sizes! 1/2, full and double! The reservoir holds more capsules than the previous models AND the capsule automatically drops when cycle is completed...No more "wasted" dropped capsules! I say if Apple were to make an Espresso machine, THIS would be it! LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it and for the price you can't beat it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Time-saver, Power, Easy to Clean, Size, Speed, Design