This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Williams-Sonoma.

Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored

Essential equipment for cooks and bakers - big and little alike - our lightweight, durable melamine bowls are an asset in any kitchen. Each has a nonslip rubber ring on its base to help hold the bowl steady during enthusiastic mixing. Made of lightweight, durable melamine in bright, cheerful colors. Won't react with acidic foods, so flavors stay true. Easy-grip handle. Contoured spout makes it easy to pour batter onto a griddle or into a baking pan. Footed base has a nonslip ring for added stability when mixing. Bowls nest for compact storage. Set of four includes one of each size, from 1-qt. to 4-qt. cap. BPA free. A Williams-Sonoma exclusive.
Average Customer Rating:
3.685 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(111 Reviews) 111
73 of 111(66%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
Review 1 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SPBB
,Tampa Bay
,Fl
February 23, 2014
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Over 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Love them!
February 23, 2014
These are the best bowls you can have in your kitchen! They are easy to use, easy to clean, and easy to store. They have a nice handle for gripping and I love how the bottom stays in place when mixing. They can be a bit fragile if dropped, but not everything lasts forever.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 2 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mtmroberts
,Tulsa
,OK
August 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Excellent mixing bowls, but...
August 5, 2013
These are perfect mixing bowls, but the melamine IS something ya gotta watch. I dropped the biggest (green) bowl and it fractured immediately.
Perhaps WS makes these out of melamine so they would not be as heavy as "glass" mixing bowls might be...but then they wouldn't have the wonderful rubber "stay secure" rings on the bottomside.
I ordered a new set (giving my remaining 3 to my daughter) and LOVE using them...but after reading other reviews I will keep in mind that they probably will not last forever (because I use a hand mixer also...)
BUT the price is not too bad if I must replace in a few years after a LOT of use!
These are now my go-to mixing bowls, period.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Design, Weight, not expensive
Cons: Fragile
Review 3 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
slmm
July 18, 2013
Would You Recommend? No
0points
bowl shatters
July 18, 2013
I received this set as a gift, however, after taking careful care of the set (always hand washing and hand drying) the yellow bowl shattered on the side and bottom. The only cause for this as far as I know is using a portable mixer in it. I'm very disappointed with the product. ;(
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Size, Weight
Cons: Fragile
Review 4 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
dlkw
,Winneconne
,WI
July 17, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Loved these bowls, but...
July 17, 2013
I had a yellow set from a few years ago and used them at least a couple of times a week. They never went in the microwave or dishwasher. I loved the depth of the bowls as well as the handle and rubber ring on the bottom. However, I recently dropped one from a couple of feet onto a rug and the handle shattered. I thought it was a freak accident and came on the site to order another set. After seeing the reviews and noting that this is a common problem, I've changed my mind.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size
Cons: Fragile
Review 5 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
KaBe
,East Amherst
,NY
June 15, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Would You Recommend? No
0points
Mixed feelings about these bowls
June 15, 2013
I received these bowls as a gift from my daughter who also has them and loves them. I have had them and used them regularly for 2 years. One day after washing the second largest bowl and while drying it i noticed a roughness on the bottom and noticed a crack! Since i have always been so careful with these bowls I was stunned.
About the only thing i could think of was that i have used a hand mixer in the bowl and perhaps that led to the crack. But if true, why not a crack in the largest bowl. I am so sad as i really loved this set. Now i wonder .....is there any warranty and if so how can I replace the bowl?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Cons: Fragile, Not Durable
Review 6 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ak3250
,AK
April 5, 2013
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Uses product:Never
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Great quality bowls
April 5, 2013
I bought these bowls as a gift for someone and wanted to keep them for myself. Love the colors. They look great and have that quality feel. I will have to get some for myself.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 7 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
jlpaps
,Brick
,NJ
January 21, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Great bowls
January 21, 2013
The shape is perfect, they are not heavy, and the handle and spout make baking and cooking with these easy
Pros: Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design, Weight
Review 8 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tashabagel
,Gulph Mills
,PA
King of Prussia, PA
January 4, 2013
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
My go to bowls!
January 4, 2013
I have three sets of mixing bowls and these are my go to set every time. The handle makes mixing up eggs and such in the bowls so easy as you can use the handle to tip them to an angle that's comfortable for you. I love the matching measuring cups and spoons too. They are a nice weight and you know when you hold them that they'll hold up a good long time.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design, Weight
Review 9 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BigRosie
,Petaluma
,CA
November 24, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:A few times a month
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
We love these bowls
November 24, 2012
We got this set with matching measuring cups and spoons as a wedding gift. We got a gift card, went to the store and WOW! We loved what they had to offer. My son and daughter in law fell in love with them too, now they want a set for themselves.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 10 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
asap
August 15, 2012
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
cracks easily
August 15, 2012
I purchased these bowls about a year ago and loved them until I pulled one out to use and noticed the bottom had cracked. I have emailed customer service to see if they will stand behind their product and replace the cracked bowl.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean
Cons: Fragile
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer avatar
Mamaysek
Boston, MA
Posted February 27, 2013
Cracked too!
The exact same thing happened to me, so sad because I do love them. Will contact customer service!
0points
Customer avatar
asap
Florida
Posted January 4, 2013
No they did not stand behind their product
They did not stand behind this product and I no longer purchase products from them.
+1point
1of 1found this comment helpful.
Customer avatar
Emmy999
Frisco, TX
Posted January 4, 2013
ME TOO!!!
Did they stand by their product?
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 11 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mrg92
,Rexburg
,ID
June 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 3 months
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Favorite bowls!!
June 23, 2012
I actually have the fall colored set of these, and I love them. I love the pouring spout, the handle is great, the feel and look of the bowl is very attractive, they look great presented on the table. Also, they have a lovely rubber ring around the bottom so that they don't slip or move around while you're mixing something or preparing. I choose these over all my other bowls. Use them for salad, popcorn, pico de gallo, pasta, whatever! I have had them for months now and I have had no issues with scratches or cracks. I even put them in the dishwasher. They are looking great and are my favorite bowls to use. Can't imagine not having them.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design, Weight
Review 12 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
laurie327
,annapolis
,Md
June 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:A few times a year
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Breaking News
June 11, 2012
For no apparent reason my bowls have started breaking into rather large peices. First the yellow now the green. Very hard to use with big holes in the bottom! I have never put these into the dishwasher or microwave.
Pros: Easy to Use, Size, Design
Cons: Temperamental, Fragile, breakable
Review 13 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Myta
,Minneapolis
,MN
June 5, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
Orange bowel breaks
June 5, 2012
we're 0 for 2. The other bowels are fine. What the heck is Melamine anyway? Love the rubber bottoms.
Cons: Fragile
Review 14 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ItsReid
May 22, 2012
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
AH-MAZING!
May 22, 2012
These are on the BEST purchase I've ever made for my kitchen. They are the greatest, bright, fun colors. But that's got nothing to do with why I love them so! Their width and depth are large and they have rubber lined bottoms so they don't go ANYWHERE! The 4 different sizes give you lots of options making it ultra convenient. Finally ,when you make something, like say ceviche, where it needs to marinated and covered with plastic in the frig for a few hours the suran wrap sticks to those sides and seals the bowl FOR REALS! I can't imagine being without them now!! They are such a lifesaver and a MUST HAVE in the kitchen, people! :)
Review 15 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
CAL1
May 15, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:Less than 1 week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
great design
May 15, 2012
I just received these bowls and so far I am very happy with them. I love that the bottoms have rubber grips that make the bowls cling to the counter. I have read the reviews about the bowls breaking when dropped. The rubber grips make it harder to accidently knock them off the counter. I love the pour spout and handle. These bowls are very well designed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Store, Size, Versatile, Design
Review 16 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
JW2012
,CA
February 23, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love them!
February 23, 2012
I bought my first set over a year ago and just purchased a second set this pas January. I have had them in the dishwasher and the fridge. So far, no problems at all w/them. I wouldn't want any other kind of mixing bowls. These are amazing!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Quality, Time-saver, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design, Weight
Review 17 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
deerave
,cincinnati
,oh
January 12, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
6of 7found this review helpful.
lasted 1year before cracking
January 12, 2012
I bought an all white set for myself and my mom last christmas, by this past christmas two of my bowls are split and trashed. Mine didn't crack in the base as others have stated but along the sides. I also do not dishwash or microwave these. I do love the grip bottoms.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Design
Cons: Quality, Fragile
Review 18 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cyndi32
,FL
January 11, 2012
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:1 - 4 weeks
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Love Them, Love the Colors
January 11, 2012
I love the design and colors.store easily, non-slip bottoms are a big plus when storing in the refrigerator.I have only had mine a few weeks and have not had any problems. After reading all these reviews im scared they will break if i use them to much. They are not cheap... But i guess we will see.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Size, Design
Review 19 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
smsTarHeel
,Burlington
,NC
January 4, 2012
Ability level:Advanced
Has owned product for:1 - 5 years
Uses product:Every day
Would You Recommend? No
+4points
5of 6found this review helpful.
The bottoms crack!
January 4, 2012
I used to love these bowls and I have given 3 sets as wedding gifts. But recently, I noticed cracks appearing in the bottoms for no apparent reason. I don't put them in the microwave or dishwasher--I wash them by hand. I was so disappointed. They have not been dropped. This was my second set--the last set shattered into a zillions pieces when dropped on the kitchen floor rug! I can't believe WS is still selling these when I see all the negative reviews. Cheaply made product--expensive price. Disappointed.
Pros: Design
Cons: Fragile
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Pianist
Las Vegas
Posted January 22, 2012
Not Surprised
This is not surprising.. ANYTHING made of this type of plastic is surely bound to crack. I'm looking for a good set of mixing bowls. I will either get stainless steel or (if brave enough) try some of those silicone bowls. Sorry you had a bad experience.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Melamine 4-Piece Mixing Bowl Set, Multicolored
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
benthorizon
,ocala
,fl
December 12, 2011
Ability level:Intermediate
Has owned product for:6 - 12 months
Uses product:Once a week
Would You Recommend? No
+5points
5of 5found this review helpful.
They Break
December 12, 2011
Was thrilled with the non-skid bottom and the pour spout but unhappy with the fragility of this product. Bowls break mysteriously!
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Clean, Easy to Store, Design
Cons: Quality, Fragile
page1 2 3 4 5 6 next