This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Natural Cotton Soup Sock(TM), Set of 3

Fill these cotton mesh bags with your favorite herbs and ingredients for flavoring stocks and soups. The finely woven material holds delicate herbs or expands to accommodate everything from bones to chopped vegetables. When cooking is complete, simply remove the bag - no need for straining! Made of strong, 100% fine cotton mesh. Large size accommodates all sorts of flavoring ingredients, from bones and whole vegetables to herb leaves. Will not impart odors or flavors into soups or stocks. Mess-free cooking - no need for straining. Set of three. Made in the USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(4 Reviews) 4
3 of 4(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Natural Cotton Soup Sock(TM), Set of 3
Review 1 for Natural Cotton Soup Sock(TM), Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Atlanta
,GA
April 16, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
It works nicely
April 16, 2016
I make lots of soups and lots of stock/broth and having to strain them is always such a hassle. I was very excited to see this product on sale and wanted to give it a try. After reading the critical review, I decided to get one of these from Williams Sonoma store before committing to a larger quantity online. I agree that the sock does not appear to be nearly as large or as sturdy as it does in the picture, however, it did the job it was supposed to do in my opinion very well. I made chicken stock using bones, a couple of handfuls of baby carrots, 2 celery stalks, 2 tomatoes, some peppercorns, etc. I had no trouble fitting the ingredients into the sock, everything, including the peppercorns, stayed contained during the cooking process, and was easy to remove when done. One sock fit enough ingredients to make stock for 6 large servings of chicken noodle soup. I will be stocking up on the soup sock while it's still on sale.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Time-saver
Cons: Size
Review 2 for Natural Cotton Soup Sock(TM), Set of 3
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
,Geelong
,Vi
May 1, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Not as pictured
May 1, 2015
I've just received the Natural cotton Soup Socks I ordered and they are nothing like the pictured sock. The fabric is not the same thickness and not the same weave. Don't waste your money on this cheap product. You won't get what's in the picture.
Cons: Quality, Inaccurate, Fragile
Review 3 for Natural Cotton Soup Sock(TM), Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Princeton
,NJ
January 13, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Wow, wish I'd discovered this years ago!
January 13, 2015
At this time of year with family and friends getting colds and flu, it's always nice to have a lot of stock on hand, freezes well, for emergency soups and there is nothing better then homemade stock! The only part of making it that I've always dreaded is straining the meat, bones, vegetables and herbs after it's done. A messy and dangerous job. These soup socks are stronger and hold more then one would think. Just the best little clever kitchen aid around. If you make a lot of stock, stock alot! They are inexpensive too.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Store
Review 4 for Natural Cotton Soup Sock(TM), Set of 3
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Long Island
,NY
Long Island, NY
October 30, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? Yes
+20points
22of 24found this review helpful.
A big thumbs up
October 30, 2012
This is a problem solver. I use this when making chicken soup. I can put the entire chicken whole in the bag, sometimes skin and all, and cook away. When you pull it out of the pot to separate the meat from the skin and bone, there are no little bones, skin, or sinew left behind. You can then skim the liquid of excess grease without anything else getting in the way. The liquid remains clearer. It's just a better mousetrap, and I am never without these and have given them as little gifts. I use them inside my pressure cooker too, not just stovetop pots.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
cooki4friendsnfamily
New York, NY
Posted February 9, 2014
natural cotton soup stock
this is an excellent investment, the price is great and it certainly saves on the clean up time. the storage capacity is more than you can image. A great unexpected gift for all cooks.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)