Print

Williams-Sonoma Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Williams-Sonoma
Shop or
Choose a Category

Morning Buns, Set of 12

Mornings in Paris find early risers at neighborhood patisseries, where specialties include freshly baked delights like mouthwatering morning buns. Jean-Yves Charon uses his skills as a French pastry chef to create our tempting buns, which are prepared from scratch using his signature recipe, a buttery croissant dough and a brown-sugar filling enhanced with cinnamon and orange zest. Simply let the frozen pastries overnight, then bake in the morning and enjoy the golden-brown, flaky treats warm from the oven. 12 buns; 2 lb. 11 oz. total. Shipped frozen. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.594 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 69
61 of 69(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Sort by Customer Reviews for Morning Buns, Set of 12
Review 1 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Incline Village
,nv
July 22, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
yummy rolls
July 22, 2016
These are always a hit in my family. They are delicious!
Pros: Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Flavor, Good for Entertaining, Quality
Review 2 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Bellevue
,WA
June 6, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Perfect way to begin the day!
June 6, 2016
These morning buns are delicious - light and flaky, with just the right amount of caramel-y goodness. Sprinkle them with cinnamon sugar and you're good to go!
Pros: Quality, Texture, Time-saver, Authentic, Great Gift
Review 3 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
May 12, 2016
Would You Recommend? No
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Not worth the price
May 12, 2016
I ordered these buns for Easter and they were not delivered on time so I saved them for Mothers Day. I set them out overnight and one tray rose way too much and the other didn't rise at all. I cooked them anyways and they were doughy and Heavy. Certainly not worth the money
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Review 4 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
madison,wi
April 4, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Don't have to leave the house for fresh bakery
April 4, 2016
The only criticism is a hair to much orange zest flavor. Easy to prepare and flaky
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare
Review 5 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Fulton
,NY
April 3, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
These are so delicious!
April 3, 2016
I've been wanting to try WS famous croisssants for a while and when these popped up in my e-mail as a flash sale, I couldn't resist. They arrived in a very timely manner, frozen, in 3 trays of 4 rolls, each. They immediately went in the freezer until a couple of days later, we wanted to try them. Now , without reading the instructions first, we thought we could pop them right in the oven, but they do need to thaw and rise for approx. 8 hrs,but they were ready to bake after dinner, so we had them for dessert!
They rise very big and when baked off, they are crispy like a croissant and cinnamon-y gooey like a cinnamon roll. Yummy! Have with coffee or your favorite tea and you'll think you're in a french patisserie!
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift, just remeber to thaw
Review 6 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Milwaukee
,WI
April 2, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Amazing morning buns
April 2, 2016
These morning buns are great, especially when they are still warm. I take them out of the freezer before I go to bed and let them sit on the stove overnight to thaw and rise. Then pop them in the oven, roll them in cinnamon sugar and put them on the table for breakfast. Nice combination of cinnamon, sugar and a hint of orange in the filling. Super good.
Pros: Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Easy to Prepare
Review 7 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
February 21, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What Changed With These Buns?
February 21, 2016
It's been awhile since I had last ordered these buns but when we did we really liked them. It appears something has changed. They use to rise fully and had a little weight to them after they were baked and were sooooo yummy. This last batch I just received, first the frozen piece appeared to be smaller in the tin (same size tin but smaller product?) and the next morning after rising overnight the bun had unfurled so that the center of the bun had come sideways over the buns. Upon being baked they seemed very lightweight and not as much taste as they use to have. Not sure what has changed but probably my last time purchasing these.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture, unfurled on rising
Review 8 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Pasadena
,CA
January 17, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
So so easy
January 17, 2016
We love these buns. It seems to have become a custom to order these for Christmas morning. While they are sweet, they do not overwhelm so they are perfect to pair with eggs and the wild boar bacon (which has also become a custom). The only drawback is knowing that you want to eat them the next day. Other than that...GO FOR IT!!!
Pros: Quality, Flavor, Easy to Prepare
Cons: Time to Prepare
Review 9 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Rutherford
,NJ
January 17, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
One of the most amazing breakfast pastries
January 17, 2016
When I used to live in Madison, Wisconsin, there was a small local eatery chain named "Ovens of Brittany" (long since out of business). They had a wonderful, upscale cinnamon roll/bun that we would seek out whenever we went back to visit Madison. I never found its equal. A couple of years ago, my mother introduced me to these morning buns that are better than the Brittany buns, and I have been hooked ever since. I actually can't stop eating them once they are on the table. Luxurious croissant dough with citrus essence blankets the layer of cinnamon caramel ridiculously well. A great option to impress guests as part of a nice Sunday brunch!
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Decadent
Review 10 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,ventura
,ca
January 6, 2016
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Once
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo
January 6, 2016
we would like to buy these again next year very good
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Decadent
Review 11 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Frisco
,Tx
January 2, 2016
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Oh me gee!!!
January 2, 2016
We order Williams Sonoma croissants every year in all the flavors, but I must say that these are my most favorite indulgent pastry EVER!! I literally could eat them all day long and I have, they are that amazing! We are crazy about these decadent, flaky, cinnamon sugar with a touch of orange, bundles of heaven. My only complaint is that my teenage son has discovered them and they disappear way too fast!!! Divine!!
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift, sinfully fab!!
Review 12 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
,Cottonwood
,AZ
October 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? No
+7points
7of 7found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
What has happened!
October 27, 2015
In the past, the morning buns have been just wonderful. The recent purchase has not! The coiled center has popped right out of the buns during proofing and baking and they do not bake through during the recommended baking time. Something has happened to the dough.
Pros: Easy to Prepare
Cons: Disappointing
Review 13 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Diego
,CA
October 8, 2015
Ability level:Intermediate
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+2points
2of 2found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A Favorite
October 8, 2015
These Morning Buns guarantee so good with a cup of espresso for breakfasts! Expensive but watch to buy when they're discounted for 20% off. I don't pay shipping, so that definitely helps.
Always have the Buns or the other WS Croissants in the freezer for a treat and pamper guests. The Bun selection makes great gift compared to other croissants because of its quality and easy-to-bake.
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Review 14 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,North Myrtle Beach
,SC
September 30, 2015
Ability level:Professional
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
+1point
1of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
best frozen pastry
September 30, 2015
Superb product. I have ordered numerous times. Always wonderful. And since they puff up differently, it looks like you made them/
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Flavor, Decadent, Easy to Prepare
Cons: none
Review 15 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
September 23, 2015
Would You Recommend? No
+6points
6of 6found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Quality issues
September 23, 2015
I've ordered these several times and usually they puff up beautifully overnight, but my last couple orders have had issues. With this last order, only 1 tray was good. The other 2 didn't really puff up overnight and didn't get nice and flaky when cooked. Too expensive for 2/3 of the product to fall flat.
Cons: Disappointing, Texture
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
Review 16 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Portland
,ME
August 27, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
A perfect breakfast ~such a delicious treat
August 27, 2015
This is the first time I have purchased the morning rolls and sticky buns and croissants~ I am So pleased with these. They are so wonderful. Easy to prepare. I just take out night before and cover lightly with a clean dishtowel~ they raise beautifully and bake just beautifully. These morning rolls do not even need the extra sugar and cinnamon. They are so good just as is. The sticky rolls are as well as good ~
I would hate to have to choose between them. However I favor the morning buns just a bit more. They are so wonderful with fresh coffee and a nice dish of fresh fruit what a lovely breakfast or afternoon tea treat. Just anytime these are wonderful. Even cold they are perfect. The croissants are absolutely wonderful too. This is such a treat. I'm so glad I tried these❤️
Pros: Quality, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Healthy, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, Great Gift
Cons: Amount, wish there was six per tray instead of four, these are a bit costly.
Review 17 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Houston
,TX
July 5, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Darn Good!
July 5, 2015
Not cheap, but you get what you pay for with these. This lovely pastry has a wonderful cinnamon sugar with hint of orange flavor. They are puffy and flaky, and a little gooey. Easy prep (just allow to rise overnight), and no real clean up. They come in a four pack which is good and bad. Because of this, you cannot make just one (though you actually could remove just one from the pack, but who would do that???).
My recommendation is to wait for WS to be nice enough to put this item on sale if you have the willpower to do so. If, like me, you don't have the willpower to wait, the taste is worth the price.
Pros: Quality, Texture, Flavor, Decadent
Review 18 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,San Carlos
,CA
July 4, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:More than once
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious Morning Treat
July 4, 2015
Bought these for when I have house guests. Love that they come in packs of 4 so I don't have to bake all 12 for three or four people. Everyone loves them. If using only 4, after dropping buns in sugar-cinnamon mixture, recommend sifting mixture through strainer and saving it for next time rather than wasting it. Using less than recommended results in mixture being too little to properly coat the buns. Note: sugar and cinnamon are not included with buns.
Pros: Quality, Amount, Good for Entertaining, Texture, Flavor, Time-saver, Decadent, Authentic, Easy to Prepare, great treat
Cons: not exactly healthy, no alternative to overnight rise
Review 19 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
,Cleburne
,TX
May 2, 2015
Ability level:Advanced
Purchased:Regularly
Would You Recommend? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Delicious breakfast
May 2, 2015
I always order these delicious buns for special breakfasts. They're always wonderful but mine never look like the picture. That doesn't matter. My family loves them!
Pros: Texture, Easy to Prepare, Quality, Flavor
Review 20 for Morning Buns, Set of 12
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
April 30, 2015
Would You Recommend? Yes
-1point
0of 1found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
My favorite breakfast treat
April 30, 2015
These Morning Buns are the very best treat. The hint of lemon comes thru the delicious cinnamon and sugar flavorings.
Pros: Quality, Decadent, Flavor
Cons: Unhealthy
page1 2 3 4 next